Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Presumably.

43 players, of whom 7 are development players. Tough season ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

Really is disappointing! another season looking to the following season for a glimmer of hope.

Makes you wonder if Nakarawa was a financial decision now? completed 2x80mins against All Blacks.

At my tether of hearing the same shite, everybody knows our weaknesses and what we need to bolster our squad and yet the same outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

I would rather take our time in sourcing a proper (long-term) replacement, and the fact that Nakarawa was only signed on for a year suggests the coaches never really thought he was the answer anyway. But the whole debacle is really disappointing - we must have known for a while that Coetzee was on the way out and we couldn't get anything sorted even with the money we (hopefully) saved. Now we're pretty much writing off next year already after an off season of announcing academy promotions as new signings to save more money.

Hard to get excited tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,768 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Have you been to Clermont? I know this year may not be the year, but its an awesome rugby town with the best fans I've met hands down. Cannot recommend the place enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Claremont - is that not part of the maiden city, Derry/Londonderry? 😁😆😄

Bloody auto-correct.

Haven't been, but am seriously considering Clermont. If we're allowed to travel to France at that stage. God knows what'll be going on at that stage.

• Administrators Posts: 55,247 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Going to be another disappointing season. Another season of "we're building for next year".

Genuinely fecked off with this now! Actually embarrassed for Ulster, with the same issues year in years out.

Considering numbers/injuries/rotation are back row is a serious concern! And has been for how long? Imagine if McCann, Rea Jnr hadn’t appeared….

One (1) NIQ.

30 of the 43 came through Ulster Academy/clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

12 players from Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,055 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Hopefully we see the likes of Callum Reid, David McCann and Nathan Doak get meaningful game time next season. I think if we have a middling season, but bring through the next generation (similar to what Leinster did 4 or 5 years ago with Ringrose, Ryan and Leavy etc) then people will be more understanding.

However a mediocre season spent watching Andy Warwick, Greg Jones and Dave Shanahan would be pretty demoralising for supporters. That's not to say those guys don't have a role, but I hope they don't stagnate the development of the young lads mentioned above.

I'll be interested to see if the influence of the changes in coaching personnel is evident from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,055 ✭✭✭✭bilston

It will be interesting actually. I actually think Dan and Roddy Grant have got every ounce out of our pack. Perhaps the new backs coach (I forget who it is) will bring fresh attacking ideas to the backs where we are undoubtedly strong.

Hopefully the likes of Baloucoune, Hume and Lowry will have learnt a lot at Ireland camp, albeit the jury is very much out on Mike Catt.

Lowry will hopefully have learnt off Keenan and I'm sure there are bits of Conway's game that could benefit Baloucoune as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭ljsulster

Good to see the lads back in for pre season. I don’t know if I’m being stupid but who is the chap between mcilroy and rea?

410B1913-7E79-4449-84FC-4C04D22CE9B7.png

I agree with a lot of the above. Nathan Doak should be in the 23 this year and I’d say McCann will push out Rea and reidy hopefully sooner rather than later. Would love to see Reid at 17 until McGrath is back and Sexton and mcilroy will be hoping to push stockdale etc. We’re not going to win anything this year but if we get these lads game time they will provide the spine of the squad for years to come and could see some success arrive

Soper is the new backs/attack coach.

Newby (youths/school coach/ ex-backrower) is the new skills coach.

Might be Tom Stewart ljs is referring to?

Agreed on this. Worth remembering that For 80+% of the season we had a backline missing Marshall and two fellas who just got international caps, and Lowry, Hume, Moore and McIlroy all looked anywhere between excellent to promising.

Is it Tom Stewart?

He looks bigger than Rea Snr!

Could potentially be a new academy player

Maybe, looks like a lump anyhow! shame they haven’t announced academy intake!

Porkiness would suggest a front rower, but he does look bigger than Mattie Rea. A young second row?

Tighthead lock be nice, or another loose head. Either way looks to have the frame/size, hopefully he’s a spud eating farmer! Any chance he could be an exile?

Did a bit of research and discovered the mystery man is former Leinster prop Ryan mcmahon

Rhys O’Donnell also training with the Senior team

• Administrators Posts: 55,247 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Wasn't he cut a few years ago? Did he get brought back?

Not sure the ins and outs of it, but it says a lot that he’s brought in as soon as Kieran Campbell is gone. Better prospect than Finlay imo so hopefully is in the academy and should get some game time over Shanahan this season.

Whats the story with him? Why didn’t he succeed with Leinster? Another O’Sullivan hopefully,?

have a lot of time for players coming here with a want to succeed! '