Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraying docks.

• 10-04-2019 3:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭

Right have 3 acres with fair establishment of docs in places.

What are lads finding works best ??
    We got a guy to spray with eagle some years ago and it was disappointing results.

Been told not to spray if frost due, is that a thing or old wives tale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

They need to be growing so wait til frost is gone

Have used Eagle before found it grand

They all work if put out correctly from my experience

Depends if you want to protect clover or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No.
    Nothing a priority only killing the docs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

Have you got acceess to a few goats? They'll eat the docks AND manure the soil at the same time.

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Conflats

_Brian wrote:

What are lads finding works best ?? We got a guy to spray with eagle some years ago and it was disappointing results.

Have you clover in the sward? If you don't that makes things a lot easier in terms of choice of sprays.

Something like generic fuloxpyr (reaper/binder/starane) will do a good job at 1.0l/ha. Hit them hard and when they are small.

If you have clover you are really left with eagle as the only option.

Other management factors are needed with docks things like
    -over grazing and poaching the sward opens up bare soil to the seed that's in the ground
    -what is the potassium levels like?
    - does the ground get much slurry?

It not regularly poached, not over slurried. There’s no clover so it’s not a limiting factor.

No idea on potassium as never sampled. Gets slurried once a season and 70 units of N through 18-6-12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

What has potassium to do with docs ?

Pastor trio , dox star or hurler

Have used the first 2 above and happy with them,

Have found the correct amount of water to use per/ha is as important as the amount of spray to put in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Find forefront T very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Grueller wrote: »
    Find forefront T very good

And very expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Dunedin wrote: »
    And very expensive

Not a big difference on it and pastor trio in price as far as I remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

_Brian wrote: »

Not an old wives tale. Basically you need good growing conditions which Frost isn’t. It’s to get milder over the next week so should be good spraying assuming the docks are up this early as haven’t noticed that many yet but maybe it’s just me in a hurry herding every evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

50HX wrote:

Are all these ok to use on silage ground? Have 5 acres that I use just for silage as have no water there and docks are starting to establish.
    Was warned off Forefront T as not being suitable for silage ground due to residues in the slurry afterwards

PoorFarmer wrote: »
    Are all these ok to use on silage ground? Have 5 acres that I use just for silage as have no water there and docks are starting to establish.
    Was warned off Forefront T as not being suitable for silage ground due to residues in the slurry afterwards

Yeah theye are all safe for silage ground

Fore front is fine once the slurry produced by the silage fed stays on the farm.....it's a precaution statement that's in there so it doesn't end up on ground for veg or grain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

50HX wrote: »

Have used the first 2 above and happy with them,

Have found the correct amount of water to use per/ha is as important as the amount of spray to put in

Im thinking of trying pastor trio this year. Ive used doxstar but find it has to be used almost every two years on my ground anyway, and its expensive of course. Pastor trio may not be any different!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

What are lads finding works best ??
    We got a guy to spray with eagle some years ago and it was disappointing results.

Are ya spot spraying or is it a tractor job?
    We’ve an acre and a bit beside the house here for the two ponies.
    Docks, nettles and some creeping buttercup.
    The knapsack would do it.
    Any of the brushwood sprays easily handle thise weeds and don’t harm the grass but they’re clover safe.

lab man wrote:
    What has potassium to do with docs ?

Docks thrive in high potash soils, so ground which gets slurry or high levels or compound has a more optimal environment for docks

50HX wrote:
    Fore front is fine once the slurry produced by the silage fed stays on the farm.....it's a precaution statement that's in there so it doesn't end up on ground for veg or grain

Yeah theye are all safe for silage ground

Forefront t is not allowed on silage ground before cutting. It states this on the label. You can spray after a cut of silage but you can't take a forage crop off it for 12 months.

One of the actives in the product is extremely residual in dung and slurry due to the anaerobic conditions.

Are ya spot spraying or is it a tractor job?
    We’ve an acre and a bit beside the house here for the two ponies.
    Docks, nettles and some creeping buttercup.
    The knapsack would do it.
    Any of the brushwood sprays easily handle thise weeds and don’t harm the grass but they’re clover safe.

Be a tractor job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Be a tractor job

Well then, eagle hasn’t worked for ya so there’s no point trying again. More money for old rope.
    Forefront T, doxstar or dicophar.
    Tricoflyr is the active ingredient that kills docks, so look for that when you are buting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Conflats wrote:
    Docks thrive in high potash soils, so ground which gets slurry or high levels or compound has a more optimal environment for docks

Thanks didnt know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Anyone ever try weed licking docks?

epfff wrote:

Advice is to hit at florette stage. This would usually be too close to the grass height to use glyphosate on. Any sprays I have looked at for docks are only for sprayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I used Fore Front T a few years ago. Haven't had to use it since and half the bottle is still sitting on the shelf. Highly recommend.

Too late for this years silage, 4 weeks after your last cut would be the ideal time to hit them. No need to put it on strong, I used it exactly as per the label and it killed all before it.

It should only be used with a boom sprayer, not knapsack. If you want to do some spot spraying turn off the booms and just use the inline sprayer.

It is only expensive the day you buy.

epfff wrote: »

Tried it one time as an experiment......disaster

As posted you need a rosette stage for best results plus the leaf needs a good wetting , weed locker just tears across the leaf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have a small silage field here with a lot of patches of docks. Just spread fertiliser on it today. Have a liter of 'Grazon Pro' and was thinking of knapsack spraying the docks with it.
    Would I be ok time wise? Any concerns with the dead docks in the silage?

Have a small silage field here with a lot of patches of docks. Just spread fertiliser on it today. Have a liter of 'Grazon Pro' and was thinking of knapsack spraying the docks with it.

Dead docks are fine...label says 28 days before cutting,

Spray on i say .......60mls to 10litres water

Be aware, or check, but I think Grazon Pro isnt certified for hand spraying, maybe I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 timjack

Have a silage field that I closed 2 weeks ago. Hoping to cut start of June. When would be the best time to spray for docks.tia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

timjack wrote: »
    Have a silage field that I closed 2 weeks ago. Hoping to cut start of June. When would be the best time to spray for docks.tia

When ever you get the next few fine days together as long as you have enough leaf or young growth coming back. Growth is going to burst after that rain when heat picks up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Farmer Dan

I've docks to spray asap but in the last week or so some of there leaves are turning yellow / purple in colour. There not a lush green colour as you'd imagine they should be.
    Are these ok to spray or what's the best approach. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Talking about docks.....I was digging up some docks and came across some white grubs. Apparently they are the larvae of cockchafers.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

Got the docs sprayed yesterday morning, perfect spraying conditions and the day was great afterwards.
    Hopefully get a good result now for cleaner silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Where’s the cheapest for sprays?need 20 acres for forefront

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Where’s the cheapest for sprays?need 20 acres for forefront

These guys are very competitive

https://g.co/kgs/6dyTnk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

How close to the cutting date would it be ok to spot spray docks with Grazon Pro? I missed a few when I spot sprayed the last time.

4 weeks, if you get mighty growth you might knock a week off that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Did a bit of reseeding 6 weeks ago and was slow enough because of the weather but have plenty docks growing.Was going to spray but a man told me not to as it would burn grass as well because it’s so dry,he said a run of the disc mower would be safer .Whatdo ye think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

High bike wrote: »
    Did a bit of reseeding 6 weeks ago and was slow enough because of the weather but have plenty docks growing.Was going to spray but a man told me not to as it would burn grass as well because it’s so dry,he said a run of the disc mower would be safer .Whatdo ye think??

I don't know about spraying them while it's too dry, but I'm pretty certain that a run of the disc mower would only bring them back better than they are now....

hopeso wrote: »
    I don't know about spraying them while it's too dry, but I'm pretty certain that a run of the disc mower would only bring them back better than they are now....
    thats what I thought but this lad supposedly knows his stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd spray them. The longer you leave seedling docks unsprayed, they'll be putting down a bigger tap root everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

thats what I thought but this lad supposedly knows his stuff

How high are they? Would a weedwiper be an option, to avoid hitting the grass?

hopeso wrote: »
    How high are they? Would a weedwiper be an option, to avoid hitting the grass?
    theyr prob not high enough for that

I'd spray them. The longer you leave seedling docks unsprayed, they'll be putting down a bigger tap root everyday.

What’s the best spray at that stage?

High bike wrote:

Had the same thing last year. Bought post emergence spray but didnt use it as the grass was having trouble with the drought conditions. Have fed it and topped before docks went to seed so the docks never really took over. Sprayed dockstar over the weekend. Half rate. Will do them again in the fall

What’s the best spray at that stage?

Underclear

Would spray them now, easier to get grass back than trying to get rid of more established docks

50HX wrote: »
    Underclear

Would spray them now, easier to get grass back than trying to get rid of more established docks
    would spot spraying be a better option?

Yeah always an option. ...hard to pick up all seedling stage docks and chickweed by spot spraying though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Got the docs sprayed yesterday morning, perfect spraying conditions and the day was great afterwards.
    Hopefully get a good result now for cleaner silage.

What spray did you use Brian, and were you happy with the results?

Used Docstar.
    Yea it cleared 99% of the doc from the silage.
    Checked grass growth a fair bit.

Plan is to go again in Autumn or maybe spring to hit any regrowth.