Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who/what do you find brave/inspirational?

• 06-02-2019 7:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭

I'm curious about what other people think is a brave or inspirational person. Someone recently called me inspirational (looking at you mamof4 :D) and I was very surprised. I consider myself to be someone who has pretty much failed at being a human in almost every possible way (I'm waiting for them to beam me back up to the mothership any day now :pac:)

So who or what do you find brave/inspirational?

For me, I suppose it's people who manage to raise children and have full time jobs and who fit time in for hobbies and friends and elderly parents. It's people who care for relatives with disabilities. Also people dealing with disabilities. I have CF myself but there are plenty of diseases/conditions that I think ''oh that must be awful to have'', like being paralysed or having a condition where you slowly lose control of your body, being blind etc. I also admire people who have survived trauma and gone on to be happy functioning people. I read Fred and Rose West's daughter's book recently, her name is Mae and her childhood was just horrific but she survived and she has struggled but she has a family of her own now and she functions. I think that people who put their lives in danger or save other peoples lives (such as doctors, firefighters etc) are inspirational too, people who make sacrifices for others, people they don't even know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wile E. Coyote.

Never gave up. No matter what dodgy equipment he got from the ACME store.

Always tried to catch that Road Runner menace.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

Anyone of the front line services . eg garda ..fireman...ambulance driver...a & e staff....these men and women come across all sorts of horrific situations .....I don't know how they do it..I know I couldn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I have to be my own inspiration OP. I don't think I would be able to get out of bed in the morning otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

gifted wrote: »
    Anyone of the front line services . eg garda ..fireman...ambulance driver...a & e staff....these men and women come across all sorts of horrific situations .....I don't know how they do it..I know I couldn’t

Added bonus to Frontline in a Children's hospital. Dealing with sick and dying toddlers and children's needs a special kind of courage.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

People on Instagram with loads of followers who post photos of their toned bodies interspersed with hackneyed inspirational quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Ryan Turbridy, because he goes on the national airwaves every week with his imperceptible bit of talent and ability and he keeps the gig and gets paid a fortune. An inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

eviltwin wrote: »
    I have to be my own inspiration OP. I don't think I would be able to get out of bed in the morning otherwise

This is interesting, I have to think about this. So you are your own inspiration to stay motivated? I suppose that makes sense, maybe this is where I'm going wrong :cool:

The life of Tom Crean.

Succubus_ wrote: »
    This is interesting, I have to think about this. So you are your own inspiration to stay motivated? I suppose that makes sense, maybe this is where I'm going wrong :cool:

Kind of. I'm going through a bad patch at the moment, nothing major but the temptation to shut myself away from the world is huge. But I can't do that. I've been here before, it always gets better so right now I have to remember a time I powered through and hope it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Frank Reynolds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

AIB.... for backing "brave".

It took real bravery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    People on Instagram with loads of followers who post photos of their toned bodies interspersed with hackneyed inspirational quotes.

Ah yes those brave influencers :rolleyes:

Kind of. I'm going through a bad patch at the moment, nothing major but the temptation to shut myself away from the world is huge. But I can't do that. I've been here before, it always gets better so right now I have to remember a time I powered through and hope it helps.

I'm sorry to hear that you're going through a bad patch, and I understand the temptation to shut yourself away from the world. Like you said though, you've been here before and you've gotten through it so you can do it again, I can see why you are taking strength from that. I hope things improve for you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Wile E. Coyote.

Haha. I needed that.. thanks

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

I'm sorry to hear that you're going through a bad patch, and I understand the temptation to shut yourself away from the world. Like you said though, you've been here before and you've gotten through it so you can do it again, I can see why you are taking strength from that. I hope things improve for you soon.

thank you. That's very kind of you. Same to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Elderly parents who care for their intellectually disabled adult children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Liam Neeson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

There's a homeless guy that I meet every morning on my way into work. He stands outside my work building handing out papers and smiling and greeting strangers and belting out songs all day long. Sometimes he has one of those old school ghetto blasters with him too.

This morning he was singing an old Sinatra number and yelled "morning!" with a big cheesy grin as I walked passed. He's honestly the happiest, chirpiest, most carefree face I see amid a sea of sulky suited-and-booted commuters every single morning and he bloody makes my day.

Imagine being so down on your luck and finding a way to radiate pure joy to the people you encounter day after day after day. That inspires me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Angela Merkel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Margaret Cash. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

David Goggins and the rocks Instagram feeds are inspirational. They actually inspire unlike the countless idiot "influencer's" copy and pasting random quotes onto a photoshopped photo of themselves in Thailand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Frank Morris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

It has to be the dole tenant up the road from me.

Bravely dumping their trash outside on the road which inevitably gets scattered around during the course of the day. I cannot express how inspirational they are too me. I'm counting down the days till I too can live off the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Brave/inspirational? Anybody who enters into a situation despite knowing the odds/hardship that is up against them.

That could be an elderly parent taking over grandchildren, a Garda or Bean Garda stopping an assault/murder etc, someone quite overweight entering into and making progress in losing weight, someone setting up a business, people going to university against the odds or someone battling a mental illness.

As has been mentioned above, I find David Goggins to be quite inspirational as well as Jocko Willink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

This is worth a watch if you have a spare 47 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Dark Rabbit

Dr. Jordan B Peterson for taking on the feminazis ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CaroleGall

Danniel Riccardo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Wile E. Coyote.

He eventually got him too!!

life went south after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Even better !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Sick and disabled children who manage to smile and bring joy and never complain .Beautiful little kids in wheelchair who are proud of their coloured wheels and can laugh and sing and make others happy .They are my heroes

gifted wrote: »
    neither do I, after having to call an ambulance for THAT accident.

This is worth a watch if you have a spare 47 minutes.

Thanks for posting this. I'd heard of what happened to Alex but I hadn't watched the documentary before. It's both heartbreaking and uplifting, especially since he wasn't on a great path before he got ill and so many people would just give up in his position, and I think I'd include myself in that but he perseveres through it all. I'll be looking for the Alex Lewis Trust to donate :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Agricola wrote: »
    Ryan Turbridy, because he goes on the national airwaves every week with his imperceptible bit total lack of talent and ability and he keeps the gig and gets paid a fortune. An inspiration A bollocks.

fyp

those child parents. you know the ones who feed their sick parents, do the dishes, iron the clothes, get their siblings fed and off to school and then, themselves with it. then come home and whilst their friends are on facebook or play station, they're cooking for the family and going to get prescriptions for the single mother who has MS or something.

What I find UNinspirational , is someone who wins 130 million and forgets about the likes of such kids and anyone with hardship and then blows the money on shyte!! The power you have even with 80 million and keeping 50 million... you could literally fill three days a week secret millionairing the fook out of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Normal people doing extraordinary things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

People who adopt children, takes a special person to take someone who isn't blood into your home and raise them as such.

People who donate organs to non family members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

People who come from poor or disadvantaged families and make something of themselves. Ones that break the cycle of being on the dole are to be commended. They're probably seen as the black sheep.

I have a few in my family that I consider inspirational, but there's something about the unrecognized everyday heroes that humbles me. My grandmother is one of those quiet heroes, who in her own quiet and unassuming way has dealt with so many heartbreaking challenges with a stoic smile, a positive outlook and compassion, without complaint and with grace. She is my ultimate role model for how to conduct oneself in adversity.

Anyone caring for an ill relative is a hero, anyone making the world a better place in any big or small way is a hero. Anyone dealing with life when all they want to do is quit it, is a hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

This article, about a woman, Louise Medus, who was affected by thalidomide, has stayed with me. I just remember being in awe of her resilience, positivity and lack of bitterness about her circumstances:

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/aug/01/thalidomide-louise-medus-a-stranger-when-i-went-home

Christopher Reeve so impressed me during the last decade of his life. He did so much to try and advance medical science for paralysed people. Sure, there was a personal reason there but tetraplegia is so hard to deal with day-to-day that he could just not have bothered. But he did bother, using his social standing for good. He and his wife both were inspirational. Sadly she developed lung cancer not long after he died and succumbed to it six months later. What an unlucky couple. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Katie Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,150 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Beware of objectifying people with disabilities by setting them up as your inspiration, when it may well be the last thing they want or need. Stella Young provides a great explanation of Inspiration Porn;

I watched the video last night and had a think about this. Stella Young certainly has a point, people do look at people who have disabilities and think ''well at least my life isn't that bad'' but I also think a lot of people look at people struggling with disabilities and getting on with their lives and managing to achieve things with admiration, I know I do anyway. Having a disability is a disadvantage that you have to overcome, so often even doing ordinary things becomes an extraordinary task. I don't think it's wrong to admire someone else for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Floyd Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I watched the video last night and had a think about this. Stella Young certainly has a point, people do look at people who have disabilities and think ''well at least my life isn't that bad'' but I also think a lot of people look at people struggling with disabilities and getting on with their lives and managing to achieve things with admiration, I know I do anyway. Having a disability is a disadvantage that you have to overcome, so often even doing ordinary things becomes an extraordinary task. I don't think it's wrong to admire someone else for that.

I agree and I also dont think she speaks for anyone else except herself to be honest .,Kids in wheelchair of course struggle to do things that other kids can .If they achieve something they struggle with then I admire them whether she in the video agrees with me or not !
    I see a little kid in a wheelchair in the school yard every morning , she has the most amazing smile .Last week she arrived with her beaming Mam on a little walking aid and I wanted to cheer and whoop for her .Inside i did as she is one amazing little hero .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

There's a homeless guy that I meet every morning on my way into work. He stands outside my work building handing out papers and smiling and greeting strangers and belting out songs all day long. Sometimes he has one of those old school ghetto blasters with him too.

This morning he was singing an old Sinatra number and yelled "morning!" with a big cheesy grin as I walked passed. He's honestly the happiest, chirpiest, most carefree face I see amid a sea of sulky suited-and-booted commuters every single morning and he bloody makes my day.

Imagine being so down on your luck and finding a way to radiate pure joy to the people you encounter day after day after day. That inspires me.

There use to be a homeless man at one of the train stations in town in Dublin. Not sure, could have been Tara station. He didn't want to accept money from people for nothing and instead he'd sell you one of his own poems. I don't know about inspirational. I never saw him myself, just a family member use to see him at the station sometimes. I thought that was nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Single mothers.
    Jesus this parenting lark is hard going, and I have a husband coming in the door at five thirty every evening. I don't know how they do it and remain sane.

A friend of ours is in a wheelchair, has been all his life. He hates people saying these things about him. He finds it patronising although he knows the intention is good. He doesn't know any different, he's always been disabled and as for getting on with it... As he'd say himself, he doesn't have any other choice.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I have to put myself forward for this. I stood on a lego once and I've lived to tell the tale.

A friend of ours is in a wheelchair, has been all his life. He hates people saying these things about him. He finds it patronising although he knows the intention is good. He doesn't know any different, he's always been disabled and as for getting on with it... As he'd say himself, he doesn't have any other choice.

I understand the feeling of being patronised, even if you know the other person has good intentions. I have Cystic Fibrosis which is an invisible illness and I find it tough at times that people can't see that I'm ill, they have the same expectations of me as another able bodied person and it can be a struggle. I am glad that I can choose whether or not someone knows that I have CF as I do see that it can change someone's view of you and I have no desire to be pitied and I understand someone not wanting to feel like that. However, life is difficult for me in ways that it isn't for other people, now it is all relative and we all have our own stuff to be dealing with but I don't see the harm in someone else acknowledging that.