Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiat Ducato camper build

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yourself and your buddy could start a small business in the camper conversion game judging by the standard of work here, Colm. Very impressive. Fair play to ye. Love those LED surrounds on the roof lights

Unfortunately it would make no money, I’d love to mess about with campers every day but it just wouldn’t pay unless you mass produce them, and where’s the fun in that?
    Maybe once you take the planning time out of it and simplify the design you could knock them out in a reasonable timeframe. Easier ways of making a living :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Electrical system was got from a supplier in the uk, it’s available in Ireland too though, it just suited to get it with some other parts. Other bits were bought locally, and more were just ordered through amazon/eBay, and some from online uk retailers. I used a spreadsheet documenting supplier prices as they can vary a lot.

Is that something you'd be willing to share?

If I can find it! Was nearly 2 years and 1 laptop ago at this stage. Will have a look

Looks like I'll be starting my second build soon. I'd be interested to see what other solutions I can use in the build rather than a copy of the one I did previously such as the power distribution board and things like that

I saw your first build all those years ago!

Ref the power distribution system. Here is the control panel for it. It’s only temporarily in place for now till I build more cabinets

31-D9-CF85-276-C-4-B29-BD4-E-7-E52-F52-D36-A9.jpg

It does stuff like control lighting, shows temperature, battery level, water tank levels, controls the water pump and other bits. It connects to the other other board in the back.

F0-EFB5-E6-C87-A-4146-A4-DE-A8-EC0-E99-D121.jpg

Got the bed in. This area still needs overhead cabinets but it will do just fine for now!

Is this is? https://www.cbe.it/en/pc210/

Looks like it takes care of the 240 charging too no?

Re the bed, how long is it from side to side of the van?

F0-EFB5-E6-C87-A-4146-A4-DE-A8-EC0-E99-D121.jpg

Got the bed in. This area still needs overhead cabinets but it will do just fine for now!

Ah jaysus. The bed linen looks like something that was found in a grannys attic :pac:

It’s retro cool.

Is this is? https://www.cbe.it/en/pc210/

Looks like it takes care of the 240 charging too no?

That’s the one. Yes it’ll charge the van battery as well as the leisure battery.

Nice. 'spensive.... but nice.

6’ 3”

• Registered Users Posts: 33,638 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Will you be felting the rear doors. Always see this not done and see it as a missed opportunity they just transmit the cold directly inside and act as a surface for condensation.

listermint wrote: »
    Will you be felting the rear doors. Always see this not done and see it as a missed opportunity they just transmit the cold directly inside and act as a surface for condensation.

Not sure. The danger with that is that it would get wet if you properly covered it. Just the way the rear door seals are on them.

There is an option of plastic trims for the doors too. Not sure what we’ll end up doing yet.

43-C14023-CDD3-4-D3-B-8-FC9-63-C1-B1-FE2852.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Does the bed work that way, going across, is it long enough, can you stretch out.

Yeah I’m 6’1 and had plenty room. It’s a standard double bed size.
    Very few other vans can fit a full size mattress sideways.

We made the walls in such a way that they have an extra few inches compared to making the wall straight from a single sheet of ply.

The panels behind your head/feet are 25mm from the outside skin of the van and they go straight up and don’t taper inwards so you don’t feel enclosed as much.

0-CDA98-CC-DAEC-427-F-B338-C32-ABDACF4-BD.jpg
    8292217-C-5-F84-4-E7-B-92-E1-BE45-BA27-D6-AA.jpg

You can see here, the red line shows how bent ply would sit on the ribs. You’re losing a few inches there which make all the difference.
    75-E84399-BD7-E-4107-95-D1-7-ADA0474-AF88.jpg

Where did you source your lining carpet from?

Not sure I’d recommend them to be honest. Bit of trouble with some other wrong stuff arriving.
    The carpet itself is grand though.

Bit more progress today
    Start made on the kitchen

5353-B8-C9-5-B0-F-4064-A095-CAEEC59839-D8.jpg

9917172-E-2-BEB-4-ED8-A07-B-02-C18-D381857.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭bigroad

Nice job .To the other poster.The ducato,relay and boxer are the widest van out there.
    Hence the use of them for camper build companies.
    Saving about 2ft plus with the bed across the back of the van.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

I don't see you putting any insulation it will be very cold

https://gnomadhome.com/van-build-insulation/

bobbyy gee wrote: »

Literally 5 posts up

bobbyy gee wrote: »

There’s loads of insulation put in! It’s way back in the thread but it’s there :)

Picked up this solid beech table top around 18 months ago. 30500-FAF-0-C29-411-F-8-A76-E7-EEBFD0-C054.jpg

Cut to size
    8043-BF03-DE30-40-A3-A4-B4-557-F5-FBE34-C5.jpg

Drill a few holes and make a few cuts
    FFFF0780-A9-A1-45-A8-A39-A-D19-FD290-FCA4.jpg
    One kitchen.
    EDBFCB0-F-9-BAA-4-D54-AD2-E-AB21485879-D6.jpg

Vertical divider in
    DF491-DB4-898-F-4-B0-E-99-DD-FF5-F3-DC9-BD4-D.jpg

There’s a lot more to come on this unit.

hadnt relealised there was no half step in the ducato. just looking at your entrance way.

We’re going fitting an external step to solve that.

No meant more for like runner storage. Handy in the sprinter builds.

Sprinters have double the ground clearance. They need the step.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭air

Sprinters have double the ground clearance. They need the step.

Double the internal floor height perhaps, ground clearance is only very marginally higher (~25mm).

Yurp. RWD.