Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you brush your teeth in work?

• 04-03-2019 11:00AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Wrex

I notice a number of people in my office at work, brush their teeth in bathrooms.

When making this observation and mentioning it to others outside of work, they said that they do it too, and think it is normal.

Perhaps im not upto date with current trends, but personally i think that sort of thing should be done at home surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,257 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I use mouthwash at lunchtime, but don't brush my teeth.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yes, I keep paste and brush in my locker and brush after eating. I thought it was normal thing to do.

Chewing gum is my shortcut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Yes, I keep paste and brush in my locker and brush after eating. I thought it was normal thing to do.

Seems like a good idea to me

Deffo normal to keep a toothbrush and paste in the desk in case of coffee mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It’s great for your teeth but would have to use the handicapped toilet as the animals in this place have made the men’s room a toxic wasteland.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

genuinely NOTHING worse than working with someone with bad breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Cina

It’s great for your teeth but would have to use the handicapped toilet as the animals in this place have made the men’s room a toxic wasteland.

Not really. Plenty of studies out there have shown that there's no benefit to brushing a third time a day and it's best to brush before breakfast in the morning and last thing before bed at night.

I do keep one spare in case I'm going directly out after or something and don't want my breath stinking, but that's about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It's overrated really. I like to keep just a bit of plaque for my bedtime routine. But thanks for asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,104 ✭✭✭✭neris

we leave toothpaste tubes and mouthwash in our staff toilets, used to have a few smokers working for us and just continued supplying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I use chewing gum and breath freshener. Brushing teeth at work after lunch seems a little bit excessive to me. There's a few foreign lads here who do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

B_ecke_r wrote: »

Just how close do you work to your colleagues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Just how close do you work to your colleagues?

If the breath is bad you don’t have to be too close. I used to work with an angry Scottish fella, he’d always be coming over to give out about something and the stench from his breath would hit you from a good distance.

Made it very difficult to pay attention to what he was prattling on about.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I brush my teeth at work..... I even floss!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Mac1993

Would you rather they didn't brush their teeth at all? I work in an office and quiet happy to see someone conscious about bad breath/smell/general appearance...

More power to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Big Words

They wax their legs too to cycle faster on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Bad breath is an awful affliction. Fair play to folks cleaning their teeth in work after lunch. Considerate colleagues I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Any proper cases of bad breath I've come into contact with won't be sorted by a brush and some paste. Similarly a quick spray of Lynx ain't doing much for people with proper BO issues. But for general hygiene, I'm not going to complain about people brushing their teeth in one of the office toilets. I can't say I've ever done it but I would make a conscious effort to avoid the like of onions, garlic etc. for my lunchtime eats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No

theteal wrote: »
    Any proper cases of bad breath I've come into contact with won't be sorted by a brush and some paste. Similarly a quick spray of Lynx ain't doing much for people with proper BO issues. But for general hygiene, I'm not going to complain about people brushing their teeth in one of the office toilets. I can't say I've ever done it but I would make a conscious effort to avoid the like of onions, garlic etc. for my lunchtime eats.

I once worked with a person with proper case of bad breath, I have never come across anything as bad since then. It was awful, it is nothing like bad breath from food or whatever. Its hard to describe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've seen it before, but definitely wouldn't be the norm. I've seen three people do it in 20 years. And it was only them, never saw anyone else. So I presume nobody else did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I do. I don't want to have coffee breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭markc1184

I did when I had braces, I was always conscious of having food stuck in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

but yes.. I do it. Don't have time in the morning, so do it when I go to work and have lots of time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

B_ecke_r wrote: »

Losing your family to a slow wasting disease? Being slowly steamrollered toes first?

Something, surely? Would it still be the worst thing ever if, say, you were both lighthouse keepers on neighbouring islands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Brushing to much can harm your teeth. It's a basin acid and can destroy ur enamel if over brushing.
    2 times a day a good 5 minute brush each ,mouthwash and floss after food.
    If ur worried about bad breath buy chewing gum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Wrex

very interesting to see it is more common than i thought.
    Personally i see brushing teeth as part of the routine of getting washed/changed before heading out of the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Floppybits wrote: »
    I once worked with a person with proper case of bad breath, I have never come across anything as bad since then. It was awful, it is nothing like bad breath from food or whatever. Its hard to describe.

I work with a guy like that - very nice bloke but it literally smells like he brushes his teeth with shít. He has very nice teeth too so I wouldn't say it's down to a lack of hygiene - it's revolting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Wrex wrote: »
    very interesting to see it is more common than i thought.
    Personally i see brushing teeth as part of the routine of getting washed/changed before heading out of the door.

Thats grand but if you stop off at an "early house" for a few straighteners before going in you need to brush your teeth and top up with Silvermints. The patients waiting for surgery will only be whinging if they smell alcohol on your breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Tukazahn

Sometimes I clean when I need to immediately after work to the dentist. And so only after eating I rinse my mouth.

Cina wrote: »
    Not really. Plenty of studies out there have shown that there's no benefit to brushing a third time a day and it's best to brush before breakfast in the morning and last thing before bed at night.

I do keep one spare in case I'm going directly out after or something and don't want my breath stinking, but that's about it.

There's a social benefit to not having bad breath, it's not just about plaque.
    endacl wrote: »
    Losing your family to a slow wasting disease? Being slowly steamrollered toes first?

Something, surely? Would it still be the worst thing ever if, say, you were both lighthouse keepers on neighbouring islands?

Hyperbole makes me want to kill people and destroy everything they've ever loved. Some people have no perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Just brush well twice a day. Some chewing gum if I eat something that doesnt smell nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Does anyone know how to lessen the yellowing effects of coffee and tea on teeth?Would the stains go away with laser whitening? And would herbal tea stain too? I noticed the other day in a photo that my teeth are a lot less bright than my mum and dad in their 50's and Im only 23, I drink about 3 coffees per day and 6 or 7 cups of tea :pac: my dentist said my teeth and gums are healthy though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,030 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

wakka12 wrote: »
    Does anyone know how to lessen the yellowing effects of coffee and tea on teeth?
    Have all your teeth pulled and replace them with gleaming new falsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

I sometimes floss. Have a shower room which has a sink and mirror too. Just lock the door and floss. Don't have anyone giving you strange looks.

The amount of food that gets in-between my teeth :-o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    Brushing to much can harm your teeth. It's a basin acid and can destroy ur enamel if over brushing.
    2 times a day a good 5 minute brush each ,mouthwash and floss after food.
    If ur worried about bad breath buy chewing gum.

I wear invisalign and have to brush my teeth after I eat or drink anything besides water. I must be screwed so!

Even when I didn't have to, I always brushed my teeth at work after eating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

wakka12 wrote: »
    Does anyone know how to lessen the yellowing effects of coffee and tea on teeth?Would the stains go away with laser whitening? And would herbal tea stain too? I noticed the other day in a photo that my teeth are a lot less bright than my mum and dad in their 50's and Im only 23, I drink about 3 coffees per day and 6 or 7 cups of tea :pac: my dentist said my teeth and gums are healthy though

Professional cleaning from the dental hygienist will scrub those stains off.

10 cups of caffeinated drinks a day, that is a LOT. More than one and I can't sleep right. Any insomnia, nervousness, tremors, headaches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Cina wrote: »

Yeah but plenty of studies show all sorts of nonsense. Another study probably showed if you brush 20 times a day its the best thing since sliced bread (except when said bread is stuck in your teeth).

Also before breakfast, why? Surely after breakfast/coffee/milk is better to avoid ending up with smelly breath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Wrex wrote: »
    Probably both - brush at home, coffee on the way in or breakfast at the desk - brush again at the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Stratvs

Also before breakfast, why? Surely after breakfast/coffee/milk is better to avoid ending up with smelly breath?

+1. Don't want to be heading out with porridge & blueberries stuck to the pearly whites:D

I cant leave the house without cleaning my teeth. If I was given a choice either leave with clean teeth or take a shower, I would take the cleen teeth option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Enamel damage.

"Avoid brushing your teeth for at least 30 minutes after acidic foods and beverages. These acids weaken tooth enamel, and brushing too soon can cause damage to the enamel."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

That's what they used to advise before - "always brush after meals".

Then they found out that brushing after eating was the worst thing you could possibly do, because your teeth are in a weakened state after being exposed to acid and need time to recover. By brushing after meals you're literally brushing away all your enamel.

Hence the new advice - "don't ever brush after meals".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

I do sometimes, but never in the work bathrooms. We have sinks in the shower/locker area with all the necessary goods (and corsodyl mouthwash, which is the best) so most people brush and mouthwash down there!

it's pretty common yeah. i generally wouldn't unless i was going out straight from work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

voldejoie wrote: »
    I do sometimes, but never in the work bathrooms. We have sinks in the shower/locker area with all the necessary goods (and corsodyl mouthwash, which is the best) so most people brush and mouthwash down there!

I wouldn't use that corsodyl stuff, it's notorious for staining teeth. It's supposed to be for gum disease, not regular use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I wouldn't use that corsodyl stuff, it's notorious for staining teeth. It's supposed to be for gum disease, not regular use.

I have gum disease and found corsodyl helped a lot with my gums bleeding, especially after grinding my teeth! Really need to start flossing though, it's hard to get past the squick factor though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,290 ✭✭✭Esse85

I would rather work with people who brush their teeth in work than with people who don't.

Brushing your teeth next to steaming urinals is weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Never mind brushing teeth in work, which of ye f#ckers does be pissing all over the toilet seats!!!