Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol-free beer at work

• 13-04-2019 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭

Is it acceptable to drink alcohol-free beer at work? Or would it look bad?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

antix80 wrote: »

why bother? what's the point. you want a pint go have a pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

Be good crack if you were a heart surgeon.
    Just tell the patients not to worry because you work better when relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Depends where you work. If you were sitting on the tills in Aldi swigging out of a beer bottle it wouldn't look great. If you're in a private office where you won't meet clients, them it's probably just about grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This has made me think that all those people with water bottles are probably drinking vodka or gin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Just buy a jar of Bovril and sort your life out.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Most of them are not actually fully alcohol free so if there's a complete ban on alcohol, they won't get around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

L1011 wrote: »
    Most of them are not actually fully alcohol free so if there's a complete ban on alcohol, they won't get around it.

^ this answered it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

This has made me think that all those people with water bottles are probably drinking vodka or gin.

Aha!
    I remember being shocked to discover that a female colleague wasn't on a fitness jag, but rather was quaffing gin from a River Rock bottle. It certainly explained the mood swings.
    How I discovered was one day in summer, three of us were eating our lunch al fresco in a small confined yard which was a great suntrap at exactly lunchtime. I had sandwiches and a cuppa, and when I was having a sup, she offered to pour some gin into my coffee. Of course I thought she was joking till she told me to sniff the bottle. The look of horror on my face was instantly noted and I became the puritan of the office(in her eyes). BTW, we were both in our very late fifties at the time.

I have no time for drinking during working hours, to the extent that I would not even drink the non alcoholic versions. But that's just me being an oul' fogey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Would it not be better if it was free beer though. :D:D:D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Why bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Why bother?

Eh! Because it tastes nice and is refreshing.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Just buy a jar of Bovril and sort your life out.

You can't drink a pint of Bovril!

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Why not drink normal beer at work? Makes an afternoon go a lot faster if you're smashed after lunch.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Just injecting oranges...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I tried a few non alcoholic beers over the years and never found one that was in anyway pleasant to drink... i just stick with a Diet Coke these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Alcohol free beer, it’s like kissing your sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Why not?
    It can get very hot in the cockpit during long haul flights

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    Alcohol free beer, it’s like kissing your sister.

When she gives some tongue it's quite nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Heineken zero isn't too bad.

kowloon wrote: »
    You can't drink a pint of Bovril!

Oh, ye of little faith!

My Bovril mug holds exactly a pint.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Teepinaw

Aha!
    I remember being shocked to discover that a female colleague wasn't on a fitness jag, but rather was quaffing gin from a River Rock bottle. It certainly explained the mood swings.
    How I discovered was one day in summer, three of us were eating our lunch al fresco in a small confined yard which was a great suntrap at exactly lunchtime. I had sandwiches and a cuppa, and when I was having a sup, she offered to pour some gin into my coffee. Of course I thought she was joking till she told me to sniff the bottle. The look of horror on my face was instantly noted and I became the puritan of the office(in her eyes). BTW, we were both in our very late fifties at the time.

I have no time for drinking during working hours, to the extent that I would not even drink the non alcoholic versions. But that's just me being an oul' fogey.

Was she drunk half the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Edgware wrote: »
    Why not?
    It can get very in the cockpit during long haul flights

Maybe lay off the beer if you forget to put in the most important word that makes your point in a post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Regardless if it was acceptable,, if I seen a coworker drinking non Alco beer in the office saying it's refreshing, it'd completely loose respect for the attention seeker.

There are hundreds of other options that isn't associated with alcohol. Have a coke/fanta/sparkling water/cidona/lucozade ect. Never mind beer breath in work.

joeguevara wrote: »
    Maybe lay off the beer if you forget to put in the most important word that makes your point in a post.
    Corrected now. My mistake I just had a few alcohol free ones before I said first Mass. The congregation can be very annoying at that hour. You'd need something to get you started and the wine is a poor vintage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

When I worked in Germany having a beer at lunch was accepted. There was beer in the machines that had soft drinks in them.

That said this is Ireland and the people's perceptions are very different. Also there very few nice non alcoholic beers.

beauf wrote: »
    When I worked in Germany having a beer at lunch was accepted. There was beer in the machines that had soft drinks in them.

That said this is Ireland and the people's perceptions are very different. Also there very few nice non alcoholic beers.

Had the same experience myself in Germany, the Germans were amazed at my reaction when I first saw them.

They have so many different breweries and micro breweries and such a tradition in brewing that it's just accepted that a beer or two during work is fine and no one will go overboard.

I was working with a German recently cutting down large trees around his house and at about 11am out comes the wife with two cold bottles of beer. I politely declined even though the sweat was rolling off me. She tried to insist and I explained it was because when I was trained to use a chainsaw, rule number 1 is never consume alcohol or drugs while working with a chainsaw.

"Ohh," she said "I understand" and then swiped the bottle out of her husbands hand just as he was about to take a sup. He was one cranky man for the next half hour, just as well he hasn't a word of english.

From my own experience the Erdinger with the blue label is the best of the air beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Aha!

Youre not a puritan..she just has a drinking problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

From my own experience the Erdinger with the blue label is the best of the air beers.

That would be my choice too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Eh! Because it tastes nice and is refreshing.

Water tastes nice and is even more refreshing. We only got feckin vapers out of the workplace now we have to deal with feckin virgin beers knobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

office-lush-768x512.jpg

beauf wrote: »

Same, when I lived in France in the work canteen you could buy small bottles of wine to have with your lunch. I don’t remember seeing beer but this was in a huge international intergovernmental organization.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

i remember quiet a funny joke relating to non alcoholic beer, but I fear I could be carded if I post it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

i remember quiet a funny joke relating to non alcoholic beer, but I fear I could be carded if I post it :p

Haha. Is there a nun mentioned in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

Sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I don’t see the point in having alcohol free beer at work, only reason I might want one or two beers in the middle of the working day (when not staying on the beer for the day) is to get a bit of a cure for the night before to get you through the afternoon and sure what good is alcohol free beer for that.

Strumms wrote: »
    Same, when I lived in France in the work canteen you could buy small bottles of wine to have with your lunch. I don’t remember seeing beer but this was in a huge international intergovernmental organization.
    It wouldn't work in Ireland with our addictive personalities. As the saying goes " it's a very short Road from just the one to never again"

In Ireland when your lying in your own vomit after pissing in your pants you know it's time to go on the shorts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

It would look silly to be honest, in my head I can see some slobbering dude with a big gut slurping away on a brown bottle of piss water.

More than likely a slob or functioning alcoholic, shirt bursting over his big belly, or the opposite an oversized shirt and a skinny pale guy who's body is eating itself because all he does is drink.

Not to mention the red face and smell of body odour.

There's a time and place for non alcoholic beverages, but in work it just looks very knuckle dragging...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Haha. Is there a nun mentioned in it?

It's the alcohol free beer sister joke

Edgware wrote: »
    In Ireland when your lying in your own vomit after pissing in your pants you know it's time to go on the shorts"

If you pissed your pants I think you need to stop. Going on your shorts will leave you with nothing to wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Have a **** in the work jacks

U

Just googled it. Cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

It can get very hot in the cockpit during long haul flights
    It really does get hot in the summer, that's why having a cold beer with ice is wonderful.

Why do we co tinge to believe that continental Europe has such a mature attitude to alcohol in stark contrast to us. Mention of Germany depict a land where people can have a beer from a vending machine at work. It is so far from the truth with Germany being one of the heaviest drinking nation in the world (admittedly with Ireland and 3 other nations). https://www.dw.com/cda/en/the-highs-and-lows-of-germanys-drinking-culture/a-2226609

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

L1011 wrote: »

So do some soft drinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Or crack one open at the lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Why would you want to? Does anyone actually like the taste of beer - to the point where youd drink it casually at work just for the taste?

Seems odd to me, either go for a pint or buy a bottle of cidona if you love the taste of drink that much. Seeing someone I work with drinking non alcoholic beer would make me think they where an alcoholic trying to manage their cravings for drink while at work and id find it worrying tbh.

Strumms wrote: »
    If you pissed your pants I think you need to stop. Going on your shorts will leave you with nothing to wear.
    You mustn't get out much. Going on the shorts means stop the pints and start on the shorts of whiskey etc

Why would you want to? Does anyone actually like the taste of beer - to the point where youd drink it casually at work just for the taste?

Seems odd to me, either go for a pint or buy a bottle of cidona if you love the taste of drink that much. Seeing someone I work with drinking non alcoholic beer would make me think they where an alcoholic trying to manage their cravings for drink while at work and id find it worrying tbh.

People must like the taste of beer. You would never even attempt to drink ten pints of Fanta in an evening but beer just slips down. But no way would I even think of having a beer at lunch. For all Ireland's negative connotations with alcohol, we don't have a lunchtime drinking culture in comparison tonEngland. When I worked in a bar in London, everyday you would have the same groups of people (blue collar and white collar) come in at lunchtime and have 3-4 drinks and then go back to work.

I had a glass of wine at lunch last week but it was to toast a deal and only had it because my client was ordering the same.