Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mods

• 04-03-2019 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭

What's are the qualifications to be a mod ?Iremember there used to be thread where mods frequented it was like behind the scenes at boards .Can mods delete posts without saying anything ,
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

You have to be mad into coke.

And hookers.

Realistically though, be a good contributor, report posts that are deemed to be in breach of the subforum/forum/site charter, overall, be really really sound. Mods can delete posts without saying anything but generally they'll delete offensive posts and leave mod notes in-thread.

Or hand Beasty a tenner in a brown envelope and he'll look after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

First, be a good contributor to the site
    Second, show cop on and common sense
    Third, have a reasonably clean record

When a forum is looking for a mod, the existing mod & CMod team will review contributors in that forum and look for candidates that meet the 3 criteria above. They put their candidates forward to the Admins & HQ, who will give their approval or not. The candidate is then offered the gig, and if they accept, the buttons are pushed.

Mods can delete posts in their forums only. CMods can delete in their categories only and Admins can delete posts across the site.

A record is kept of deleted posts and there is an optional text box to capture a reason why. It’s good mod practice to put a note in the thread if deleting a post, though not always necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

15 years and waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

15 years and waiting.

Just like liverpool, this is your year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

15 years and waiting.

You'd be awesome.

Canis Lupus for Mayor!! Or mod.....whichever..

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

15 years and waiting.
    You'd be awesome.

Canis Lupus for Mayor!! Or mod.....whichever..

There is enough lunatics running this asylum without adding one more.:D

Nosnon wrote: »
    There is enough lunatics running this asylum without adding one more.:D

There's always room for one more!

You'd think so but it's evenly balanced at the moment and while there is a plentiful supply of lunatics to step up we'd have to find a sane person to even it out and that would be next to impossible round here.

Yeah that's not going to happen for a while.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just to be clear, once a mod of AH you can kiss goodbye to any sanity you still have

Beasty wrote: »
    Just to be clear, once a mod of AH you can kiss goodbye to any sanity you still have

poor screening that put anyone in that position to begin with that had a shred of sanity left

Surely you end up going full circle though? Kersplat! seems normal..ish.

He gets the last shred of sanity from the next guy/girl in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

query - what if you go straight in with no sanity whatsoever?

asking for a friend/different personality

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

He might do, but whatever happened to that Ken bloke?? A right fruitcake he was.....

query - what if you go straight in with no sanity whatsoever?

asking for a friend/different personality
    You end up an Admin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Wait....what?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Pter wrote: »
    Wait....what?

Didn't we tell you? Oh dear...

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

ElderlyGregariousAsiaticgreaterfreshwaterclam-small.gif

Wait....what?

Ah dude you never had any. Dont pretend ya did now.

It's a double bluff Murray. They hadn't copped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Anyway...

Apologies for interrupting the Mods love-in guys, but I see once again that AH moderation misses the mark completely!

First ye lock the "Where I am" thread last night with what can only be described as a immature schoolteacher-style response, now we have "nosnon" (whichever one that is - I know it's seen as gas craic to change yer names randomly but it's a tad ridiculous when you hold a position of authority on the forum - people like to know who they're dealing with) thread-banning a regular poster for a completely harmless and long-standing gag

I'm sure this will fall on deaf ears as usual while you circle the wagons, but any actual constructive explanation to add?

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Anyway...

Apologies for interrupting the Mods love-in guys, but I see once again that AH moderation misses the mark completely!

First ye lock the "Where I am" thread last night with what can only be described as a immature schoolteacher-style response, now we have "nosnon" (whichever one that is - I know it's seen as gas craic to change yer names randomly but it's a tad ridiculous when you hold a position of authority on the forum - people like to know who they're dealing with) thread-banning a regular poster for a completely harmless and long-standing gag

I'm sure this will fall on deaf ears as usual while you circle the wagons, but any actual constructive explanation to add?
    Have a read of the thread and then come back here.

How about we start by you identifying which Mod you are (I'm assuming it's yet another rename.. funny though how such upset is caused by re-reg's though!)

Next, why don't you respind to the points I raised above and we'll go from there.

You know you can see previous nicks in his profile, Kaiser2000.....

I got sick of the bot names. I was N.S.Abot, before that grinchbot, before that putinbot.

You know you can see previous nicks in his profile, Kaiser2000.....

Not on his profile I can't

I got sick of the bot names. I was N.S.Abot, before that grinchbot, before that putinbot.

Ah that explains it.. you have form so.

Now, about my points above....?

At least you could have said you were consistent!

Fair point! I said that without checking admittedly! Sorry about that guys.

Not on his profile I can't

You ever a mod? (you've over 20000 posts!)

Ah that explains it.. you have form so.

Now, about my points above....?

I've answered your points. I banned someone. My fück up and I fixed it about 5 minutes later.

As to the name changes. I'll change it hourly if I wish.

What's buggin' ya Kaiser. Come on now tell Uncle Pter.

I've answered your points. I banned someone. My fück up and I fixed it about 5 minutes later.

As to the name changes. I'll change it hourly if I wish.

And that attitude is exactly why the Moderation standards and selection process on this site is in SERIOUS need of review and overhaul.

I covered this on another thread which was similarly ignored while ye all defended each other, but I for one am tired of this juvenile, insulting double-standard from those who we as normal posters are meant to take seriously as Mods

If you want to change yer names, step down or use a "regular" profile. It's hard enough keeping track of the revolving door of Mods without some guy thinking he's funny and then going on to sanction posters for often questionable reasons

(cue the Admins jumping in with their HR style escalation process which is wholly ineffective and biased towards the staff - FTE or volunteers regardless)

At least you acknowledged your mistake, but next time PM me directly rather than trying to call me out on a thread (that goes for you as well Pter - kudos for looking up my previous nick, but not so much for failing to check your colleagues blocked profile first)

Don't flatter yourself. I seen the other persons post on thread and replied to that. It was a few minutes later before I seen your post here.

More immature nonsense. At least have the decency to admit your mistake.

I've apologised to the person who deserves my utmost apology. I'm hoping he/she can see the funny side and move on.

And that attitude is exactly why the Moderation standards and selection process on this site is in SERIOUS need of review and overhaul.

I covered this on another thread which was similarly ignored while ye all defended each other, but I for one am tired of this juvenile, insulting double-standard from those who we as normal posters are meant to take seriously as Mods

If you want to change yer names, step down or use a "regular" profile. It's hard enough keeping track of the revolving door of Mods without some guy thinking he's funny and then going on to sanction posters for often questionable reasons

(cue the Admins jumping in with their HR style escalation process which is wholly ineffective and biased towards the staff - FTE or volunteers regardless)

At least you acknowledged your mistake, but next time PM me directly rather than trying to call me out on a thread (that goes for you as well Pter - kudos for looking up my previous nick, but not so much for failing to check your colleagues blocked profile first)

Well firstly let me say i will and can only speak for myself in the below.

Secondly, thank you for bringing this discussion here rather that on the thread. I genuinely appreciate the chance to discuss this with you and not derail the thread (not a dig, im being earnest).

Thirdly, yep i made a mistake. I admitted it. I wasnt aware non-public profiles was a thing, so i took a shortcut on that one. Wont be making that mistake again.

I can see you are in the middle of another discussion, so if you want to continue discussing what you indicated on the 'where are you' thread, let me know here or by pm! Thanks.

I've apologised to the person who deserves my utmost apology. I'm hoping he/she can see the funny side and move on.

I see that and at least you've done that much in fairness.

However, maybe you and ALL of your AH mod colleagues should have a chat in your private forum about the actions over the last 24 hours and what can be learned from it.

AH is a difficult place to mod I agree, but it's not helped by some of the actions and attitudes of the staff (again I include volunteer Modes and FTEs in this as there's no difference in this context). I've no clue of ages, backgrounds or whether these are considered in the selection process, but I find the quality to be hugely variable (and I don't think I'm alone in this) which only exacerbates the problems.

If any of the Admins/FTE staff wish to discuss further, PM me.

Well firstly let me say i will and can only speak for myself in the below.

Secondly, thank you for bringing this discussion here rather that on the thread. I genuinely appreciate the chance to discuss this with you and not derail the thread (not a dig, im being earnest).

Thirdly, yep i made a mistake. I admitted it. I wasnt aware non-public profiles was a thing, so i took a shortcut on that one. Wont be making that mistake again.

I can see you are in the middle of another discussion, so if you want to continue discussing what you indicated on the 'where are you' thread, let me know here or by pm! Thanks.

Appreciate your response (genuinely) and your willingness to discuss further.

Feel free to jump in on any of the responses to Nosnon - threads like this move faster than a longer reply can keep up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭gifted

I see that and at least you've done that much in fairness.

However, maybe you and ALL of your AH mod colleagues should have a chat in your private forum about the actions over the last 24 hours and what can be learned from it.

AH is a difficult place to mod I agree, but it's not helped by some of the actions and attitudes of the staff (again I include volunteer Modes and FTEs in this as there's no difference in this context). I've no clue of ages, backgrounds or whether these are considered in the selection process, but I find the quality to be hugely variable (and I don't think I'm alone in this) which only exacerbates the problems.

If any of the Admins/FTE staff wish to discuss further, PM me.

The mods in the where am I thread had an awful 24 hours from last night....really poor decisions...left a little bit of a source taste in the mouth because of their actions

Appreciate your response (genuinely) and your willingness to discuss further.

Feel free to jump in on any of the responses to Nosnon - threads like this move faster than a longer reply can keep up with.

I'm not circling the wagons here......is there anything outstanding?

You don't like name changes.......not sure i can do anything there. I changed my name last month but changed it back within a day. But that's just me. Other people like changing there name. AFAIK there is no other motivation behind it AND everyone can change their name if they want...i don't think mods should be excluded from that.

Nosnon has come back to you on what happened today with Auto and, from what i can gather, has PM'd auto too. Nothing i can add there.

I also don't understand the benefit of knowing the mod you are dealing with.....mod decision is a mod decision, whomever is giving it. Each mod will have a different approach, and you have to accept whatever mod decision is giving. This isn't me angling for how i want people to behave....this is how i've behaved since i joined boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Considering what happened in that thread, is there a reason why the mods don't go back and delete the messages that caused the outrage in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Normal users have to subscribe to get a name change, mods have the facility automatically. It's easy, and maybe tempting, to abuse the facility when it's free.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Normal users have to subscribe to get a name change, mods have the facility automatically. It's easy, and maybe tempting, to abuse the facility when it's free.

That is true, but my point still stands. If someone wants to change their name, they can. As much as they want. It is very different to re-regging, which was something name changing was equated to earlier, iirc.

I'm not circling the wagons here......is there anything outstanding?

You don't like name changes.......not sure i can do anything there. I changed my name last month but changed it back within a day. But that's just me. Other people like changing there name. AFAIK there is no other motivation behind it AND everyone can change their name if they want...i don't think mods should be excluded from that.

Nosnon has come back to you on what happened today with Auto and, from what i can gather, has PM'd auto too. Nothing i can add there.

I also don't understand the benefit of knowing the mod you are dealing with.....mod decision is a mod decision, whomever is giving it. Each mod will have a different approach, and you have to accept whatever mod decision is giving. This isn't me angling for how i want people to behave....this is how i've behaved since i joined boards.

Consistency is the key to good moderation - just as there are a set series of rules for posters in a forum charter, so too should there be a similar mod charter with what is/isn't acceptable.

It's just not good enough when the rules vary depending on which Mod is online at the time.

My point regarding name changes fits with that same consistency angle, but also where posters are encouraged to use Mods as an escalation point. Again, it's good to know who you're dealing with - especially given the variation

I understand the point you are making, but even with a very rigid set of rules (which i dont agree would work, especially in a forum like AH), each mod will still have an interpretation of those rules.

With regards to the mods as an escalation point.....surely this leads to users picking and choosing which mod they escalate to. I think it swings both ways....no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

That is true, but my point still stands. If someone a mod wants to change their name, they can. As much as they want. It is very different to re-regging, which was something name changing was equated to earlier, iirc.

FYP there, as it seemed like you were including regular users in 'someone'.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    FYP there, as it seemed like you were including regular users in 'someone'.

I was. Regular users can. Yes they have to sub, but they can. I did it myself years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

smurfjed wrote: »
    Considering what happened in that thread, is there a reason why the mods don't go back and delete the messages that caused the outrage in the first place?

I’d second this. Deal with the issues that have cropped up in the lead up.