Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Day 1 Tuesday March 12

• 08-03-2019 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭

May the games commence. 7 puzzles to solve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

One word. Discorama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Elixr Du Nutz
    Kalashnikov (Multi's)
    Vintage Clouds
    Sharjah
    Benie Des Dieux
    No bet Close Bros
    Ballyward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Angels Breath
    Hardline
    Mr Whitaker
    BDD
    Discorama
    Riders on the Storm

Can't make my mind up on CH. Will wait till the day itself

GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Andrew00 wrote: »
    One word. Discorama

Gotta love when a bit of hype surrounds a horse on here. I remember last year it was the same story with Rathvinden for this race and The Storyteller for the plate and look what happened with them

Kalashnikov is coming in under the radar massively. One bad (piss poor in fairness) run and all of a sudden hes an outsider? This is a weak race and he can run well at Cheltenham. Looking forward to seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭piplip87

For the Close Brothers I fancy Movewiththetimes, serious horse if he gets round but that's the trouble hasn't got round in a while but Nicholas is flying could easily run into a place.

Elixir Des Nuts and Vision D'Honour in the supreme.
    Paloma Blue in the Arkle
    Apple's Jade in CH
    Minella Rocco in the Utimia.

I think whatever Rachel Blackmore is on is a good strategy for some of the handicaps. So will see where she runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Paloma Blue
    Global Citzen
    Lady Buttons
    Atlanta Ablaze

e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭handsfree2

I've backed the following - I'd be happy with one and delighted two winners from this list.

Grand Sancy
    Duc Des Geneves
    Give me a copper (I'll probably cash this out)
    Nothing yet
    Roskana ew
    Highway 00 ew
    Blow by blow ew with a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Elixir da Nutz (Nap)
    Hardline
    Nothing as yet - maybe Minella
    AJ/Laurina both in multiples, Laurina single
    Beni
    A plus Tard
    Ballyward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

-Fakir D’Doudaire
    -Glen Forsa
    -Mr Whittaker
    -Buve D’air
    -Bene de Dieux
    -Shady Operator
    -Ballyward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭WicklowBrave

Fakir declared for the Supreme. J J Slevin keeps the ride. Ruby on Klassical Dream.

Townend on Melon. Patrick Mullins on Sharjah.

Townend on Stormy Ireland.

Azzerti doesn't get into the Close Brothers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

Aramon is my bet for the Supreme but have small stakes at huge prices on Itchy Feet, The Big Bite and Thomas Darby. Have a free bet chucked on Mister Fisher too. The Supreme is madness this year which coincides with my mad activity in the market.

Hardline for the Arkle. Glad to see he's been smashed in. Small stakes on Articulum.

BDA in the CH. Small stakes on Melon and Brain Power just for the craic. Will probably lump more when the inevitable AJ and Laurina steam starts on the day.

BDD in the Mares. Her price at 1.91 is still borderline ridiculous, might have to reinvest.

Ballyward in the National Hunt is the only bet I have so far. Will throw some on a few long shots closer to post.

Nothing on the handicaps yet as it is like trying to play snooker with a rope until closer to the day imo.

Ruby not riding in the Arkle. Paul rides DDG. Would have been harsh to jock him off tbf. Presume PT will ride Real Steel in the JLT aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Felix Desjy might be a different proposition in the Supreme with a strong pace. Will hopefully allow him to settle better. 22/1 on William Hill.

The Arkle looks a really poor renewal this year. Us and Them is still value at 16's. Ideally he'd probably want further but I think he'll at least place here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭hawaii501

I see William hill are paying 7 places in the supreme. Some offer that is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

1. Klassical Dream, Grand Sancy
    2. Us and Them
    3. Coo Star Sivola
    4. Apples Jade , Sharjah
    5. Good Thyne Tara
    6. Tower Bridge
    7. Whisperinthebreeze , Gun Digger.

Enjoy and good luck to everyone.

Buveur D’Air out to 5/2 now. Lovely.

Could get 3/1 or 10/3 on the day with the Irish money pouring on apples Jade and maybe Laurina

Keep an eye out for Gavin Cromwell this week at Southwell, Stratford and sedgefield. Will land a few gambles as usual this time of year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭jkbkhhho7t

Supreme-Between Aramon and Klassical dream for me, Think ruby has chosen right with klassical dream, has a nice piece of form on soft in france in a race the monster master dino won 11/2

Arkle-Weak renewal but I think Hardline is the one 6/1

Ultima-Up for review 14/1

Close Brothers-A Plus tard, Rachael Blackmores first festival winner 8/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭dave81

Ageee with A Plus Tard. Blackmore surely gets off the mark. Get money down before Duc DG runs though, because a good run from him will half that 8/1. Nap.

I'll back Laurina in a match bet against BD.

I'll have a small nibble at Mister Fisher. Probably only good enough to place, but he's beaten a hell of a lot of horses that subsequently won or previously won.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Panrich

I've done a few longshots in the handicaps:

Ultima: Activial @65 win Betfair & also place

Close Brothers: The Russian Doyen @34 Betfair and also place

I'm on a few in the Supreme (Angels Breath, Klassical Dream, Mister Fisher and a longshot in Felix Desjy) and so far have not had a bet in the Arkle but I'm leaning towards Hardline at the moment.

I've followed Laurina and have her backed already but will look at covering that if Buveur D'air drifts. I see Apples Jades form at Cheltenham as a negative but I might be eating that opinion afterwards.

Can't back Benie at the prices but haven't really looked at therace in enough detail yet. I'll pick something E/w there.

Heading over in the morning and can't wait for the action to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Supreme - Klassical Dream at 8s- looks like he'll go off fav. Big Bite at 40s, giving him a tentative pass on his Kempton run. Both win only.

Arkle- Us and Them at 20s- really didn't expect him to still be this price. No obvious superstars here so I'd be fairly confident he'll place.

Ultima- Minella Rocco and Noble Endeavour- the more I look at the latter the more I think he's a great bet.

Champion- Espoir D'Allen- needs to be something special to get involved. Backed pre Apples Jade Champion route and at a time when I didn't buy the Laurina hype. Have a feeling she'll romp it.

Mares- Limini is a silly each way price.

That's my lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

dave81 wrote: »
    Ageee with A Plus Tard. Blackmore surely gets off the mark. Get money down before Duc DG runs though, because a good run from him will half that 8/1. Nap.

I'll back Laurina in a match bet against BD.

I'll have a small nibble at Mister Fisher. Probably only good enough to place, but he's beaten a hell of a lot of horses that subsequently won or previously won.

Good luck.

Ya might as well just back laurina to win because buveur D’air won’t be out of the first 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭The real mccoy 91

Opinions on slowmotion in the mares?

At 50/1 I'm thinking she may be worth a small each way play I feel they were quite careful with her the last day using it as a pipe opener she will go on the ground and has some half decent form albeit over fences but apart from BDD the race looks quite open. 33/1 w/o the fav too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    1. Klassical Dream, Grand Sancy
    2. Us and Them
    3. Coo Star Sivola
    4. Apples Jade , Sharjah
    5. Good Thyne Tara
    6. Tower Bridge
    7. Whisperinthebreeze , Gun Digger.

Enjoy and good luck to everyone.

I've backed Good Thyne Tara as well and Whisperinthebreeze tonight as is happens since my previous selections have been ruled out.

Could never understand people backing multiple horses in the same race. Like I’m seeing lads backing 3 or 4 horses in then Supreme and then in the ultima too. Ultimate mug punters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Have a feeling we could see Laurina do something special in the CH. 12 months ago David Casey said it’s the best mare they have had and it’s some statement after they had Annie, Quevega and Apples Jade when a juvenile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Could never understand people backing multiple horses in the same race. Like I’m seeing lads backing 3 or 4 horses in then Supreme and then in the ultima too. Ultimate mug punters

Agree with this. I follow the fatjockey forum and some lads there have half the field backed in each race. Big prices sure, but you would wonder who they are shouting for in a finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

carq wrote: »
    Agree with this. I follow the fatjockey forum and some lads there have half the field backed in each race. Big prices sure, but you would wonder who they are shouting for in a finish

That's the internet for you, a my knob is bigger than yours liars fantasyland. Punt what you want for as much as you want. Punting is an individual pursuit. Its all about backing your opinion, hope the punters can strike early and often. I have doubts about the front 2 in the champion hurdle. So its either lay them or get with Laurina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Andrew00 wrote:

carq wrote:

Jesus lads, in certain races with competitive prices and enhanced place terms it makes complete sense to be backing more than one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Panrich

I back on trends and sometimes that throws up more than one qualifier. If I then have to pick just one of those I can miss out on a winner. If it’s profitable long term then I’ll keep backing the trend. Otherwise I update my criteria. It’s not a one size fits all and there are a lot of gamblers like yourself who pick a horse and back their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

famagusta wrote: »
    Jesus lads, in certain races with competitive prices and enhanced place terms it makes complete sense to be backing more than one

In my opinion, no it doesn’t. I don’t see the fun in it and I don’t see the logic in it. In a race with a big field either go with your head or your gut and if you’re right you’re right but I can’t understand people having multiple horses backed.

Reminds me of the time a guy i used to work with “got the favourite beaten” in a Grade 1 at Aintree. The fav was even money against 7 or 8 others and he backed every other horse in the race and actually lost money but sat at his desk with a smug look on his face crowing about how good of a judge he was. It was the stupidest thing I’ve ever witnessed.

Motivator wrote:
    In my opinion, no it doesn’t. I don’t see the fun in it and I don’t see the logic in it. In a race with a big field either go with your head or your gut and if you’re right you’re right but I can’t understand people having multiple horses backed.

Motivator wrote:

Reminds me of the time a guy i used to work with “got the favourite beaten†in a Grade 1 at Aintree. The fav was even money against 7 or 8 others and he backed every other horse in the race and actually lost money but sat at his desk with a smug look on his face crowing about how good of a judge he was. It was the stupidest thing I’ve ever witnessed.

You have a problem if you can't see the logic.
    I presume that bull crap story was pre Betfair days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I'm place laying apples jade at 1/2.
    She's a fantastic mare, but not a two miler imo. I think she'll be easily picked up by Buveir D'air before another two or three pass her up the run in.
    Won't be a popular opinion, but I guess that's why I can lay at 1/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Cannot have Glen Forsa either, so will more than likely place lay him below 6/4. Can't believe he's favourite. Shows you what a desperate renewal it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭dave81

Ya might as well just back laurina to win because buveur D’air won’t be out of the first 2.

It's just difficult to know what AJ will do. When on song, she is a monster. If in form, as much of a beast as Laurina is and she is a beast, AJ could put 5 or 6 lengths on her. Take AJ out and id lump into Laurina. Maybe I'll bet w/o or match bet on Laurina as stated above. Generate a free bet to put down on AJ turning up in good form. I just love the CH. My favorite race.

I think BD is a great horse, but imo he is out of his depth with these two mares. He is on the slide at worse possible time. Getting beat in a mediocre race coming in is not what one expects from a horse expected to win a very hot CH. He will be about 5th is my opinion. Just an opinion though and if I was always right, I wouldn't be commuting to work at silly hours!! Good luck.

Looking at Espoir D’allen again, someone here backed him a while back, he’s still 25/1, might sneak a place. Looking at him vrs Laurina, I think the prices are wrong given the way they beat stormy Ireland. Haven’t had a bet in the race as I’m struggling to see a stand out

BumperD wrote:
    Looking at Espoir D’allen again, someone here backed him a while back, he’s still 25/1, might sneak a place. Looking at him vrs Laurina, I think the prices are wrong given the way they beat stormy Ireland. Haven’t had a bet in the race as I’m struggling to see a stand out

I wonder what kind of price he'll be without the top two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Seem pointless backing anything each way. Only 10 runners with three very good horses at the top. W/o markets the way to go if that's your bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Buveir d'air out of his depth in the champion hurdle.. Heard it all now

4’s at a guess famgusta

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Aramon is surely worth a poke at 14/1.

Selections below 1st horse win bet / 2nd horse each way bet

1.30 Fakir / Aramon
    2.10 Hardline / Paloma Blue
    2.50 Up for Review / Calipto
    3.30 Laurina / Melon
    4.10 BDD / Ellimay
    4.50 Tower Bridge / Shady Operator
    5.30 Ballyward / Discorama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭PhuckHugh2

BumperD wrote: »
    4’s at a guess famgusta

PP has this priced at 8/1 1/5 1-3. Which tbh there would be worse 8/1 shots tomorrow. Hard to see him out of the first 5. Surely odds on to be in the first 3 outside BD and AJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

The Mig wrote: »
    Aramon is surely worth a poke at 14/1.

Selections below 1st horse win bet / 2nd horse each way bet

1.30 Fakir / Aramon
    2.10 Hardline / Paloma Blue
    2.50 Up for Review / Calipto
    3.30 Laurina / Melon
    4.10 BDD / Ellimay
    4.50 Tower Bridge / Shady Operator
    5.30 Ballyward / Discorama

Been backing this fella since last week with any firm that would give me 18s or above. Still available with Hills and BV @ 20s.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Earendil wrote: »
    Been backing this fella since last week with any firm that would give me 18s or above. Still available with Hills and BV @ 20s.
    Named after the owner many would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

My allegiance to Elliott’s stable will most likely break me this week but anyway

Supreme = Vision D’honneur, Felix Desjy e/w
    Arkle = Hardline
    Ultima = Crucial role
    Champion = Apples Jade
    Mares = Lady Buttons, maybe Elimay e/w
    Close Brothers = A Plus Tard, Roaring Bull e/w
    NH Chase = Discorama, Gun Digger e/w. (Champagne Classic was my bet of the week :-( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Sudolife

I'm not sure if this is allowed here, but I have two Club Enclosure tickets that I am trying to get rid of, was originally meant to travel over but my college exam was moved from last week to this week. Any offers that are reasonable would be great. Can meet in Dublin City centre at any time today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Sudolife wrote: »
    I'm not sure if this is allowed here, but I have two Club Enclosure tickets that I am trying to get rid of, was originally meant to travel over but my college exam was moved from last week to this week. Any offers that are reasonable would be great. Can meet in Dublin City centre at any time today.

Just leave college :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭The real mccoy 91

Earendil wrote: »
    Just leave college :pac:

You can repeat the exams but you can't repeat the Craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Angels Breath
    Hardline
    Mister Whitiker
    Buv
    Roksana wout Benie 5/1
    Highway One O One