Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mrs Brown hatred

• 02-02-2019 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

I dont get all this Mrs Brown, Brendan O'Carroll hate
    Ok his comedy is not for everyone, but back in the 80's Kenny Everett, Benny Hill and Russ Abbot were much worse
    Just because we are in a different decade we should expect are more higher form of comedy
    The guy has given his close friends and family work (even though the haters will called that nepotism), and he donates a lot of money to charity
    At the end of the day its old school slap stick comedy with the few choice words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Can't help but feel that some doth protest too strongly, possibly many who have never actually watched a complete show, and are deriding it largely on the basis of it being an auld man playing an auld wan. And that presume that because of that it's not sophisticated or clever enough for them. In a word, snobbery.

I 've watched it with my mum and her grandchildren, and them all in hysterics over it. It's a real fine witty effort. I've seen some weak episodes but overall it's fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Me too I like it, don’t watch it religiously, series record it or anything but enjoy it any time I see it

doctor: we need a sample of your stool and urine Granddad
    Grandad: what’s he saying
    Mrs B: he wants your underpants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Is that 'canned-laughter' ???? Some of the jokes are soooooooooooo old there couldn't be anyone in the audience that could find them funny.

AND...some of the punchlines can be seen a mile away. Jeez it annoys me he 'getting laughs' for them.

AND.. don't get me started on his recent laziness of stealing others material and churning it out as his own.

Bottom line... he no Ronnie Barker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's is what it is. There's alot worse out there such as Bridget and Eamon.
    The one thing I would say about it is it's one program that I see bringing a lot of happiness to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jake66

Brendan O Carroll is something a lot of comedians aspire to. He is actually very funny..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I don't hate it, because I have never seen it. And I never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Ok his comedy is not for everyone, but back in the 80's Kenny Everett, Benny Hill and Russ Abbot were much worse
    Just because we are in a different decade we should expect are more higher form of comedy
    The guy has given his close friends and family work (even though the haters will called that nepotism), and he donates a lot of money to charity
    At the end of the day its old school slap stick comedy with the few choice words

Does he give money to all the comedians he steals jokes from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

It's is what it is. There's alot worse out there such as Bridget and Eamon.
    The one thing I would say about it is it's one program that I see bringing a lot of happiness to people.

They are the scrapes of the bottom of the barrel
    RTE should be shot for commissioning that crap

Does he give money to all the comedians he steals jokes from?

In fairness that could be said about a lot of comedians, Peter Kay is a good example
    But BOC, has done a lot and donated a lot without doing it with media attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I don't watch it but I am glad to see Brendan and family do well after plugging away at it for so many years.

It's not my cup of tea but it doesn't bother me that others like it, it's harmless comedy in a day and age filled with every gimp who thinks they are funny feeling the need to video it for YouTube .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

I can see both sides of this.

First of all, Brendan O'Carroll is a very funny man. He's a naturally gifted comedian. But it's not that that he has my respect for. I spent a Christmas one year with friends who had his boxset which was released a few years back. We put on the first one and it was just him in some dingy little hotel, doing all the sound himself. Next DVD, a slightly bigger hotel. Next DVD, a slightly nicer hotel with someone else doing the sound. So this man has put in the hours. And plus he lost his b*ll*x with some show that he was doing a few years back, and still bounced back from that. So he has earned his success without doubt.

Now to my problem with Mrs Brown. He writes all the shows himself and employs his family on the show. While this is commendable in one sense, it is also the reason why the show will never be taken seriously. Because Brendan does all the writing, the show does not have a proper writing team (as most comedies would) and as such, the storylines are so mindnumbingly childish and simplistic, it makes Killinaskully look like Frasier. Secondly because his family are all working on the show, the acting is very very wooden and under par in parts.

The show still has Brendan and some great one liners, but it could actually be really good if he had proper actors and proper writers.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I’ve never watched more than a few minutes of it and what I’ve seen wasn’t for me.

I’d heard Brendan O’Carroll is a genuinely nice guy and I’m happy he’s found an audience and is doing well for himself.

That’s the full total of my thoughts on it and that’s what most people I’ve ever heard discuss it say. Not sure where the hate is coming from. The internet is often an amplifier for the more shrill minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I like Brendan, he seems a nice fella when he’s being interviewed.

The Mrs Brown show is nothing short of awful programming. It’s comedy for the dim witted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

There’s a convent full of very elderly nuns in Clonmel that watch every single episode without fail.
    Their favorite film is “3 men and a baby”.
    That is all.

Killinaskully ??
    come on I love Pat Short but that was not comedy
    and i do agree, a lot of him family (characters) are brutal but his show shouldn't get as much criticism as is does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

No hatred here.
    Fair play to Brendan he is a nice man and very funny.
    I don't like Mrs Brown though and Brendan would understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

Killinaskully, loved it. pat short managed to do it without the bad language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

We're not in the 80s

It's comedy for cogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

It's comedy for cogs.

please explain...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Ah I like it. I wouldn't go out of my way to watch new episodes but if it's on, I'll watch it. The are usually a few very good laughs per episode. :)

Don't get the utter hated from some people though. There is far worse sh*te in RTE's history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Masala wrote: »
    Is that 'canned-laughter' ???? Some of the jokes are soooooooooooo old there couldn't be anyone in the audience that could find them funny.

Each show is performed twice on the same day (morning and afternoon) to two different live audiences in a theatre in Glasgow. Depending on the mood of the audience and/or the performance of the cast, some jokes get a better response in the morning or afternoon and post-production splices and dices to fit.

If you stayed long enough to wait for the end credits, you'd know that there is a live audience.

Not everyone's cup of tea and I have to admit I'm not his biggest fan but each to his own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

i agree it's rubbish. the odd joke makes me laugh, but i only ever watch it 'cos my son loves it.
    each to their own i guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I don’t find BoC funny in any way shape or form and never have.

However he makes other people laugh and smile so that can only be a good thing.

The world needs more people that can help make the world laugh and smile.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I don't like it, so I don't watch it. The couple of times I gave it a go I just found it exerable so stopped. Nostaglic jollies seem to be in these days but this style of comedy ain't for me. There are more important things to get steamed about than this.

I don't hate O'Carroll and happy just to ignore this output. Everyone wins :) And in a broader sense, going by this forum I would wonder why some folks persist with certain shows they're transparently not enjoying. The "hate watch" is perplexing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Brendan has made a serious amount of money turning out that nonsense, so it's no wonder he's laughing. all the way to his bank. fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,386 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

It's just the nebotism I hate. Typical Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

There was a case in 14th century France where a nun in a convent began meowing like a cat. Soon the entire convent was meowing throughout the day and this early documented example of mass hysteria only ended when soldiers turned up at the convent gates.

I believe centuries from now people will look back upon this period of the 21st century and view it as a similar example of mass hysteria in which the O'Carroll family, reduced to hysterical laughter amongst themselves at the sight of their father dressed up as an old lady, then managed to turn much of an entire country into similar convulsions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Mr Bubo loves Mrs Brown. :)

He wanted to see the Mrs Brown movie when it came out a few years ago. I had only ever saw snippets of the series on tv, wasn't arßed actually sitting down to look at it. That, and Killinaskully (did I spell that right?) were favourites of his.

I very reluctantly went to the cinema with him to see the movie. I feckin laughed all the way through it, couldn't believe it. It was the most stupid thing I've ever watched, absolutely sh1te! But for some reason I really enjoyed it.

Weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

I can't get through a minute of it, although I don't hate it, you'd have to care about it to hate it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Absolute rubbish. Not a bit funny.
    But he does a lot for charity. So fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Seen a few clips and thought it was absolute crap.

My parents love it though. Seems to cater for the older generation more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Me too I like it, don’t watch it religiously, series record it or anything but enjoy it any time I see it

doctor: we need a sample of your stool and urine Granddad
    Grandad: what’s he saying
    Mrs B: he wants your underpants

Hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Not sure why the generosity of the man is relevant to the discussion, though employing friends & family (none of whom are on a par with O'Carroll as a performer) is worthy of mention.

The problem I have with O'Carroll's show is just how utterly charmless it is.

The writing, performances and direction don't come within an asses roar of anything done by the likes of Kenneth Williams, Sid James, Frankie Howerd or even Dick Emery some 50 years previously - television that could hardly be classed as clever or sophisticated, but that remains patently superior to Mrs. Brown's Boys in every conceivable way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

BuboBubo wrote: »
    It was the most stupid thing I've ever watched, absolutely sh1te! But for some reason I really enjoyed it.

They should put that on the DVD covers. It pretty much sums up my feelings on it too. I hated the series in the beginning, but the more stupid it's gotten, the more I've warmed to it. Also, its huge popularity, combined with the fact that so many people hate it so much is, in itself, kind of funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Edward Spoiled Road

Unearthly wrote: »
    Seen a few clips and thought it was absolute crap.

My parents love it though. Seems to cater for the older generation more

Wouldnt be target for it (late 20's, More into dark humor)and its a on tv a bit too much (like Friends on comedy central)

i think its something for elderly to watch and something suitable for kids to watch....its probably suitable tv for xmas day humour to put on the telly with elderly relatives/young kids, unlike say a frankie Boyle stand up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's saucy seaside postcard type humour, not my cup of tea. It's streets ahead of Bridget and Eamonn, which wouldn't be hard for it.
    Finding out you have cancer is funnier than that pair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

It's alright but it's no When The Whistle Blows from Extras :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Kenny Everett was funny, don't compare him to this shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

This all round to mrs brown's is utter tripe

...its a complete rip off of Kumars at no 42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

_Brian wrote: »
    It’s comedy for the dim witted.

This.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The best thing about it is that it's very popular with a certain section of the demographic.

Which means other channels don't try to compete with it. So the rest of us can watch other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I was disgusted to see 2 episodes of missus brown back to back on RTÉ last night. It’s utter tripe.

Easter Saturday night and that’s the best RTÉ offers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Funny man, who seems very likable, has worked hard, made lots of money out of a music hall concept but produces pretty terrible juvenile stuff.

I was disgusted to see 2 episodes of missus brown back to back on RTÉ last night. It’s utter tripe.

Ratings and advertising dear boy!

fryup wrote: »
    This all round to mrs brown's is utter tripe

...its a complete rip off of Kumars at no 42

Probably not as Mrs Brown in some form has been around since 1992. Caroline Ahearne got her Mrs Merton thing way back as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭neirbloom

It was wall to wall Mrs Brown Boys both on BBC AND RTE Christmas night also, so depressing combing through the Tv Listings thinking this is the best they can offer us :confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

Brendan O'Carroll is a member of Mensa, ie in the top 2% of the population IQ curve !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Brendan O'Carroll is a member of Mensa, ie in the top 2% of the population IQ curve !

So should we not expect a better of standard from him so......? Other notable members are/were sir jimmy Seville, Madonna.......

I’d be in the ‘Mrs brown boys ‘ is utter sh1te....every cliched one liner you have ever heard is in every episode, how many times does he/her refer to having wet himself/herself...’I remember o’carrolls original stand up show back in the early ‘90’s.....every second word was fcuk, numerous references to female cycle.....crude cliched stuff all round much as his current incarnation is......as for the charity work.....name a celebrity these days that doesn’t have a charity that he/she supports.....?

Brendan O’Carroll/Mrs Browns Boys are equal to Funny Froiday for mind numbingly awfulness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Yermande

I really cannot stand it. I've been forced to sit through a few episodes and it was like having teeth pulled.

I've no issues with Brendan O'Carroll though. I met him and his wife on the ferry home about 10 years ago. Seemed like a very nice man.

Plus I enjoyed The Mrs Browne Trilogy (yes, in the books it's spelled with an 'e') when I was a young lad. From what I remember they were tonally quite different. I think it's in the second book where one of her kids dies on the streets in London. It was my first introduction to Irish literature and seeing accents similar to my own on a page.

So I guess I have a soft spot for him. But Jesus Christ the show is bloody torture.