Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seemingly innocent questions during interviews to catch people off guard

• 24-02-2019 2:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭

Has anyone come across this sort? Where you get someone pretending to be your friend to get you to admit something. But then possibly draw a false conclusion. I bloody hate it and it can show how deceptive an interviewer can be. I first heard of this when reading about what the founder pick up artist company, would do while interviewing male candidates. He would make misogynistic remarks towards female staff at his company, and would then see if they'd be stupid enough to join in.

This happened to me in a recent interview, when the fact that I'd been on a J1 came up. Once it did, it was as if the interview went off script for a brief moment, with one of the interviewers "yeah I never did that myself". But then, in a seemingly innocent manner, she went on to say "I bet you went crazy?" At the time I just said 'yeah' without even thinking about it, so that I could continue what I was already had been saying. But of all questions one could ask, why did she ask me that? especially in an interview? And the way she asked it, it was like she as if she was saying "oh I've been there too". It was as if she was telling me to say yeah. But in saying yeah, I feel it might might have gave the impression that I'm a wild fellow.

Something similar happened to me before during my masters, when I was chosen to complete a work placement. A meeting was arranged with the company, but I arrived 10 minutes late as the place was difficult to find. The lady who had interviewed me on the phone came out to greet me. She then gave me a tour of the place and introduced me to some of the staff.

Just before I was about to leave it came up in conversation how I had just started a three week break before I began my next next semester. She said with a smile "oh you're probably out partying every night so?". She was quite young so it was like as if she was saying "oh I've been there". For the sake of making conversation I said "yeah" even though I most certainly was not. In a way I think I viewed it as a chance to say "oh yeah I'm a normal kid who has a social life", which I perhaps don't so much, and that was probably the only reason I said 'yeah'! And even if it was an innocent question, I should have been secure enough to answer the truth.

With that company it wasn't until two weeks later that I realised how manipulative this question was, when I got a phone call of the college internship manager. She told me that they said that "I seemed like I had been out the night before and didn't seem that interested".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

she went on to say "I bet you went crazy?"

You're overthinking things and being paranoid.

She was just being friendly.
    She said with a smile "oh you're probably out partying every night so?"

She was also just being friendly.

There is no reason for a manager to manipulate you in an interview.

It's possible she did think you seemed like the kind of person who parties all the time. And was asking you a straight question.

On both occasions you answered "yes".

This makes me think the problem isn't the managers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Interviewer was probably just happy to have something different to talk about. Interviews can get very repetitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Maybe if you weren't out partying you could have turned up on time for your interview.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭Epic Eir Epic

OMM 0000 wrote: »

It's possible she did think you seemed like the kind of person who parties all the time. And was asking you a straight question.

I'm afraid you're wrong on the second one. The college internship manager confirmed my suspicion. Don't be so naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

If you think an interviewer is not going to try to get as much info out of you as possible then you’re the naive one. You don’t have a problem with the questions it’s the answers you gave. I always get as much info as I can.... it’s the only thing you really have to make a decision. With many former companies refusing to give any sort of detailed reference, face to face interviews are all the more relied upon

I'm afraid you're wrong on the second one. The college internship manager confirmed my suspicion. Don't be so naive.

I'm not being naive.

There was no manipulation.

The manager asked you a straight friendly question, and for some reason you said you drink every night.

What exactly is the manipulation here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

Being late is the main issue, being late to an interview is unacceptable and very hard to recover. the recruiter was already nice to even hold the interview, what shows they think you have potential. Then to admit of being a party animal didn't help.
    In future prepare better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

You’ve got to be always on your guard in an interview and anticipate every question as a way of sussing you out.
    At the same time avoiding appearing wooden and non human.
    Everything is linked back to your suitability for the role and how you’d fit into a team.
    No 1 for me when I was interviewing for roles I was supervising- could I actually work with this person and could other team members ?

road_high wrote: »
    No 1 for me when I was interviewing for roles I was supervising- could I actually work with this person and could other team members ?

This is it exactly.

You've already seen their CV, so you know they're probably suitable.

A few questions to ensure they weren't bull****ting, and a lot of questions to make sure they are a good fit for the team.

Harika wrote: »
    Being late is the main issue, being late to an interview is unacceptable and very hard to recover. the recruiter was already nice to even hold the interview, what shows they think you have potential. Then to admit of being a party animal didn't help.
    I know but it was so sly of her.

It wasn't an interview. It was a meeting. I'd already passed the interview. It was disgusting of them to change their mind about it when I'd already relocated accommodation. Then they avoided my phone calls. If they're that fickle about who they want (for bull****ty unpaid placements) they should do face to face interviews instead of phone interviews.

road_high wrote: »
    You’ve got to be always on your guard in an interview and anticipate every question as a way of sussing you out.
    Someone at last talking a bit of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Wow, I have rarely come across someone who praises the official title of a manager quite so much as you do. You also think that mind games don't exist in the workplace and here you say "there is no reason for a manager to manipulate you in an interview". Of course there is. There are plenty of barbed or hidden questions designed solely to get the interviewer to give an answer and that answer can be the difference between getting or not getting a job.

Do you actually believe that workplaces are always 100% about the work and never about the mindsets of the people within? What a bizarre standpoint.

It wasn't an interview. It was a meeting. I'd already passed the interview.

Get one thing clear here; It was an interview. Until you have contracts signed and a start date, every interaction with representatives of prospective employers is an interview.

Why would you say ‘yeah’ you went crazy while on a J1, or ‘yeah’ you’re a party animal during your break anyway? Even if it was true, which it appears is not the case, it’s a dumb way to answer a leading question like that. Don’t be so foolish next time.

As for being 10 minutes late, there are no excuses for that. I’ll bet you didn’t call your contact to forewarn or ask for help locating the entrance either. If you had, it would unlikely have been an issue.

Finally, if you left her with the impression you were out the night before and weren’t really interested anyway, that’s 100% your fault.

Learn your lessons and wise up.

I'm not being naive.

There was no manipulation.

The manager asked you a straight friendly question, and for some reason you said you drink every night.

What exactly is the manipulation here?
    You weren't there. Stop telling me to ignore my own instincts.

How I know it wasn't a straight question was the way it was phrased. I already explained how I felt coerced into giving a certain answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

I was asked at a recent interview if I drink alcohol. I found this extremely unprofessional and possibly illegal. I said 'yes' because it's the truth, and I think they were asking me to see if I'd be along to the weekly Friday drinks, but plenty of people don't drink for religious reasons or health reasons and this is surely then discrimination? I spent a long time taking a medication which meant I couldn't drink alcohol. Bad enough the impact it had on my social life, but it possibly costing me a job as well? Super bad form on the part of that interviewer, I thought.

JayZeus wrote: »
    Get one thing clear here; It was an interview. Until you have contracts signed and a start date, every interaction with representatives of prospective employers is an interview.

Why would you say ‘yeah’ you went crazy while on a J1, or ‘yeah’ you’re a party animal during your break anyway? Even if it was true, which it appears is not the case, it’s a dumb way to answer a leading question like that. Don’t be so foolish next time.
    Well at least you're not telling me that it's a friendly straight question! Unlike some other poster.

I know it was stupid to say 'yeah', I've explained why it happened and I've clearly learned my lesson. Not that any interview coach would be able to tell you how sly people can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Just accept you didn't do yourself any favors in either scenario and stop with the conspiracy theories. They were just making conversation and the answers you gave are entirely on you, they were pretty straight forward questions, not some sort of sinister probe. Next time think before you answer and you'll be fine? I honestly can't see the issue here - you've identitied the problem in your opening post (you) but seem to want to shift the blame elsewhere, how do you expect anyone here to validate you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i dont see manipulation in the questions. i see someone whos jumping straight in with what they think is the necessary answer.
    you are allowed to think for yourself and are allowed to say 'no i didnt/dont' .

You weren't there. Stop telling me to ignore my own instincts.

How I know it was a straight question was the way it was phrased. I already explained how I felt coerced into giving a certain answer.

You need to accept responsibility for your behaviour.

Showing up late for an interview and telling them you spent a few weeks getting drunk every day is 100% your fault.

The only person responsible for your actions and words is you.

I was asked at a recent interview if I drink alcohol. I found this extremely unprofessional and possibly illegal.
    Usually the wrong answer to that question in Ireland would be 'no'. So it must be confusing in an interview.
    I said 'yes' because it's the truth, and I think they were asking me to see if I'd be along to the weekly Friday drinks
    Why would you think that?

I was late to an interview recently. I was coming from another interview (which they knew about as the same recruiter had organised both) and had to pay for an Uber at my own expense to make it on time. They were told I had a limited window, since I had flown over specially for these interviews, and they were happy to go ahead and said they understood. I was sweating in the Uber, as the traffic was really, really bad and I was worried I wasn't going to make it. The driver asked me which way I wanted to go or if I knew a shortcut but I'd never been to the city ever before.

Their instructions for finding the place were total sh1te and didn't mention some things I would have found obvious, like it isn't directly accessible from the street itself and that you had to go through a random archway (with no signage at all on it). I got there 10 minutes before the interview time, which should have been absolutely grand, but I was walking up and down the street trying to find the place until I gave up and rang them out of desperation. They told me that everyone had trouble finding the place and that there was no doorbell anyway (??!) that one of them would be out to meet me. This was at 09.58, the interview was at 10.00. The guy didn't come out until 10.10, leaving me standing in the rain and unsure as to whether I was STILL in the wrong place. Then once I got in there, he went downstairs and left me sitting there a further 10 minutes before coming back with a colleague to interview me. Feedback to the recruiter was that I was late and I didn't apologise.

WTF, like? I wasn't late. I did everything I possibly could to make it there 10 minutes early and I couldn't find the place because of their sh1tty instructions. Even then, I was still there 2 minutes before the interview time. Utter two faced gobsh1tes and I was glad I didn't get the job. They were really nice to my face. Gave me a test to do at home, which took me an entire day, but were prepared to write me off because I had trouble finding their office on the middle of a building site, down an alleyway, in a city I'd never been to in my life. Not on Google maps and nobody I asked on the street had any idea.

They could have seen it as 'she's flown over just for these 2 interviews so is clearly super keen, she's never been to the city before, she has a very limited window to do two interviews before going to the airport, we didn't tell her that Google Maps gives the wrong location for the place and that it's really hard to find, and she STILL got here pretty much on time', but no. They chose to be petty, inflexible tw@ts.

Wow, I have rarely come across someone who praises the official title of a manager quite so much as you do. You also think that mind games don't exist in the workplace and here you say "there is no reason for a manager to manipulate you in an interview". Of course there is. There are plenty of barbed or hidden questions designed solely to get the interviewer to give an answer and that answer can be the difference between getting or not getting a job.

Do you actually believe that workplaces are always 100% about the work and never about the mindsets of the people within? What a bizarre standpoint.

That's not manipulation.

Let's use this example.

Jobseeker: I just started three weeks holidays.

Interviewer: Oh have you been out drinking every day?

Jobseeker: Yes.

How is that manipulation?

All the jobseeker had to say was: Haha no, I don't really drink that often. I've mostly been studying and spending time with my family.

So instead of making himself out to be unreliable, he makes himself out to be the opposite.

Asking difficult questions in an interview isn't manipulating people.

I'm struggling to think of any way an interviewer could manipulate a jobseeker in an interview.

Are you sure you understand what manipulation means? It doesn't mean being tough. It also doesn't mean exaggerating.

You need to accept responsibility for your behaviour.

Showing up late for an interview and telling them you spent a few weeks getting drunk every day is 100% your fault.

The only person responsible for your actions and words is you.
    I wasn't disputing any of that Mr oh so perfect. I'm saying you have to be on guard.

It was very sly of her, and they lost a good employee because of her false conclusion, so it's really their loss.

Usually the wrong answer to that question in Ireland would be 'no'. So it must be confusing in an interview.
    Why would you think that?

Eh...because they had just told me about the weekly Friday drinks? And then when I told them I drink, they said something like 'that's good, there are a lot of people who don't drink these days and it's not good for the social aspect' or something like that. I was honestly shocked. There should be no place for asking personal questions like that in a job interview IMO.

I wasn't disputing any of that Mr oh so perfect. I'm saying you have to be on guard.

It was very sly of her, and they lost a good employee because of her false conclusion, so it's really their loss.

I'm saying this with kindness:

You will not improve as a person if you continue blaming others for your mistakes.

Accept responsibly for your actions.

Telling an interviewer you went out drinking every day over the past three weeks is your own fault.

Can you really not see this?

That's not manipulation.
    It's what the PUA artists call a '**** test'. I wasn't prepared for this happening in an interview though.

It's not as simple as you make it out to be. There's a difference between drinking and partying by the way. You insist on saying drinking

Everyone understands partying means drinking or taking drugs.

Then why did you specifically go and change the wording? I'll tell you why. Because you knew that an interview would be less likely to answer 'yes' if asked the question with the word 'drinking' instead of 'parting'.

Do you think I would have answered that question in the same way if either of those girls used the word 'drinking'? You're only strengthening my argument that it's manipulation.

That's not manipulation.

Let's use this example.

All the jobseeker had to say was: Haha no, I don't really drink that often. I've mostly been studying and spending time with my family.

So instead of making himself out to be unreliable, he makes himself out to be the opposite.

I'm struggling to think of any way an interviewer could manipulate a jobseeker in an interview.

Are you sure you understand what manipulation means? It doesn't mean being tough. It also doesn't mean exaggerating.

Im well aware of what manipulation means, thank you.

Happens all the time in interviews, that's the way of the world. You cant in theory ask any questions about religion and sexuality and ethnic status etc but interviewers can ask loaded questions about alcohol to see if a person is sociable or suitable for front of house jobs, after hours events etc. Other questions that are pure manipulation include "Why do you move jobs so often?". That one is designed to put he person on the spot and their reaction can be the deal breaker.

Interviews are a form of manipulation in a way because they are essentially testing your character and asking questions where they are only interested in a certain answer. When you are at interview stage they already know you can do the job. The interview is a way to decide if they want you or not based on your character.

Everyone?

I see partying as someone who likes to enjoy a bit of drinking, some dancing and talking crap but I certainly wouldn't put drugs in that definition.

That puts your everyone generalisation to bin right there.

Then why did you specifically go and change the wording? I'll tell you why. Because you knew that an interview would be less likely to answer 'yes' if asked the question with the word 'drinking' instead of 'parting'.

Do you think I would have answered that question in the same way if either of those girls used the word 'drinking'? You're only strengthening my argument that it's manipulation.

Partying = drinking/drugs.

Everyone knows this.

So by me saying it means you were drinking isn't changing words or attempting to manipulate you.

This feels suspiciously like a troll, so I'm checking out now.

That's not manipulation.

Let's use this example.

Of course it's manipulation. When asked by a young, seemingly friendly person, you could easily think they want to know if you're good craic. See my post about being asked if I drink alcohol. They definitely wanted a 'yes' from me. It's extremely deceptive and unprofessional to go on like that, trying to trick people into telling you something. It's also a leading question. Asking 'I suppose you went crazy then, yeah?' is very different to asking 'what did you get up to on your J1'. It's human nature to answer a leading question with a yes, especially when it seems like harmless small talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

I was late to an interview recently. I was coming from another interview (which they knew about as the same recruiter had organised both) and had to pay for an Uber at my own expense to make it on time. They were told I had a limited window, since I had flown over specially for these interviews, and they were happy to go ahead and said they understood. I was sweating in the Uber, as the traffic was really, really bad and I was worried I wasn't going to make it. The driver asked me which way I wanted to go or if I knew a shortcut but I'd never been to the city ever before.
    <-snip->

They could have seen it as 'she's flown over just for these 2 interviews so is clearly super keen, she's never been to the city before, she has a very limited window to do two interviews before going to the airport, we didn't tell her that Google Maps gives the wrong location for the place and that it's really hard to find, and she STILL got here pretty much on time', but no. They chose to be petty, inflexible tw@ts.

An interview is a two way street, the company wants to find out if you are a fit and you are there to find out if the company fits you. We are at the point of an employee market, so if a company treats you like that you can go to the next door where a better employer waits.

Everyone?

I see partying as someone who likes to enjoy a bit of drinking, some dancing and talking crap but I certainly wouldn't put drugs in that definition.

That puts your everyone generalisation to bin right there.

Do you understand what "or" means?

You even quoted me.

"Drinking or drugs".

So you agree with me.

Everyone knows this.

So by me saying it means you were drinking isn't changing words or attempting to manipulate you.

This feels suspiciously like a troll, so I'm checking out now.

You took the same route out last time when several people pulled you up on your weird stance that their are no mind games in the workplace. Is that how you deal with people who have a different opinion to you? To call them a troll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Giving the impression of being out partying and/or drinking 'all the time' is never a good thing in any kind of workplace and/or interview depending on the context, particularly when your timekeeping is poor.
    That said it is completely plausible that both questions were relatively innocent until the answers provided raised a flag.

Be more careful next time.

Of course it's manipulation. When asked by a young, seemingly friendly person, you could easily think they want to know if you're good craic. See my post about being asked if I drink alcohol. They definitely wanted a 'yes' from me. It's extremely deceptive and unprofessional to go on like that, trying to trick people into telling you something. It's also a leading question. Asking 'I suppose you went crazy then, yeah?' is very different to asking 'what did you get up to on your J1'. It's human nature to answer a leading question with a yes, especially when it seems like harmless small talk.

How is it a trick?

It's a straight question and simple to answer:

"No I wasn't drinking every day".

Happens all the time in interviews, that's the way of the world. You cant in theory ask any questions about religion and sexuality and ethnic status etc but interviewers can ask loaded questions about alcohol to see if a person is sociable or suitable for front of house jobs, after hours events etc.
    What sort of loaded questions about alcohol do you think they might ask? And what might be right/wrong answers.

I don't drink myself, yet I'd consider myself sociable. So I'd hate to think someone would draw such a deduction just because I don't fit their stereotype. Are you saying that I should lie about such questions.
    Other questions that are pure manipulation include "Why do you move jobs so often?". That one is designed to put he person on the spot and their reaction can be the deal breaker.
    At least I'd expect that one though.

Do you understand what "or" means?

You even quoted me.

"Drinking or drugs".

So you agree with me.

Eh??

READ my quote. Its my opinion that partying involves a bit of drinking or dancing or talking crap but I wouldn't personally equate the word partying with taking drugs. So that's "everyone" minus one on your generalisation about "everyone".

kippy wrote: »
    Giving the impression of being out partying and/or drinking 'all the time' is never a good thing in any kind of workplace and/or interview depending on the context, particularly when your timekeeping is poor.
    That said it is completely plausible that both questions were relatively innocent until the answers provided raised a flag.

Be more careful next time.

Nothing innocent about 'you must have had a mad time, yeah?' or any such leading question. It's unprofessional, sneaky and narrow minded. As OP has pointed out, a 'mad time' can mean different things to different people. To him it could mean meeting new people and having the odd pint, or travelling around and seeing amazing sights. To others here, it clearly means partying all the time and taking drugs. Which is why it has no place in a job interview.

You took the same route out last time when several people pulled you up on your weird stance that their are no mind games in the workplace. Is that how you deal with people who have a different opinion to you? To call them a troll?

Maybe you're not aware, but there is a known troll who regularly posts in Work & Jobs. His accounts are constantly banned.

The reason I leave these conversations is because I understand people like you need to "win", so I'm just going to waste my time.

You can even see it in your posts above, misquoting me (pretending drinking or drugs means drinking and drugs) as some weird way to win a conversation online.

I don't understand it, and that's why I have no interest in these silly round and round conversations.

I have better things to do.

How is it a trick?

It's a straight question and simple to answer:

"No I wasn't drinking every day".

Of course it is. It's an interview, he's nervous, he wants to make a good impression. What is a 'going crazy', anyway? Means totally different things to different people. If he had said 'no', that could have also been the wrong answer for her, because she might have thought he was a dry sh1te. If she's asking in a way that makes it seem like she would want a crazy time and she missed out, the natural answer is the one he gave. If she took from that that he's an alco who won't turn up to work on time, she's the one with the problem.

Eh??

READ my quote. Its my opinion that partying involves a bit of drinking or dancing or talking crap but I wouldn't personally equate the word partying with taking drugs. So that's "everyone" minus one on your generalisation about "everyone".

Yes, everyone understand partying means drinking or drugs.

Drinking OR drugs.

One or the other, or both.

That might mean just drinking. Or drugs. Or drinking and drugs.

This is bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

This thread is a ****ing car crash.

We are at the point of an employee market, so if a company treats you like that you can go to the next door where a better employer waits.
    What utter bullsh1t

amcalester wrote: »
    This thread is a ****ing car crash.

Only because so many people fail to grasp OP's very valid point.

It's an interview. He's nervous, he's already got something in his mind he's about to say, and she blindsides him with a question about his personal life disguised as small talk. He'd just gone 'yeah' without even properly realising what she was asking. It's absolutely manipulative and underhand. I would not think highly of someone who used this 'technique'.

kippy wrote: »
    That said it is completely plausible that both questions were innocent until the answers provided raised a flag.
    Then why was the question leading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Eh...because they had just told me about the weekly Friday drinks? And then when I told them I drink, they said something like 'that's good, there are a lot of people who don't drink these days and it's not good for the social aspect' or something like that. I was honestly shocked. There should be no place for asking personal questions like that in a job interview IMO.

That’s pretty unprofessional. Many Irish interviewers are.

No, you said drugs.
    Everyone knows this.
    Drugs aren't that common. What part of the ghetto are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Well, whatever way they asked the questions, rightly or wrongly, they seem to have dodged a bullet anyway.