Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Special Forces ultimate hell week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,596 ✭✭✭✭siblers

They didn't like him because he was acting like a leader but not doing anything himself. The undercover guy said he was always telling people what to do but not actually doing anything himself. Also said he was 'DS watching' which indicates he was acting up in front on the DS to try impress them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭billyhead

He came across as a complete tool. Clap Clap boom. WTF. Have you ever heard such shite?

There was a guy kicked off in the first season on the last day, iirc, same sort of thing, iirc, he just couldn't keep quiet.

I still reckon he was removed for the good of group dynamics. A strong personality can really sway a group, and I suppose the DS's thought he was inhibiting the group in some way.

(I remember years and years ago an inter county hurler was retired by management (unofficially) because even though he was a great individual player he was seen as a moaner who brought the lads around him down in training. The management reckoned the damage he was doing to the lads around him outweighed his individual good aspects.)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

That was hilarious.

"Do your motivation thing"

"Clap clap boom"

"Well you were fcuking sh!te today!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,283 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I personally don't think the DSs are being as mean so far this season...its like they've mellowed slightly 🤔

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭appledrop

I don't agree with way 22 was let go.

Now I know we are not seeing everything but their reasons for letting him go don't fully stack up for me.

Most of tasks to date all about getting yourself though.

They should have imposed a team task were he was challenged and called out if not a team player at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I wonder how long they had to get to the top of the mountain, down, up and back down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

From the road to the top of Sugarloaf Hill, back down to the road, around the statue and back to the start point is 2.5km. Twice makes it 5km in total.

The initial climb from the road to the top of Sugarloaf Hill is 1.1km with 300m ascent up a rough scree track. A walking route planner puts that at 44 minutes and the full 5km at 2 hours 46 minutes, but that doesn't make any allowance for the extra weight they're carrying.

The 1.1km climb is hard work and not much easier on the way down. You have to brace your legs almost every step. Add 20% to 30% of your bodyweight on your back and it gets tougher again. It's a continuous leg workout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

22 was right to be removed in that manner. I have seen people go through 9 months of a course and on the last day when everyone was was getting ready to complete it, a guy has been pulled aside and told they didnt make the grade. It happens.

They could have instead put him under pressure, tied to humiliate him, pushing him to his limit, and on the last episode, 5 minutes from the finish, took the arm band. But thats not what happened, that would be bad form.

A "DS Watcher" by the way, is someone who performs for the explicit purpose of looking good for them, not the team. Basically a bluffer or a pretender.

This had absolutely zero to do with justifying a premise of having a plant, for the viewer.

It was all about him and his buddy...his ego. There's no room for that in teamwork. Getting into bed when there's still work to be done, I couldn't believe it.

A clear message has been sent, bluff all you want, look after No.1 all you want, hang on as long as you want. If you are not working as part of a team, you are gone. Now the remaining students know it.

Boom boom clap...not sure in what environment that shyte works in. I can categorically say, it doesn't work in the military, maybe as sarcasm. The more sh1t you go through as a team, the more pain you go through as an individual, the more you realise that everyone around you is suffering but is still helping, thats where motivation comes from...boom boom clap is a 2 second soundbite that works for less than the time it takes to perform it.

#11 needs to keep his mantras to himself. None of that shyte works when the pressure is on. It might be enough to get you to go out and walk in the rain or something, I don't know.

I just need to point out, that what they are going through, is less than what a general recruit would go through on a weekly basis. Its very tame.

I hope #27 goes far. She gets it, she stopped feeling sorry for herself, didnt let the pain or brain gremlins get to her and she performed. Really not an easy thing to do. I really hope she makes it to the end. Great work out of her.

The boxer lad pushed himself too, pity he didnt make the time. Seemed like a nice enough lad.

How do you rate the 20 year old from KK? You seem to have a good insight into judging characters. I really like him, seems the real deal.

BTW.. I would have hopped into bed myself as soon as I had my own bed made up and not out of an unwillingness to help others. I'm always putting myself last to people, it's in my nature so I would be always inclined to help but I would have read that situation differently.

I would have thought...tick tick.. we're on a severe time limit to get into bed without getting punished if we don't make the time and there's less chaos if everyone just jumps straight into their beds once their ready and not a collective push at the last minute.

Clearly I don't have military mindset 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭straight

It looks like all these muscle guys from the gym don't last very long every year. The DS's just look like a more normal build.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

I was flat out at the gym for years doing weights before covid interrupted and one time I went up to the mountains for a 3hr hike with a couple of lads who were into mountain biking and 10k runs etc. I was 130kg+ and 6 foot 2 whilst the 2 lads were half that weight and 5 foot 7 or 8.

I was strong as an ox at the time and could have bench pressed the two of them together. I thought I was fit but I lasted about 10 minutes before I had to stop for a breather and they dragged me through the rest of it whilst they didn't break a sweat. I would have done a bit of cardio in the gym but it was such a different type of fitness and strength required.

I'd imagine an average height with an athletic build and an above average strength is your ideal for the special forces. Anyone carrying unnecessary weight is going to struggle with it. I think anyone too cut is going to struggle too. Wasn't there a few people in previous series who got hypothermia in the cold/water because they didn't have enough body fat to cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

How do you mean what they are going through is pretty tame compared to a general recruit? Like the narrator said they have only had 2 hours sleep since the start of the course in the last episode and that seemed to be day 3 of the 7 days. 2 hours sleep over 72 hours would seem extreme enough. They are also food deprived on top, one meal a day is what they've had. Do you mean the physical tests they do are pretty tame, like in real life general recruits would be made climb up the mountain 3 or 4 times rather than the two times they did?

On #11 I didnt really get what the DS were on about with his mantras, like I never heard him chanting them out like a yogi. He said 'back yourself' was one of them becasue when he was an alcoholic he never backed himself. It just sounded like a motivational tool for himself and the few others around him and he is always near the front of the group when it comes to the physical events. I think he will make it to the end, seems he really wants it having been in the FCA but not pursing the military becasue his alcoholism got in the way, he is trying to make up for lost time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Saw the plant and another DS from the show having coffee earlier in a Costa in Kildare. I didn't go near them but saw a few people pointing them out. Must be weird going from operating in the shadows to being spotted out and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭appledrop

Definitely true. On the celebrity version, Peter Stringer was on of the best and he is tiny.

But he must have unreal core body strength.

He's a fitness freak. Lad is shredded. Could grate cheese on his abs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭_NAGDEFY

I train in the gym a fair bit but it's the intensity that matters.

If you're on the mobile between sets you're at nothing aerobically. You can get a muscular look and be very strong in once off lifting. But you won't have stamina. I've seen lads, powerful build, covering a silage pit and flip a tractor back wheel a few times. But they are bet when the pit is only half covered.

Ideally in the gym you want to be flying between work stations, out of breath with the lowest possible recovery time. With time on a threadmill, cross trainer, bike. And bursting your gut the whole time.

You see very few doing that though. The individualistic nature of most gym training leaves people ambling along with no one pushing them, bar in a class. There's a great value in group and team training as the tempo gets upped and you have to keep up.

But he's far from tiny. He's not tall but he has huge muscle mass and low body fat.

I was talking to him in person and his chest girth and arm size is huge.

Stringer is actually a gym devotee who is aerobically fit and mentally a tough hardy bastard.

So many big gym men have no stamina and are show ponies. i.e. not really that hardy.

Paradoxically Irish men of say the 1930s to 60s would perform better. They cycled 50/60 miles to matches and made nothing of it.

They worked manually, farms, bogs, buildings etc. They grew up in large families and mightnt be eating meat everyday. They were used to outdoor hardship. Today has different stresses, commuting to work, house prices, social media BS and image expectations. But the hardships of the first half of the last century are more suited to hell week.

Lean fit men. No body fat of filled with sugar.

P.s. Not forgetting the ladies. Often they did a lot of outdoor work bucket feeding calves, drawing water from the well when there was no electricity. We should never forget those generations. And those people are getting scarcer by the year.

The 20 year old guy (sorry don't know his name), seems solid enough. Not a huge amount of airtime so far. He has youth on his side and seems to have a good attitude. He's not abrasive and has the makings of a good hustler.

Yeah I see your point about getting the head down as quick as possible, but again, thats as an individual. The DS would rather see everyone up past the time limit but trying to get the job done, rather than some people still working and others in the cot.

Its not about having a military mind set, there's a big difference between a team getting jobs done, and staying up for a chat. Lads having a chat? By all means get into the cot. Lads struggling to get stuff done, use your two hands to make things quicker.

Yeah its tame enough, and they just have to last a week. A recruit would be going through quite a bit more to be honest.

These guys don't have the added pressure of learning how to soldier, on top of the pressure. They don't have kit to carry, then have to have it clean for the next inspection. You don't have 5 minutes to yourself as a recruit. Its a complete mind fcuk.

On the ground as a recruit or on any other career/specialist course (never mind on selection), you won't be getting much sleep. Day 1 could be a 10-20km insertion march with 50kg worth of kit on you. Navigating all the way, over all terrain in all weather. Then when you get there, the work starts. You will be non stop for the week(s) and under immense pressure.

Up and down the hill a couple of times with 14kg, is just like a punishment for forgetting to close a pouch. I'm not saying its easy btw, its not.

Oh I agree, everyone has their own motivation for being there, and that might be enough for you to last a week. I think 11 will do well, just mantra's won't help you (holistically) in that environment (iv seen enough of it to know). However, I'm a big believer in whatever works, works. If it works for him, great. However, don't expect it to work for others.

The only universal thing that should get you going, is not wanting to be the weak link, thats it. Its mission, team, about 50 other things, then you. You don't want to be the one that can't do the job.

11 seems to be good guy, and does have leadership potential. I'm not sure he believes it himself though. Hope he keeps his head together, its easy to let the mindfcuk in.

Yeah, thats generally what happens. Its a different type of fitness. You just need to have above average stamina and endurance.

I know fit guys who were great mountain trail runners/marathon runners etc, but when you out a pack on, good luck. They're gone.

Its just a balance between fitness and strength. The real challenge is the negative thoughts, every step is torture once they creep in. They can take over very quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 JanusRock5

She's getting very little camera time but #20 is killing every challenge and barely breaking a sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I think 22 should have continued for as long as he physically could and then withdraw him on the last day. He had alot more to give and was very helpful with the others. He was left standing for 2 hours whilst the others completed the tunnel challenge and even though he went last he was still ready for bed first. Yes he could have gave a dig out making up the beds etc but from what we are shown on tv other were rubbing creams into their knees and chatting.

Sad to see the Boxer go. He was doing well on the tasks and conducted himself well whilst given the leader role.

Not sure on this one but there seemed to be a much bigger drop out with the women last season very early on. Have the DS taken a softer approach this season?

Women roaring crying and grunting - sign of people who look for pity

No 12 is hot!

A lot of women left in comparison to other years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Me watching at home, after failing miserably, when it's revealed who 8 is

I'd have the same thinking 18, there's no way they'd let you die on tv :D

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Achilles Knee

The irony of you sitting typing on your couch. I'd say you haven't completed any sort of proper physical task in your life. Are you in any sort of shape. I'd say you wouldn't last pissing time on Hell week. The egg and spoon race was probably the height of it.

What has my personal condition got to do with anything?

Whatever shape I'm in, I wouldn't be crying or roaring crossing a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Boring episode tonight so far. Too much 6 on it. Agreed 12 is hot we needed more of her.

Declan Buggy the hurl maker from Kilkenny is fair relaxed. Gas chap.

As is the Ballymun lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Achilles Knee

You wouldn't last 5 seconds on the wire, you wouldn't be strong enough to hold your body weight.

Dolly not taking criticism too well

28 going all in! lol

No 10 is in bits!

How could you be a lot tougher mentally than you were 3 or 4 days ago?!

Declan, first name. Are they trying to make him unpopular with the group as a test.

Need to hear less of no.6

Same here. She's a bit of eye candy and would look very well done up on a night out but would be a head wrecker.

Very... primary teacherish! The funniest bits were the DS talking to the young chap and the DS asking your man for a mantra in the cold water.

Very much so....I didn't want to say it.

Never understand when people are asked why they're there and then they say they're doing it for their kids.

My own mam was one!! But sometimes they have a habit of trying to organise adults, like they do children, when they come home from the day job. I think the girl in Killinaskully, dieter's squeeze, plays the primary teacher very well. It's far from the worst trait but not riveting tv! I suppose lots of occupations effect people in different ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

And this is her second time doing this program she was on it last year but had to pull out due to injury. I have met her at various events across the country she is big into her adventure raising and a very fit lady but prone to getting Injured.

surprised at how she is staying so under the radar in the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

This show is going backwards. I prefer the Wicklow settings over the Cork one. I don’t want to see fancy drone film of bridges, beaches or forts, or contestants running down/up steps ringing a bell. The only really good episode was the one they trekked the mountain. The celebrity season, and increased celebrity of the instructors seems to have brought about this decline in show authenticity and enjoyment.