Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ankle socks

• 25-02-2019 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

WHY?

what is the advantage of wearing them? they look stupid, why not just wear normal socks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Regular socks look stupid with shorts unless you’re an 80 year old wearing your shorts around your armpits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

Ankle socks are grand if you're wearing shorts or it's summer/spring time but wearing them during winter with skinny jeans should be outlawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Ankle socks all the way.

I put on long socks, pull them up all the way to get them on then push them down all the way cause it ain't comfortable having what feels like football socks on up to your nuts.

It's those condom looking things that lads wear now, the things women use when they have flats on, That's embarrassing lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

What is it with the feminisation of mens fashion ?
    I see tough looking lads walking about in skin tight skinny jeans ?
    WTF like ?
    Straight lads !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

pgj2015 wrote: »
    WHY?

what is the advantage of wearing them? they look stupid, why not just wear normal socks?

I wear them for medical reasons, the shorter the better. TBH if your jeans/trousers are long enough I really don't see how anyone would notice. And anyway, who, apart from you, would give a fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Ankle socks are more comfortable.

I wear them during the summer if needed but I actually find them very uncomfortable and I constantly have an urge to pull them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Normal socks with shorts are terrible. You have to wear ankle ones or else flip flops or something that doesn't require socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,428 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Confused, are ankle socks not normal socks? There's liner socks which would show your ankle. Or is there some new sock type?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

With shorts, not a bother. I'm guessing the OP's ire is directed at these blokes wearing shoes (with possibly super tight and yet ill fitting jeans) with their ankles on display - to which I would be in full agreement

tumblr_mzmtspdAxL1qedb29o1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

WTF like ?
    Straight lads !

Went shopping for a new pair of jeans yesterday. Tried Superdry, Zara and TopShop. Superdry had one range of jeans that wasn't skinny and I tried on a pair and, well, they were skinny. False advertising. Zara was all skinny/slim. TopShop was all slim, skinny and - wait for it - "spray on".

Wtf is up with the world when a men's jeans fitting is named "spray on"? Even if I managed to put my muscular, granite sculpted legs into a pair of these, I'd get arrested for walking around with the outline of Finland and Sweden protruding from my crotch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

WTF like ?
    Straight lads !

Whaaaaaaa??? Not just the gays any more? Ah jaaaaaaysus, I'm calling Joe.
    theteal wrote: »
    With shorts, not a bother. I'm guessing the OP's ire is directed at these blokes wearing shoes (with possibly super tight and yet ill fitting jeans) with their ankles on display - to which I would be in full agreement

I'm trying to decide if this is better or worse than the tracksuit trousers tucked into white socks that is the fashion statement du jour among scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm trying to decide if this is better or worse than the tracksuit trousers tucked into white socks that is the fashion statement du jour among scumbags.

At least the tracksuits in socks was confined to a certain subset of the populace. This ankle thing is enveloping all types of people, even those who I sort of acknowledge in public (well, once upon a time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,950 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Went shopping for a new pair of jeans yesterday. Tried Superdry, Zara and TopShop. Superdry had one range of jeans that wasn't skinny and I tried on a pair and, well, they were skinny. False advertising. Zara was all skinny/slim. TopShop was all slim, skinny and - wait for it - "spray on".

Wtf is up with the world when a men's jeans fitting is named "spray on"? Even if I managed to put my muscular, granite sculpted legs into a pair of these, I'd get arrested for walking around with the outline of Finland and Sweden protruding from my crotch.

Change your name to "Cameltoe" …….

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Spay on men's jeans!?
    /vomit in mouth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Get some gstar man, dear but an acceptable fit. There the only jean I buy now the rest are for men with no balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

If you want to wear something other sandals with shorts they are an essential. I wear them in the gym too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Whaaaaaaa??? Not just the gays any more? Ah jaaaaaaysus, I'm calling Joe.

When you tuck your socks into you tracksuit. You might cycling,trying to keep the end of it clean,etc. (Well they might be some reasonable excuse apart from the chav look)
    However when you go around with no socks or ankle socks. You just go around showing off your ankles and get cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I'd get arrested for walking around with the outline of Finland and Sweden protruding from my crotch.
    Norway AND Sweden?
    Have you got 2 of what Eoin McLove hasn't got at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

it's the full kit **** you have to watch out for

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcQDTT5RRI1NHBuY4yFT8rxz-xVOoO-rVU2R0YuNm2VMdmFWKZOX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,018 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Is your man wearing shinguards too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Feel ur pain,at Xmas I went to buy jeans,the same sh1te in every shop,I ended up buying crap ones in Tesco/Dunnes,at least I could get my legs into them and not squeeze the Bo11ox of myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,731 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

At the weekend, it was 13 degrees and the sun was shining just to give a bit of background, I saw a fella in his early 20's walking around town. He had winter coat, scarf, hat & gloves on and was clutching a cup of coffee like his life depended on in.

Guess what?

He also had skinny jeans to above his ankle and ankle socks on under his trainers.

No wonder the fool needed his big coat, scarf, hat and gloves.

I went back to college at the age of 23 and I saw these young fellas wearing skinny jeans and I was wondering what the hell was going on. Back in my day we wore jeans that were so baggy they were hanging off us and everyone could see your underwear :p I used to see girls at the bus stop in winter all wrapped up but wearing pumps, skinny jeans and what looked like no socks so they probably had ankle socks on. I used to be horrified and cold looking at them. That's when I realised I was an aul wan :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

BPKS wrote: »
    At the weekend, it was 13 degrees and the sun was shining just to give a bit of background, I saw a fella in his early 20's walking around town. He had winter coat, scarf, hat & gloves on and was clutching a cup of coffee like his life depended on in.

Guess what?

He also had skinny jeans to above his ankle and ankle socks on under his trainers.

No wonder the fool needed his big coat, scarf, hat and gloves.

Jasis, 13 degrees and we're at the beach in Cork.

Have to say, wife convinced me to get a pair of skinny jeans instead of my nornal Levi 501s. Most comfy pair of keks ever. I wear socks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

WTF like ?

Straight lads !

Where they wearing Straight Jackets too? :)

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭lalababa

It's a fashion among the young peoples. We have to get over it. Remember when the country lads would go on a night out with just a shirt outside their pants in the middle of winter. Remember when the city lads had leather jackets over a sparkling white T-shirt. Recall and it's still going when the ladies had paperthin figure hugging dresses with 4 inch heels, again in the winter.
    I'd imagine one's ankles would get cold. What I love to see is ladies ankles with the fake tan sploged on and not quite going down enough so I can say to myself 'jasus...slave to trends' whilst being slightly intrigued depending on how shapely said ankles are.

I posted this in another thread.
    There was a lad I went to school with and he often wore no socks and people used comment on it and laugh.. It was mainly because he was poor/wasn't full with it. It's sort of cool now tough. However the look certainly doesn't work with a school uniform.
    Another place where the look doesn't work is with a uniform or a funeral type suit.(Where your wearing a very boring type of shoe and black trousers).

lalababa wrote: »
    It's a fashion among the young peoples. We have to get over it. Remember when the country lads would go on a night out with just a shirt outside their pants in the middle of winter. Remember when the city lads had leather jackets over a sparkling white T-shirt. Recall and it's still going when the ladies had paperthin figure hugging dresses with 4 inch heels, again in the winter.
    I'd imagine one's ankles would get cold. What I love to see is ladies ankles with the fake tan sploged on and not quite going down enough so I can say to myself 'jasus...slave to trends' whilst being slightly intrigued depending on how shapely said ankles are.

At least on a night out when I'm in a dress and heels I've had a few drinks to keep me warm. These people are sober, it's an abomination :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭fitzparker

lalababa wrote: »

exactly, its fashion now, it beats bootcut pepe jeans and fake timbalands

fitzparker wrote: »
    exactly, its fashion now, it beats bootcut pepe jeans and fake timbalands

I'd take a fella with bootcut jeans and a check shirt any day over a fella in skinny jeans and a V neck top showing off his cleavage(?!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Skinny jeans for men are a form of contraception as they are not good for the testicles...

https://www.thejournal.ie/tight-jeans-testicular-problems-519782-Jul2012/
    One in ten men have experienced an unpleasant side-effect as a result of wearing skinny jeans. Surveying 2000 men, they found that of those suffering from wearing the jeans, half had experienced groin discomfort and over a quarter had bladder troubles. One in five had suffered a twisted testicle.

Nice...

RobertKK wrote: »
    Skinny jeans for men are a form of contraception as they are not good for the testicles...

Nice...

Not surprising, surely they would be affecting the temperature of your stones too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Skinny jeans for men really aren't the scourge on society people think they are. As a previous poster said if every shop was stocking them and not any "normal" jeans they're what people want. I say this as a skinny jeans wearer so I may be slightly biased :P

RobertKK wrote: »

Nice...

Squirming in my seat here.

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Skinny jeans for men really aren't the scourge on society people think they are. As a previous poster said if every shop was stocking them and not any "normal" jeans they're what people want. I say this as a skinny jeans wearer so I may be slightly biased :P

There's a difference between a pair or skinny/slim fighting Jean's and a pair that's to short/doesn't fit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I've no real problem with ankle socks especially with shorts, looks so much better.

A lot of men wear ankle socks with a cuffed leg and it's not really for me but fair enough.

TBH I'm just glad that god awful phase of wearing pink/salmon shirts has passed; always looked terrible.

Boot cut jeans are an abomination.

Succubus_ wrote: »
    I'd take a fella with bootcut jeans.

Don't be getting too generous now, nice tapered leg is the one you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There has always been some optional element of male trends that was fashionably feminine e.g. laceup boots of the 70s, earrings in the 80s, mushroom Madchester haircuts of the 90s (vagina heads), skinny jeans nowadays.

But it was always a minority element who took up on it.

Boot cut jeans are an abomination.

Deffo. Just trying to be like their cooler cousin, flares.

They are handy if you wear boots though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Wear what you want to wear. If it's ankle socks, go for it. If it's ball huggers, go for it, if it's boot cuts, go for it. Just Do It.

Don't be getting too generous now, nice tapered leg is the one you want.

I wear bootcut jeans and I'm a girl :o

I do not have the legs for tapered jeans/skinny jeans/leggings. I look awful, like a stumpy thing. Flares look best on me but are difficult to find, as are bootcut these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Bootcut jeans, a pair of Dubes, and Leinster jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I had the same issues with skinny jeans but now I like the skinny jeans. The fabric used is no denim but a softer more stretchable fabric but man are they comfortable. The ones I have do cover your ankles. I remember lads going to the grove in the early 90's with these skin tight jeans on and docks. I always wondered how they got into them jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I lived in a country with a hot climate. I wore ankle socks every day. In ireland i never wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

People don't like the fashion young wans are wearing nowadays. Who'da thunkit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Infonovice

I wear ankle socks/footsies every day with skinny jeans or leggings.

seen a lady two days ago with skinny jeans, grey socks and a pair of runners on. she looked like a toddler. white socks would have been worse

Is this thread the peak of AH disgruntlement at millennial habits? Ankle socks, really?

I'm off to start a retaliatory thread about Dad jeans, or sandals with socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Well I like skinny/slim jeans. I find them well fitting and comfortable for my size/frame. Its a nice medium from a cotton pants to a pair of jeans.

And above all, I Really couldn't care what others think. Doc martens,wooly socks, blue jeans, sleeveless vest, trench coat.

Job done.