Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 29/03/19

• 28-03-2019 5:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

1. Sean Cox Rehabilitation Trust is good, might even be a good chat with former footballers.
    2. Riyadh and his parents join Ryan to explain what it was like to grow up as a gay kid in Ireland
    3. In 1999, Guido Nasi was visiting Ireland for the first time when he was attacked in Dublin, leaving him with partial sight, and unable to walk or feed himself.
    4. Ryan will also be joined by Colette Byrne, Venetia Quick and John Fitzsimons on adjusting to life after the death of their partners

1. Sad funding raising story.
    2. LGBTQI story
    3. Ireland killed me story
    4. Something happened it made me sad story

I know, look all worthwhile discussion but it's a deluge of feeling every week. In some way TLLS is desperately trying to do what it did in it early years, forgetting the variety of other types of items. It's like as if they've decide every item has to have an issue attached.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It's on tonight??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

It's on tonight??????

Nah getting the begrudgary in early :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Elmo wrote: »
    2. LGBTQI story

I know, look all worthwhile discussion but it's a deluge of feeling every week. In some way TLLS is desperately trying to do what it did in it early years, forgetting the variety of other types of items. It's like as if they've decide every item has to have an issue attached.

The way I see it, this is how the LLS has changed over the years.

1) Used to be a lot of stars on it, on telling their stories and it was often a bit of craic
    2) Stars stopped coming to Ireland, too small a market
    3) LLS had to change, and started to get in Irish guests
    4) Start adding a bit of misery into the mix cos we Irish are miserable buggers
    5) The number of Irish guests became limited so had to look closer to home. Just started raiding the canteen at Montrose, and asking any RTE employee if they had any stories to tell. But keep a bit of misery, maybe even 2 stories that are sad.
    6) So the weather staff, news anchors, sports commentators etc have been on so often and people can't watch Jason Byrne or Francis Brennan for a 5th time this series, so just stick an extra misery slot in.
    .Future? All misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

1. Sean Cox Rehabilitation Trust is good, might even be a good chat with former footballers.
    2. Riyadh and his parents join Ryan to explain what it was like to grow up as a gay kid in Ireland
    3. In 1999, Guido Nasi was visiting Ireland for the first time when he was attacked in Dublin, leaving him with partial sight, and unable to walk or feed himself.
    4. Ryan will also be joined by Colette Byrne, Venetia Quick and John Fitzsimons on adjusting to life after the death of their partners

2. LGBTQI story

Seriously, 2 hours of misery. Rte taking the p!as with this show now.

2. LGBTQI story

Thanks for heads up , I won’t be watching, can’t stand constant misery slots. Gay Byrne never did this kind of stuff, and if he did it was good and it was real , Ryan is fake. Like anything when you see too much of it you become desensitized, the misery slots don’t work anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Soon to be made homeless, and looking for a new threads to joins...

ThunderousGlitteringAllosaurus-max-1mb.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

NIMAN wrote: »
    The way I see it, this is how the LLS has changed over the years.

1) Used to be a lot of stars on it, on telling their stories and it was often a bit of craic
    2) Stars stopped coming to Ireland, too small a market
    3) LLS had to change, and started to get in Irish guests
    4) Start adding a bit of misery into the mix cos we Irish are miserable buggers
    5) The number of Irish guests became limited so had to look closer to home. Just started raiding the canteen at Montrose, and asking any RTE employee if they had any stories to tell. But keep a bit of misery, maybe even 2 stories that are sad.
    6) So the weather staff, news anchors, sports commentators etc have been on so often and people can't watch Jason Byrne or Francis Brennan for a 5th time this series, so just stick an extra misery slot in.
    .Future? All misery.

He has a new series back, so might pop up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭BobbyBobberson

My god that is woeful. I mean, the UK is not far away could they not fly some interesting guests in? Is the budget small or are the researchers poor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

My god that is woeful. I mean, the UK is not far away could they not fly some interesting guests in? Is the budget small or are the researchers poor?

Plus Graham Norton is still on hiatus Jonathan Ross must be getting them all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Now with the old reliable of having a "Dancing with the Stars" filler segment gone, it's moved on from having a misery slot to now having misery slots. It doesn't bode well.

valoren wrote: »
    It's moved on from having a misery slot to now having misery slots. It doesn't bode well.

I fear thats the way it'll go, as it makes for easy, and cheap, TV.

It'll have 3 misery and 1 entertainment slot at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

valoren wrote: »
    Now with the old reliable of having a "Dancing with the Stars" filler segment gone, it's moved on from having a misery slot to now having misery slots. It doesn't bode well.

Nah Ray D'Arcy got DWTS! also

1. Joe Brolly on Cystic Fibrosis
    2. He also got Francis Brennan ...and Dermot Bannon.
    3. Kilkenny woman Jenny Moylan on loosing weight
    4. Pat Shortt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Jesus, that's bleak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

Yessss. Delighted... herself is going out tonight so tlls wont be on in the background while i'm reading boards. Result!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

It's very easy to improve this horror.

A musical guest, got that, fine, maybe two as standard. Near beginning and at end.

A current news item. Not necessarily heavy, social, a trend, something in the news. Get people on to talk about, bring in the audience.

A celeb who has a film out or athlete who won something.

A postal/phone in quiz, got that. Fair enough.

A current political discussion. Get people on, bring in the audience.

If anyone is on to talk about loss it should be a national figure or from a national story currently in the news.

When good show's are stuck they get a guest on who has great stories to tell.

How many times can you have Francis Brennan and Dermot Bannon on?

Its turning into a joke with these shows at the minute.

Sure why don't they give Jason Byrne a call, see if he's free tonight for a chat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

NIMAN wrote: »
    How many times can you have Francis Brennan and Dermot Bannon on?

Its turning into a joke with these shows at the minute.

Sure why don't they give Jason Byrne a call, see if he's free tonight for a chat?

Ha, yeah. Or Pat Shor...oh hang on.

The list of topics for tonight is absolutely remarkable for an entertainment show. Remarkable.

The bit about how people dealt with people close to them dying is just lazy.

In the sense that, normally they pretend the misery is part of a different story, this time they just couldn't be arsed pretending. We just want to talk about people dying, anything else is just by the by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

They might as well do a LLS Special, broadcast live from Glasnevin Cemetery, with the way they've become fixated with terminal illness, death & misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Comhra wrote: »
    They might as well do a LLS Special, broadcast live from Glasnevin Cemetery, with the way they've become fixated with terminal illness, death & misery.

Don't be puttin ideas in their heads,for fcuks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

Glasnevin is a fair old stretch from Donnybrook. The mortuary at Vincent's is just 2 minutes up Nutley Lane and they could do a quick run around the wards looking for filler for the rest of the season while they are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A GoPro camera broadcasting live on the coffin from the moment it leaves the church until it goes straight in to the ground :D

Duffy and Paddy Gorman asking people how do they feel.

Been out of the loop for a few weeks.

How did Brexit go today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ol' Donie wrote: »

How did Brexit go today?

It didn't, sort of kicked down the road for a few weeks for the next move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Maximum misery show tonight.

Only Fools and horses, Jolly boys outing for me.

Laters dudes.

26b141484b8d846d4e06b05f0ee6140b.gif

tumblr_ofu9b2e6bo1vdlvpao1_400.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

"It started on the Late Late Show"

social-issues-prom-drink_and_drive-prom_night-drunk-drunk_drivers-efin479_low.jpg

That Lenor ad is gas.

What? These sheets were washed a week ago yet still smell like chemical soap? Wow, that sounds exactly like something I'd like to deal with when I'm trying to sleep.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Only Fools and horses, Jolly boys outing for me.

Laters dudes.

Party on!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 116 ✭✭Sajid Javid

How did Brexit go today?

My cat (rabbit) got a call from mouser (downing st cat) saying that the far right
    (pro brexits) are out side now and appear angry and she cant get out for piss Rabbit is upset for mouser so we halved a Zopitan should be in bed before the misery starts.

My cat (rabbit) got a call from mouser (downing st cat) saying that the far right
    (pro brexits) are out side now and appear angry and she cant get out for piss Rabbit is upset for mouser so we halved a Zopitan should be in bed before the misery starts.

And then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The bit about how people dealt with people close to them dying is just lazy.

In the sense that, normally they pretend the misery is part of a different story, this time they just couldn't be arsed pretending. We just want to talk about people dying, anything else is just by the by.

I wonder what the research is like for that?

Do they put a notice up in the canteen asking for volunteers, or do the researchers ring up the recently bereaved "Sorry for your recent loss ... are you free on Friday night?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 116 ✭✭Sajid Javid

And then?
    The Riot police

For a break from the misery, can we have a poll about the clock changing thingy. 3 options.

Keep the clocks going back and forward.

Keep them the same.

Is it possible to go back in time to when the Late Late wasn't about misery all the time?

How did Brexit go today?

They are sleepwalking into a no deal exit on May 22nd. Britain no longer dictates the timetable on this. Only takes one other EU member to block an extension.

They need to form a cross party consensus on a workable comprehensive free trade/single market agreement which will allow the Brexit people get their fig leaf exit and minimise the friction caused to them and us. And be quick about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

I was hoping that lamb would be presenting the show, alas it is not :(

Skid X wrote: »
    They are sleepwalking into a no deal exit on May 22nd. Britain no longer dictates the timetable on this. Only takes one other EU member to block an extension.

They need to form a cross party consensus on a workable comprehensive free trade/single market agreement which will allow the Brexit people get their fig leaf exit and minimise the friction caused to them and us. And be quick about it.

Actually, change the poll. If we're going back in time, it's to punch David Cameron in his stupid face just as he's about to offer a referendum on this nonsense.

tenor.png

Actually, change the poll. If we're going back in time, it's to punch David Cameron in his stupid face just as he's about to offer a referendum on this nonsense.

I'd like to hear Danny Dyer's opinion. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

I'd say John Delaney should get a mention tonight. Triggs will have a very erudite position on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Look at that crowd all happy and lively, they're in for a shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Look at that crowd all happy and lively, they're in for a shock

Lambs to the slaughter

Marengo wrote: »
    I'd say John Delaney should get a mention tonight. Triggs will have a very erudite position on this.

I'd say Jason McAteer has given 10,000 interviews for every cap he ever got.

Yeah whoop it up audience, let's see how you feel at 11.45pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

An evening of fooking sadness....wtf..

They should have a non misery section ... y'know just one token guest on to tell a few jokes or plug a film. With no mention of death or illness.

Yeah whoop it up audience, let's see how you feel at 11.45pm.

Let's see how you feel right now.

Jesus Christ almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I remember this assault. Poor poor man..

Utter scum that did that..