Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi scam in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Big Words

Well holy god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

It took 4 years to discover that?

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcRjQcwW96b_w5HRF4W2YPf9UZawl36Nz3VlaZZNcQPA87wNGyOT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Might explain why a lot of taxi drivers drive like they’ve never been in a car before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

amcalester wrote: »
    Might explain why a lot of taxi drivers drive like they’ve never been in a car before.

I was thinking the same, it's entirely possible some of them have never held a legit driving licence even back wherever they originated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

"Williams said he wanted to be careful with his words to avoid offending people, he also says there is a problem identifying some drivers as they look alike"

Good man Paul!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

padd b1975 wrote: »
    "Williams said he wanted to be careful with his words to avoid offending people, he also says there is a problem identifying some drivers as they look alike"

Good man Paul!!

That will be unpopular, but its true. A lot do look alike most have the same colour hair and eyes, it's far from racist to acknowledge that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

padd b1975 wrote: »

Good man Paul!!

There all bald the racist fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

As a TAXIDRIVER of 20 years this doesn't surprise me .
    A lot of good hard working drivers have left the business .
    Fed up with all the regulation / red tape.
    I've invested in very good quality cars but it's heartbreaking to see what passes as taxis these days .
    In the industry it seemed like just a urban myth that there was cars been operated on false documents .
    We were promised by the NTA that standards of both drivers and cars would improve .
    Yet again the Irish public have been let down by a group (NTA ) that have been asleep and not doing their job that we the taxpayer are paying for them to do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

This is quite the cluster ****, who knows how widespread this is an not just in Dublin. How are people supposed to feel safe in taxi with all this going on? We have no idea who these people are or what their background is. It's also unfair to genuine taxi drivers who do things the correct and legal way.[/quote]
    Watching Karl Pilkington"the moaning of life" the other night ( repeat) on the back of a few tuk tuks advertising reads" learn English in Ireland etc etc, contact so and so ( that's one of the way s these scammers end up here,so called language schools

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Wait till they start on the kebab/pizza places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

As a TAXIDRIVER of 20 years this doesn't surprise me .
    A lot of good hard working drivers have left the business .
    Fed up with all the regulation / red tape.
    I've invested in very good quality cars but it's heartbreaking to see what passes as taxis these days .
    In the industry it seemed like just a urban myth that there was cars been operated on false documents .
    We were promised by the NTA that standards of both drivers and cars would improve .
    Yet again the Irish public have been let down by a group (NTA ) that have been asleep and not doing their job that we the taxpayer are paying for them to do .

I was looking into getting a taxi licence or even a hackney licence as there is none in my area I live in a very rural area.
    In the end I gave up the idea because of the amount of time,studying, regulations, paperwork and money it was going to take. Seriously it was a joke for a taxi on a small rural area.
    My conclusion on this is someone turned a blind eye or the regulator must of known for a while about this sham. There will have to be a major investigation into how people were put in danger
    by unlicensed, Inexperienced and unvetted drivers who could not of even had a background check,my only fear in this is what usually happens in this country is more rules and regulations are piled onto our legitimate taxi drivers and make there jobs harder all because of the influx of illegal migrants to our country.Anyway it's only the tip that the iceberg.

bigpink wrote: »

Sooner the better, but it's a losing battle I fear. Be very surprised if we had the resources or man power in place to really deal with these issues. Been turned a blind eye to for to long as to not upset people and seem. You know the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

This would not surprise me in Cork either ,

what's the hardest night to get a taxi in Cork ?

Any night the taxi regulator and gardai are doing a checkpoint . Alot of the drivers whom I would be slightly suspect of have WhatsApp groups and will warn all the rest once a checkpoint is setup. You will see the taxi ranks are cleared out and cars/drivers that have been working constant for months go missing that night .

The same as everything else on Ireland no enforcement of the rules and regulations .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Surely something as important as a PSV licence would use the same photo requirements that the Public Services Card uses to root out identity fraud...Or would that be too simple of a solution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

If there's a problem in this country the solution is always more legislation rather than more inforcement. This dosent work, it makes doing business an onourous task for honest individuals while the scammers continue as before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It highlights the weaknesses of our border and immigration control.

Keep in mind this is only one business sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Why are these on going investigations being reported? All it does is give a heads up to people yet to be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

mad muffin wrote: »
    Why are these on going investigations being reported? All it does is give a heads up to people yet to be caught.

To act as a deterrent.

Anyone who is employing or giving these people work should also be deported or if an Irish business, accounts seized and money put towards enforcement. Serious serious issue.

No no, we have robust systems in place for immigration and enforcement. You're all narrow-minded and bigoted. Don't believe your eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Twice I complained to the taxi regulator, about driver issues, one being wrong driver for taxi ID displayed and second for same but this fella literally could not drive , and I mean not drive at all , he must never have driven a manual before that night.

On both occasions the regulator tried to deflect my complaints at every point of communication, including a gruff phone call , insisting I might end up in court as a witness and would I really really go ahead with the hassle of this.
    it was only at my insistence that he "says " he went ahead with a fine , which I as the instigator got no confirmation of subsequently .
    Now that I think about there's a good chance these complaints were still buried.
    All went to hell when the Garda carriage office was disbanded as the regulator.

Genuine taxi men must feel sick reading this after all the regulations and hurdles they have had thrown at them in the last number of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

There was a major GNIB operation in Dublin on the night of the Ed Sheeran concert, with a quarter of all Taxi drivers pulled on the night found to have serious irregularities in their immigration status. Garda Press Office have to liaise with the media, as you're simply not going to be able to keep that quiet.

We were told passenger safety was one of the primary reasons to deny Uber a licence to operate in ROI, but the PSV application process has long been known to be gamed by immigrant drivers. The reticence to address the issues up until recently due to ethnic / racial sensitivities has echoes of the blanket derogation of duty that transpired in Rotherham and I hope both the Gardai and Tusla tackle crime and abuse without fear of approbrium from the likes of the Irish Times or Immigrant Council of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

This was a very evident problem, particularly over the past two years. I had one fella who asked me where O'Connell Street was and could I direct him there (no joke). The way he was driving, his skills were likely gleaned from piloting a motorized goat around the streets of Chittagong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

This would not surprise me in Cork either ,

Any night the taxi regulator and gardai are doing a checkpoint . Alot of the drivers whom I would be slightly suspect of have WhatsApp groups and will warn all the rest once a checkpoint is setup. You will see the taxi ranks are cleared out and cars/drivers that have been working constant for months go missing that night .

The same as everything else on Ireland no enforcement of the rules and regulations .

Are those cars that go missing reported to the Regulator and/or Gardaí? Or do other drivers wait until customers get in there cars to start ranting about them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Well, this wouldn't make one feel too confident getting in to a taxi henceforth, even on the very simple basis that the driver might not actually be qualified even to drive! For my sins I caught the beginning of Matt Cooper's show yesterday and there was a taxi driver explaining it, and given the amount of hoops one is supposed to go through this seems an impossible scam to pull off without insider help. PPSNs, certificate, driving license, and then actual garda clearance - it's a big process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Your Face wrote:
    It highlights the weaknesses of our border and immigration control.

Your Face wrote:
    Keep in mind this is only one business sector.

Gosh, you can say such a sensible thing, you'll be acussed of being racist.

Why are these on going investigations being reported?

Pressure on the cops will make them end their fairly obviously racist investigation. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

razorblunt wrote: »
    Are those cars that go missing reported to the Regulator and/or Gardaí? Or do other drivers wait until customers get in there cars to start ranting about them?
    How would you report so many unless you are jotting all their details down on a notepad , it's not for Joe public or other taxi drivers to enforce the regulations , all it takes is some regular random checks . Currently the checks seem to happen only once or twice a year.

I have observed it myself , there was a taxi checkpoint on Washington Street and the ranks on Patrick Street and grand parade were virtually empty at a time they would normally be overflowing with taxis .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Can somebody please inform the ignorant such as myself how Revenue interfaces with the taxi industry?
    It is a cash business chiefly. Can you collect fares all day-night and then radically under-declare? Where are the checks?

The term 'racist' has now actually become a joke through misuse. These people were operating illegally in the country and perpetrating fraud.
    If the first port of call on this story for you is whether the people had dark-coloured skin, pale freckly skin, or green and pink striped skin, then maybe the race obsession is in fact all yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Bigus wrote: »
    Twice I complained to the taxi regulator, about driver issues, one being wrong driver for taxi ID displayed and second for same but this fella literally could not drive , and I mean not drive at all , he must never have driven a manual before that night.

On both occasions the regulator tried to deflect my complaints at every point of communication, including a gruff phone call , insisting I might end up in court as a witness and would I really really go ahead with the hassle of this.
    it was only at my insistence that he "says " he went ahead with a fine , which I as the instigator got no confirmation of subsequently .
    Now that I think about there's a good chance these complaints were still buried.
    All went to hell when the Garda carriage office was disbanded as the regulator.

I firmly believe the government and in this example the taxi body are fine with the situation. I can imagine the back handers and blind eyes that’s going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

Yurt! wrote: »
    This was a very evident problem, particularly over the past two years. I had one fella who asked me where O'Connell Street was and could I direct him there (no joke). The way he was driving, his skills were likely gleaned from piloting a motorized goat around the streets of Chittagong.

I saw a dreadful case of dangerous driving by a taxi, which was being driven by a man of African appearance. He was driving in the bus lane through Rathmines at speed, with pedestrians and cyclists only inches away. At the end of the bus lane, where the bus , or taxi, is supposed to yield to traffic, this lunatic nearly took the nose off a car coming behind. With the horn blaring, he continued in this bullying dangerous manner, till I lost sight of him. The sooner these fraudsters are off the road, the better.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

This would not surprise me in Cork either,

This is one of those 'the dogs in the street have known for years' scenerios.

I remember about 6 or 7 years ago standing at the taxi rank on Eyre Square in galway when a Garda car pulled up ....and a full HALF of the taxi's on the rank just pulled away and drove off... for ..reasons...
    Everybody knew the reason of course, except the taxi regulator, which has to be one of the single most incompetent regulatory bodies in the state.
    bigpink wrote: »

I was visiting my brother who lives near Galway, one night the cops were called to a row outside the local takeaway across the road from him and as soon as they arrived (we were watching this from upstars in his gaff) the entire kitchen staff lit out the back door and bolted across the fields as soon as the guards arrived.... again.. for 'reasons'.

Illegals working here do so because regulation and enforcement is so poor that working here illegally is pretty easy to get away with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Amongst those identified in the operation were two ISIS supporters and a number of sex offenders all of whom were subsequently deported.
    Happy day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Big Words

The glow plugs should be removed from them taxis at lukewarm temperature.

Some of the nonsense regulation we have to deal with .
    2008 cars are now deemed to old to be used as taxis .
    So 2008 Mercedes Sclass / Audi A8 / bmw 7 series can't be used yet a Nissan Almera 2010 can .
    Rear tint can't be on rear windows of taxis .
    So all Mercedes / audis / bmw with rear tint can't be used unless windows are replaced !!!!
    Reason I was given by taxi inspector .... So the gardai can see whose in the back of taxis !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Some of the nonsense regulation we have to deal with .
    2008 cars are now deemed to old to be used as taxis .
    So 2008 Mercedes Sclass / Audi A8 / bmw 7 series can't be used yet a Nissan Almera 2010 can .
    Rear tint can't be on rear windows of taxis .
    So all Mercedes / audis / bmw with rear tint can't be used unless windows are replaced !!!!
    Reason I was given by taxi inspector .... So the gardai can see whose in the back of taxis !!!

Yet they don’t know who is in the front most of the time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

biko wrote: »
    Happy day!

That's ridiculous. That really should not been happening on that type of level. 1 or 2 will always break through but no way should we be talking more then that

biko wrote: »
    Happy day!

Happy day I wish.
    People worried we would become like the UK. Well the day has come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Happy day I wish.
    People worried we would become like the UK. Well the day has come.

Allroite mate, wah abowt those Gunners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

topper75 wrote: »
    Can somebody please inform the ignorant such as myself how Revenue interfaces with the taxi industry?
    It is a cash business chiefly. Can you collect fares all day-night and then radically under-declare? Where are the checks?

The term 'racist' has now actually become a joke through misuse. These people were operating illegally in the country and perpetrating fraud.
    If the first port of call on this story for you is whether the people had dark-coloured skin, pale freckly skin, or green and pink striped skin, then maybe the race obsession is in fact all yours.

Excellent point.
    I used to work in social welfare. On a number of occasions I dealt with Jobseeker claims from the kids or partner of taxi drivers. Never saw one earn over €15k!
    Yeah right!!

Always felt that revenue should run some kinda check on the mileage done vs claimed income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

How would you report so many unless you are jotting all their details down on a notepad , it's not for Joe public or other taxi drivers to enforce the regulations , all it takes is some regular random checks . Currently the checks seem to happen only once or twice a year.

I have observed it myself , there was a taxi checkpoint on Washington Street and the ranks on Patrick Street and grand parade were virtually empty at a time they would normally be overflowing with taxis .

But it is their duty to report crime surely?
    If I were a legit taxi driver and this was affecting my livelihood I would be all over this.

Razorblunt .... The government have used the oldest trick in the book regarding the taxi industry .
    DIVIDE AND CONQUER !!!
    We as a group are so split its beyond mending !!!!
    Most TAXIDRIVERS don't look at the bigger picture , they just look at their next fare !!!
    Comedy gold is going to a TAXIDRIVERS meeting .
    Think gaa mixed with killnaskully .
    They haven't the ability to even hold a meeting nevermind organise something to come out of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Pronto63 wrote: »
    Excellent point.
    I used to work in social welfare. On a number of occasions I dealt with Jobseeker claims from the kids or partner of taxi drivers. Never saw one earn over €15k!
    Yeah right!!

Always felt that revenue should run some kinda check on the mileage done vs claimed income.

They can have the data taken from the meters once a year, as of now part of the SGS test a printed receipt is taken, primarily I think to check the time but as there is a receipt number it would be fairly easy to tell how many customers have been in the taxi for the last year or even just since the meter was last updated/fitted, they also take a note of the odometer so again they know how much distance the taxi has covered and by applying averages they should be able to target those whose declarations seem way off target, but is the work involved too much for the amount of tax they might acquire back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

razorblunt wrote: »
    But it is their duty to report crime surely?
    If I were a legit taxi driver and this was affecting my livelihood I would be all over this.

A lot of drivers were, but due to their way of reporting it they'd just be classed as racist/bigots it is in reallity a job for the NTA and Gardai to do.

Even now the NTA use the number of reports from their taxi driver check app to inflate the number of checks they do, where in reality after driving some 15 years as a taxi driver I've been spot checked once, and that was when I wasn't actually working as a taxi but dropping off the daughters boyfriend at Heuston.

So as I expected. This thread is now about bashing taxi drivers. I don't really give a ****e about the tax. I am more concerned that the person who is transporting me is a proper taxi driver and not some chancer who hasn't a clue and even worse what kind of a background or history has the driver got. Someone else's Tax is not my problem but the safety of me and my family is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Not sure why the garda don't just set up random checkpoints throughout Dublin City Centre every night.

Would clear up the problem pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

So as I expected. This thread is now about bashing taxi drivers. I don't really give a ****e about the tax. I am more concerned that the person who is transporting me is a proper taxi driver and not some chancer who hasn't a clue and even worse what kind of a background or history has the driver got. Someone else's Tax is not my problem but the safety of me and my family is.

I feel I may have unwittingly derailed the thread by raising it so apologies. It wasn't my intention to pull taxi driving per se into the spotlight. The thinking behind my post, which I should have stated plainly as part of it, is that the illegals and fraudsters are specifically attracted to cash industries, typically fast food, barber shops, ethnic food stores, internet (sic!) and phone shops, and -- of course -- taxi driving unfortunately. Not alone is their presence here illegal but this status by its nature provides a platform for other illegality such as laundering of money on an international basis.
    It was revealed in recent years that some outlandish flows of money were going in particular to Nigeria, amounts that bore no reasonable proportion to the number of people living in Ireland of Nigerian origin.
    That is just Nigeria. There is a whole lot more inspection required here. Journalists seem slow to highlight any of this. Hear no evil. Speak no evil.
    As a burdened Irish PAYE citizen, all of the above very much IS my problem alongside safety concerns. You stamp out one - you get a handle on the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Not sure why the garda don't just set up random checkpoints throughout Dublin City Centre every night.

Would clear up the problem pretty quick.

Think of the paperwork!!!