Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take the dialect test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Not bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Pure Cark biy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

I'm from tipperary but it had me mostly as Cork. Pure Cork boy. But then i'm in Cork 7 years, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Fairly spot on

Some of those are very specific words that would narrow it down to a general region though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Mammy and eejit obviously places you in Ireland.

Exactly. Calling someone a gowl or a numpty definitely cornered my to cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

“Gowl”

I’m not a corkonian but I fookin love that word!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Mine pretty much landed spot on for where I'm from and where I lived for a good while, basically the whole eastern coasts of Ireland and NI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Dublin will appear in all heat maps I suppose as culchies are from everywhere. For me it was Dublin, east coast and parts of Munster. There was a big hole in the midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Quare close! Must have been when I'd refer to a wagon as a dose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It says Drogheda. :confused:

I'm from Tipperary. Two completely different dialects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Also shocked to learn that hardly anybody in GB and Ireland uses the term 'gurrier'.

I'm using it on average 3-5 times per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Pure west Brit Jackeen scum right there :D

Calling someone a gowl or a numpty definitely cornered my to cork.

You haven't spent much time in Limerick.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I basically got the entire east coast of Ireland. I'm from Dublin so it's got the general area right.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Very accurate on mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

When I said "Tackies" for sports shoes, it should have been more certain of Limerick, but it gave me Clare, Limerick, Kerry and Cork.

Meh, it was kinda right! Gowl of a yoke :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Kinda close enough. Got Dubliner which I am going back to the ark, but also Sligo and Roscommon for some reason.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Dublin will appear in all heat maps I suppose as culchies are from everywhere. For me it was Dublin, east coast and parts of Munster. There was a big hole in the midlands.

There was a neutral non-pejorative way of making that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

From all over including Dublin. Think it depends who you've hung out with and how much of their stuff you pick up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Spent a few years in different parts of Ireland and it generally picked those places up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Pretty much all of Leinster, I'm from Offaly so makes sense, Offaly/Loais/Westmeath/West Kildare/Carlow and North Kilkenny accents are essentially the same IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

is_that_so wrote: »
    From all over including Dublin. Think it depends who you've hung out with and how much of their stuff you pick up!

My girlfriend go a bit of the county I'm from (she's from the opposite side of the country).

Be interesting to see the results of people who've been in the one county all their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Interesting .. I'm English, but it shows me as coming from where both my parents were from (SW England) rather than where I was born and brought up (Midlands).

Oh it didn't post properly. Well I am mostly the north west, Dublin, and south east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

fxotoole wrote: »
    “Gowl”

I’m not a corkonian but I fookin love that word!!

"Mom" is a defo Cork giveaway too

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

First test gave me a weird area ranging from roscommon through meath to dublin, down the east and south east and on to cork.. so I did the full set of questions and it narrowed it down to east/south east which is quare good. It's really cool to see how localised some words I just assumed were commonplace actually are.; gurrier, mitching, lad/boy, ma, baba.. and how the hell can but and put not rhyme?

In Ireland they do, in the dictionary they don't! Put and foot are the same. But and London too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

"What do you call a small round piece of baked yeast dough?"
    I don't know! I'm not fucking Nigella Lawson.. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

marvin80 wrote: »
    Be interesting to see the results of people who've been in the one county all their lives.
    I'm West of Ireland and it got it spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 binana

Mine was concentrated around Dublin with some radiance into Northern Leinster... I'm basically Ronnie Drew :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

They put me somewhere in Ireland that wasn't West Cork, Donegal, or most of Leinster. I grew up in Galway and Donegal. So meh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

is_that_so wrote: »
    In Ireland they do, in the dictionary they don't! Put and foot are the same. But and London too.
    I'd pronounce foot like fut. I had to go to google translate and use the voice function to hear the difference, puuuh-ut sounds super english.

Yeah that's what they are using. We just say them all the same!

it gave me a very broad answer covering a very large area, however, what was interesting is that it also gave a small area of Tipperary below Kilkenny which is where my mother is from.

At times I am inclined to use phrases she uses such as ..Im bet altogether meaning very tired or ...I never put in a worst day, meaning a day when nothing went right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

In a swade that covers about 75% of the population.

I am shocking cosmopolitan though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Oh it didn't post properly. Well I am mostly the north west, Dublin, and south east.

Yeah, I got whole east coast, big swathe of north west and all of cork and kerry. I was raised in the bog in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

It guessed Ulster ok but that's obvious when you answer 'Wean'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I got mostly Limerick with a bit of Cork.
    I loved the part where I chose tackies and Limerick went bright red. :pac:

Zorya wrote: »
    Yeah, I got whole east coast, big swathe of north west and all of cork and kerry. I was raised in the bog in the middle.

Me too! :D

Amazing. My result was concentrated in the exact part of the midlands where I'm from. I sent it to my Mum (who grew up in the UK) and her result was an even more specifc part of the UK she's from.

For anyone getting inaccurate results, I'm assuming you've migrated within Ireland or abroad at some point, and may have something of a hybrid accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Spot on for me.

Very interesting how dialects are so different in lots of places both here and UK.

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    It guessed Ulster ok but that's obvious when you answer 'Wean'

I assume I got it for 'wild' and 'gutties'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

GLaDOS wrote: »
    I basically got the entire east coast of Ireland. I'm from Dublin so it's got the general area right.
    Same here. I was born in the midlands, moved to South Co Dublin aged 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I didn't get a map!
    I presume that's because of my English Midlands, Kerry, Limerick and Yorkshire lingo. I confused it!

I got London and the South East of England, with a side order of Dublin. Spot on, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭GowlBagJohnson

Waterford/Killkenny with a bit of Cork, close enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

No map for me. I reckon I confused the ****e out of it! :D:

gozunda wrote: »
    No map for me. I reckon I confused the ****e out of it! :D:

Map wouldn't work on my phone so I had to do it on the PC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Cork with specks of London. I’m after picking up too many loanwords off the Cocker-Nees