Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you use drugs and still be successful?

• 23-04-2019 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭

We always hear that drug use impedes any chance of being a productive citizen let alone being successful. Do you think this is true or not?

Drugs to mean stuff besides alcohol, weed, and psychedelics. So left with the moderate - highly addictive stuff like ghb, coke, benzos, mephedrone, ketamine, morphine, meth etc..

I have relatives in the U.S that get prescribed vicodin, adderral and valium. So far none are in huge debt and more importantly on the streets.

Also heard that of the people who try drugs like heroin, only about 10-20% get addicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Russian and Chinese athletes do very well out of it.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

you probably can be successful, as successful to me is very subjective. however, you would be stupid. just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Im a fully functioning heroin addict. I've been holding down a well paid job for years on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Possibly, but almost certainly not.

Get a lot of stoners who proclaim that they are successful, until you find out they work in IT support or a record shop. I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

D3V!L wrote: »
    Im a fully functioning heroin addict. I've been holding down a well paid job for years on it.

Are you genuine? I do find functional heroin users fascinating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Hollywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

Possibly, but almost certainly not.

Get a lot of stoners who proclaim that they are successful, until you find out they work in IT support or a record shop. I

As long as they can finish their sentences they are successful in my book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Russian and Chinese athletes do very well out of it.

I think you mean all top athletes, the difference is in China and Russia it's state sponsored and in other countries it's team sponsored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Are you genuine? I do find functional heroin users fascinating

No of course not ;)

I do work in IT though and throughout my decades in the business I came across plenty of functioning hard drug users. It's very very common at all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,605 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Depends on the level of use and addiction IMO.
    Also age is a huge factor, the recovery powers of youth are vastly underrated!

Take something as simple as Ephedrine.
    I lived in Spain for a few years in the early Noughties.
    Usual working week was 60hrs, 6 out of 7 nights.
    I usually worked from 6/7pm thru to 4am. Then out for a few drinks after work.
    The amount of people who would work hard, drink more, party and then head to the chemist for a box of Ephedrine before work the next night!

24 tabs was @€;2.50 and they were the stand by drug to get people through work, until they went out and partied on harder stuff ;)
    Delighted it's not available OTC anymore.

Then ya had the muso's who were spending €150 a night on Charlie...
    It is not a sustainable life, ya burn out and crash hard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

D3V!L wrote: »
    No of course not ;)

I do work in IT though and throughout my decades in the business I came across plenty of functioning hard drug users. It's very very common at all levels.

A friend of mine is in the guards and his met a couple of functional heroin addicts. He said it's very hard to comprehend it.

One fellow, gets the dart/train into phoenix park, shoots up, passed out and comes around in town for work...mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Lance Armstrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭micky jammy delahunty

A friend of mine is in the guards and his met a couple of functional heroin addicts. He said it's very hard to comprehend it.

This is because, a lot of the homeless drug addicts you see, tend to have far greater problems than drugs. Such as mental health issues.

Functional addicts. . . . I had a manager one time years ago, and it took me months to figure out his slightly odd behaviour. . . It was because he was very drunk at work, all the time. And that's basically how he hid his drunkeness, by being drunk all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

This is because, a lot of the homeless drug addicts you see, tend to have far greater problems than drugs. Such as mental health issues.

Functional addicts. . . . I had a manager one time years ago, and it took me months to figure out his slightly odd behaviour. . . It was because he was very drunk at work, all the time. And that's basically how he hid his drunkeness, by being drunk all the time.

I wonder how he coped with needing to urinate. Was drunk at my last school exam on vodka but had to hold it in a fair amount.

Perhaps alcoholics bodies adapt reducing frequency they need to urinate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'd imagine successful drug users are a bit more common then we are led to believe.

Going a bit off the topic, is it just me or do people of african descent in Ireland use drugs the least? In my class, it seems that drug use is most common in order of Irish/European lads followed by Asian/SA and then African lads hardly use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I presume he used the bathroom to urinate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,618 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

One fellow, gets the dart/train into phoenix park, shoots up, passed out and comes around in town for work...mad

They was supervised heroin clinic in Liverpool back in the 80s .And many of the clients visited it for a dose before they went to work each morning. In a supervised environment with a doctor giving a proper known dosage it seemed to work .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think you can use cannabis and still work the same as anyone else ,
    provided you use it after working hours,
    maybe a few times a week, like some people go to the pub and have
    5 pints but it does not effect their work as they drink
    after 8pm, or at weekends .
    I can,t comment on drugs like e or cocaine as i do,nt know anyone that
    uses hard drugs .
    It depends on your age and level of maturity ,
    i would not advise anyone under 21 to use any drugs at all .
    like the saying goe,s everything in moderation .
    The problem with drugs is they are expensive and additive so they can take over your life,
    and become harmful to your health and your lifestyle .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

I have relatives in the U.S that get prescribed vicodin, adderral and valium.

I'm on a similar concoction of pain killers and sedatives - some of them controlled substances.

I have debilitating constant pain going back years which has surged in recent months so I use pain medication to get me out of the bed and into the office every day. I'm highly functioning and successful in my job - once I've taken my pills.

Without them I can't walk or sleep.

I'm an addict. I only realised recently. When I leave it a long period of time (12+ hours) between a certain tablet I get massive withdrawals. Nassau, anxiety, headache, tight chest, irritability.

I've spoken to my doctor about it. We've reached a juncture. Continue with the pain meds, enabling me to live my life, and ultimately become addicted, or sign me off long term sick in a world of pain at home with nothing to do. I decided to continue with them despite my fears of addiction. The come downs are truly awful.

I have a rough year ahead of me as the underlying condition can take a while to get under control again. At that stage I will need to wean off the meds slowly under supervision of my GP. There's talk of a group or program to help me. Mental health services too.

To meet me you would just think I'm a normal office worker, neighbour, or guy beside you on the bus.

50c for a hostel bud?

riclad wrote: »
    I think you can use cannabis and still work the same as anyone else ,

What about heroin once a month would that work?

https://youtu.be/4xhdPmu2dEA?t=19

Going a bit off the topic, is it just me or do people of african descent in Ireland use drugs the least?

Yeah. . . A lot of Africans are very Churchy and straight laced. . . A minority like to party.

In my experience......People who are too straight laced, generally are not that "successful"...They lack the craziness to drive them in their field of endeavor...

Something happened in Italy years ago. A TV show set up a kind of fake interview with politicians outside the parliament. One of the crew, posing as doing makeup took swabs of their foreheads, and they sent the swabs to a lab....A huge, really huge number, tested positive for all kinds of drugs.

There was a bag of cocaine found in the toilets in the Dail a few years ago.

I wouldn't advise anyone to try cocaine, but it's only a minority of users who develop a problem.....but those problems can be awful, up to and including death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

tuxy wrote: »

An alcoholic doesn't mean you're drunk all the time in work.
    I remember seeing a program on Rte about people coming home every weeknight and drinking a bottle of wine, and more during the weekend.
    They don't get hangovers so they can shake it off the next morning and go into work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Without sounding blidingly obvious, it depends on the extent and the timing. A few pints at weekends isn't going to affect your career whereas being an alcoholic will. I presume drugs are the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ask the highest grossing movie star on the planet

main-qimg-935fe5f556ad2f44222fe5fb324291e3.webp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

In my experience......People who are too straight laced, generally are not that "successful"...They lack the craziness to drive them in their field of endeavor...

[/QUOTE

Disagree somewhat with this, look at people in the football world like Harry Kane or Michael Owen, the personalities of a plank of wood yet this also ensures they're never in the wrong place at the wrong time doing the wrong stuff, this temperament works for loads of people whilst others are self saboteurs.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Ask the highest grossing movie star on the planet

It's all diet and hard work, don't you follow his instagram?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Ozzy Osborne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Joe Rogan, gets stoned every day and makes millions from his podcast.

Disagree somewhat with this, look at people in the football world like Harry Kane or Michael Owen, the personalities of a plank of wood yet this also ensures they're never in the wrong place at the wrong time doing the wrong stuff, this temperament works for loads of people whilst others are self saboteurs.

Yeah...It kinds of depends....but most often, a plank of wood, is just a plank...Which comes back to cocaine....It's the worst drug you can give to a very straightlaced person, because they don't realise the power of the drug or its' craziness....Coke dealers love giving free samples, because hitting pay dirt, is getting a taste to a person who can't put two and two together......And this is why there is an opioid "crisis" in America...This not the first time there's been this kind of crisis, before it was with Valium, something like Fentanyl is literally 50 times worse than heroin. What the "crisis" is, is straightlaced white Americans dropping dead in their thousands. Keith Richards and Shane Mcgowan are still in rude health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    Joe Rogan, gets stoned every day and makes millions from his podcast.

You’d want to be to listen to Russel Brand for a few hours.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Certain drug addicts have drive to do their jobs, get paid so they can spend it on drugs. I knew a guy who at the height of his heroin addiction worked three jobs to support his habit.

When he came off it, he slowed down and got a low effort job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

You can use DMT to traverse other dimensions, think bigger OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Seen young Garda in past take all types and never did them any harm

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 stevenR84

I know plenty on methadone who are successful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭emilymemily

I think we only really hear of the people who get so addicted they cant function, I think it is possible to take drugs and be successful and not everyone who takes substances gets addicted, addiction has allot to do with genes/brain chemicals/personality types and traumatic experiences than the substance itself. Someone who gets addicted to alcohol or meth could easily get addicted to any substance.

stevenR84 wrote: »
    I know plenty on methadone who are successful

Successful methadone dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 stevenR84

a friend of mine does crack cocaine once evry 8 weeks for the past 5 years, and she sees it as going out for a drink, as she doesn't drink. She's never got addicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

a friend of mine does crack cocaine once evry 8 weeks for the past 5 years, and she sees it as going out for a drink, as she doesn't drink. She's never got addicted.

She just does it for the crack?

What does she work as? There's also this belief I've heard that most drug users are working class.

To be honest, this thread is ****ing confusing. On the one hand you'll have some Irish people say that they know people completely destroyed by drugs and anyone who thinks they can be functional are morons, then on the other hand you have this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

yes it can be done and there are a lot more than you'd think. its a certain personality type that can pull it off - impulsive but still good at deferred gratification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I've known several high functioning drug users, on over €100k a year and what f**ks me off the most is that they work with machinery! Engineers and the like.

I can't even have a drink on a Saturday because I will still be hungover on the Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Once every 'eight' weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

tuxy wrote: »

It's not the amount of alcohol that makes you need to piss, but the amount of liquid the alcohol is in. This is basic primary school level shit.
    yabadabado wrote: »
    They was supervised heroin clinic in Liverpool back in the 80s .And many of the clients visited it for a dose before they went to work each morning. In a supervised environment with a doctor giving a proper known dosage it seemed to work .

https://www.spectator.co.uk/2015/05/the-case-for-prescription-heroin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Its possible to hold down a job and be successful but from my experience drug users tend to be very weird, prolonged drug use screws up their brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Think about what that question means.....

What is successful?

It means you can functionally do your job.......now......for the next ten years.....

What about when your 70? How will you be affected then.

People - particularly on social media - tend to look at life in the context of where they are right now.

Your health will be negatively affected in the medium to long term if you are regularly consuming narcotics or pharmaceuticals - be they over the counter, prescribed or as a result of lifestyle choices - that are a not an absolute necessity for treating specific conditions, e.g. high cholesterol.

There is nothing in this that constitutes "successful".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Loads of high flyers in the professions who drink and do cocaine to excess most nights. Plenty of them burn out, some get sensible and settle down, some double down on it after their first divorce or seperation and in late middle age eventually become the old lech who everyone feels sorry for.

Less common are the high functioning stoners. The type of motivated people who get baked regularly or even all the time and still get stuff done. I couldn't imagine doing it myself but I know one or two and their work ethic is impressive. I saw one I knew on the Late Late pitching his product and he was smoked out of his box, Tubs didn't seem to mind.

People doing hard drugs like heroin while holding down a job definitely exist but they're much more under the radar. I doubt many can keep it up for more than a few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Loads of high flyers in the professions who drink and do cocaine to excess most nights. Plenty of them burn out, some get sensible and settle down, some double down on it after their first divorce or seperation and in late middle age eventually become the old lech who everyone feels sorry for.

Less common are the high functioning stoners. The type of motivated people who get baked regularly or even all the time and still get stuff done. I couldn't imagine doing it myself but I know one or two and their work ethic is impressive. I saw one I knew on the Late Late pitching his product and he was smoked out of his box, Tubs didn't seem to mind.

People doing hard drugs like heroin while holding down a job definitely exist but they're much more under the radar. I doubt many can keep it up for more than a few years.

Agree with this. I know many functioning stoners (morning/lunch time joints etc) working as Accountants, Teachers to name 2