Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buy another 535d?

• 29-05-2019 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

I have a 2007 BMW 535d which has 197k miles on it so its time for a change.

I am struggling to choose something and will probably end up going for 4 year old F10 535d. Budget €30k. Probably will import from the UK as not much listed in Ireland.

Do the UK BMW Dealers give discounts off the list prices? One of them already told me the warranty will be void once I register it in Ireland but there will be a manufacturers warranty on it, whatever that means.

Would the Irish BMW dealers sell a car to me if I found one in a UK BMW dealer i.e. arrange import and provide a 2 year warranty? Just wondering if anyone has doe that?

I do 18k miles per year so will stick with diesel even though I do a bit of city driving.

Suppose the obvious alternatives are a6 and e-class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

You can buy an extended warranty off BMW for almost any BMW, even M5s and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The original BMW warranty would be valid in Ireland but that expires after 3 years so is of no use to you. BMW dealers in the UK sell second hand BMWs under their Assured Used Car (AUC) scheme which includes a 2 year warranty UK warranty, once you import the car to Ireland then that 2 year AUC warranty drops to 1 year and is still honored by Irish BMW dealers.

As said you can buy an extended warranty from BMW (www.bmw-warranty.ie, irrespective of where you bought the car and the full extended warranty is pretty much the same as what a BMW dealer would stick on one of their used BMWs here. BMW dealers do import some of their own stock from the UK but most of them are x20ds so you might have trouble getting one to be interested in importing a one off 535d unless your happy to pay way over the top for it.

Regarding what car, would a 640d GC be an option? Seems to be more of these for sale over here than the 535d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭aristotle25

Hadn't considered the 640d, always assumed the cabin was fairly tight or at least it looks that way from the outside. And I kinda perfer the 5 series. But will look into them a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

I have a 2007 BMW 535d which has 197k miles on it so its time for a change.

I am struggling to choose something and will probably end up going for 4 year old F10 535d. Budget €30k. Probably will import from the UK as not much listed in Ireland.

Do the UK BMW Dealers give discounts off the list prices? One of them already told me the warranty will be void once I register it in Ireland but there will be a manufacturers warranty on it, whatever that means.

Would the Irish BMW dealers sell a car to me if I found one in a UK BMW dealer i.e. arrange import and provide a 2 year warranty? Just wondering if anyone has doe that?

I do 18k miles per year so will stick with diesel even though I do a bit of city driving.

Suppose the obvious alternatives are a6 and e-class.

UK Dealers seem to stick with the advertised price......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭Wailin

Hadn't considered the 640d, always assumed the cabin was fairly tight or at least it looks that way from the outside. And I kinda perfer the 5 series. But will look into them a bit more.

The 640d (gran coupe version) is bigger than the 5 series but rear passengers have less legroom and the middle seat is almost useless. Same 313hp engine as the 535d f10 (from 2012).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I've driven the F10 in a few guises up to 530d as well as the 640d. 6 series is bland and sterile in comparison to the 5. Would you consider an X6? Ugly but really, really nice to drive.

Yeah I prefer 5 or 7 series over the x6.
    Have two kids so need a bit of room in the back so 6 doesnt sound practical enough.

Plenty of room in the 6 series gran coupe for kids, it's tall adult's that can be a bit cramped. Take one for a test drive, you may be pleasantly surprised. Interior is a big step up from the 5 series and spec is much better. Plenty of them about compared to the 535d.

So, no spare wheel and no room in the boot well for one either in a F10.

I don't know how but I get at least 2 or 3 punctures per year so run flats, as good as some people say, just won't be practical. Its not like I can drive to a repair place at 6am driving to work. I see some spare wheel kits you can buy but they take up a lot of boot space.

That might be the end of the 535d idea. Assume 6 series is the same?

Yes. Do you work on construction sites? I've yet to get a puncture with runflats in 4 years, I must be bloody lucky!

Just been unlucky I guess, must be a lot of screws on the roads I drive on. Plus hit a jagged rock two weeks ago that put a whole in the sidewall of one of the tyres.
    Country roads I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Even your existing 5 would have had RFTs on it (at least when new), BMW have been using that technology for quite some time now, but in the E60 the entry level models did not have them as standard so there was space for a spare in the boot. All F10s came with RFTs apart from possibly the ///M5.

Oddly enough the G30 (current model) 5 series doesn't have run flats as standard either if you buy a 520i, 518d or 520d (the rest of the range gets them, though), but I'm not sure if there is space for a spare in the boot. Presumably there is since they don't fit them as standard on the entry level models. Then again, they don't sell these with anything more powerful than the 530d unless you were to try petrol instead - and as much as I like my big engined petrols, that's not practical for you really.

Maybe I will just have to put up with run flats and get a space saver and put it in the boot and loose a bit of space.

I mean what do you do if you have a puncture on a sunday morn on a 100km journey, start ringing a 24 hour tyre call out service? You have the two kids in the back so you have entertain then for an hour or so versus a 10 minute tyre change if you have a spare. Just not very practical. Must be getting old.

I'm driving BMWs with run flats for years and cannot remember the last time I got a puncture on one. At least with run flats if you get a puncture it will still allow you to drive the car to the nearest garage or home to get it sorted. Most cars don't come with a spare wheel these days and all you will get is a can of that gunk in the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭maddness

What about a 435D gran coupe? I’ve just bought one and it’s awesome.

Interior space is every tighter in the 4 GC than it is in the 6 GC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Very very hard to beat a 5 series once you've owned one. I had 2 e39s, an e60 and now an f10. Loved them all.
    3 and 4 series are definitely steps down when sitting in them, although they are nice cars. 6 series is beautiful but for every day give me a 5.

Try an a6 3.0 tdi quattro too, we have a 2.0 tdi A6 in the household but since you're asking about 535d I don't think you would settle for less than the 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

maddness wrote: »
    What about a 435D gran coupe? I’ve just bought one and it’s awesome.

Interior is a massive step down from a 5 or 6 series, plus very tight.

Just looking at a 2015 535d and a 2016 535d in the UK, would work out at €34k and €35k respectively to buy and pay VRT.

A small bit pricier that I thought. Both low mileage 40k miles and 28k miles but 2 owner and 3 owner so not sure how I feel about it.

Will ring some of the Irish dealers and see if the can source something.

Interior is a massive step down from a 5 or 6 series, plus very tight.

Perhaps the interior is a step down but I have had a 5 series in the past and the 4 is a much better drive. It is a lot smaller though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭sk8board

Perhaps the interior is a step down but I have had a 5 series in the past and the 4 is a much better drive. It is a lot smaller though.

Last car was a 5 and current one is a 4 gc - it’s easily the best car I’ve ever owned. Got it new 4 years ago.
    First off, it’s a hatchback (more of a lift back) with a 480L boot, or with the seats down, it beats the 5 saloon hands down for practicality, for my use anyway. The driving position is better than the 5 too, and much lower.
    Get the msport and sport plus spec with the 8 speed ZF and paddles etc, and the widescreen nav, just like the 5.
    Frameless doors. Better colour options.

The space in the rear is tight for adults (I’m 6” and I still have tiny bit of headroom), but for kids or child seats it’s just fine. Rear door openings are narrower for getting kids into child seats, and roof line is lower. Middle rear seat is only for short distances. It’s sold as a 2+1. I’ve taken 3 adults, but only to the pub down the road.

Objectively, if you’re looking for a 4yo bmw, it’s the best looking car for the money too.

The annual bmw warranty is €415 bumper to bumper with €135 excess. They cover up to 160k km or 10 years old.

Without a doubt in my mind, in a choice between 4 and 5 with the same engine, drivetrain and iDrive, if you’re after better driving dynamics and almost all the practicalities, I’d pick the 4 GC.
    If you carry 5 in the back regularly, or over long distances, pick the 5.

The 4 seems to hold the values reasonably ok at that age too, the 5’s fell harder and are the same price or even less, but far less 4s on the road, and none of them are fleet cars.

apol’s for fanboying. I haven’t replaced mine because I haven’t found something that is as much of an all rounder for me and the family, and still do the odd run to ikea or the dump

sk8board wrote: »
    Last car was a 5 and current one is a 4 gc - it’s easily the best car I’ve ever owned. Got it new 4 years ago.
    First off, it’s a hatchback (more of a lift back) with a 480L boot, or with the seats down, it beats the 5 saloon hands down for practicality, for my use anyway. The driving position is better than the 5 too, and much lower.
    Get the msport and sport plus spec with the 8 speed ZF and paddles etc, and the widescreen nav, just like the 5.
    Frameless doors. Better colour options.

The space in the rear is tight for adults (I’m 6” and I still have tiny bit of headroom), but for kids or child seats it’s just fine. Rear door openings are narrower for getting kids into child seats, and roof line is lower. Middle rear seat is only for short distances. It’s sold as a 2+1. I’ve taken 3 adults, but only to the pub down the road.

Objectively, if you’re looking for a 4yo bmw, it’s the best looking car for the money too.

The annual bmw warranty is €415 bumper to bumper with €135 excess. They cover up to 160k km or 10 years old.

Without a doubt in my mind, in a choice between 4 and 5 with the same engine, drivetrain and iDrive, if you’re after better driving dynamics and almost all the practicalities, I’d save yourself some € and pick the 4 GC.
    If you carry 5 in the back regularly, or over long distances, pick the 5.

apol’s for fanboying. I haven’t replaced mine because I haven’t found something that is as much of an all rounder for me and the family, and still do the odd run to ikea or the dump

I have one too. The GC is extremely practical. I've carried 4 alloys and tyres, swallowed with ease as well as the front end and rear bumpers of my old 3 series again swallowed this space to spare. If we had young kids it would be a great car save for the tiny rear doors.

Horses for courses really depending on what you want. The 5 Series is much more refined than the 4 Series, the 5 Series interior is also way more luxurious and better materials are used. Yeah the 5 Series is not as sharp to drive as the 4 Series due to its extra size and weight, after all despite having the same number of doors it's a big bargy saloon not a coupe. 5 Series are however cheaper to buy due to the amount of them for sale and depreciation in this car class is higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭sk8board

bazz26 wrote: »
    Horses for courses really depending on what you want. The 5 Series is much more refined than the 4 Series, the 5 Series interior is also way more luxurious and better materials are used. Yeah the 5 Series is not as sharp to drive as the 4 Series due to its extra size and weight, after all despite having the same number of doors it's a big bargy saloon not a coupe. 5 Series are however cheaper to buy due to the amount of them for sale and depreciation in this car class is higher.

Agree completely it’s horses for courses. I just had myself and 2 sons (7&9) in the car when I changed to the 4, and needed to drop the back seats for my bike etc. It was that or an estate.

Re interiors - The 4 was a new model in 2015 and is at the very least a similar quality interior than the older model 5 series of the same year, purely imho, having owned both. Tech and options are both identical.

Definitely more road noise in the msport 4 on 19”s.

I got the brembo motorsport brake upgrade - you’ll know it by the painted callipers. Phenomenal stopping power for a car this size.

If you live/drive in a city or potholed roads, don’t go near the 4 series. Slow bump roll is poor and will wreak your head. I’m in north county dublin, so the country roads and towns are decent and the rest is motorway.

it has an almost go kart feel compared to the 5 I had. Much sharper.

Agree completely it’s horses for courses. I just had myself and 2 sons (7&9) in the car when I changed to the 4, and needed to drop the back seats for my bike etc. It was that or an estate.

Re interiors - The 4 was a new model in 2015 and is at the very least a similar quality interior than the older model 5 series of the same year, purely imho, having owned both. Tech and options are both identical.

Definitely more road noise in the msport 4 on 19”s.

I got the brembo motorsport brake upgrade - you’ll know it by the painted callipers. Phenomenal stopping power for a car this size.

If you live/drive in a city or potholed roads, don’t go near the 4 series. Slow bump roll is poor and will wreak your head. I’m in north county dublin, so the country roads and towns are decent and the rest is motorway.

it has an almost go kart feel compared to the 5 I had. Much sharper.

We have an SE on those turbine style wheels and the ride is very harsh.

I’ve just come from a Golf R and the 4 series on 19’s is a lot more comfortable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

I'd completely agree with you on the drive as the coupe and saloon are completely different beasts so each to their own.

However there is no comparing the interiors - the F10 2015 5 series is far superior to a 4 GC of the same year. The 4 even has an old manual handbrake which immediately dates the interior.

Better materials are used in the 5 and it's just far superior in every way to the 4, on the interior side of things.

Agree though the 4GC is a gorgeous looking car, especially with msport+ trim. Also the boot is a lot more practical than the 5 series.

I think if interior plastic and perceived quality is more important than driving experience then why not just get a 520d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

I'd completely agree with you on the drive as the coupe and saloon are completely different beasts so each to their own.

However there is no comparing the interiors - the F10 2015 5 series is far superior to a 4 GC of the same year. The 4 even has an old manual handbrake which immediately dates the interior.

Better materials are used in the 5 and it's just far superior in every way to the 4, on the interior side of things.

Agree though the 4GC is a gorgeous looking car, especially with msport+ trim. Also the boot is a lot more practical than the 5 series.
    Completely agree about interior quality having had multiple F30s & F10s, there is a big jump up to the 5s

Horses for courses, either one with that engine is desirable.

I am going to look at g30 520's.

For much the same price it could be a 2 year old g20 520d or a 3-4 year old f10 535d. I would like the bigger engine but then again cheaper to run a 520 and the g30s look nice.

Overall the g30's seem to be a better car than the f10 based on reviews I am reading. Think it is 190bhp in the 520 so its not underpowered anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I am going to look at g30 520's.

For much the same price it could be a 2 year old g20 520d or a 3-4 year old f10 535d. I would like the bigger engine but then again cheaper to run a 520 and the g30s look nice.

Overall the g30's seem to be a better car than the f10 based on reviews I am reading. Think it is 190bhp in the 520 so its not underpowered anyways.

I have posted very often on this but I think I am well qualified with real world usage, not bar stool talk.

I have a 530d f10 and girlfriend has a 2.0 tdi Audi A6, both 2014 both very nice cars but when I was buying the 530d last year I was coming from an e60 525i 6 cylinder and of course I read all the craic about 6 cylinder refinement etc so I looked for a 530d over a 520d and was very happy with my 530d. The girlfriend gets train to work so both cars are there for me in the morning, I take the Audi as often as the BMW, the fact it has 1000cc less cubic capacity and 2 less cylinders doesnt matter to me, it is as quick in real world as the 530d. Foot down, yes, the BMW is a bit quicker but very happy driving both cars, and the Audi has the better interior which to me is the most important thing. I like switching it up really anyway, they were always my 2 favourite cars.
    The Audi is 190bhp like the 520d anyway so as you say, no slouch.
    If I was going again I would get a 520d no problem, they are popular for a reason and its because they are good cars. You will get begrudgers saying they are useless, 4 pots are unrefined etc but the same people will recommend a 120bhp Mondeo or octavia in a heartbeat so I say go for the newer model 520d over f10 bigger engine if you dont think its that important to you, it isnt to me any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭blingrhino

i have an E220 2018 and my mrs has a 171 new model 520.

The 520 is a a far nicer car to drive-more driver focused and feels faster than the Merc but the Merc is infinely more comfortable and way more economical.

She had a 141 520 before this and the new one is a big step up on it even if i think that the old M sport looked better !

seems a better choice to get in to a new model rather than the old, if they are similar money all be it a 535.

I think you would get used to the 520 very quickly.

Have you driven one?

^^^Agreed (edit: Heres Johnny's post!). For 90% of people, the 520d is all they'll ever need. Certainly not underpowered and they are economical for a big heavy yoke. I moved from a 520d E61 to a 525d F11, then to the 535d F10. To be perfectly honest, the 525d was perfect, nice power over the 520d and still relatively economical. Yes they don't sound very refined, especially when cold, but no 4 cylinder diesel does.

A 520d G30 would be a sensible option OP. Better to drive than the f10, better interior and better tech.

I had a rental G30 520D for a month before buying my car and it was indeed a lovely thing.
    I’d a F10 520d Msport for a couple of years and the newer model is streets ahead, much better interior and very quiet for a 4 cylinder diesel. I also couldn’t believe how economical it was. I really understand why they are so popular but as good as it was it was also very dull. Lovely car and I get why a lot of people love them but not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭at9qu5vp0wcix7

I had a rental G30 520D for a month before buying my car and it was indeed a lovely thing.
    I’d a F10 520d Msport for a couple of years and the newer model is streets ahead, much better interior and very quiet for a 4 cylinder diesel. I also couldn’t believe how economical it was. I really understand why they are so popular but as good as it was it was also very dull. Lovely car and I get why a lot of people love them but not for me.

Dull in terms of performance?

It's a big saloon car and one of the better ones to drive at that. It's never going to handle like a hot hatch or sports car.

Dull in terms of performance?

Not really about the performance, it goes perfectly well for a 2.0 diesel. It’s a lovely place to sit but just dull to drive. I suppose the majority of modern BMW’s are not really The Ultimate Driving Machines any more but just very nice places to be in.

Thought I would give an update on this. Eventually settled on a 530d G30 which hoping to pick up in the next week from a BMW Dealer in the UK.

It has most of the spec I was looking for but its hard to find everything. Got Msport, Msport Plus, Comfort, Harmon karden loudspeaker, head-up display, reverse assist camera and few other things. Went for Bluestone colour and black interior as well. Would have liked sunroof and comfort seats but couldnt find everything.

Haven't actually driven it so hope its good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Well wear. Best of luck.
    Sounds like a great car and a logical follow on from what you had.

Sounds like a really nice car, best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

Thought I would give an update on this. Eventually settled on a 530d G30 which hoping to pick up in the next week from a BMW Dealer in the UK.

Best of luck with it Aristotle. Do you mind me asking how much you landed it here for? Interested in picking one of these up myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Ive had 2 e60's (520d/525d both lci models) and then onto F10 525D 3litre also.
    I test drove the g30 520d and the inside was a massive improvement over the f10 which was an improvement over the e60.
    Yet I always missed my e60 525 3litre., Bloody awesome car...give me the transmission from the f10 and the exterior and suspension of the e60 msport and the interior of the G30.
    Bangle's Msport design was some car design for its time and its still and I reckon always will be a classic.
    I think the g30 kinda leans back into it after the f10.
    Best of luck with it anyway :)

madds wrote: »
    Best of luck with it Aristotle. Do you mind me asking how much you landed it here for? Interested in picking one of these up myself.

Yes hoping it will work out at just over €46k to buy it assuming the VRT calculator is correct.

Breakdown is:

Buy for £33500 (€37400)
    VRT €8800

Then additional costs:
    Flight over (€25), car ferry back (€175), taxi airport to dealer (€50), hotel one night (€170).

Its a 182 reg with 3,500 miles. Saving at least a few thousand on Irish equivalent and list price of car is €80200. I think overall its good value but spending more than I had planned. But will also have BMW warranty for another 2.5 years up to 60k miles.

After talking to a few BMW dealers in the UK they seem to give £200 - £500 off the quoted prices but no more.

There is a 2018 530d msport with no extras and 25k miles that you could get for €39k after VRT which is decent value too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Make sure you get that mileage up past 6000km before you VRT it.

Harcrid wrote: »

Thanks for that, I didnt know about that rule. So its over 6 months old and it will have over 6000 km on it by the time I drive it to the ferry and bit in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Why is that?

It's classed as a new car when under 6 months old or less than 6000km.

VAT as well as VRT may be chargeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Harcrid wrote: »

You have to pay vat as well as vrt if car has less than 6000km when importing. Revenue treat it as a new vehicle.
    Also you will probably have to pay more vrt that the online calculator has shown you as revenue will check the options on your car and charge you for them as well. They do this for all higher end cars.

There is 5750kms on it right now according to the invoice. But revenue say its the mileage on the date of import rather than the invoice. Phew, thats a relief :)

I will easily rack up 250km from the dealer to the ferry. Thanks for the info, appreciate it, could have been a nasty suprise.

"Also, the point at which the 6000km is calculated is the date it arrives in this State and not the mileage given on the invoice when the vehicle was purchased in the UK/NI."

https://www.revenue.ie/en/tax-professionals/tdm/value-added-tax/part03-taxable-transactions-goods-ica-services/Goods/goods-transactions-motor-vehicles.pdf