Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stayers Hurdle 2019

• 27-02-2019 3:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

Penhill out
    A short fav mainly fav on the back of one run....

Faugheen coming in under the radar....

The impossible dream II !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Shades of Sam Spinner off Paisley Park, even has the alliteration. Plus i wouldn't trust Emma Lavelle to train piss down a toilet.

I can't get away from Faugheen's run at Punchestown even though he won't have it as handy as the festival, will hold my fire until the day of the race and hope he goes off 5/1 or bigger. Hopefully the English all pile into PP and push the rest of the market out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

will have sneaky few pound on Bacardys form this year terrible but tought he was going to be placed last year before fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

stretchaq wrote: »
    will have sneaky few pound on Bacardys form this year terrible but tought he was going to be placed last year before fall

I'd say that horse falls out of fu**ing bed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

If they run Samcro, then they obviously think he'll win. For me, he was never a Champion Hurdler, but God only knows the speed he must have been showing at home to make them think he was...

After saying he was injured and out for the season etc etc, they're not going to run him here for the craic.

All in on Samcro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭PhuckHugh2

Shades of Sam Spinner off Paisley Park, even has the alliteration. Plus i wouldn't trust Emma Lavelle to train piss down a toilet.

I can't get away from Faugheen's run at Punchestown even though he won't have it as handy as the festival, will hold my fire until the day of the race and hope he goes off 5/1 or bigger. Hopefully the English all pile into PP and push the rest of the market out

Sam Spinner had never run at Cheltenham before the stayers last year. Paisley Park's best performance was lto in Cheltenham. He has improved no end this year. The price is shortish now but he is clearly the one to beat and a fair bit ahead of where Sam Spinner was last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

For me it is Paisley Park. He has done nothing wrong all year and looks the one to beat. Emma Lavelle has trained winners at the festival before. She seemingly moved into a new training facilities this year. He is short enough at 5/2 however.

Faugheen Da Machine is too old now. I don't remember an 11 year old winning the race ever. Sad news on Penhill. I would think Bapaume is the best out of Closutton after Faugheen? Bacardys is a PIG. Typical spit the dummy French bred wimp.

If he goes I couldn't stop anyone having a fiver each way on Pallasator either, what a beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Samcro for me, gotta keep the faith. If it’s him & Faugheen neck & neck over the last I’ll be cheering home the old boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    For me it is Paisley Park. He has done nothing wrong all year and looks the one to beat. Emma Lavelle has trained winners at the festival before. She seemingly moved into a new training facilities this year. He is short enough at 5/2 however.

Faugheen Da Machine is too old now. I don't remember an 11 year old winning the race ever. Sad news on Penhill. I would think Bapaume is the best out of Closutton after Faugheen? Bacardys is a PIG. Typical spit the dummy French bred wimp.

If he goes I couldn't stop anyone having a fiver each way on Pallasator either, what a beast.

you wont get 5/2 anywhere if you do let me know and im all in . cant wait for him to silence the doubters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

IAMAMORON wrote: »

crimson embers in 1986 was an 11 year old

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

stretchaq wrote: »
    crimson embers in 1986 was an 11 year old

Thanks for the info on that. It will be nice to see Faugheen bucking the trends after 33 years. Happens all the time.:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

People have short memories. Faugheen last year fell into a hole before turning for home and low and behold at the same time the biggest gamble of the festival emerged on the day on stablemate Melon 16/1 into 8’s or something and was only chinned on line.

I will cheer him home if he wins as anyone and I know he wasn’t well last year but I take all this he’s flying at home etc with an ocean of salt. The young improver pp for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Samcro !!!

Samcro mightn’t even stay ffs . Just because he won a point doesn’t mean he will conclusively stay.

I actually think he was fairly wrecked crossing the line in the ballymore

akelly02 wrote: »
    Samcro mightn’t even stay ffs . Just because he won a point doesn’t mean he will conclusively stay.

Jaysus, one thing I am sure of is paisley park won’t be winning anyway, glorified handicapper beating a horrible crop of old English horses.
    Faugheen, samcro or supasundae should all finish ahead of him, the one with fewest questions is supasundae so he could be a safe e/w bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Jaysus, one thing I am sure of is paisley park won’t be winning anyway, glorified handicapper beating a horrible crop of old English horses.
    Faugheen, samcro or supasundae should all finish ahead of him, the one with fewest questions is supasundae so he could be a safe e/w bet.

If your SURE, hopefully we will see this on betfair and you’ll be laying right up to the off for the next 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Faugheen has zero chance of finishing ahead of Paisley Park ZERO. People should stop gambling with there heart its a quick way to the poor house

akelly02 wrote: »

I’ll be back after the race, never heard such ****e in my life about glorified handicappers

Ok lads settle down , I got a little carried away and I just watched a preview video and Andy holding put up paisley as his nap of the meeting, which does worry me, I just think paisley park is very beatable, the last day he won impressively but looked in trouble coming down the hill, I don’t think he can do that in the stayers or he will run into all sorts of trouble.
    Pen Hill was the winner in my eyes until his injury, I do stick by my previous comments that at least one of the Irish will beat him.
    If I do back faugheen, it’s definetly not with my heart, His form from punchestown last year would be enough to win this.

Ok lads settle down , I got a little carried away and I just watched a preview video and Andy holding put up paisley as his nap of the meeting, which does worry me, I just think paisley park is very beatable, the last day he won impressively but looked in trouble coming down the hill, I don’t think he can do that in the stayers or he will run into all sorts of trouble.
    Pen Hill was the winner in my eyes until his injury, I do stick by my previous comments that at least one of the Irish will beat him.
    If I do back faugheen, it’s definetly not with my heart, His form from punchestown last year would be enough to win this.

He always looks in trouble till Coleman gives him a flick , then up and away he goes. Watch the Cleeve and the long walk, the very second he feels the whip he switches on and takes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭zpehtsfd

I remember another horse that looked in trouble coming down that hill but still went on to win the race 3 times. ;)

I'm flip flopping a bit here but I've been doing some thinking...

It's not nailed on that Samcro runs here. It's all up in the air... Ifs, buts and maybes from GE.

If he doesn't, Faugheen could be the muggiest each way bet of the year. I'm no PP fan at all, so I'm seriously leaning towards Faugheen each way, and could well back him tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 shanboghted

Samcro is so over rated it begs belief! He should be 33/1 plus for this!! People expecting a good novice to piss up in open class the following year ! He will make a decent jumper but nothing special . Paisley park looks very decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Few hundred e/w on Faugheen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Motivator

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Few hundred e/w on Faugheen

Down the drain

Cant see how Faugheens form stacks up to been anywhere near good enough his a good 2 or 3 years past his best same with Samcro he should at least 10/1 all hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gutted at Penhills omission tbh - nothing else really stands out thus far for me.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Cant see how Faugheens form stacks up to been anywhere near good enough his a good 2 or 3 years past his best same with Samcro he should at least 10/1 all hype.

u saw the irish stayers hurdle last year in P'Town?
    Left many of these for dead
    laughed at them!

he made bits of them bur got a little frebee up front and has questions to answer after last time, he wasnt catching apples jade that day

laughed at them!

Penhill is as fragile as me nannys 94 year old hips he can only run once a year, smashed by Sharjah and couldnt even beat a handicapper in Elgin in last years Champ Hurdle I would be flabbergasted if he even gets placed.

Slattsy wrote: »
    I'm flip flopping a bit here but I've been doing some thinking...

It's not nailed on that Samcro runs here. It's all up in the air... Ifs, buts and maybes from GE.

If he doesn't, Faugheen could be the muggiest each way bet of the year. I'm no PP fan at all, so I'm seriously leaning towards Faugheen each way, and could well back him tomorrow.

Samcro all but ruled out according to Eddie O'Leary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

They'll probably end up sending him to the Grand National. They're going to make an absolute sh*t of that horse the clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Faugheen won't be in the first 4. Too many good, younger horses in there.

Like who, it’s an awful race quality wise.

The way the race is shaping up Sam spinner at 50/1 is a fantastic bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Can't wait for Paisley Park being pushed along around 3 out and end up 4L up after the last.
    Horse is a machine when the whip touches him and there is nothing to worry about with Penhill out. Only danger is might be Supasundae but no one knows his best trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

I'd absolutely piss myself laughing if Spinner won. Might have a fiver just out of pity.

Angliru wrote: »
    I'd absolutely piss myself laughing if Spinner won. Might have a fiver just out of pity.

I would be surprised but could see him in first 3 with samcro not running so worth a small e/w bet considering I backed him as fav last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Like who, it’s an awful race quality wise.

Paisley Park, West Approach, Bacardys, Farclas, Kilbricken Storm, Lil Rockefeller - all with better chances I think. Just doesnt bode well for an old-timer like Faugheen.
    In general, I will be going with younger horses in each of the championship races - I would love a price for the winner of each of Big Five races (CH, WH, CC, GC, Ryanair) to be aged 8 or under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

In general, I will be going with younger horses in each of the championship races - I would love a price for the winner of each of Big Five races (CH, WH, CC, GC, Ryanair) to be aged 8 or under.

Don't disagree with your logic, but Altior is 9, so I'd avoid that bet. Can't see many turning up to challenge him, let alone beat him. His potential biggest dangers are unlikely to take him on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭jj mac

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Don't disagree with your logic, but Altior is 9, so I'd avoid that bet. Can't see many turning up to challenge him, let alone beat him. His potential biggest dangers are unlikely to take him on.

His only dangers are those things he has to jump over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

The way the race is shaping up Sam spinner at 50/1 is a fantastic bet.

This . 100% to be in the first 5. With a better ride this year he may not be caught to easy .

Fav probably wins though.

hawaii501 wrote: »
    Can't wait for Paisley Park being pushed along around 3 out and end up 4L up after the last.
    Horse is a machine when the whip touches him and there is nothing to worry about with Penhill out. Only danger is might be Supasundae but no one knows his best trip.

Hawaii finally somebody sees what I see. Very minute he feels the whip he takes off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Petit Mouchoir is interesting.

Nulty wrote: »

Is he confirmed to run in this? Ill be having an ew play if he is

edit..66-1 with Hills and Betfair SB NOT nrnb but Im having a small ew play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

TheTorment wrote: »
    Is he confirmed to run in this? Ill be having an ew play if he is

edit..66-1 with Hills and Betfair SB NOT nrnb but Im having a small ew play.

Not confirmed by De Bromhead wants to run him here. Down to the owners in the end.

Eddie said at a recent preview night (I just posted the preview night in the preview thread) when asked about his best bets : Delta Work in the RSA and surprisingly Petite Mouchir , each way in the Stayers Hurdle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Very he is my horse to follow this year . Needless to say needs to settle . Altough he has this year .

Chapman very sweet on faugheen just there. 7/2 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭hawaii501

To be fair Roger when isn't he sweet on the machine 😂

hawaii501 wrote: »
    To be fair Roger when isn't he sweet on the machine 😂

I know ha ha
    Telling ye lads
    This IS going to happen