Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children attempt to burn homeless man alive

• 16-05-2019 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/gang-kids-laugh-after-burning-16282182

Not even shocked or surprised at this, I know it's cliche to say "kids today are worse than ever" but we definitely drew the line at attempted murder when I was young. No doubt it'll be handwaved as "a moment of madness", I''m sure they have "difficult home lives" etc. etc. etc. I mean there's no facilities so this was bound to happen right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

It’s the gubberment fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

It’s the gubberment fault.

Right on cue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

2 wrongs don't make a right

But **** me... I'd love to knock that knacker scumbag out if I could and teach him lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Culture boss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

El_Bee wrote: »
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/gang-kids-laugh-after-burning-16282182

Not even shocked or surprised at this, I know it's cliche to say "kids today are worse than ever" but we definitely drew the line at attempted murder when I was young. No doubt it'll be handwaved as "a moment of madness", I''m sure they have "difficult home lives" etc. etc. etc. I mean there's no facilities so this was bound to happen right?

Yeah, we didn't do terrible stuff like that....we just raised the kids that do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Despicable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Read this yesterday. Looks like a bunch of mostly young girls. What the hell is wrong with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Poor kids. Raised by cünts.

Our estate is full of kids. They play together outside everyday. None of them would in a million years ever dream of doing such a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is the level of scumbag coming through. I have seen them in my own area and 10-16 year olds are on a completely different level to what was before.

This is the first generation that was raised by tablets and phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ach the wee scamps. Society has failed them. Angels everyone one of them.

Bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Zorya wrote: »
    Read this yesterday. Looks like a bunch of mostly young girls. What the hell is wrong with them?

Dont get fooled in to the thinking that girls are the poor unfortunate bystanders. They are very often doing their best to egg on young lads when fights are kicking off.

Scumbags are scumbags whether they are male or female.

Spreading the pictures on social media is probably the best thing to do with these cases. By all means call the Gardai and if they get arrested all the better, but at the end of the day theyll get little to no punishment so any bit of public shame that can be brought on them and their parents is better than nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

This is the level of scumbag coming through. I have seen them in my own area and 10-16 year olds are on a completely different level to what was before.

This is the first generation that was raised by tablets and phones.

You might think they are a different level than before but they arent. You're just seeing more of it.

Theres a group of 13-16 year old running amok the whole time in clondalkin. Causing trouble every night of the week at McDonalds in the mill centre. Have been attacking other, quieter kids the last couple of years. Theyre there every day, brazen as **** with parents who clearly dont give a ****.

But talk to anyone from the area, similar was going on 20 years ago with the last generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mother of two Jacinta, aged 14, defended her actions by saying she had no choice but to light the tent as she’d been on the social housing list for the last 3 years and has not been offered a 4 bed semi in Castleknock yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

good clean fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

A: I'm not surprised any more.

B: I don't really give a fcuk anymore, why I hear you ask...?

This Country is fcuked, fcuked from the very top to the very bottom, the knunts in government have got into the lifeboats and pulled up the ladders. Nothing, and I mean nothing will change in this sh1tho1e until 1 of 3 things happen.

1: People are held to account and put away for a long,long time aka giuliani new york.

2: Vigilantes bury lots of these fcukers in the Mountains.

3: We get these kunts out of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The apathy in today's society is terrifying

Have these people no soul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

As the generations of degenerates interbreed they get worse.
    It’s hardly shocking news.

I don’t know what the answer is only keep far, far away from them for as long as you can.

There is no law for these people, no sanctions that they fear. When these things are bred out of them they are lost to normal society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

There's a difference between trying to burn a homeless man alive and burning a homeless man out of his tent. Clearly burning some fella out of his tent is deplorable, but it's clearly not as evil as intentionally trying to burn him alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Lighting a tent on fire with someone in it is a scummy thing to do but it's not an attempt to burn them alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Let's find some way to blame the Catholic Church. Surely it's their fault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Lighting a tent on fire with someone in it is a scummy thing to do but it's not an attempt to burn them alive.

I blame the Catholic Church its clearly them were putting them up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

If was asleep or intoxicated it would definitely be.
    More scary is it's a form of arson thats a dangerous road to take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Hammer89 wrote: »
    There's a difference between trying to burn a homeless man alive and burning a homeless man out of his tent. Clearly burning some fella out of his tent is deplorable, but it's clearly not as evil as intentionally trying to burn him alive.

Sounds like you are trying to make excuses for these little scrotes behavior.
    How do you know what their intentions were? There are some evil twisted young minds out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

K.Flyer wrote: »
    How do you know what their intentions were? There are some evil twisted young minds out there.

Anna Kriegel, the 16 year old stabbed last week and this.

Parents have failed kids in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Some parents have . Most parents have not . I see many parents doing a great job and making sure the kids are raised properly . Most kids are not like these cases .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

The government's response to this will probably be to replace Maths with "Anger Management" on the leaving cert.

They must have been reading some of the posters comments on here about the homeless. and thought sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This sort of anti social behaviour and worse is nothing new. Unless someone can point out a time in the past when it did not exist. It certainly existed in Dublin in the 1960's.

https://comeheretome.com/2012/11/10/a-divided-rathmines/

In April 1966, Michael Vinny in The Irish Times described Keogh Square, Corporation Place and Mount Pleasant Buildings as “the three Dublin ghettos … used by the Corporation as dumping grounds for problem families.”

In January 1970, the Trinity News paper reported on its front page about a group of students in Ranelagh who were “attacked, terrorised and beaten up by hooligans” who tried to gate crash a party they were having. The students were attacked by bottles, frying pans, belts and metal bars. Two of their windows were put in. It was noted that the “attackers disappeared into the nearby Mount Pleasant Buildings, a Corporation house area popularly known as ‘The Hill’ (which) is notorious for gang violence”.

Eileen O’Brien column in The Irish Times in December 1970 was particularly harrowing. Titled ‘Living in fear in Ranelagh’, she talked to a number of frightened residents including an old woman who after coming home from a short stay in hospital found her flat wrecked and her clothes, coal and a statue of the Sacred Heart, that had belonged to her father, robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

As a parent I 100% to you statement.
    If my children do something wrong I don't blame everything and everyone else.
    I blame the fact that I or my wife did not educate them right from wrong properly

touts wrote: »
    The government's response to this will probably be to replace Maths with "Anger Management" on the leaving cert.

Ice cream making courses for the little rogues. That'll learn em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Few smacks across the arses might smarten them up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Reminds me of Jamie Bolger.

Kids have been taught to think of homeless people as vermin and spongers. 'Time for the CULL' ETC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

touts wrote: »

Most likely they will try blame the homeless and ban them from using tents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bad parenting, Gardai nowhere to be seen, no consequences as they are juveniles.

As much as I detest FF, am beginning to think Willie o Dea is right. Make parents accountable.

It cannot get better anymore now, only worse. Sad for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

mad muffin wrote: »
    Poor kids. Raised by cünts.

Our estate is full of kids. They play together outside everyday. None of them would in a million years ever dream of doing such a thing.

Read Lord of the Flies ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

There's a new breed of vermin coming through.

Kids now have phones at 7 years of age and they're watching porn and even worse stuff than that.

Sure what do we expect to happen to them when they get older

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Reminds me of Jamie Bolger.

Reminds me of Mary Bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Hammer89 wrote: »

What the hell is this post

Most likely they will try blame the homeless and ban them from using tents.

A lot of people are secretly delighted and radicalizing kids.

When you start dehumanizing people and talking about the 'cull' and these people are what is wrong with the country ...children call your bluff.

Its practically Nietzschen .....he always said our children call out your hypocrisy in the worst possible way. If you say you believe in god and beat your wife your children will stop believing in god...

You can teach children to be apathetic enough to a group of people enough to kill them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Stop the child allowance for all concerned for 3 months give the money to the homeless guy as compensation. Hitting the parents in the pocket will concentrate their minds on their offsprings behaviour.

The person was in the tent, they knew he was in tent and set fire to it, what the fcuk was the intention, to give him a little extra heat on a chilly night.
    If someone set fire to a house, knowing that a person was in the house and the person dies, thats a murder charge, how would this be so different from attempted murder.
    I'm not; I'm saying the article is sensationalist. Just as much so when it describes a heroic council worker. Putting out a tent that is on fire is a decent act, but it doesn't involve heroism.

Andrew00 wrote: »

Its an argument justifying the burning of a homeless man on the grounds that he was in his tent.

Fallacy of relative privation. 'Not as bad as.'

I would also like to ad its not as bad as burning 100 homeless people in a tent now THAT would be evil.

Or not as good ..depending on your feelings toward homeless people.

I think we should watch our attitudes towards the poor and homeless when it gets to maybe 1000 homeless people being burnt in tents?? Not before 500 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Some parts of Dublin reminds me of some of the mega cities in the comic 2000 AD which I read back in the 80s and 90's.

Absolute mayhem, my dad was a prison officer in the 70's until 2005

He remembered the old generation of prisoners who were bank robbers and thief's telling him to wait for the next generation, actually it was one of the Dunn guys from Dublin who told dad that what's coming up is way worse than what's around now.
    This was just before the drug Lords started to hold sway.

Now we're onto the 4th wave of skangerism since my dad's conversation and the next wave will be worse again....

Reminds me of Mary Bell.

I just looked that up. Now i feel sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

I know juvenile delinquency/anti social behavior is as old as civilization, but these kids are apparently pre-teens, and yes it is attempted murder, if I burn your house down with you inside I cant just tell the Judge "well I was sure they'd jump out a window or something", what if I shoot at you but I was certain you'd take cover?
    I dunno if it's just me but I feel as though the reaction to stories like this and that poor girl's murder is somehow... muted, like as a society we've just shrugged and said "sure what's to be done?".

gozunda wrote: »
    Read Lord of the Flies ...

Brilliant book. Important book.

I know juvenile delinquency/anti social behavior is as old as civilization, but these kids are apparently pre-teens, and yes it is attempted murder, if I burn your house down with you inside I cant just tell the Judge "well I was sure they'd jump out a window or something", what if I shoot at you but I was certain you'd take cover?
    I dunno if it's just me but I feel as though the reaction to stories like this and that poor girl's murder is somehow... muted, like as a society we've just shrugged and said "sure what's to be done?".
    These strike me as reasonable defences; pleading guilty to manslaughter to avoid a murder conviction.

Andrew00 wrote: »

Its quite simple. He's implying the thread title is a little misleading and sensationalist.

Thread title: Children attempt to burn homeless man alive
    Article title: Gang of kids laugh after burning homeless man out of his tent in North Dublin

Yes of course its criminal behavior but the fact is they set light to a tent. Not a homeless person.

Despicable little retches.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-reviews/10-things-we-learned-from-shocking-documentary-irelands-teen-killers-34757818.html

They are not taught kindness. They are not taught the value of vulnerability. They are not taught stoicism. They are not taught to do right because it is right and not to do wrong because it is wrong.

And most of all they are not told ' NO' no you can't have that, you can't do that and no means no.

Strong means 'hard' in Ireland. It baffles me.

Its quite simple. He's implying the thread title is a little misleading and sensationalist.

Thread title: Children attempt to burn homeless man alive
    Article title: Gang of kids laugh after burning homeless man out of his tent in North Dublin

Yes of course its criminal behavior but the fact is they set light to a tent. Not a homeless person.

Despicable little retches.

They tried to set him alight in his tent.