Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Brits

• 30-01-2019 5:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭

What do you think of the Brits? From my experience, I've always got on well with Scottish people and Welsh people. English people can be hit or miss. Sometimes I find some people get confused whenever Irish people are discussing the negative impact of the Brits. They somehow take criticism of the British government and their armed forces as a hatred of everything British. This is not the case.
    Pointing out that the British armed forces have killed a huge amount of people and caused untold damage in many nations is just a fact. I'm sure if ordinary British people were taught the truth in their schools, they'd be critical also. Also, for some reason, criticising Britain's recent past on this island gets you labelled as an IRA supporter.
    Just because you're against the British armies acts such as shooting innocents dead in Belfast, Derry and elsewhere, bombing towns and cities, killing kids etc, doesn't mean you support the crimes committed by the PIRA.
    So, what are your thought on the Brits? You don't mind them but dislike the horrendous acts their armed forces have inflicted on many? You have lived in Britain, what you think of life there? Answer if you want, if you don't want to then that's fine by me also. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭BIGT4464

Shower of Dopes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

British b@stard springs to mind. That was what I got called the odd time after moving here 20 years ago.

I am now more concerned about our repuatation abroad, but find they love me and whoever I am with, when I inform them we are Irish. Only the language is heard, and not the accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    British b@stard springs to mind. That was what I got called the odd time after moving here 20 years ago.

I am now more concerned about our repuatation abroad, but find they love me and whoever I am with, when I inform them we are Irish. Only the language is heard, and not the accent.

Did you get why some people referred to you as British bastard? Or were you puzzled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I've never had a problem with British people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Crock Rock

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I’ve had a few spats with Londoners more than anything. Scots are grand except the proddys. Welsh are just as mental as us so I got on with them.
    So yeah to some it up just Londoners and proddy Scots.

Perifect wrote: »
    Did you get why some people referred to you as British bastard? Or were you puzzled?

Yes. Because they were proabably brain washed to think so following the occupation of Ireland, and some saying the continued occupation of the 6 Counties. Which I have a feeling this thread will also head in that direction.

Yes I might be ENGLISH by birth, but I am not to blame for all the sh!t that went down over the 100s of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Crock Rock wrote: »
    Yawn

Aww ya tired petal?
    Rest yourself up. Put on a cup of Tay. You seem exhausted even in your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

A great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Always got on well in England.

Mixed experiences in Scotland and Wales.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Yes. Because they were proabably brain washed to think so following the occupation of Ireland, and some saying the continued occupation of the 6 Counties. Which I have a feeling this thread will also head in that direction.

Yes I might be ENGLISH by birth, but I am not to blame for all the sh!t that went down over the 100s of years.

Yes, clearly. I think it'd be like what happened with some Irish living in Britain. They got abuse because of the PIRA. You and others got abuse because of what the British army was doing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Never had a problem with English, Scottish or Welsh people. Yes, Londoners can be a bit guarded and abrupt, but I find denizens of most very large cities are like that.

People are people wherever you go. Some decent, others tools.

Another Brit-bashing thread?

Yes, clearly. I think it'd be like what happened with some Irish living in Britain. They got abuse because of the PIRA. You and others got abuse because of what the British army was doing.

There you go. My parents generation got the No Blacks, No Irish, No Dogs treatment when first went to different parts of Britian, my generation got the British Bastard tag coming over here. Thankfully the first is hopefully none exsistant, and the later a rare response. Yes you will get the odd comment, thankfully the last time it was said to me was near them 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I used to have this chip on my shoulder. Then I had to go there for work to SE England.
    I lost the chip. Pretty soonish.
    They are just like us - same spectrum- same array.

I have given more exciting answers to questions but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I'm surprised this subject hasn't come up on boards before tbh.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Never had a problem with English, Scottish or Welsh people. Yes, Londoners can be a bit guarded and abrupt, but I find denizens of most very large cities are like that.

People are people wherever you go. Some decent, others tools.

Another Brit-bashing thread?

Did you read the op? Have you just proved my point? Criticism of the British armed forces is not Brit bashing!

I always find the Brits are obsessed with Ireland and the Irish. Weirdly so.

It's like there's an army of Brits out there constantly scouring Irish media looking for things to get outraged about so they can tell themselves how superior to the Irish they are. Oddly though, the Irish don't care about the Brits in the slightest, its like an unrequited obsession disorder.

What always makes me chuckle is when Ireland are playing someone in the world cup and the Brits are practically snarling at the TV such is their hatred for Irish players and the Ireland team, but whenever those same players turn out for the teams they support, they love them. Its also a bit odd the way they refer to "Us" when talking about Shamrock Rovers or Bohemians, despite never actually having been to Dallymount or Tallaght.

They're also convinced Cork are a British team, because someone from Britain once played for them.

Strange bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Corniah are sound.
    Strong aul celtic blood in them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

They are no better or worse than the rest of us humans.

Aegir wrote: »

It's like there's an army of Brits out there constantly scouring Irish media looking for things to get outraged about so they can tell themselves how superior to the Irish they are. Oddly though, the Irish don't care about the Brits in the slightest, its like an unrequited obsession disorder.

What always makes me chuckle is when Ireland are playing someone in the world cup and the Brits are practically snarling at the TV such is their hatred for Irish players and the Ireland team, but whenever those same players turn out for the teams they support, they love them. Its also a bit odd the way they refer to "Us" when talking about Shamrock Rovers or Bohemians, despite never actually having been to Dallymount or Tallaght.

They're also convinced Cork are a British team, because someone from Britain once played for them.

Strange bunch.

Irish people always support Welsh teams and Scottish teams internationally. I think if Ireland occupied a part of Britain that was still causing huge problems, British people might have a negative word or two to say also. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

They care far less about us than we do about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

With the passports flying out the door- looks like we're in for a new invasion :D

The old English / Normans became largely assimilated here and then got shafted when Cromwell and shower of mercenaries showed up ...

With regard to histoty Ive heard that the Irish never forgot and the English never remember

I'm always surprised at the number of specifically English people who have moved here over the years. I do wonder what the attraction is? Cheaper? Perceived as something of a little england perhaps? Is it the lower population density? Or something else?

Its also a bit odd the way they refer to "Us" when talking about Shamrock Rovers or Bohemians, despite never actually having been to Dallymount or Tallaght.

Luckiy I've never heard Irish people saying "us" when referring to an English team they support...
    No way, no sir eeeee!

Hehe!

Noveight wrote: »
    They care far less about us than we do about them.

Has that anything to do with the north do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

Dont forget they were the only one of the "Home Countries" to visit Landstown Rd during the height of the "Troubles". Fair play now Lads.

Moreso because of Travellers.
    Or people on the dole.
    Or people on the dole who travel about.

mountai wrote: »
    Dont forget they were the only one of the "Home Countries" to visit Landstown Rd during the height of the "Troubles". Fair play now Lads.

They? Britain isn't England.

mountai wrote: »

The British rugby team?

Panthro wrote: »
    Moreso because of Travellers.
    Or people on the dole.
    Or people on the dole who travel about.

Why do you have a Chelsea soccer crest on your avatar? Aren't they known to be anti Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Haven’t a clue tbh.

The British rugby team?

You made the same mistake! :D

Why do you have a Chelsea soccer crest on your avatar? Aren't they known to be anti Irish?

Oh, never mind "us" lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭SM35

Lived and worked all over Britain - OH was in college in Cardiff - overall was always made to feel welcome. The one bit of "anti-Irish" was more an "anti-Glasgow Celtic / Catholic" comment directed at me on an old firm day in Glasgow.

You get decent people who get on with others everywhere.

Now, as for the politicians in N.I. and England..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

No problem with brits or any other nationality, it's people in general I can't fcukin stand

Noveight wrote: »
    Haven’t a clue tbh.

I think it has a bit to do with it.

Why do people think the Irish get a better welcome than the Brits in many nations?

Panthro wrote: »
    Oh, never mind "us" lot!

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Poms tend to whine a lot when placed into a decent climate. Thankfully Ireland doesn't have one.

You made the same mistake! :D

whoooooosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Strange bunch.

This thread and countless others like it proves that the Irish are just as obsessed with the 'Brits'. Or even more so.
    Weirdly, you could even say.

whoooooosh

The hilarious thing is that you just got whooooshed!!! :D

topper75 wrote: »
    I used to have this chip on my shoulder. Then I had to go there for work to SE England.
    I lost the chip. Pretty soonish.
    They are just like us - same spectrum- same array.

I have given more exciting answers to questions but there you go.

Well there you have it, peoples living not to far apart from each other with an interchange of cultures over centuries, speaking a common language turn out to be quite similar.
    Not green monsters, baby eaters or having multiple heads.

Well there you have it, peoples living not to far apart from each other with an interchange of cultures over centuries, speaking a common language turn out to be quite similar.
    Not green monsters, baby eaters or having multiple heads.

As basically everyone has said. Criticising British government and armies actions is not Brit bashing. As I said, people conflate these issues for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

I think we would have waved the white flag 1 hour into the Blitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I don't really think about them.

I like Top Gear though.

As basically everyone has said. Criticising British government and armies actions is not Brit bashing. As I said, people conflate these issues for some reason.

Why the obsession then?
    Show me where that naughty British politician or soldier touched you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Poulgorm

Why do people think the Irish get a better welcome than the Brits in many nations?

I have seen it happen. Initially, they assume you are English and you sense the aloofness (even coldness). Then, when they realise you are Irish - instant change in attitude.

I think it might be caused by the fact that Britain has invaded so many countries and the natives still feel a bit sore about it.

Why the obsession then?
    Show me where that naughty British politician or soldier touched you.

What obsession? I said that I generally get on well with Brits.

Have you never criticised anyone or anything despite it never touching you? Being against British soldiers shooting and bombing people is not Brit bashing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Poulgorm wrote: »

I think it might be caused by the fact that Britain has invaded so many countries and the natives still feel a bit sore about it.

Here's the hilarious thing though, up there with Hitler being German in my opinion.

You know all that invading going on by the British, you know how many were Paddies? Lots. Over a third of the British army was made up of Irish at the height of empire.

That seems to get overlooked in the auld Brits bad, Irish great craic stereotype.

Here's the hilarious thing though, up there with Hitler being German in my opinion.

You know all that invading going on by the British, you know how many were Paddies? Lots. Over a third of the British army was made up of Irish at the height of empire.

That seems to get overlooked in the auld Brits bad, Irish great craic stereotype.

He was Austrian.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I'm a Yorkshireman and we have probably suffered as much as anyone at the hands of the English. We just rise above it all in the knowledge of our superiority....