Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever stolen anything?

• 29-01-2019 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭

I'm just trying to think and I've never stolen anything from a shop.
    When I was a teenager I did borrow my brothers euro coin collection.(He was collecting all the Euro coins from different countries, he wasn't that into it.)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hearts.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

A pair of Zekler safety glasses from a lad who was doing my head in, being a deliberate arse way back in 2009. I still have/use them daily :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

More serious like... :D No. Except once when I was not much more than a toddler, I'd reckon about 4 or 5, I stole a little yellow plastic swan from the classroom at school. It was part of a farm toy set sorta thing. My heart was going like a fooker all the way home and like Poe's The Tell Tale Heart I could "hear" it in my toy drawer all that night, so I put it back the next day. I'm horribly strait laced in that respect. That the above is one of my strongest early memories says much. :o:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Apples from an orchard. It was my initialisation into the gang. Later we moved into the hard stuff.

Cider? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Stealing, of course, is a crime, and a very impolite thing to do. But like most impolite things, it is excusable under certain circumstances. Stealing is not excusable if, for instance, you are in a museum and you decide that a certain painting would look better in your house, and you simply grab the painting and take it there. But if you were very, very hungry, and you had no way of obtaining money, it would be excusable to grab the painting, take it to your house, and eat it.

-Lemony Snicket

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There's also those pirate DVD's I had but video privacy isn't a crime. Is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Silver Breeze

A comic book, from a newsagent, in 1958.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

There's also those pirate DVD's I had but video privacy isn't a crime. Is it?

Hm, it's amazing how much the responses change if you include internet piracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Yes. I put a bale of briquettes in the boot at a service station in Mullingar that himself was supposed to pay for. Turns out he got everything else on the list except the briquettes which I found out when we were 50 miles from Mullingar. To this day when we pass through said town he still asks me if I am planning any Great Briquettes Heists. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

TV signals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Wibbs wrote: »
    Cider? :D

Cooking apples. They were gross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

I still feel very guilty about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Stolen, no "inherited" from work yep.

Best one a full Teng tool socket set. In UK finishing a huge job and was site manager. No next site with own labour so they'd have ended in someone's boot.

Otherwise small stuff.... nails, wavin fittings, terram, stone, topsoil, cement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I did work in a hotel and could have helped myself to biros, toiletries,etc that went in the guest rooms. I hated the place so much I couldn't bare to bring anything from it home with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Panic Stations

I steal my girlfriends Netflix account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I robbed like a bastard in my teenage and early 20s.

Used to weigh food in the local supermarket as carrots on the self service so a roast beef joint would be less than a quid. Was back in the same supermarket recently and they had signs up saying "If you can't tell steak from carrots, please ask a member of our staff to assist you". The old ways live on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭BrianJD

Evening Guard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Yes , yes I have, and I did it maliciously too on this piss stain I worked with.

I'm actually proud of it too.
    The ****ebag was a born again Christian who objected to everything , including listening to various radio stations , she didn't like some talk shows and didn't like some genres of music.
    Complained that she was over worked , then complained she was being undermined if someone was tasked to help her.

The pox arrived in on one shift and left lunch in canteen , so I ate it , all of it , scaldy ham sandwiches , a stale Danish and a cheap chocolate bar .

She went on a rampage , challenging people and eventually wanting CCTV checked till a supervisor told her to cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I stole a permanent marker when I was about eleven years old and got caught. When I was in my early teens I started stealing magazines. I sold one of the magazines (a computer magazine) in school for £1. I thought this could be a great business. Then shortly afterwards I stole a Bon Jovi magazine from the same shop. The owner of the shop was on a ladder changing a light bulb right beside the magazine shelf. I saw him and all but I was stupid enough to think maybe he wouldn't notice me. I walked out of with the magazine and he followed me. I legged it and threw the magazine on the ground. He never caught up with me but I tried to buy something from the same shop a couple of days later and was told to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I did work in a hotel and could have helped myself to biros, toiletries,etc that went in the guest rooms. I hated the place so much I couldn't bare to being anything from it home with me.

Another day, another box of stolen pens.

zg5ypzt.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I once stole a small Ernie doll from a shop.

Me and my friends placed it on a plinth in our 1st year classroom replacing a statue of some saint or other.

When guys would enter the room we would demand that they pray to their new god Ernie.

If they didn't we would sacrifice them.

Hail Ernie!

$_1.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

BB Jones wrote: »
    Stole nudes of my friend's gf.

Prove it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

The hopes and dreams of a nation..

back when i worked for anglo irish bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Nice try Garda.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I have a memory of being 3 or 4 and my little chubby fists helping themselves to the pick n mix display in a major supermarket.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I shoplift all the time.

It doesn't actually affect anyone.

Its like punching someone in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I robbed nearly every small dog that was out on the street between my nans house and our house when I was about 8 or 9.

I used to get them to follow me, or sometimes if they needed a lift I would pick them up.

Then when I got home I'd pretend they were strays that followed me.

Eventually I got my own dog.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

I was working in a hotel one time with the maintenance man, used to also have to sort the bottles for return from the bar. Seen a fifty in the bottom of the bin, ye know the blue bin bar staff use for empties. After pulled it to where I knew there were no cameras and pocketed the fifty.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Just a few hearts

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Who else used to pick a grape or two on their way by the fruit section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

EICVD wrote: »
    Just a few hearts
    Like this?
    tumblr_m48e4dnymz1qf9g48o1_500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I thought my friend’s bowl of potato and veg was part of my own meal while at a formal dinner and ate it before I realized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

A Saab 93

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Shotgun To The Head

Stole the nudes of a friends' ex gf. Not proud but I still have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Who else used to pick a grape or two on their way by the fruit section?

Yes, free tasters - :)
    That and I'm old enough to remember the free counter at Woolworth's and robbing orchards and the pain after from eating crab apples!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

To the two posters who stole naked pictures of their friend's girlfriend, how?

what a scummy thing to do.

Stole the nudes of a friends' ex gf. Not proud but I still have them.
    That’s creepy as hell. WTF. Delete them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Went through a short spell (a handful of times within a week or 2 even iirc) robbing a few things from Tesco as a child.

Nothing big just silly things. I remember one item being a block Chivers jelly, which I'd always wanted to try fresh out of the packet before it was made. Took a bite and ended up throwing it away :pac:

Some plainclothes guy tapped me on the shoulder during the 2nd or 3rd time and told me I was being watched and that scared me straight :D

To the two posters who stole naked pictures of their friend's girlfriend, how?

what a scummy thing to do.

Was living with the guy at the time. One night we were using his laptop and when he closed a tab the photo gallery opened and there she was.

I knew his password and he was gone for the weekend so I helped myself.

Not proud but I was absolutely obsessed with her at the time.

That’s creepy as hell. WTF. Delete them.

No. In fairness I would never post them anywhere else online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

Myself and my two friends nicked dirty postcards from a postcard stand in Kilkee back in the 80's

Remember the one's with the dirty cartoons :D

No. In fairness I would never post them anywhere else online.
    She might find such public exposure less horrifying than you keeping stolen pics to **** over. Try to separate fantasy and reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,437 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Muckka wrote: »
    Myself and my two friends nicked dirty postcards from a postcard stand in Kilkee back in the 80's

Remember the one's with the dirty cartoons :D

Yes!!!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Patlanta

When I was 12 years old I stole a few bottles of Cadet orange juice. It was more due to peer pressure from my school friends than any personal desire or need to steal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

Virginity thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Wibbs wrote: »
    Hearts.

fannies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I went to school with this complete ****ing nutjob who would randomly hit other students on the back of the head because he thought he was better than everyone. Nobody did anything because he was the vice principle's son and even other teachers were intimidated by the vice principle.

I once stole the son's keys and threw them in the bin. Gave me great pleasure seeing him spending the day looking for them and being locked out of his locker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Mr. Benson's whistle.