Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stab City

• 17-05-2019 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭

I moved to Cork a couple of years ago - and it seems like there's stabbings every other week - Much greater than there ever seemed to be in Limerick yet you hear very little in way of negative talk about Cork compared to Limerick.

Did the Limerick lads have it right about media bias? - granted there was no gangland blow up in Cork the same way there was in Limerick a few years ago- but Limerick seemed to have a bad name long before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The "nickname" was a media creation....its been around for over 35 years.

It was never an accurate reflection of Limerick, indeed, you'll have to go a long way around the world to find a city with a 35 year image problem with a repugnant nickname like that one.

It is a much greater indicator of the insular parochial mindset that still infests Irish media to this day...only a small minded parochial mindset like this could continue to damage an Irish city's reputation for no other reason than a deeply concealed dislike for that city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭PhuckHugh

It was never an accurate reflection of Limerick, indeed, you'll have to go a long way around the world to find a city with a 35 year image problem with a repugnant nickname like that one.

It is a much greater indicator of the insular parochial mindset that still infests Irish media to this day...only a small minded parochial mindset like this could continue to damage an Irish city's reputation for no other reason than a deeply concealed dislike for that city.

We are agreed then that Cork is actually 'stab city'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

PhuckHugh wrote: »

What do you expect when you live in a shíthole?
    Been in cork once and that was enough for me. Granted Dublin has its ****holes aswell but cork is a joke. Limerick worse.
    Was only in Limerick five mins before a lad asked for me a few euro out of his nut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

My apologies...i just needed to get that one of my chest.

No actually Cork is a big enough city to be able to handle their own issues without having their reputation dragged through the mud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

People have this impression that stabbings are rare enough because they rarely make the media unless it's fatal or near fatal. They're quite common though. Often the victim won't cooperate with the Gardaí and it doesn't go past the preliminary stages of investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Did the Limerick lads have it right about media bias?

the "tough" limerick lads were quietly proud of their status

Been in cork once and that was enough for me. Granted Dublin has its ****holes aswell but cork is a joke. Limerick worse.
    Was only in Limerick five mins before a lad asked for me a few euro out of his nut

What has Dublin to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

As a Limerickman I would not like to see such a stupid cartoon ignorant label applied to any city.

The vast majority of the people in Cork city are the same as the people of Limerick and Dublin - that is to say - A1. (source: lived in all three)

Knife crime is national issue. It'll fester unless decent people start making a clamour about proper punishment for perpetrators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

It's the capital city, the city all other cities in Ireland aspire to be.
    It's only natural that other cities would be compared to it.
    (Kilkenny is still just a big town tbh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Well, we've got possessive apostrophes in Limerick. I'll put up with the odd bit of knife crime as long as the written word isn't stabbed in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Effects wrote: »
    It's the capital city, the city all other cities in Ireland aspire to be.

I know you're only pulling but Id be disgusted if Cork ever ended up like Dublins one huge sprawling housing estate, although it seems lessons have not been learned as there new low density estates being built all the time. Wont be long before the urban footprint of the city wraps around Carrigaline.

3 stabbings in a week here in Cork, 2 on the northside and 1 in Bishopstown, a very worrying trend.

Because I’m from Dublin. So if I didn’t mention Dublin some culchie would’ve and said Dublin is a shíthole so I put my two cents in first.
    You understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

I remember the 80's and us Shannon lads would be waiting outside spaights for a bus home in the evening, now and again the paves would confront us with knives.

The very minute they'd hear a northern accent they bolt, Shannon had a lot of northerners who hung out with us as teenagers.
    They moved here to get away from the loyalist gangs terrorising them in mixed areas.
    Almost like refugees.

And they weren't soft that's for sure, limerick paves were scum in their eyes and a knife was nothing to fear.

Anyhow I got slashed across the arm twice in Limerick cidddy, they usually used to slash you.

Rarely they'd stick it right into your abdomen, too risky to cause manslaughter or murder.

Just a slash....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

And did you get a few euro out of his nut ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    Rarely they'd stick it right into your abdomen, too risky to cause manslaughter or murder.

Just a slash....

Different breed of criminals these days, they don't have enough consideration for their crimes.

Because I’m from Dublin. So if I didn’t mention Dublin some culchie would’ve and said Dublin is a shíthole so I put my two cents in first.
    You understand?

Dublins not a **** hole, I like it for a day trip.
    You'll get lunatics living down boreens in the country side too, bombed out of their heads living in squalor.
    Feeding off what the state has to offer.
    There's a few villages in Clare and there's little estates in them which are rife in criminality and dysfunction.
    Its just never talked about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

You'll get lunatics living down boreens in the country side too, bombed out of their heads living in squalor.
    There's a few villages in Clare and there's little estates in them which are rife in criminality and dysfunction.

Regeneration ?

Different breed of criminals these days, they don't have enough consideration for their crimes.

Exactly, there's a big difference between being confronted with a weapon with a sober person and a high person.

At least the sober guy will have a bit of sense not to kill you, sure ive gotten worse slashes from hawthorns than a pen knife attached to a keyring that said

I love Ireland lol

Regeneration ?

Not particularly, just scobes who are wasters.

The regeneration people are sent to Shannon Kilrush Tulla or Ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If I was taking a day trip I'd go to a real city like London or Paris. It would take nearly as long to make it from Newlands cross into Dublin centre as it would to fly to London. Besides what's there to see in Dublin? There's only so many trips to the Zoo the adult brain can take. And that Dublin ACCENT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

You understand?

Dublin is a total kip, much worse than Cork or Limerick. I know quite a few people who have had to work there and they all say the same and all have eventually moved away in the end because they couldn't stand it. I've even heard it from Dubs i've worked with who no longer live there. Too expensive and not enough return on work / life balance for basically a bigger version of Cork but without any nearby beaches / country side hence why ye all flock down to 'the culchies' in Wexford, Waterford, Cork etc during the summer.

I go there once or twice per year, usually if I absolutely have to get a flight from there and that's about it. I've never seen so many junkies, knackers and absolute scum wandering the main streets. And I've lived in a few much much bigger cities abroad (that make dublin look like a village) with a much smaller scumbag to regular folk ratio. Truly a weird place.

Dubs are sound enough though. Generally. Its a shame, take away the pond life that clog up the city it would be a fine place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭WarpAsylum

And that Dublin ACCENT!!!
    Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

WarpAsylum wrote: »
    Which one?

Was storeee Bud?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Did the Limerick lads have it right about media bias? - granted there was no gangland blow up in Cork the same way there was in Limerick a few years ago- but Limerick seemed to have a bad name long before that.

Electric Six (yes, the same Electric Six who sang Gay Bar and Danger! High Voltage) played Dolan's Warehouse in Limerick last weekend. Their lead singer got the local crowd laughing by making puns that rhymed with "stab city". Great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Dublin is a total kip, much worse than Cork or Limerick. I know quite a few people who have had to work there and they all say the same and all have eventually moved away in the end because they couldn't stand it. I've even heard it from Dubs i've worked with who no longer live there. Too expensive and not enough return on work / life balance for basically a bigger version of Cork but without any nearby beaches / country side hence why ye all flock down to 'the culchies' in Wexford, Waterford, Cork etc during the summer.

I go there once or twice per year, usually if I absolutely have to get a flight from there and that's about it. I've never seen so many junkies, knackers and absolute scum wandering the main streets. And I've lived in a few much much bigger cities abroad (that make dublin look like a village) with a much smaller scumbag to regular folk ratio. Truly a weird place.

Dubs are sound enough though. Generally. Its a shame, take away the pond life that clog up the city it would be a fine place.

Lived in Waterford, Wexford and Dublin. Not much of a difference except for sizes.

Waterford for me was more rough than the other two. But Waterford is still a nice place.

Every county has its bad spots, london has a real problem at the moment, Paris has major problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Pretty much this. There seems to be a real rural dislike for cities in this country for some reason. Dublin probably gets the worst of it but the other cities aren’t exempt. Having lived both rural and urban I’d say one is really just a large scale version of the other in Ireland in many respects, most country towns have a rougher aspect than the cities though that’s often because the difference in size makes it harder to conceal. It’s funny though how there’s a view that Dublin gets everything, when in many ways it’s been somewhat neglected, a complaint I suspect other irish cities could also make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Just a slash....

Ah yes, the days of gentleman stabbers. I remember them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Mr_Muffin wrote: »

Just a slash....

God be with the days you could slash a fella across the cheek and it would be left at that. Now they have to stab you in the abdomen as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

We've got this weird obsession/hang up about our cities, well only two of them - Dublin and Cork at a push, could be called cities in the literal sense. Must be some kind of urban/rural divide.

I often wonder have some people here been to actual proper density cities were there are any amount of social problems/disturbances at any time of the day and night.

Our cities/large towns are pretty timid believe me.

Mr_Muffin wrote: »

Academic fencing good chap, academic fencing.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dueling_scar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Shock, horror! Some people prefer certain cities or towns, others the country life, that's normal but what I can't understand is why people feel the need to sh*t on other's choices. Constructive criticism is fine but calling places shítholes and kips is pointless.
    You understand?

Well, you were the first person in the thread to call a city a shíthole and to call people culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭pawdee

My girlfriend is from Cork city. Every time I go to Cork I get stabbed. I must say I've had it up to here at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

pawdee wrote: »
    My girlfriend is from Cork city. Every time I go to Cork I get stabbed. I must say I've had it up to here at this stage.

What?? Is she STILL stabbing you??? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Lived in Waterford, Wexford and Dublin. Not much of a difference except for sizes.

Waterford for me was more rough than the other two. But Waterford is still a nice place.

Every county has its bad spots, london has a real problem at the moment, Paris has major problems

Was in Paris last year...it was a complete kip. Rats, domestic waste and smell of piss everywhere. Also was followed a couple of occasion and those lads selling sh!t near tourist places were proper aggressive too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Anyhow I got slashed across the arm twice in Limerick cidddy, they usually used to slash you.

Just a slash....

ah sure its just a slash, just being friendly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The "Stab City" moniker originated back in the early nineteen eighties - a period when there was little or no indictable crime in Limerick - where a young Libyan man was brutally stabbed and, I think, subsequently died. Most of the criminal godfathers who would earn notoriety in later decades would have been small children at the time.

If I was taking a day trip I'd go to a real city like London or Paris. It would take nearly as long to make it from Newlands cross into Dublin centre as it would to fly to London. Besides what's there to see in Dublin? There's only so many trips to the Zoo the adult brain can take. And that Dublin ACCENT!!!

You want to go to London or Paris go for it. You won’t be attacked as easily in Dublin as you would in London or Paris. Main reason I told my missus I’m not going to Paris is because of the immigrants plaguing the place with knife attacks etc. So go ahead.
    Dublin will always be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

(Kilkenny is still just a big town tbh)

I know where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Yurt! wrote:
    Well, we've got possessive apostrophes in Limerick. I'll put up with the odd bit of knife crime as long as the written word isn't stabbed in the face.

Well, you oughtn't have an apostrophe in a possessive "its". I'd say you knicked it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

They're stabbing everyone these days.

There's a stabbing every week now in Cork --- it's horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

There are rough corners in any city. Personally, I've walked abroad at all hours of the day and night in Cork, Limerick, Dublin and Galway, and no-one has interfered with me or even so much as offered me a bit of hash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Always liked Limerick, marrying a Limerick lady to boot

Love the unpretentiousness of our third city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

We've got this weird obsession/hang up about our cities, well only two of them - Dublin and Cork at a push, could be called cities in the literal sense. Must be some kind of urban/rural divide.

I often wonder have some people here been to actual proper density cities were there are any amount of social problems/disturbances at any time of the day and night.

Our cities/large towns are pretty timid believe me.

Rural types despise those from two parishes over, never mind Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

A totally normal city with normal suburbs is a sh1t-hole. Course it is.

Anyway, I've lived near Cork city centre since 2001 (bar a short stint in Dublin, which I enjoyed - great city) and no, there aren't stabbings every other week.

Before 2001 I grew up in a lovely quiet middle-class suburban/countryside area outside Cork city so I am as sheltered as they come. And I find the way people act as though Cork has become this Mad Max alike place utterly hilarious. What sort of little crybabies are these people? Including the tough acting dodderangler. :p

I'm not saying there aren't thugs and no-go areas in Cork city. You'll never find an urban area without them, but overall, Cork is just so safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Rural types despise those from two parishes over, never mind Dublin

I'm of a rural background myself.

I don't give a toss about the next door neighbour never mind the next parish over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Newmarket on Fergus . Kilrush is a bit weird too.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Love the unpretentiousness of our third city

Ha ha - no latin quarters or grafton quarters down here. We just have town.

"Fork's in the bag you gowl"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

There's a stabbing every week now in Cork --- it's horrific.

Gangland shootings every week in Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

topper75 wrote: »
    Ha ha - no latin quarters or grafton quarters down here. We just have town.

"Fork's in the bag you gowl"

Ju know King's Island, you misfortune?? :pac: