If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.
Hello all! This is just a quick reminder to ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere.

Speed or distance?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ DeepBlue

Mon 28/09 - **Abandoned** - Planned to a 7 miles general aerobic for this run. Straight after starting I felt some pain shooting up my right calf when it was supporting my weight. Debated briefly whether to continue on in the hope that it might ease off but decided not to risk it and try resting it instead. I suspect this niggle might have been caused by finishing off last week's run fast and downhill.

Thu 01/10 - 5.19mi 45:02 8:40/mi 95ft 154bpm - Took a few extra days off the plan to see if that would be enough for the niggle. Lashing rain all day so when I texted the lads if they were still doing the planned run I was surprised to get a positive response. This meant I couldn't wimp out. Handy run, no issues and no niggles. All good; happy days.

Sat 03/10 - 3.81mi 38:28 10.06/mi 105ft 138bpm - I can't really call this a run. It was meant to be a not parkrun but I went out way too fast and totally overcooked it. Had to stop after one and a half miles to get the HR back down and then the niggle reappeared. Bugger. Out of habit walked the rest of the not parkrun. Managed to get going again slowly on grass. Met Treviso from these parts while he was waiting for his 10K TT wave to start so the morning wasn't a total washout.

Weekly total: 9.75mi
    Year to date: 988.56mi

• Registered Users Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭ diego_b

Well done on the run...that's great going with the achilles now, fingers crossed for you that it keeps in good nick.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,883 ✭✭✭ Murph_D

Nice one, congrats on getting most of the results you wanted.

I really enjoyed this race. Glad I wasn't planning to keep an eye on the pacers all the same - must be the sh*ttest pacing baloons yet. The ones I saw sailing off before the start looked they came from the nearest party balloon shop, and not the top of the range either. That St. Catherine's pacer sounds the business though, kudos to him.

Can't believe you didn't mention the hill at 700m to go!

@Murph_D

Can't believe you didn't mention the hill at 700m to go!

The report was getting into War and Peace type length so I had to cut something. 😄 Actually that hill allowed me to get back a few places as a handy number of runners stopped dead on it.

I also neglected to mention the 60 years+ Eagle AC runner that flew past me as if I was standing still at around the 7.5 mile mark and, according to the results, gained two minutes in the remaining 2.5 miles. 🙈 He was ripping along. 

7 - 13th Feb

Tue 8th Feb

5.2k Club Training 4x1000 intervals (4.18, 4.28, 4.26, 4.28) I scoffed at my watch when it told me I needed 70 hours recovery after Dungarvan as I felt I hadn't really gone that hard but tbh I felt it a bit still in the legs for this effort.

4k Very easy assisting with the club C25k group. 7.22m/km avg. Time on feet really. HR: 129avg, 166max

Thu 10th Feb

10.1k Easy run 6.23m/km avg 65min. This was meant to be a 45 min run but I got lost. Strange how at the start of the run the pace seemed way too easy and at the end it felt like marathon pace. HR: 133avg, 147max

5.66k 5.58m/km avg 33min. Assisting again at the club C25k. Wet and cold. Time on feet again. HR: 131avg, 166max

Fri 11th Feb

3.5k Club Training Intervals 3x150 (29,26,27) and 3x110 (21,21,20) Enjoyed these short punchy intervals. 

Sat 12th Feb

9.3k 50 mins alternating 9min easy and one minute hard. I quite enjoyed this twist on the easy run. Took in the parkrun as part of it although I'm not sure what the person I was chatting to thought when I suddenly took off at speed when my watch beeped. 😳 Did a poor job of keeping the easy segments easy. HR: 152avg, 170max

37.9k for the week

14 - 20th Feb

Tue 15th Feb

7.1k Club Training 3x1500 with 3min recovery (7.04,7.02,7.13) Another enjoyable (is that the right word?) interval session

4.8k Assisting again with the club C25K. Slow easy plod at about 6.16m/km avg with 30min moving. HR: 135avg, 157max

Thu 17th Feb

5.5k Another easy plod at 6.19m/km avg for 35min. Got soaked to the skin but it's still good fun. HR: 143avg, 161max

Fri 18th Feb

Club Training 5x200 with approx 2.5 min recovery (38,37,37,38,38). Another enjoyable interval session.

Sat 19th Feb

7km - An easy parkrun with a little extra at 6.17m/km. Paced my brother to a new parkrun PB. Sadly he's now injured as a result. 😳 HR: 133avg, 147max

I realised this week that I made a big blunder with my training. The plan was to do the Hanson Half marathon plan for Cork City Half but I somehow only counted back 12 weeks instead of the 18 for Hanson. This meant I was now starting the plan two weeks late. Bummer! Better late than never I guess.

Sun 20th Feb

The plan was to to get out for a 6m easy run but with Franklin blowing hard I figured with my luck I'd probably be taken out by a loose roof tile so played it safe and stayed indoors.

27.8k for the week

Nice report of the race and the organizers were very helpful in fairness to them. Well done on the run and finding a nice bit of motivation to finish strong...can't beat a pb!

Hanson Half-Marathon plan for Cork - Week 5 of 16

Mar 14th - Mar 20th

Mon 14th

4 mile easy. Did this again on the local grass sports ground where the perimeter grass track is on a hill. Average 10.45/mile with HR avg of 132. Nice sunny day and was starting to get some sweat on the forehead by the end. Could spring finally have arrived?

Tue 15th

Intervals day! Looking through the plan I decided this week was a good candidate to jump forward a week so today was 4x1200 @ 5K pace. I've been struggling to get the intervals right over the last few weeks so decided instead to just program it into the watch. That way I don't have to be counting laps and the watch would alert me if I was off pace. This worked out very well and the result was much more consistent than previous weeks. A fore-shortened warm up and generous cooldown brought this in at 11.29 miles.

Wed 16th

Rest day.

Thu 17th

4mi Tempo was on the plan. However I had a race on Sunday. Normally the advice on the plan if racing is to swap out the long run for the tempo. However the long run was 12 miles which I thought might be a bit too much prior to the race so settled instead for an easy, hilly 8 miles (if that's not an oxymoron). Averaged 9.26/mile and avg HR of 138bpm. I quite enjoy these hilly runs which is just as well as it's mainly hilly around me and I'm spoiled for choice regarding hills!

Fri 18th

6mi easy today and opted to keep it hilly (which was front loaded to the start) which was then followed by quite a bit of downhill. A bit windy out and average pace of 9.25/mile with 138bpm again the avg HR.

Sat 18th

Another 6mi easy was on the plan but I had a busy day and my right ankle was complaining a little louder than usual about the two previous hilly runs. This all helped to decide on a micro taper instead ahead of the race the following day.

Sun 20th

Race - Mallow 10 - Report to follow.

Just very slightly shy of 40 miles for the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,310 ✭✭✭ Mr. Guappa

I missed this log restarting but I'm up to speed now - hopefully you keep the log going because those three recent race reports are a great read. Congrats on the PB in Mallow - it seems like you judged the race very well. I found your comment on Mallow being not as popular as Dungarvan interesting - the numbers confirm this but I must say I couldn't really fault it as a race and look forward to going back some day. Happy for Mallow AC as a club too - they had to cancel the 2020 race at short notice when covid landed, absorbing plenty of costs no doubt, but they had no problem issuing refunds - glad to support them this year.

Best of luck with the Half training - I'll follow with interest (now that you've reverted to imperial 😉)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭ py

Great PB run at the weekend. This imperial stuff is a nightmare though, pair of ye in it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Great report & race! Well done on the PB😊

Thanks for your very kind comments A and, of course, congrats yourself on your return to racing - a reward for your patience and persistence over the last couple of years and, no doubt, a prelude to more performances to come.

While my comments on the perceived popularity of Mallow 10 Mile were simply my subjective reading of the buzz or lack thereof regarding the race from runners of my acquaintance, social media buzz etc I certainly didn't want to give the impression that it was lesser than any other race. As you mentioned in your own report the start point is fantastic and I think it had the best course of the three races I did this year. Dungarvan has that leg-killing two mile drag at the end and Adare is very lumpy. Mallow, by contrast, has any climbing front loaded at the start and the rest is relatively downhill or flat, more or less. Also even location wise it's pretty accessible for Cork, Limerick, Tipp and Kerry runners (more so than Dungarvan) and it's on a rail line. I'll be back next year anyhow. They also seemed to have loads of enthusiastic marshals and support here and there out on the course.

It's just that it's so much easier to run 10 mile than face into running 16km 🤪

Mind you I still use kms for the bike. A 100k ride just seems more satisfying than a 62 mile one. 😆

• Registered Users Posts: 7,310 ✭✭✭ Mr. Guappa

Oh I never meant to imply an anti-Mallow bias on your part 😀. Your comments were spot on.

Great point regarding the marshalls as well - plenty of them and they were full of encouragement and direction.

Very well done on the pb and a well paced race, good to see the reward for pushing ahead of the pacer as well....can be hard to call that sometimes but given your finish time you were well ahead of them. Keep up the good work.

Excellent to PB during HM training. Congrats.

Noticed your comment about difficulty hitting 5k pace during the speed sessions. Make sure to target actual 5k pace, not the one associated with goal time. They track pretty well in my experience. You can always adjust later as your fitness improves. Overdoing the speed sessions will put you at risk. I’ve always found the speed the most difficult part of that plan actually, because the volume of speedwork is quite challenging.

Nice work all round.

Thanks @Murph_D . Good advice especially as I tend towards injury when I chase speed. For these speed sessions at the start I used my most recent hard parkrun and then adjusted using tinman's calculator with my race results to find the appropriate pace to aim for as I haven't raced any 5ks up until this week since I started the block.

I think there's been quite a few reasons for not quite hitting the paces - inexperience at intervals, inexperience on track, shoe choice, they're f**ing hard 😆 etc. Letting the watch do the thinking and tracking definitely helps and I'm not as concerned about "nailing" the speed sessions as much as getting the tempo sessions right. The book appears to suggest that the tempo and strength workouts will tell whether the goal time is achievable or not and I'm as happy going a bit slower on the speed sessions if it lessens injury risk especially if the tempo sessions are on point.

Well done on your race D and nice to meet you (thanks for identifying yourself as I'd never have known otherwise). You ran another good race there, it is a fast course that one but that hill in the last K is a bit of tester. I do find the run all the way down to the track a good finish as you feel like you're just picking up pace all the time.

Congrats to you and the rest of your team on your prize. It was great to see the good numbers (and growing every year) as the race as it's a favourite event of mine every year...the location moves around but it's very accessible especially across the masters age categories.

Well done on your race and pulling out another good time, that course sounds like fun!