Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comments about my use of radio use at work

• 28-05-2019 7:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Problem Of Motivation

So in the canteen at my new job there's no radio. I was mentioning to one of the more senior staff there that I might bring along a radio. She said "oh definitely do, the place is dead quiet". All the other staff members just sit there in dead silence looking at their phones. There's something I don't like about that dead silence. I like to hear a thing or two about what's going on on the radio. Maybe the others don't really mind it because they wouldn't spend as much time in the canteen as myself. It's a petrol station, so a lot of these sort would go out to smoke!

So anyway, I brought along a radio. The other day this girl said "I always know when it's you in here because the radio will be on". She then went on to say "ah well, what harm". It's kind of ironic the way she said that. I suppose what she really meant was "you're a bit backward with your radio, but you could be worse"

But recently I overheard a few lads chatting in the canteen as I was passing by. Based on the few words I picked up, I suspected they were chatting about me! A little bit later I heard the radio go on and off for about two seconds, and when it went off, I heard a big laugh from all of them. I didn't feel particularly good!

Is it now considered this odd for young people to listen to a radio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Listen to the radio with headphones. Why disturb everybody else's quiet time? These social situations can be a minefield for you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Problem Of Motivation

Listen to the radio with headphones. Why disturb everybody else's quiet time? These social situations can be a minefield for you.
    But you're guaranteed keep following my threads. They mustn't be that bad a read after all.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

So in the canteen at my new job there's no radio. I was mentioning to one of the more senior staff there that I might bring along a radio. She said "oh definitely do, the place is dead quiet". All the other staff members just sit there in dead silence looking at their phones. There's something I don't like about that dead silence. I like to hear a thing or two about what's going on on the radio. Maybe the others don't really mind it because they wouldn't spend as much time in the canteen as myself. It's a petrol station, so a lot of these sort would go out to smoke!

So anyway, I brought along a radio. The other day this girl said "I always know when it's you in here because the radio will be on". She then went on to say "ah well, what harm". It's kind of ironic the way she said that. I suppose what she really meant was "you're a bit backward with your radio, but you could be worse"

But recently I overheard a few lads chatting in the canteen as I was passing by. Based on the few words I picked up, I suspected they were chatting about me! A little bit later I heard the radio go on and off for about two seconds, and when it went off, I heard a big laugh from all of them. I didn't feel particularly good!

Is it now considered this odd for young people to listen to a radio?

Why dont you leave everyone alone and bring some headphones?

Nothing worse than someone who cant read social context

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

It's weird, that's what earphones are for on your phone, and some people like quiet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Erik Shun

IMRO baby....

Most other canteens I've been in have a radio on full time. Any new comers don't seem to question it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I suppose it depends what you're listening to OP.

If I worked with you, and you had Ray D'Arcy on, I'd probably throw the radio at ye!

Pissartist wrote: »
    It's weird, that's what earphones are for on your phone, and some people like quiet
    You don't get it. It's not worth the hassle with headphones. You're quite restricted for starters. Plus you can't interact with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

We used to have a TV in our break room. Every day, we would all sit down and watch an episode of the wire.

Anyway, best not to turn things on their head when you are new in a job, just go with flow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Get another job then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

You should bring the radio with you the next time you decide to got for a walk.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I suppose it depends what you're listening to OP.

If I worked with you, and you had Ray D'Arcy on, I'd probably throw the radio at ye!
    To be fair, I'd have had it on a radio station that would suit the commoners.

Pissartist wrote: »
    You're weird.

You don't get it. It's not worth the hassle with headphones. You're quite restricted for starters. Plus you can't interact with others.

I get the impression the others don’t necessarily want to interact (with you).

hairyslug wrote: »

Anyway, best not to turn things on their head when you are new in a job, just go with flow
    I know, I know. It's just weird though.

I get the impression the others don’t necessarily want to interact (with you).
    No, they're not all zombies. I've had some interesting conversations in the canteen so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Theres too much emotional attachment to the radio. Feeling bad when they turned it off etc. what was your desired outcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Is there a radio playing on the shop floor? Would be pretty normal in a petrol station

If so surely the canteen can be the quiet place to get away from this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

The OP is the reason I eat lunch in my office.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

You sound like that annoying colleague no one likes and everyone avoids.

Feeling bad when they turned it off etc. what was your desired outcome?
    No, they turned it on, and then turned it straight off. For just about 2 seconds. Understand? So at that particular point in time, it was already off.

Is the girl attractive?

No, they turned it on, and then turned it straight off. Understand?

Future IT workers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Can't stand people who impose their taste in radio stations on others, grow up and use earphones ffs

No, they're not all zombies. I've had some interesting conversations in the canteen so far.

About the radio?

Is the girl attractive?
    Kind of. She definitely gets my attention.

That explains it.

Can't stand people who impose their taste in radio stations on others, grow up and use earphones ffs
    it's not like it's lyric fm or something. I don't care what station it's on, as long as there's some bit of noise. Anything to make me feel like I'm not at a funeral.

That explains it.
    What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

No, they turned it on, and then turned it straight off. For just about 2 seconds. Understand? So at that particular point in time, it was already off.

Feeling bad when it was already off then. How long where you standing outside the door listening?

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Is there a radio playing on the shop floor? Would be pretty normal in a petrol station

If so surely the canteen can be the quiet place to get away from this
    Yeah, but that's cheap unknown dad rock with no bad words. You know, the sort of music they play just to be sure an old customer won't sue for being offended.

Feeling bad when it was already off then. How long where you standing outside the door listening?
    No no no. I was walking by.

The OP will be murdered around Christmas time by staff who are forced to listen to Christmas songs on the shop floor and then can’t away from the radio in their canteen

RIP OP

What?

She wants to play with your (radio) knob.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I can't f**king stand the radio, between the presenters inane "banter" to stupid people calling in to the same ads on the same time to some terrible music or worse, music with someone talking over it, Spotify of Youtube Music for me, if someone was to turn on the radio in my workplace I would ask them to turn it off.

If you want to listen to the radio, get headphone, if you want to force everyone else to listen to the radio, deal with the feedback from people who don't like the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

fûck them, most offices I’ve worked in had radios tuned to an appropriate level. Switched off if someone had to take a call, a meeting etc... they sound like a bunch of fûckin windbags to be fair, I’d keep an eye on people like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Wait until she tells you to go to the shop for more milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put on some classic radio, everyone loves classic music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Ty Clean Ginseng

id rather have the radio off as there's one tool who sings along to every bloody song that's on, from Beyoncé to Beegees to Ed Sheeran, sings along loudly and it bugs the 20 others in the office...

and the state of the radio stations in Ireland is grim/poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

as long as there's some bit of noise.

Shove your bit of noise up your proverbial hole. Nothing worse than that simpleton at work who thinks other people have any interest in listening to their ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Doctor Zhivago

Same as yourself, OP. When I'm in the canteen at work I turn it on. Not too loud, just enough so there's not dead silence. No one seems to care it's on but no one turns it on but me. It's weird.

Age profile of staff in there is 16/17 to mid 50s and no one bats an eye lid to what's on.

I think you work with a bunch of clique type fools to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

We only switch it on for the Angelus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,760 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If someone imposed their music on me in the staff canteen I'd deliberately try to smash their radio by colliding with their table on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

it's not like it's lyric fm or something. I don't care what station it's on, as long as there's some bit of noise. Anything to make me feel like I'm not at a funeral.

You want everyone else to do it your way by everyone having the radio on. You said you don't want to listen to radio on earphones because you can't interact. You could have one earphone in so you can hear the radio without imposing it on anyone else. If you get into one of your riveting conversations you can take out the earphone. If you're alone you can listen to the radio in your earphone.

But above all, why do you ha e no respect for the people who just want to take a break in peace and quiet? Why should they listen to your radio when you could just listen to earphones?

BTW I listen to radio and podcasts earphones everyday in work. I just don't expect anyone else to listen to the same thing I listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah OP well I’m glad I don’t work with half the posters who replied here. I hate dead quiet boring zero craic offices (which is what that sounds like). But don’t bother bringing in a radio, use your headphones so that they can call you rude and aloof too! You can’t please everyone, and your office sounds like a right glum place to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

screamer wrote: »
    Ah OP well I’m glad I don’t work with half the posters who replied here. I hate dead quiet boring zero craic offices (which is what that sounds like). But don’t bother bringing in a radio, use your headphones so that they can call you rude and aloof too! You can’t please everyone, and your office sounds like a right glum place to work.

It's a petrol station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

screamer wrote: »

It's not other people's job to entertain you on their lunch break. It is your job to respect people's break time though. If you want to chat, then Chat away. If people just want a bit of peace and quiet then surely you can find another way to entertain yourself.

It's worth noting that the other staff seem to have a bit of craic between them in the canteen. Even if it's at the OP's expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

One of the lads at work likes a certain type of trad music much to the annoyance of everyone else. He tuned the radio to the trad station once. Given the option to accompany the radio out the window he choose to retune to a more acceptable station. Anyway OP hope the Summer job works out for you, what year are you going into in September?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I carry a ghetto blaster and a roll of lino to the canteen on my tea break. Comes in handy like!

Always found people who need some noise to be a bit odd. And thinking people sitting in silence is like being at a funeral?

These are your issues, OP. Most people are more happy to sit quietly, read, chat quietly etc. without a radio hampering that.

Go with the flow basically. Don't join jobs and then change stuff.