Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slurry tanker

• 22-05-2019 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hello,

I want to buy a second had slurry tanker and I am wondering what is best?

I have my eye on 1600 gal Abbey tanker with floutation wheels ( not sure of there size) and am wondering about the pros and cons ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Is it the non-recessed type Abbey?
    Used to borrow one from an uncle when would be spreading alot. Found it a bit giddy and long for it's capacity. Have a 1350 Hi-Spec myself and preferred it even with smaller capacity. Would be pulling with A95 Valtra so be light enough.
    Used to pull 2100R and 2250R Abbeys for a contractor (albeit with more muscle up front) and I would say there is no comparison.

Place here would be hilly enough if that makes any difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you can find one, and if you can afford it when you do find it, a fully galvanised one with the big recessed wheels would do any man 20 or 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 MarkIRE

PoorFarmer wrote: »
    Is it the non-recessed type Abbey?
    Used to borrow one from an uncle when would be spreading alot. Found it a bit giddy and long for it's capacity. Have a 1350 Hi-Spec myself and preferred it even with smaller capacity. Would be pulling with A95 Valtra so be light enough.
    Used to pull 2100R and 2250R Abbeys for a contractor (albeit with more muscle up front) and I would say there is no comparison.

Place here would be hilly enough if that makes any difference

I have a ford 7840 (gear 1 - 4 then up to 5 - 8) eyeing a 1600 gal Abbey with floutation tyres? Not too hilly bar one field! What you think? Pros and cons 😂 ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No problem to a 7840.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

With these new draft proposals for slurry would you be better hold off and see how they pan out. If they pass you’ll need a band spreader with macerator. Local contractor paid 14k for the attachment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭josephsoap

MarkIRE wrote: »
    Hello,

I want to buy a second had slurry tanker and I am wondering what is best?

I have my eye on 1600 gal Abbey tanker with floutation wheels ( not sure of there size) and am wondering about the pros and cons ?

Can I ask what size tanks you have to consider buying a tank?

I have 2 4 bay tanks here and often toyed with the idea of getting a 1350 tank

josephsoap wrote:
    I have 2 4 bay tanks here and often toyed with the idea of getting a 1350 tank

I have 2 3 bay tanks 12 ft by 8 ft. Have the tanker as an option to spread when I want. Not when the contractor is able to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭josephsoap

PoorFarmer wrote: »
    I have 2 3 bay tanks 12 ft by 8 ft. Have the tanker as an option to spread when I want. Not when the contractor is able to.

Cheers Poorfarmer, do you have an agitator as well?

Ya. Is handy if I need to get a few loads out and can always agitate the end of a tank to cover a paddock if needed. With restrictions on splash plates sure to come online soon I would be slow to buy one now if I had to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Was talking to a fella today that has a spotless 1600 gallon hispec on 30.5's with a stepped axle for sale in clare. Would be a great tank to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I would have picked up a tanker a while ago but for the uncertainty over future regulations, does anyone think they may grandfather in rights to spread with a splash plate on tankers already purchased?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I would have picked up a tanker a while ago but for the uncertainty over future regulations, does anyone think they may grandfather in rights to spread with a splash plate on tankers already purchased?

Doubt it very much and while it looks like it’s coming down the road, it could be a good while but it actually happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭hopeso

I doubt it, but who knows what will happen. Whatever they do, they can't bring it in overnight anyway. There wouldn't be enough tankers in the country to spread all the slurry if splash plates were outlawed in the morning.... I'd say they'll have to make a decision on what they want, and then give a time frame for it to come into law....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭Grueller

hopeso wrote: »
    I doubt it, but who knows what will happen. Whatever they do, they can't bring it in overnight anyway. There wouldn't be enough tankers in the country to spread all the slurry if splash plates were outlawed in the morning.... I'd say they'll have to make a decision on what they want, and then give a time frame for it to come into law....

They also need an affordable solution to come on stream I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Paying 10k+ for just a macerator is just not manageable for small and medium size farmers.

Grueller wrote: »
    They also need an affordable solution to come on stream I think.

I wonder if that will worry them? The recent local and European elections revealed a big increase in votes for the green party.......If they get into power again, it will be the end of farming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,205 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The grants at the moment for tankers are the government's speak for "get the finger out and get one now cos this is not going to last forever".
    As for the small farmers, governments (or should i say the dept) in this country have always seen small farmers as an irritation in the setting up of bigger more bells and whistles farms. The type of farms where you bring your foreign dignitaries looking to fill orders for a gander around. If the tanker job closes down some mickey mouse farms then happy days for the dept.

Edit: A lot of the European countries have small farmer unions/representatives. It's just lacking here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭50HX

Those in derogation can't spread with a splash plate after June this year .......is that correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I wonder if that will worry them? The recent local and European elections revealed a big increase in votes for the green party.......If they get into power again, it will be the end of farming!

That was pure media hype the greens were bottom of the pile in the elections
    https://www.google.com/search?q=results+of+european+elections&oq=results+of+e&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j69i60j0l4.8895j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭zetecescort

spreading slurry will just become a job for contractors

Dakota Dan wrote: »

And long may it continue that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭memorystick

I have 100 foot tank with the land all around the yard. I need to buy a tanker as have been using a neighbours for the last while. There seems to be value on DoneDeal. I’m just worried about rules. Any advice to buy or buy not. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I have 100 foot tank with the land all around the yard. I need to buy a tanker as have been using a neighbours for the last while. There seems to be value on DoneDeal. I’m just worried about rules. Any advice to buy or buy not. Thanks

I'd say in the next 5 years no splashplates wont be allowed at all. Rules are tightening every year and I'd say that will be the final goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭visatorro

Contractor with pipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭cute geoge

You would easily pick up a hispec 1600 gal for €2500-3000 with the low wheels ,just check condition of pump ,pto shaft ,couplings ,spring and tyres ,The tank will always be worth some few bob if it fresh enough .They wont be able to ban the splash plate completely that quick anyway

If you need a tanker, there's no reason not to buy one. But, do be fully aware that the splash plate's days are numbered. You have two options if buying now. Either buy something for very right money, that will do you for the next few years, and scrap it when the ban comes in....Or buy a very fresh tanker that will be worth fitting a dribble bar to when the time comes.

Out from that, the neighbour who's tanker you are using now will find himself in the same position as you in a few years time...basically having to use a dribble bar. Depending on how good his current tanker is, he may need a new tanker and dribble bar. Would it be an option to hold on for a couple of years as you are, and buy a new tanker between ye when the time comes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'd say in the next 5 years no splashplates wont be allowed at all. Rules are tightening every year and I'd say that will be the final goal

I see on another forum that you retrofitted lately.
    Happy??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

What price a new 10000l tank and dribble bar
    +vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

K.G. wrote: »
    What price a new 10000l tank and dribble bar
    +vat

30 grand..

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    30 grand..

So thats24 kafter grant.painted or galvanized?

I see on another forum that you retrofitted lately.
    Happy??

Haven't got it back yet. He wanted to hold onto it to make a video so may light a fire underneath him

Reggie. wrote: »
    Haven't got it back yet. He wanted to hold onto it to make a video so may light a fire underneath him

He gave us a sneak preview on FB a few days ago........

It was finished the third week of Nov. He must be getting it hard to find a cameraman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Zetor19

Are they planning on watching us spreading the slurry to see if we use splash plate? They can fcuk right off with themselves, why are people even considering obeying this utter tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭memorystick

Zetor19 wrote: »
    Are they planning on watching us spreading the slurry to see if we use splash plate? They can fcuk right off with themselves, why are people even considering obeying this utter tripe.

I think you’re a kinda right. Pure scare mongering. Has anyone ever been penalised for spreading on the wrong dates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭50HX

Cross compliance. ......that's why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Zetor19

The country been dragged to the gutter with criminals and scumbag drug dealers doing what they like and farmers been told how they can or cannot spread ****e, fcuk right off.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

The country been dragged to the gutter with criminals and scumbag drug dealers doing what they like and farmers been told how they can or cannot spread ****e, fcuk right off.,

Ah,but sure the IFA will represent us..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭jaymla627

50HX wrote: »
    Cross compliance. ......that's why

Its just at the stage now where any intensive farm will be better of drawing no sfp and work away without it, the conditions for drawing down the new cap whenever its implemented will be draconian, and all the while european farmers will be expected to compete on the commodity food markets with two hands tied behind lads backs, for a small pittance of handouts from the EU that wont even come close to compensating for compliance with their rulebook.....

I think you’re a kinda right. Pure scare mongering. Has anyone ever been penalised for spreading on the wrong dates?

Not yet but I'd say itll happen one day. See a contractor and farmer were fined for cutting hedges outside the dates

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Its just at the stage now where any intensive farm will be better of drawing no sfp and work away without it, the conditions for drawing down the new cap whenever its implemented will be draconian, and all the while european farmers will be expected to compete on the commodity food markets with two hands tied behind lads backs, for a small pittance of handouts from the EU that wont even come close to compensating for compliance with their rulebook.....

That’s the problem....The big intensive farms may well be able to work away without the single payment, but that’s not an option for the small farmer. Yet the small farmer has to work to the same rules and restrictions as the intensive farmer even though he probably has very small quantities of slurry, fert, sprays, etc......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,928 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

jaymla627 wrote: »

Problem is that these rules will be enforced by county councils as well. Stocking rates will reduce over next 5 years, nitrates directive will change. If you are not cross complaint the CC will be down on you like a ton of bricks

Look at Holland and it forced restocking last year all farmers had to comply. It was immaterial whether you were drawing SFP or not you got a new stocking rate and had to cull accordingly. What if Bird Bis certification is dependent on it. If you fail BB certification and fail to comply you milk cannot be collected by milk processor's.

Lots of dairy farmers in for a shock over the next ten years the pup they were sold regarding stocking rate, low cost wintering, fertilizer usage, etc will all change. We see rules changing regarding slurry spreading it is not just those.on a derogation any farmer exceeding 170 limit will have to operate to LESS rules

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Problem is that these rules will be enforced by county councils as well. Stocking rates will reduce over next 5 years, nitrates directive will change. If you are not cross complaint the CC will be down on you like a ton of bricks

Primetime investigates re the quarries and the craic they where at and the inaction of the councils to close them down I wouldn't be so sure the councils will bother, haven't the manpower our will to do it, have land contaminated by a neigjbours faulty septic tank and despite 3 years of back and forth the issue still isn't resolved and the council have basically told us they arent going to bring the offending party to task

Its not as simple as that.if you decide to go spreading slurry out of dates you must hv e all your ducks in a row for a potential inspection. It mightn't be for slurry spreading you get caught but it might be other issues that only came to light when you're inspe ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

Looking for a small slurry tank here to do a bit of spreading when I can’t get the contractor. Think 1100 gallon is plenty big for us, and if it was smaller it wouldn’t bother me. Does anyone have any experience or words of advice for me before buying one? I guess galvanized is best. What about tyre size? Does that make much difference?
    There doesn’t seem to be too many around for starts so on the look out a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    Looking for a small slurry tank here to do a bit of spreading when I can’t get the contractor. Think 1100 gallon is plenty big for us, and if it was smaller it wouldn’t bother me. Does anyone have any experience or words of advice for me before buying one? I guess galvanized is best. What about tyre size? Does that make much difference?
    There doesn’t seem to be too many around for starts so on the look out a while now.

There very cheap second hand now with the introduction.of the trailing shoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

Have a look at these, cheap

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25479697

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25451118 1100
    abbey slurry tanker

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25443155 Abbey 1100 tanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

Depends on the Tractor and ground. Hilly heavy round and you'd still need a 100hp+ tractor for a 1000 gallon tank
    Try to get one with the wide Russian wheels as they do less damage to the ground.
    Theres a limited supply of that size tanker second hand, try and find a Conor Engineering one in good nick, they have heavier plated steel in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Depends on the Tractor and ground. Hilly heavy round and you'd still need a 100hp+ tractor for a 1000 gallon tank
    Try to get one with the wide Russian wheels as they do less damage to the ground.
    Theres a limited supply of that size tanker second hand, try and find a Conor Engineering one in good nick, they have heavier plated steel in them.

Russian tyres are a disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Would the 1600Gal with high wheels be easier on ground than the 1000-1300Gal with low wheels?