Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are GOT fans and football fans never one and the same?

• 15-04-2019 01:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I've yet to meet any man who likes both. Nor one who likes neither.

Is there anyone here who can tell me something very technical about both of these persuits of human endeavour to prove your love of both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

What is GOT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Can’t help you, I’m afraid. I’ve been on a similar hunt for a trombone enthusiast who’s also into knitting.

What is GOT?

Going Out Topless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It can happen if you broaden your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Let’s face it, the type of person who watched those type of shows or reads the books isn’t going to be the most active or sports orientated.

I’m guessing they might be into that “eSports”.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I like both.

The fact that the fire priestess woman got it wrong about why yer man who was killed was supposed to be king... and it hasn't been explained... that's kind of annoying.

Also where has she disappeared to? (Can't remember if she was killed).

Football. Not sure what facts to tell you. OK. English punditry (e.g. Match of the day) is terrible. They just going out obvious things. "Man U will have to be at the top of their game to bear Barcelona". Well done.

Let’s face it, the type of person who watched those type of shows or reads the books isn’t going to be the most active or sports orientated.

I’m guessing they might be into that “eSports”.

Beg to differ. Read the books as they were published. Enjoy the show. Quite fit. Enjoy exercise. Don’t play video games.

Think football is mind numbing boring, but enjoy watching various other sports. Don’t play any, but that’s more down to time commitment than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

endacl wrote: »
    Going Out Topless.

I am totally lost.

The thing about the Dothraki is they always walk it in.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I imagine the most watched sport in the world and the most popular TV show around at the moment might have one or two overlapping fans.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Nearly everyone I know likes football and GoT. And a god few of them like eSports too if we need to address that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,687 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

endacl wrote: »
    The thing about the Dothraki is they always walk it in.

Did you see that ludicrous display last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

https://twitter.com/BarryMasterson/status/1093939102339268608?s=19

Game of Thrones inspired League of Ireland crests

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Did anyone else see Stannis Baratheons bicycle kick against FC Winterfell at the weekend? Top class goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I love both. Big Shamrock Rovers and Liverpool supporter and read George RR Martin's books as they were released before getting stuck into the TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Did anyone else see Stannis Baratheons bicycle kick against FC Winterfell at the weekend? Top class goal.

That boy's on fire at the moment. Played his heart out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Dislike strongly both.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That boy's on fire at the moment. Played his heart out.

Young Theon Greyjoy ran the boll*x off himself.

It's also amazing that the Onion Knight is such a good keeper with that little hand of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm thinking the OP doesn't appear to know many people. Bizarre thread.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Young Theon Greyjoy ran the boll*x off himself.

It's also amazing that the Onion Knight is such a good keeper with that little hand of his.

The Hound was his usual fiery self in the back line over the weekend too :P

I know this is going to open up 'that' debate again, but that tackle on Bran by Jaime Lannister was clean. It was the awkward fall that broke him up, not the tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

AllForIt wrote: »
    Dislike strongly both.

You're not AllForIt so,poor not living up to the username.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Jeff Winter is coming

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Game of thrones is the most watched tv show in the world and football is the most watched sport.

What a stupid thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

theteal wrote: »
    I'm thinking the OP doesn't appear to know many people.

That is probably the average person here.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Dire? Hardly. Wolves are having a fantastic season.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Is there anyone here who can tell me something very technical about both of these persuits of human endeavour to prove your love of both?

It never ceases to amaze me the sort of nonsense that exercises some people's minds. Why in the name of the Old Gods and the New would you even care about this? There's only one King in the North - in Bielsa we trust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Yeah I'd be a fairly big fan of both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Nor one who likes neither.

Hi, here's one.

🖐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Big game coming up. The Night King's Army are unbeaten at home, but we've yet to see how they perform on the road. A visit to the newly-formed Winterfell Dragons could present a stern test. Particularly after the controversial transfer of Viserion to the All-Whites - don't expect a warm welcome for him from the home crowd!

Winterfell Striker Jon Snow has fully recovered from his niggling "stab wounds" injury and is expected to start, while midfield schemer Littlefinger has been ruled out, and it's unclear whether he will return this season.

The winner is due to meet Cersei Lannister's reigning Champions Kings Landing in the final - so it's all to play for!

Betting; White Walkers are narrow favourites, but the odds on a Jaime Lannister handball have dropped 50%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I love football and GOT.
    I don’t see how you can make those observations OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

mayordenis wrote: »
    Nearly everyone I know likes football and GoT. And a god few of them like eSports too if we need to address that.

His Dad walked out on him and his Mam and joined an eSports league in South Korea. Touchy subject, best not go there.

Yet again, Lord Varys doesn't have the balls to take a peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Drama. As both the premier league and Game of Thrones draw to a close, we, who have followed the pursuits of our favourite teams/characters now come to the point where their fate is revealed.

Cast of characters:
    Liverpool (White Walkers - long thought to be vanquished, now suddenly making a comeback)
    Man City (Lannisters - driven by money and pretty much mowned by a foreign investment company)
    Man United (Starks - enemies of the Lannisters, suddenly find themselves having to rely upon the Lannisters to help stop the White Walkers)
    Arsenal (Baratheon - remember them? No? Ok....)
    Chelsea - (Targaryan - almost died out when the arrogant lunatic who led them was knifed in the back)
    Spurs - (Martell - seemingly important, but no one really knows why)
    Wolves - (Greyjoys - they'll take a bite out of just about everyone before this thing is over)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

url?sa=i&source=imgres&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjWuayMqtLhAhUXQxUIHWqpDGwQjRx6BAgBEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.goal.com%2Fen%2Fnews%2F7180%2Fgalleries%2F2016%2F04%2F24%2F22733522%2Fklopp-as-tyrion-mourinho-as-littlefinger-if-football-were&psig=AOvVaw1yw8t5uTStd3yhrpboB9Ti&ust=1555425616485603

Littlefinger has played for more sides than Robbie Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,810 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

More like Aphex Twin fans are they not.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

the manager told one of the subs "Euron in a minute"

Was that Ed Sheeran with a cameo appearance on the bench?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Big game coming up. The Night King's Army are unbeaten at home, but we've yet to see how they perform on the road. A visit to the newly-formed Winterfell Dragons could present a stern test. Particularly after the controversial transfer of Viserion to the All-Whites - don't expect a warm welcome for him from the home crowd!

Winterfell will have to work on their defending against free kicks. Viseryan blasted right through the wall like it wasn't even there last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Didn’t “The Beast” play football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭touts

I understand (all second hand of course) that the stripclubs of the great cities of Europe do a roaring trade when the champions League is in town. And wasn't Game of Thrones one big strip club for the first 3 seasons. So I'd say there is a fair cross over between the two fan bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,915 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I'm having 2 lads and a woman around for GoT tonight and they're all big football fans. I'm not into football but love rugby. My Mrs only likes GoT.

Not sure why you're finding it so hard to find people into both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭touts

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Winterfell will have to work on their defending against free kicks. Viseryan blasted right through the wall like it wasn't even there last season.

Yea. Apparently in that upcoming episode so many frontline players die it's being likened to the Munich air disaster.

I'll get my coat.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,341 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I'd take Tyrion in a heartbeat over Sanchez at United even drunk battle damaged Tyrion.

Who is the taller of the 2.....or does Sanchez look deceptively small due to how high he pulls up his shorts?

Peter Dinklage aka Tyrion is 4 foot 5 inches

Sanchez aka Alexis is 5 foot 6 inches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

He'd be brutal on a cross, might do better running onto a ball behind defenders. Low centre of gravity would have him turning on a 6 pence

Tyrion Lannister turn ala Cruyff and hopefully not a foreboding to his on-screen persona

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

I love both
    (Well football is annoying me at the moment but I’m no fairweather fan so.....)

But ....I’m not a man :/