Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Scarlets - 25th Jan - RDS - 7.35pm.

• 24-01-2019 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Leinster: Rob Kearney, Barry Daly, Rory O’Loughlin, Conor O’Brien, James Lowe, Ciaran Frawley, Hugh O’Sullivan, Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Mick Kearney, Max Deegan, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrnce, Vakh Abdaladze, Jack Dunner, Oisin Dowling, Jamison Gibson-Park, Noel Reid, Jimmy O’Brien, Tom Prydie

Scarlets: Johnny McNicholl, Ioan Nicholas, Kieron Fonotia, Steff Hughes, Paul Asquith, Dan Jones, Kieran Hardy, Phil Price, Marc Jones, Werner Kruger, Jake Ball, David Bulbring, Tom Price, Dan Davis, Josh Macleod

Replacements: Dafydd Hughes, Dylan Evans, Simon Gardiner, Josh Helps, Ed Kennedy, Jon Evans, Morgan Williams

Nice to see Rob Kearney take the lead on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

degsie wrote: »
    Leinster: Rob Kearney, Barry Daly, Rory O’Loughlin, Conor O’Brien, James Lowe, Ciaran Frawley, Hugh O’Sullivan, Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Mick Kearney, Max Deegan, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrnce, Vakh Abdaladze, Jack Dunner, Oisin Dowling, Jamison Gibson-Park, Noel Reid, Jimmy O’Brien, Tom Prydie

Scarlets: Johnny McNicholl, Ioan Nicholas, Kieron Fonotia, Steff Hughes, Paul Asquith, Dan Jones, Kieran Hardy, Phil Price, Marc Jones, Werner Kruger, Jake Ball, David Bulbring, Tom Price, Dan Davis, Josh Macleod

Replacements: Dafydd Hughes, Dylan Evans, Simon Gardiner, Josh Helps, Ed Kennedy, Jon Evans, Morgan Williams

Nice to see Rob Kearney take the lead on this one.

Richie will have a fit when he sees Leinsters new NIQ signing.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Burkie1203 wrote: »

I'm missing the joke there.

Edit*Got it there.

Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Promising to see the comments from Lowe and Cullen on the younger guys, particularly the halfbacks for tonight:
    “The three inter-pros were important for (Frawley) because he got a lot of game-time,” says Cullen.

“He started against Ulster, came off the bench in Thomond, that 20 minutes, how you manage that scenario when we’re down to 14 men… I hope he’s going to be a better player as a result of that experience and how he slotted in against Connacht.

“He’s someone we’ve tried to invest a lot of time in and Hughie is similar — Hughie is working so hard behind the scenes and we’re trying to prepare him as best as we can.

Lowe:
    Hughie (O’Sullivan) isn’t a physically huge ridiculous athlete but, crikey, he works so hard. He has learned the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭kuang1

Eh... How come Kearney's lining out tonight? Is he that short on gametime prior to next week?

kuang1 wrote: »
    Eh... How come Kearney's lining out tonight? Is he that short on gametime prior to next week?

He's only played three times since the start of November. He desperately needs the minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Yes, that's pretty much it

Maybe he is second choice to Larmour and Joe wants him to get game time to keep him ticking over.

grenade_paratrooper_1943_700-e1416388008553.jpg

Maybe he is second choice to Larmour and Joe wants him to get game time to keep him ticking over.

grenade_paratrooper_1943_700-e1416388008553.jpg

giphy.gif

I'll be very interested to see how Jack Dunne gets on if he gets a run. It's unusual for a first year academy lock to get a run with the senior team even allowing for the guys size. There's a decent enough interview with him on the Leinster site this week where he talks about the balance of study and rugby as well as his development and learning of the game.

What jumps out is that he mentions having packed on 8kg since joining the Leinster sub-academy 18 months ago and he now stands at 6'7" and 115kg which is a serious unit for a guy who turned 20 in November.

If he does get on the field, it will be a great test for him with the Scarlets starting Bulbring and Ball who are the Scarlets first choice pairing.

Buer wrote: »
    I'll be very interested to see how Jack Dunne gets on if he gets a run. It's unusual for a first year academy lock to get a run with the senior team even allowing for the guys size. There's a decent enough interview with him on the Leinster site this week where he talks about the balance of study and rugby as well as his development and learning of the game.

What jumps out is that he mentions having packed on 8kg since joining the Leinster sub-academy 18 months ago and he now stands at 6'7" and 115kg which is a serious unit for a guy who turned 20 in November.

If he does get on the field, it will be a great test for him with the Scarlets starting Bulbring and Ball who are the Scarlets first choice pairing.

Yeah but didn't you know he get 625 points in his leaving cert and is studying theoretical physics in Trinners?

I was down in my secondary school recently and the sixth years are worryingly big units.

I'd have been in school with BOD, Cullen, Gary Browne and whilst the latter two would have been tall and broad they weren't packing any of the bulk the lads now are. It's *drastically* different, many of them look professional already so 8kg in 18 months isn't completely surprising.

troyzer wrote: »
    giphy.gif

lIi2CcL.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Murray Kinsella tweeted that he is studying theoretical physics and got over 600 points in his leaving. Not only are these young pups getting bigger, they’re getting smarter too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

stephen_n wrote: »
    Murray Kinsella tweeted that he is studying theoretical physics and got over 600 points in his leaving. Not only are these young pups getting bigger, they’re getting smarter too.

There was an interesting article last year about Michaels students and the rate they turn pro. But also about their achievements in the Leaving.

I seem to remember an average of 500 points or something among those who became pros which is insanely impressive

stephen_n wrote: »

I already suspected I was on your ignore list.

Now I know it......

There was an interesting article last year about Michaels students and the rate they turn pro. But also about their achievements in the Leaving.

I seem to remember an average of 500 points or something among those who became pros which is insanely impressive

Yeah Josh Murphy is doing medicine as well. What next, props studying quantum mechanics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I already suspected I was on your ignore list.

Now I know it......

And he wont be able to see this message either. Sad times

Bridge93 wrote: »
    And he wont be able to see this message either. Sad times

Well he can now that you've quoted me.

I am the medium through which discussion can flourish on this site

Perhaps a bridge of some sort?

There is a simple answer to that one.

Perhaps a bridge of some sort?

I would like to think so. It was a rough Christmas period on this forum. We'd do well to all get along building into the 6N when the wave of irregular posters arrive to cause chaos. Have to stick together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I just have sneaking suspicion James Lowe is going to get a try tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

any radio station i can hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,720 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Looks like Frawley injured himself in a tackle.

Seems ok now but he was rolling on the ground while being treated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Clegg wrote: »
    Looks like Frawley injured himself in a tackle.

He’s grand!

That was nasty for Bullbring.

Oh Rob!!
    Fresh air tackle

Lowe didn't even look when he passed that and that was a poor missed tackle from Kearney.

Not what you want to see from your senior players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Terrible attempt at a tackle from Kearney.
    Great turnover from Frawley.

Sensational tackle there from Kearney, absolutely nailed the air, air actually looked slow getting back up there.

Kearney with a second awful attempt at a tackle.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Has Kearney been on the pints? Made a fool of twice in 12 minutes.

Eh....I think the lights are in Rob’s eyes.
    Another miss
    Rusteee

Kearney is in that awkward position of being short on match sharpness and also having to mind himself for a bigger game in a few weeks.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Clegg wrote: »
    Kearney is in that awkward position of being short on match sharpness and also having to mind himself for a bigger game in a few weeks.

He’s playing like someone who thinks he shouldn’t have to play these matches. Not interested so far.

Frawley developing that awful habit of repeating mistakes. The more ginger Finn Russell, if you will.

Addison for FB

Sorry that's just negligent from Kearney.

HOS needs to really work on his passing. Very few hitting the target properly. Frawley is a great kicker from the tee but his kicking from hand is poor. Not just the two kicks that were blocked but his line kicking is short and he doesn't seem to connect very well.

Harsh on Kearney there I thought.
    Off his leg.

Great take by Daly but very risky pass, AGAIN by Frawley.

Is that actually rust on RK
    Or just old man hair

This is one of the worst opening 20 minutes I can remember in quite a while.

Skills from both sides are very poor. Understandable due to the amount of absentees, but still disappointing to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

A performance from Kearney so far that's bordering on alarming...

Frawley got like 5 metres from that kick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Quint2010 wrote: »
    A performance from Kearney so far that's bordering on alarming...

We all realise that the only reason he's on the pitch is to get rid of the rust, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Best pass from the base so far and it's a winger.

This is brutal from both sides. I didn't expect Leinster to win with that 6-10 but I was hoping for some promising play which I'm yet to see. The front five are giving a very solid platform at set piece but general play on both sides of the ball is very inaccurate.

Frawley is officially banned from kicking from hand.