Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name a musician or artist whom you genuinely mourn

• 14-05-2019 10:57pm

All this outpouring about Doris Day, she had never occurred to me in any way. I thought she was already dead.

Let's give this thread a time-lapse of, say, 2 years.

What poet, musician or artist do you mourn, who made a real and meaningful impact on your life?

My first nominee is Leonard Cohen. Someone gave me 'Songs of Leonard Cohen' for my birthday when I was twenty, and it changed my life.

I also nominate Séamus Ennis. The only man who played the pipes whom I could not bring myself to hate, quite the opposite. He led a sad life, and he died too young in a mobile-home in North Dublin, despite having already established himself as a giant of irish traditional music.

Who do you really miss, long after their passing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Mozart. Never got to see him live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Terry Kath. Buddy Rich.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

lil peep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Ian Dury and James Brown. Then there's Bowie.

Ian Dury and James Brown.
    I forgot about Ian Dury. I honestly don't think a week goes by without my thinking of him in some way.

Totally different type of musician, but Amy Winehouse too. She would have done amazing things to music.

Hendrix, for the sonic vocabulary he brought to the guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Rory Gallagher, Phil Lynott and Gary Moore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Freddie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Mac Miller for me, rarely go a day without listening to his music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

There are other musicians from Lennon to Dimebag to Cobain to Hendrix that I wish had had more time but Burton spoke to me and then was gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭devlinio

Avicci

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Freddie Mercury, still can't bring myself to believe he's daed. The ultimate performer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Iain M Banks, the science fiction writer. I haven't read another author whose world-building was as deep or scope so large. Some come close but don't tick every box. He's a massive loss to SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Jim Reeves. Died so young.

Yeah, Leonard Cohen..all the rest of them that died that year I was like "meh, people die"..but Cohen was odd..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Yeah, Leonard Cohen..all the rest of them that died that year I was like "meh, people die"..but Cohen was odd..
    His son Adam is one of my favourite singers. Especially the song " we go home ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Peter Green

devlinio wrote: »
    Avicci

Quiet, Leo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Lemmy Kilmister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

John Lennon

Cohen was 82,

Avicii, Mac Miller, Rory Gallagher, Lynott, Hendrix all directly killed themselves in some form or another

John Lennon was just a ****in stupid/unlucky/tragic/horrific death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Adam Yauch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

rapul wrote: »
    Peter Green
    Not dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Daniel DeFoe. Man was dropping some real supreme science all over the shop before science even knew what it was.
    One of the Autechre lads will be the next one. That will be a dark day indeed.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Laois_Man wrote: »
    John Lennon

Cohen was 82,

Avicii, Mac Miller, Rory Gallagher, Lynott, Hendrix all directly killed themselves in some form or another

John Lennon was just a ****in stupid/unlucky/tragic/horrific death!

I'd say you'd be great craic in the pub!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

kurt cobain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Phil Lynott. His songs had wit, melancholy and superb melodies, performed brilliantly by TL. Whiskey in the Jar remains the best rock adaptation of a traditional Irish song (with just a few excellent tweaks to the lyrics) and represents a road not travelled enough by musicians since.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

David Bowie...massive influence on me in my later teenage years. His best work was long behind him at that point but much of his music is pretty timeless and I bet he is still impressing young people today.:)

Kurt Cobain...Nirvana helped define the 1990s and again were a huge influence on me in my late teen/early college years.

Iain Banks - I really loved his books as he had a brilliant imagination and threw in huge curveballs/twists in his stories but oddly enough, although I love the SF genre, I couldn’t really get into his stuff as Iain M Banks.

On the SF topic, Arthur C Clarke. He wasn’t a young man when he passed, and hadn’t written anything stellar for about 15 years at his demise, but the man was giant of Science Fiction, escpeially of what was possible in space exploration in the 21st century. He also wrote 2001, probably the best SF film ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Keith Flint. R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Trad greats Alec Finn and Tommy Peoples. Prog greats Keith Emerson, Greg Lake and Richard Wright and psychedelic great Syd Barrett from Pink Floyd and dance music legend Robert Miles.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Jeremy Kyle

Jeremy Kyle

A tired effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Terry Prattchet.

Maria Callas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Odd? He was in his 80s! Of others that year, Prince was only in his late 50s. David Bowie not yet 70. George Michael was just 53. None of the latter three were young obviously, but still too young to die. Cohen had good innings - although it was still sad of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Freddie Mercury, Phil lynnott and Prince

Odd? He was in his 80s! Of others that year, Prince was only in his late 50s. David Bowie not yet 70. George Michael was just 53. None of the latter three were young obviously, but still too young to die. Cohen had good innings - although it was still sad of course.

Well, odd as in it made me genuinely sad for like 5 minutes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Yermande

Seamus Heaney.

Yermande wrote: »
    Seamus Heaney.
    Noli Timere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Caegan

Phil Lynott, David Bowie and Freddie Mercury. All made an impact

Leonard Cohen. 'There's a crack in everything, that's how the light gets in'. A uniquely gifted wordsmith meets a much-needed philosopher in every song. His music was, and remains, a great solace to humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Dimebag Darrell, what a guitar player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

I mourn Nicolas Cage and he’s not even dead yet.

Leonard Cohen. 'There's a crack in everything, that's how the light gets in'. A uniquely gifted wordsmith meets a much-needed philosopher in every song. His music was, and remains, a great solace to humanity.

That's one of the greatest lines of English song ever written. But the thing that always struck me about him was when you saw him being interviewed it was almost a spiritual experience. The sheer humility. He spoke a profound spiritual truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Philipx

Phil Lynott

Ian M Banks

Terry Pratchett

Most liked to have had a pint with?..... Sir Terry I reckon :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Chris Cornell

Still the only celebrity death to really hit me hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Chris Cornell

Still the only celebrity death to really hit me hard.

That one hit me like a train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

There are so many but to stick with the more recent ones that I'm still listening to all the time, David Bowie and Mark Hollis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Samuel Vimes

There are so many great artists who died before their time imo
    Jim Morrison
    Robert Palmer
    Gary Moore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Not a mention of Scott Hutchison yet!

Honestly one of the finest songwriters and musicians of the last 20 years IMO. Discussed mental health very openly in interviews and his music. Was heartbreaking to see his life end that way.

For anyone who has never listened to Frightened Rabbit, do yourself a favour and give them a go.

Scott was just an incredibly, warm and funny human being.. and his on stage banter was top-drawer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

Jon Balance & Peter 'Sleazy' Christopherson from Coil
    David Bowie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Luke Kelly. Every single time I watch the video of him singing Night Visiting Song I get sad, knowing he was by then extremely ill.
    What a voice and presence.