Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Local Elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

panda100 wrote: »
    Since when has Ireland been a liberal country for decades? We were literally one of the last countries in the world to legalise for abortion! I would say we have been living in a fairly conservative country for decades and slowly, thankfully, we are entering a more enlightened and progressive time.

Full list of Limerick local election candidates here

You say that as if legalising abortion is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

We clearly know where you stand as you're for hate speech and against legislating for it as a crime.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭Cordell

Have you received your polling cards?

Yep - received a few weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭zimmermania

It certainly is a good thing for those who want to have an abortion as it saves having to go to the Uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭chicorytip

panda100 wrote:
    Since when has Ireland been a liberal country for decades? We were literally one of the last countries in the world to legalise for abortion! I would say we have been living in a fairly conservative country for decades and slowly, thankfully, we are entering a more enlightened and progressive time.

Legalising Abortion should never be viewed as a step toward creating a healthier, more progressive or more democratic society. Quite the contrary, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

chicorytip wrote: »
    Legalising Abortion should never be viewed as a step toward creating a healthier, more progressive or more democratic society. Quite the contrary, in my opinion.

Well thankfully 66% of the population disagree with you and Limerick overwhelmingly voted to legislate for abortion service in the city and county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Of course its progressive because it's given women the choice over their own bodies, instead of being told they are simply human incubators and have no say over it. It amuses me to see people who think it's a bad thing and just can't accept the vote outcome, catholic ireland is still clearly very bitter because the majority of the people told them overwhelmingly where they can stick their outdated views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheDiceMan2020

Do you think our massive social welfare state is conservative politics? Or our unbelievably lenient and light touch policing and laws regarding violent crime, intimidation and anti-social behaviour? What about our revolving door prison system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Shaking with rage here just saw a totally innocent respectable person assaulted for no reason by 2 of limericks tracksuit wearing walking stick carrying misunderstood locals on Athlunkard Street.

I went back around the roundabout and pulled in to help the guy the two scumbags casually walked down the side of the boat club without a care in the world. The guy attacked wouldn't do anything about it or report it I told him he should as we can't have these wild animals attacking people for no reason.

I reported the incident to the guards.

I will be voting for Brian O'Connor he is the only candidate highlighting crime.

Shame on the rest of the candidates who fail to mention this but sure if we get some more cycle lanes we can cycle away quicker when we see someone get attacked.

panda100 wrote:
    Well thankfully 66% of the population disagree with you and Limerick overwhelmingly voted to legislate for abortion service in the city and county.

Of course its progressive because it's given women the choice over their own bodies, instead of being told they are simply human incubators and have no say over it. It amuses me to see people who think it's a bad thing and just can't accept the vote outcome, catholic ireland is still clearly very bitter because the majority of the people told them overwhelmingly where they can stick their outdated views.

A two to one majority can in no way be called "overwhelming". What positive effects does legalising the killing of unborn children bring about for society in general? It can certainly prove to be a profoundly negative experience for women who choose to undergo terminations. The availability of abortion on demand coexists with increased levels of promiscuity and unsafe sexual practices leading, consequently, to an upsurge in sexually transmitted diseases. Numbers presenting at STD clinics in Ireland have increased by 50% in the last twelve months alone. These phenomena have long been common in countries where abortion on demand has been decades in existence such as the United States, Holland and Great Britain. Then there is the very real issue of instances of suicide, self harm and severe depression among women who have had abortions. The "pro choice" movement in Ireland never seems willing to acknowledge the existence of or engage in reasoned and respectful debate about any of those issues I have mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

A two to one majority can in no way be called "overwhelming". What positive effects does legalising the killing of unborn children bring about for society in general? It can certainly prove to be a profoundly negative experience for women who choose to undergo terminations. The availability of abortion on demand coexists with increased levels of promiscuity and unsafe sexual practices leading, consequently, to an upsurge in sexually transmitted diseases. Numbers presenting at STD clinics in Ireland have increased by 50% in the last twelve months alone. These phenomena have long been common in countries where abortion on demand has been decades in existence such as the United States, Holland and Great Britain. Then there is the very real issue of instances of suicide, self harm and severe depression among women who have had abortions. The "pro choice" movement in Ireland never seems willing to acknowledge the existence of or engage in reasoned and respectful debate about any of those issues I have mentioned.

What about the very real instances of suicide, self harm and sever depression from women who have been forced to have kids because they couldn't get an abortion? Anyhow, it's passed now, so no point moaning about it. Just get on with it. As long as it doesn't impact your life, don't be worrying yourself.

To the poster who saw the scum bags attack that guy on the bridge. I'm not sure any politician can do anything about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I'm specifically referring to the issue of delinquency and anti social behaviour, the approach taken for a very long time has been of the left wing variety, generous benefits and soft sentences

The party of government is often unimportant, we have had very high public spending re_ public sector wages and welfare for twenty years, unions lobby for high wages, others for high welfare and a softly softly approach to crime etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Mc Love wrote: »
    We clearly know where you stand as you're for hate speech and against legislating for it as a crime.:eek:

"hate speech" = opinions liberals don't like about their sacred cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

bigpink wrote: »
    What’s her political and activism background

All I know is that she is trying to get a play area in caherdavin, but had no answers to littering issues in caherdavin and surrounding areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Johnny_BravoIII

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I'm specifically referring to the issue of delinquency and anti social behaviour, the approach taken for a very long time has been of the left wing variety, generous benefits and soft sentences

The party of government is often unimportant, we have had very high public spending re_ public sector wages and welfare for twenty years, unions lobby for high wages, others for high welfare and a softly softly approach to crime etc

Does anyone have a link to crime rates in Limerick city and nationwide? It would be good to see where the city actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Does anyone have a link to crime rates in Limerick city and nationwide? It would be good to see where the city actually is.

Does anyone else here have an uneasy feeling when a candidates primary tactic is to try and scare old people into voting for him?

People especially politicians shouldn't be scared to talk to about anything that affects the communities they are in or hoping to represent...let the voters decide after that!

Be that your opinion on abortion, delinquency, welfare state, abuse of public office, gender equality, or any issues you see at local level, we are storing up issues that we will end up paying a huge price for...it's like we haven't learned a thing...its like the repressive Catholic Church regime all over again!

We live in a very regressive era and I fear it is getting worse, just look at our options in the upcoming elections....I can't tell the difference between any political parties....it is truly depressing!

grenadino wrote:
    What about the very real instances of suicide, self harm and sever depression from women who have been forced to have kids because they couldn't get an abortion? Anyhow, it's passed now, so no point moaning about it. Just get on with it. As long as it doesn't impact your life, don't be worrying yourself.

I think the issue of Abortion should "impact" all of our lives - at least those of us not endowed with such a narrow and simplistic mindset as your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Johnny_BravoIII

People especially politicians shouldn't be scared to talk to about anything that affects the communities they are in or hoping to represent...let the voters decide after that!

Be that your opinion on abortion, delinquency, welfare state, abuse of public office, gender equality, or any issues you see at local level, we are storing up issues that we will end up paying a huge price for...it's like we haven't learned a thing...its like the repressive Catholic Church regime all over again!

We live in a very regressive era and I fear it is getting worse, just look at our options in the upcoming elections....I can't tell the difference between any political parties....it is truly depressing!

It's not so much the topic and more the messaging. Wheres the new thinking i.e. the referencing to successful interventions in other cities etc. If you are going to run on crime shouldnt you have some solutions to offer?

All I'm hearing is "crime is bad, set the dogs on em". Is that where we are setting the bar?

Folks your all going on about things not relevant to the local election and ignoring comments that are Limerick issues.

grenadino wrote:
    To the poster who saw the scum bags attack that guy on the bridge. I'm not sure any politician can do anything about this.

Of course they can we have the council joint policing committee, they can get more CCTV installed, they can put pressure on Henry st for more foot patrols, they can get the lights on the canal fixed where people have been attacked for the last few months and maybe they can get the weeds that have grown into trees on our canal and the river Shannon cut down so people can feel safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

kilburn wrote: »
    Folks your all going on about things not relevant to the local election and ignoring comments that are Limerick issues.

What is relevant to local elections tho?...Councillors can do jack s##t about anything really! The mainstream parties just use them to shore up the vote....they are utterly powerless!

Some of the things which are relevant I have mentioned above.

Really interested to see if our resident candidates are going to comment on my points raised rather than go on about abortion and greenways.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Any up date on the elderly lady been discussed on the tonight show at the moment. Scum kids smashed all the windows of her house in ???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

So far the only normal working class candidates seem Brian o Connor and John Costeloe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Shaking with rage here just saw a totally innocent respectable person assaulted for no reason by 2 of limericks tracksuit wearing walking stick carrying misunderstood locals on Athlunkard Street.

I went back around the roundabout and pulled in to help the guy the two scumbags casually walked down the side of the boat club without a care in the world. The guy attacked wouldn't do anything about it or report it I told him he should as we can't have these wild animals attacking people for no reason.

I will be voting for Brian O'Connor he is the only candidate highlighting crime.

Shame on the rest of the candidates who fail to mention this but sure if we get some more cycle lanes we can cycle away quicker when we see someone get attacked.

Fair play for stopping
    Yeah cycle lanes id say they haven’t set foot in a working class area
    Actually any list of where the candidates are from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,054 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Folks, please keep it civil, remember to respond to the contents of a post not attack the poster themselves.

What's your beef with cyclists and providing safe cycling infrastructure and a more liveable city? Maybe if there were more people around the attack wouldnt have happened, maybe it would have, but taking out your anger on people that want to commute to work in a safe way and on pollution free mode of transport is not on.

Ridiculous comment that i am angry with cyclists I was and still am angry for the victim of the assault having to deal with that going home from work.

Great to see the concern people in this forum have for fellow limerick citizens who are victims of crime.

These attacks ruin people's lives.

These same people who promote liveable limerick have their heads in the sand when it comes to crime and anti social behaviour my point is quite clear.

No issue with cycling and public transport but people's safety comes first.

And cycle lanes puts people that commute by bike safety first.

No doubt it was a horrific attack, but did you contact the Gardai?? Being a witness surely you'd have been able to identify the two males?