Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 4 series coupe

• 26-01-2019 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭

I’m looking at a BMW 4 series coupe 420D. Anything that I should look out for in these?

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Hey
    I’m not aware of any inherent issues with them.
    I’ve a 172 automatic that I imported last year.
    Super fun car to drive, very good on fuel( very solid as I found out recently when I reversed into my sister in laws Renault Koleos and did 1200 euros 💶 of damage 😭😢😱😫😖and there wasn’t a MARK on mine thankfully)
    If you have any questions fire away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭satnavadays

moby2101 wrote: »
    Hey
    I’m not aware of any inherent issues with them.
    I’ve a 172 automatic that I imported last year.
    Super fun car to drive, very good on fuel( very solid as I found out recently when I reversed into my sister in laws Renault Koleos and did 1200 euros 💶 of damage 😭😢😱😫😖and there wasn’t a MARK on mine thankfully)
    If you have any questions fire away.

I went to have a look at a 3 series today but I ended up bringing this 4 series on a test drive https://m.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/4-Series-420d-Modern-Coupe/201810201682848.

I’m still thinking about but it seems nicely speced and was nice to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Fine car but if you plan on having rear passengers or kids just don't. We have a luxury spec on the family, very frugal, plenty fast, the autobox is brilliant. Ride is a bit harsh. It is the kind of car that when you want to drive on hard it is great fun but it can be a bit harsh when you just want to cruise along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Another happy owner here, of a petrol model. Any specific questions just shout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Fine car but if you plan on having rear passengers or kids just don't. We have a luxury spec on the family, very frugal, plenty fast, the autobox is brilliant. Ride is a bit harsh. It is the kind of car that when you want to drive on hard it is great fun but it can be a bit harsh when you just want to cruise along.

I have a 420 GC.
    With a 3 year old child in the household.

Overall, I find it absolutely fine with the one child. It’s a bit of a back ache alright getting her lifted in and out (as she’s got a bit heavier since I bought the car!) and the door opening itself is a bit narrow. But overall it’s perfect for my needs. The boot is really great and swallows up the kiddie stuff easily, where I really struggled with that in my last car.

If you were carrying larger / adult passengers on a regular basis, then yeah for sure, it’s not the car to have, mainly due to the sloping rear roofline. Headroom is a bit tight back there for anyone above average height! I’ve a sunroof in mine too which eats into headspace even more.

As for the car itself, I don’t think there’s much to “watch out for”. I’ve had zero issues thus far.

The above now all applies to the GC, and I just noticed it’s the 2 door coupe the OP is looking at, so yeah, that’d be a no no for sure with smallies.

I’d mainly suggest aiming for as good a spec as you can find - M-Sport at a minimum, as SE or whatever it’s called is a bit grim to say the least. M-Sport really lifts the car. M-Sport+ is even better again, as that gives you the upgraded audio (a must), privacy glass and nicer wheels.

I’ve averaged around 40mpg in the year I’ve had mine, over about 17k kms.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I have a 420 GC.
    With a 3 year old child in the household.

Overall, I find it absolutely fine with the one child. It’s a bit of a back ache alright getting her lifted in and out (as she’s got a bit heavier since I bought the car!) and the door opening itself is a bit narrow. But overall it’s perfect for my needs. The boot is really great and swallows up the kiddie stuff easily, where I really struggled with that in my last car.

If you were carrying larger / adult passengers on a regular basis, then yeah for sure, it’s not the car to have, mainly due to the sloping rear roofline. Headroom is a bit tight back there for anyone above average height! I’ve a sunroof in mine too which eats into headspace even more.

As for the car itself, I don’t think there’s much to “watch out for”. I’ve had zero issues thus far.

The above now all applies to the GC, and I just noticed it’s the 2 door coupe the OP is looking at, so yeah, that’d be a no no for sure with smallies.

I’d mainly suggest aiming for as good a spec as you can find - M-Sport at a minimum, as SE or whatever it’s called is a bit grim to say the least. M-Sport really lifts the car. M-Sport+ is even better again, as that gives you the upgraded audio (a must), privacy glass and nicer wheels.

I’ve averaged around 40mpg in the year I’ve had mine, over about 17k kms.

Fair play to you putting a 3 year old in and out of the back. Ours is a GC too, then again I am thinking of the last time I was driving it and putting a 2 year old in and out and it was painful. They are a very nice car and they can swallow a lot. I fit 4 17inch alloys and tyres into the back with the seats down and it swallowed them with zero issue.

The wife has an A4 Avant and my car (headroom aside!) is more spacious than hers in the back. The little lady has the back of the passenger seat in the Audi wrecked with shoe marks and in mine she can’t even reach the back of the front seat - yet!

My main gripe with the car is refinement. The diesel clatter at slow speeds, parking etc, does my nut in. It’s fine once on the move though

The auto gearbox is a joy, dare I say a nicer box than the DSG’s I was used to in VW’s. It always seems to be in the right gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I had worked out that a 4 series would suit me down to the ground. Went to look at a 430d and would not live with the interior.
    It might be just me but it appeared to be a steep backwards step from my much older A5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

That’s a nice looking example OP.
    M sport looks much better imo.

Have you looked at an import? Unbelievable value in the UK.
    + 1 on what others have remarked about the rear space and getting kids in and out.
    My wife has a G30 so we don’t need another 4 door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

After learning the hard way twice, never buy the first generation of any car model, ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The 4 Series really needs to be in M Sport trim imo. The SE and Luxury just make the coupe shape look wrong and bland imo. However I can appreciate that other people might not like the M Sport's lowered stiffer suspension and larger wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

moby2101 wrote: »
    That’s a nice looking example OP.

It really isn't a nice example imo. Alloys are terrible, chrome strip and no factory tinted windows and the interior colours/trim are dreadful (oyster/black is much nicer).

You need M sport + pack which gives you bigger and much nicer alloys, upgraded brakes, tinted windows shadow line trim and better sound system.

Thanks all for the feedback and input.

90% of the time it's just me that's in the car however, every now and then I have adult passengers, no kiddies. My slight concern would be my parents getting in the back and mam has already firmly ruled herself out getting in the back! I think the GC would be a far better fit.

I wouldn't mind importing an m-sport GC from the UK but seeing as my knowledge of importing a car is fairly limited, I don't know if it would work.

What is the petrol version like on fuel for motorway driving?

How many miles a year are you doing?

A 428i would be a nice car if you were not doing mega annual mileage. The 428i would still be 2.0 litre but with 240bhp as opposed to 180bhp from the 420i.

bazz26 wrote: »
    How many miles a year are you doing?

A 428i would be a nice car if you were not doing mega annual mileage. The 428i would still be 2.0 litre but with 240bhp as opposed to 180bhp from the 420i.

At the minute I'm doing in the region of 15K miles per year of which 85% is motorway mileage. However, within the next year or two I'm expecting my mileage to fall significantly.

Maybe I'm jumping too fast for updating now and should hold onto my current car until I've all the heavy mileage done and then update to a 428i when petrol costs won't be an issue. I let my heart rule my head whenever I go into a car garage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

I impulse bought a 420i M-sport up in Belfast last Summer, its been a joy to drive so far. No question but you have to get the M-sport edition IMO, the 19" wheels and body trimmings just look so much better.

Although I do kinda wish I held out for a 428i for that extra 60bhp kick.

What's your budget OP?

Original budget was in around €20K, but increased to €25K at a push

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Personally id wait for a 428i m sport+ from the UK

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

I bought a M4 and my oh my what a car it is.
    I have two kids one 5 and one 8 and have two original BMW child seats in the back and there is no problem from a space perspective for them.
    If I can answer any questions please ask.
    Oh and finally only buy an M-Sport trim the others just look cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

TCP/IP wrote: »
    I have two kids one 5 and one 8 and have two original BMW child seats in the back and there is no problem from a space perspective for them.

I don't know how you deal with that. I have an f10 with 2 toddlers in back and it's grand but then tried to get my wife a 4 series GC and decided no way could we live with that - space was too tight and car was way too low down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭MarkN

I think it's the allure of an M4 that has the blinkers on as regards children in the back :P

I've two kids and I just couldn't deal with the lifting, stepping into footwells, trying to squeeze an infant seat between the pillar and the driver seat back etc - one of the reasons I knew my days with the 640 were numbered.

The spec on the car featured does look a bit on the scabby side though, if you got an M-Sport for not much more I think you'd feel you got value for money.

I don't know how you deal with that. I have an f10 with 2 toddlers in back and it's grand but then tried to get my wife a 4 series GC and decided no way could we live with that - space was too tight and car was way too low down.

I know what you mean they are not in it every day as its a weekend car I use a 5 series as a daily. For newborns, no way but toddler up its grand sure my seven-year-old gets in herself and does her own belt so I don't have to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

That's it yeah...I was happily reading away and you come along with your M4 and ruin my day because I don't have one :rolleyes:

Get one they are absolutely epic cars.

It's going to be my next car as soon as I can afford one. Mortgage gets in the way a bit!

Then again, you can live in your car....you can't drive a house :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

At the minute I'm doing in the region of 15K miles per year of which 85% is motorway mileage. However, within the next year or two I'm expecting my mileage to fall significantly.

Maybe I'm jumping too fast for updating now and should hold onto my current car until I've all the heavy mileage done and then update to a 428i when petrol costs won't be an issue. I let my heart rule my head whenever I go into a car garage!

If you're looking at a petrol get a 435i. If fuel costs aren't going to be an issue I see no reason not to buy one with a six cylinder engine. That engine is a very reliable unit as well, very well proven at this stage.

If it's too expensive to run, look at a 430d - more power and mpg and lower emissions plus car tax than a 428i, plus six cylinders for good measure.

So I rang the garage today and said I wasn't going ahead as it wasn't the m sport version and that maybe a petrol was more suited for me with 4 doors.

He said a 2016 320i m-sport car was just after coming in if I was interested in that which just throws another possibility in the mix after I was about to settle and hold off for another few months.

Is now a bad time for buying a 3 series given that it's about to be replaced in March and the current model will depreciate more rapidly over the next few months? Would it make more sense to buy something like a 330e and get the benefit of electric for short journeys? Is a 320i expensive to run on petrol on the motorway?

The more I think about it I probably should still hold off for another year and then buy something like a 428i and not worry of petrol costs. I'll probably hold off on the M4 unless I win the lotto in the meantime :D!

Here is the link to the 320i: https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/3-series/used-2016-161-bmw-3-series-bmw-f30-32-galway-fpa-201901244261465

Hold out for an auto would be advice. And widescreen nav.

I would not touch that car you linked to. Manual and not high specced at all you would take a serious hit on if you wanted to move this on at a later date.

Unless they've suddenly decided to make notchy manuals, there is no reason not to consider one just because it's a manual.

I have a manual petrol BMW and it's an absolute delight to use, slick and snappy, nicely weighted clutch. They're a bit notchy and hard to pull away but once you remove the clutch delay valve (15 minute job in a garage) they're a lovely gearbox. Give it a go, you might be pleasantly surprised!

I'd definitely go automatic if you want a diesel though, and I would agree that the wide-screen nav looks a lot better.

bazz26 wrote: »

That's a nice spec car and looks well also would hold value well as it has the right spec. You will find it hard to get a correctly specced car in Ireland.

Yeah think I’ll hold out for now. I’m in no big panic atm and would rather buy a well specced car in a years time than buying now for the sake of it.

Really like that 4 series linked and would prefer a petrol long run.

Jeez, I really get tempted when I go into a garage and go on a test drive. Just like a kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The 428 is a four cylinder petrol and fairly nippy!

I would wait till your high mileage is done. You’ll likely also save another few k in depreciation and fuel cost and not devaluing the new car with higher mileage ...

Unless they've suddenly decided to make notchy manuals, there is no reason not to consider one just because it's a manual.

I have a manual petrol BMW and it's an absolute delight to use, slick and snappy, nicely weighted clutch. They're a bit notchy and hard to pull away but once you remove the clutch delay valve (15 minute job in a garage) they're a lovely gearbox. Give it a go, you might be pleasantly surprised!

I'd definitely go automatic if you want a diesel though, and I would agree that the wide-screen nav looks a lot better.

Unless you are getting a car like an M2, M3 or M4 don't get a manual BMW it's not to do with them making bad manuals they certainly don't its just people don't want them and make it very hard to shift in the second-hand market apart from the under 20k cars where the boy racer brigade think they have to have a manual in their 320i because its sporty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭MarkN

Jeez, I really get tempted when I go into a garage and go on a test drive. Just like a kid!

You’re amongst like minded men here so ;)

MarkN wrote: »
    You’re amongst like minded men here so ;)

We can all agree on that one.

As others have said, do try to get M Sport+ and the auto box. I think both options are essential. The car looks just wrong without the M-Sport kit, particularly the 4 series which is supposed to be the sportier looking one.

Standard BMW audio is really dreadful too, its akin to listening to music via your phone speaker! So the HK upgrade is important - and it comes with the M Sport+ pack.

I think the current 3 series is still a smart looking car with the right spec, I wouldn’t really worry about the new model coming soon, especially as you are buying used anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Haggis, even the best one, will always be a haggis. Unless you are in the 1‰ that actually enjoy its complexities, you'd be better served with beef bourguignon.

grogi wrote: »
    Haggis, even the best one, will always be a haggis. Unless you are in the 1‰ that actually enjoy its complexities, you'd be better served with beef bourguignon.

Clearly you've never had the delight of a plate of good haggis, neeps and tatties. :cool::cool::cool:

Idbatterim wrote: »
    The 428 is a four cylinder petrol

That's the problem with it right there. If you want a fast petrol one OP, do it properly and get one with the correct number of cylinders. Get a 435i or a 440i, a six cylinder engine will be superior to drive in every possible way and it will sound so much nicer as well. A BMW is meant to be a driving machine, it's meant to make the driver enjoy driving it and a silky smooth nice sounding engine will help the driver do exactly that.

If you're worried that a 3.0 petrol will drain your bank account but still want some oomph then get a 430d, that at least has the six cylinders and is quicker, more economical and in a lower tax band to boot than a 428i.

Also, the engine in the 428i is starting to develop a reputation for lunching its timing chain (that also applies to the older 420is as well - the ones with the single exhaust pipe).

I think the 428 does 0-100 in 5.8! Pretty bloody fast considering my e46 325ci does it in 7.2!

Clearly you've never had the delight of a plate of good haggis, neeps and tatties. :cool::cool::cool:

I like big tatties :D :pac:

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I think the 428 does 0-100 in 5.8! Pretty bloody fast considering my e46 325ci does it in 7.2!

A six cylinder isn't just about the performance (though of course it has more) - there is only so fast you can go on public roads after all, it's about the driving experience and how the performance is delivered.

By the way the E46 330i (which is the fair comparison here) does the sprint in 6.3 seconds, so it's not that much more. The 428i only has 14 bhp more than the E46 330i despite being an engine that's 10 years newer (and turbocharged). In actual fact, it is 27 bhp down on the E92 330i it replaced.

The last of the 330is were naturally aspirated six cylinder engines as well (shame they had so much injector trouble though :pac:), so compared to the engine it replaced, you're getting an engine that has a deficit of 27 bhp, one litre and most importantly, two cylinders.

It's for all of those reasons that I just don't think the 428i is recommendable over other engines in the range.

I don't think a 435i is within the OP's budget, not to mind a 440i, even from the UK.

Unless the mileage was high , I honestly think I’d go for for the 4 cylinder petrol over a six cylinder diesel.

Listen you are preaching to the converted on my front , I have a six pot petrol bm and a 5.6L v8 as my daily!

What about M235i from the UK, had a look here and none for sale.
    That's a serious weapon of a car. Start from about £15k in the UK.

What about M235i from the UK, had a look here and none for sale.
    That's a serious weapon of a car. Start from about £15k in the UK.

There should be plenty of choice as well since they sold a relatively large number of them over there.