Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHELTENHAM NAP

• 01-03-2019 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭

Clan Des Obeaux. Will not be beaten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

Sting and Ansell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Angliru wrote: »
    Sting and Ansell.

I put up the winners before they actually win ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Delta work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Can't have CDO!!-Think Sir Eric could be a very good horse, he'll do for me

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Lethal Steps in the Fred Winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Was Le Richebourg but now Sir Eric at short price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Lay Al Dancer, betfair hurdle winners have a horrific record in the supreme.

Can't have Sir Erec tbh. Pic FTW if he runs!

Benie Des Dieux surely the closest to a 'banker' other than Altior. Although I still think Willie will pull a fast one and chuck Laurina in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭jj mac

Tiger roll x country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Buveur D’Air in the Champion Hurdle. Question marks over the rest of the field. I love Apples Jade but I think she’ll come up short on the day. Can’t have Laurina at all - how she can be that short based on what she’s beaten in her 4 races is laughable. If she’s good enough to win a Champion Hurdle I’d be amazed.

The best thing about the likes of Laurina is that the mugs will pile into her and Buveur D’Air will go off a crazy price. Load up and enjoy it lads, he’ll get the 3 in a row.

Motivator wrote: »
    Buveur D’Air in the Champion Hurdle. Question marks over the rest of the field. I love Apples Jade but I think she’ll come up short on the day. Can’t have Laurina at all - how she can be that short based on what she’s beaten in her 4 races is laughable. If she’s good enough to win a Champion Hurdle I’d be amazed.

The best thing about the likes of Laurina is that the mugs will pile into her and Buveur D’Air will go off a crazy price. Load up and enjoy it lads, he’ll get the 3 in a row.

Yeah although I adore Samcro seeing the money pile in for him that day in Newcastle and end up being the favourite over the reigning double CH winner was bat**** crazy. Seems like Laurina will cause more of the same. And Apples Jade will always be popular in the market on the day.

I'd have doubts over BDA but on the day he has to be a bit of value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭jj mac

Yeah although I adore Samcro seeing the money pile in for him that day in Newcastle and end up being the favourite over the reigning double CH winner was bat**** crazy. Seems like Laurina will cause more of the same. And Apples Jade will always be popular in the market on the day.

If apples jade and laurina were to race against verdana blue tomorrow I'd imagine nobody would give verdana a chance. She beat bvd and his form in beating melon in last years race is hardly outstanding. I'd give both mares a chance against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

jj mac wrote: »
    If apples jade and laurina were to race against verdana blue tomorrow I'd imagine nobody would give verdana a chance. She beat bvd and his form in beating melon in last years race is hardly outstanding. I'd give both mares a chance against him.

Verdana blue at kempton and melon at cheltenham where given very similar rides to come and beat buveur d’air.
    They sat in behind buveur d’air and he was in front way too soon in both races, they waited until as late as possible to challenge him and we know what happened.
    A Hold up horse is his danger but the difference in this race will be he won’t be in front too soon with apples jade there so I think he will blow them all apart.
    If the rain falls he won’t be beat.

Naps
    Tiger roll
    Benie Des dieux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Buveur d'air

Duel champion hurdle winner still seriously under rated, can see him drifting on the day.
    Hope Apples Jade runs as she will set the race up for him and also make the price for him.

NB Paisley Park in the Stayers. Eats that hill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Chriss dream and posh Trish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

idnkph wrote: »
    Chriss dream and posh Trish.

Think I saw on the ante post thread that Chris Dream goes straight to Aintree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Apples Jade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

madmoose wrote:
    Chris Dream skipping Cheltenhan for Aintree according to trainers ATR stable tour.

Panrich wrote:
    Think I saw on the ante post thread that Chris Dream goes straight to Aintree

Just seen this now. Feck it anyway. Thanks for the heads up. This will ruin some of my multiples. Had it backed @33's ,25's and 12's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Getting very convinced about meticulous in bumper . On at 20/1 but is still 12/1 and goes off between 7 and 9/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Cracking Smart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Footpad in Ryanair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭WicklowBrave

Delta Work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭antietam

Agree. Mister Fisher is a serious player in the Supreme at 12/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I think Delta Work is the best of those over evens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Tiger Roll at a short price & Sure Du Berlais in the Pertemps at a bigger price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Dallas Des Pictons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

Elixir du nutz - A tough nut to crack in the supreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Champagne Classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

Think he will get it tough, if he wins it be 3 in a row. Very tough task, the great istabraq done it, will BD?

Elixir du nutz - A tough nut to crack in the supreme

If you fancy Elixir Du Nutz you’d have to fancy Thomas Darby to put in a performance at a big price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

If you fancy Elixir Du Nutz you’d have to fancy Thomas Darby to put in a performance at a big price.

The Big Bite is double Thomas Darbys price snd was only beaten a length or 2 by him and he was giving TD weight as well. 40/1

Gringo180 wrote: »
    The Big Bite is double Thomas Darbys price snd was only beaten a length or 2 by him and he was giving TD weight as well. 40/1

Good shout with The Big Bite actually. It’s an average enough Supreme to be honest, there isn’t any superstars in it that we know of. Something at a price will be punted off the boards on the day I think and and I’d say both EDN and Thomas Darby will shorten up before next Tuesday. To me, they’re the two I want to keep on side at the current prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭J Cheevor Loophole

I like Monalee a lot. hope the trainer chooses the Ryanair instead of the GC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Looking at the Stayers PAISLEY PARK is my NAP of meeting.
    Can't have Faugheen (although would love to see him run well), Supasundae certainly has place claims but can't see it beating PP. Apple's Jade and Samcro probably won't run and then your into Black Op and Killbricken Storm next in the betting.
    Think PP will hack up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Castafiore looks a fantastic bet for the Close Brothers. She is in some form lately and only on the up. Easily handling Crucial Role and Jerrysback and a great run in behind Bags Groove who aint doing to bad himself lately. She hasn't been hit as hard as I think those runs should've put her. She's on a great weight for how she has been running lately, has made serious progress recently.

16s NRNB Available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

gazza1 wrote: »
    Looking at the Stayers PAISLEY PARK is my NAP of meeting.
    Can't have Faugheen (although would love to see him run well), Supasundae certainly has place claims but can't see it beating PP. Apple's Jade and Samcro probably won't run and then your into Black Op and Killbricken Storm next in the betting.
    Think PP will hack up

Is top notch not going here now, you would have to be slightly weary of him on there early season clash when top notch wasn’t very fit and he came there traveling the best up the straight until fitness told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Is top notch not going here now, you would have to be slightly weary of him on there early season clash when top notch wasn’t very fit and he came there traveling the best up the straight until fitness told.

Yeah forgot Top Notch but just think PP has got better with each run and his win last time sets the standard for me.

I like Monalee a lot. hope the trainer chooses the Ryanair instead of the GC.

No chance he goes Gold cupping. De Bromhead said it after Gowran that he’s not a 3 mile chaser and 2m 4f is his optimum trip. He’ll line up in the Ryanair alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭boomtown84

Slattsy wrote: »
    Dallas Des Pictons

Does he definitely run in the martin pipe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

FatRat wrote: »
    Castafiore looks a fantastic bet for the Close Brothers. She is in some form lately and only on the up. Easily handling Crucial Role and Jerrysback and a great run in behind Bags Groove who aint doing to bad himself lately. She hasn't been hit as hard as I think those runs should've put her. She's on a great weight for how she has been running lately, has made serious progress recently.

16s NRNB Available.

Great shout if she runs. She's a lovely jumper, she takes lengths out of them at every fence. Is she definitely going though? It would not surprise me to see her turn up at Aintree, especially considering she ran at Kempton last week. Although if she turned up, I would have a few quid on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Racing Post price increase on the eve of Cheltenham

No bigger certainty

I have heard a rumour it is going up 30p.

Unbelievable, if true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Fergal O'Brien napped Laurina on ATR yesterday
    Best horse in training he reckons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭The real mccoy 91

Fergal O'Brien napped Laurina on ATR yesterday
    Best horse in training he reckons

My two cents on her would be that willie and ruby know she will have to be every bit as good as Annie power to be winning a CH and if they are sending her there then they think she will be. Disappointed from a pocket point of view had been backing her for the mares since the autumn but that's the chance you take with ante post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭WicklowBrave

My two cents on her would be that willie and ruby know she will have to be every bit as good as Annie power to be winning a CH and if they are sending her there then they think she will be. Disappointed from a pocket point of view had been backing her for the mares since the autumn but that's the chance you take with ante post

Yeah I’d agree. People say it’s the owners call but I read a piece in the Irish Field with the owner and his words were ‘Willie wouldn’t run her if he didn’t think she was good enough’ so WPM could easily run her in the Mares if he so wished. He’d have every excuse not to run her in the Champion but still seems more than happy to go for it. Not sure if she’s a betting proposition mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

boomtown84 wrote: »
    Does he definitely run in the martin pipe?

Yes 1000000000% :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Great shout if she runs. She's a lovely jumper, she takes lengths out of them at every fence. Is she definitely going though? It would not surprise me to see her turn up at Aintree, especially considering she ran at Kempton last week. Although if she turned up, I would have a few quid on her.

Saw a clip of the trainer talking about his horses chances. Looks to be his best chance (not saying much though) and he says it'll either be the Close Brothers or the JLT if it cuts up because of her mares allowance. JLT is a bit wishful though I reckon and would hate to see her go though just because she saves a few pounds. No harm in the NRNB anyway.

He also pointed out that she would love some rain which is also good news. If you look up Charlie Longsdon on youtube the clip should be there somewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I am backing all the Paul Nicholls runners blind. He is on fire. When he is good he is very very good. He still managed to squeak winners out of the last few seasons when I think everyone would admit he has seen better times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I am backing all the Paul Nicholls runners blind. He is on fire. When he is good he is very very good. He still managed to squeak winners out of the last few seasons when I think everyone would admit he has seen better times.

Paul Nicholls is an exceptional trainer. I don't think he gets enough credit for keeping his staying chasers sound and getting them to line up at Cheltenham year in year out. It really is an incredible achievement. When you consider how many Gold Cup winners never make it back to Cheltenham (or sometimes the racetrack), Nicholls having Kauto Star and Denman line up in 6 & 4 Gold Cups and 7 & 6 festivals in a row respectively really merits an awful lot of respect. I don't fancy Clan Des Obeaux, but no better man to have him cherry ripe on the day than Nicholls.
    I'll definitely be watching his other runners closely next week, given it's 2002 since he went without a Cheltenham festival winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nap: Un De Sceaux in the Ryanair.
    Great price at 6/1 nrnb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭antietam

Talking to the former owners of Jers Girl in the pub all day JP told them Fakir will win and there is nothing to touch Buveur Dair"will win as it likes" lots more to print over the meeting but backing Nicholls is a complete disaster for the uneducated.Lots more to print but that is the very small synopsis off today by the serious Intellectuals.