Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are people that thick. Facebook "Competitions"

• 12-01-2019 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

I keep seeing these come up in FB where friends have shared and liked posts to "win competitions". They're a complete scam. This one came up earlier today.

https://www.facebook.com/Audi-Fans-355299695285423/

How do people fall for this ****e? 31k have already commented/liked the post to "win" the car. I'm beginning to think I should unfollow these people to be honest.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Cheers OP, liked and shared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

CosmicFool wrote: »
    ........Are people that thick...........

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bennyineire

It appears they are, I keep calling people out on Facebook when they fall for this **** but they'll do the same **** the very next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I thought that ****e had pretty much finished. It was rife a few years ago, or maybe I’m unfollowing the stupid people now.
    It appears they are, I keep calling people out on Facebook when they fall for this **** but they'll do the same **** the very next day

The mentality is “sure what’s the harm, if I don’t win I don’t win”
    What ends up happening is the page they’re following gets sold to someone who reinvents it as something completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

A white van have been spotted around the town suspected of abducting children. This is no joke.

The fact that most delivery vans are white is going to make them hard to spot so be vigilant.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Reminds me of this thread a few years back.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057470414

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

"People" in general are very stupid. Never be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I've worked it out, why I'm only seeing updates from 24 of my friends. The new Facebook algorithm can be reset by copying and sharing this post onto your time line......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

OMG! Liked, loved and shared! Would love to win this for my little boy Mikey who was born without a head and who has never hand anything nice happen to him. Would totally make his day but nothing good ever happens for me. GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

AllForIt wrote: »
    A white van have been spotted around the town suspected of abducting children. This is no joke.

The fact that most delivery vans are white is going to make them hard to spot so be vigilant.

It's the white van with the driver who looks a bit 'foreign'.

Stay safe, huns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

OMG! Liked, loved and shared! Would love to win this for my little boy Mikey who was born without a head and who has never hand anything nice happen to him. Would totally make his day but nothing good ever happens for me. GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!

Unfortunately for Mikey, the prize is a hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Yes, people are thick.

There's already a FB thread. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The same people who shares this are the one's who are obsessed with men in white van kidnapping children, the Gardai driving with UK number plates, weird cancer treatments and every sob story going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

i actually manage a FB page, and we regularly run compos. not for brand new Audis sadly, just the odd 50 quid voucher.
    we always select and notify winners.

it is a great way to spread word about your business, and the winners (and their friends) help in that process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Yes people are idiots. Saw one shared today to win an Audi S3. Unfortunately the Christmas winner Nicki M from Melbourne didn’t claim her prize so just share and comment ‘done’ to win the car. Of course this was the first post on the page but thousands of people still fall for it.

Edit: LOL, just clicked on the link...same one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Dont get me started on the Liberal.ie!! Smyths toys +pennys vouchers every god dam day!!

The other worse type Iv seen was afew months ago for a trip to visit Santa. There was no company name, no website, no dates of travel, no name of where you are actualy going! Then when i clicked onto the main page it was clearly full of spam +click bait articles from afew months previously!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I keep seeing these come up in FB where friends have shared and liked posts to "win competitions". They're a complete scam. This one came up earlier today.

How do people fall for this ****e? 31k have already commented/liked the post to "win" the car. I'm beginning to think I should unfollow these people to be honest.

48k comments...

Dont get me started on the Liberal.ie!! Smyths toys +pennys vouchers every god dam day!!

I worry for the intelligence of people I know who follow the liberal and share their posts.

I saw one recently from a 'holiday company' for a cruise or something, they tagged the winner of the last competition as lets say Mary Murphy, when you hovered over Mary's name/clicked into 'her' profile. Her name was now Geraldine Flynn or whatever.
    'Geraldine' had also entered this 'competition'. I mentioned this in the comments on the 'competition' and earned myself a blocking. :pac:
    The Liberal use this set up a few fake profiles with pictures and posts and keep changing the names on the profiles gag for their competitions as well I believe.

F*cking hate those like and share and comment competitions, even the genuine ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Ahh FFS, I call them facebook fools, do you ever read their comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Ugh. UGH.

My ma is terrible for it. I love her so much but honestly. The amount of times she’s commented “liked and shared” on a post that’s an advert for a holiday. It even says €1287 pp in the post but she assumes it’s a competition.

The same with “I know only 5 people will care and share” posts, “I finally fixed seeing people’s posts” and the obligatory “I do not give facebook permission to use my pictures.”

She’s not a stupid woman. It’s tealky taking its toll on the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I thought “Like & Share” competitions were against facebook Ts&Cs?

Either way, they’re part of the reason I closed my FB account. It’s nice to have that much less stupidity in my life.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

dudara wrote: »

Either way, they’re part of the reason I closed my FB account. It’s nice to have that much less stupidity in my life.

If you like and share this post, 1 cent goes to absolutely nobody.

Comps died down for a bit but back in full force again. I only browse fb the odd time but tempted to get rid of it with this crap clogging up my feed again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Well if was on Facebook it must be kosher.

(Can I say that still? Kosher?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

dense wrote: »
    Well if was on Facebook it must be kosher.

(Can I say that still? Kosher?)

No. That's Jewish cultural appropriation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

Zaph wrote: »
    Cheers OP, liked and shared.

I had the sh!ttest day and I’m just after reading this and it just made me burst out laughing, thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭tenbob1

We done one last year, the lady that won was genuinely shocked when she came in to collect her prize. She reckoned they were all scams, and in fairness most are, the local business ones though are usually genuine.

(we only had 200 entries, :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

I just report the pages as scams and move on with my life. I couldn't be arsed telling people that they're fake anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Back in the day there was a viral email doing the rounds that let is know that if you’re withdrawing money from an atm and if you get mugged, all you need to do is type your pin backwards and the guards will be notified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

But those I phones/ rangerovers CANT be sold (for some weird reason ) so have to be given away....right ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

From what I gather ur just meant to like and/share the particular post to enter the competition. Getting ppl to like the page, sharing, and tagging 2 frends etc isnt allowed
    I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Gregory Ambitious Frisbee

These are the same people who like/follow Cian Twomey, Rory's Stories and influencers/Bloggers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

'Just comment 'DONE' and you're in the draw.'
    'Done. I wud luv ta win the holiday me ma was knocked down by a mr price van on monday and broke her gee and it wud cheer her right up if i told her we wer off to cork for the weekend espeshally as me brothers in wheatfield after bean cot sellin cans of fake lynx'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 DaverageJoe

These are the same people who like/follow Cian Twomey, Rory's Stories and influencers/Bloggers

And the same people who'll spend days\weeks arguing over some stupid thing on boards. Every crevice of the internet is filled with people wasting their time with some manner of bull**** thinking their going to achieve something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

But I did win!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

tenbob1 wrote: »
    We done one last year, the lady that won was genuinely shocked when she came in to collect her prize. She reckoned they were all scams, and in fairness most are, the local business ones though are usually genuine.

(we only had 200 entries, :( )
    She reckoned they're a scam yet entered it. :D

Those "der a scam" comments to genuine company competitions must make the writers feel so woke. What they mean though is "I never win anything so therefore it must not exist."

There was one competition run by an interiors shop where a guy was complaining about the high number of entries reducing people's (i.e. his) chance of winning. :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've won at least eight that I can think of, one was fairly epic - a pair of tickets to the Irish premiere of 10 Cloverfield Lane in Cineworld IMAX, a week before general release. I've also won a bunch of booze related ones, involving either hampers of craft beer delivered to the gaff, or free bottles of vodka in my favourite nightclubs on Saturday nights. ;) Also won a last minute ticket to the Trinity Ball back in 2011 or 2012.

So they're very definitely not always a scam. I wouldn't consider myself a particularly lucky person in the normal run of things either.

ALL of these competitions were either Like & Share on Facebook, or Like & Retweet on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kurtainsider

All the distrust and cynicism on here! Next we'll have someone come on here and try to tell us that life saving surgery on babies can actually be carried out without 10,000 Likes.

Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

I deleted facebook ages ago and im glad i did. The missus tells me about some posts which come up on her timeline and by **** im glad i no longer have it. Idiots. Alot of them seem to come out on those Facebook buying and selling pages. Dopes.

Now if i could only get off Twitter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Ah bugger. I was going to drive that Audi to the hotel in London to meet the widow of the ex president of Equatorial Sudan. She has $100m for me. Will just have to take a taxi so.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Is he still a thing? Was funny at the start but got boring pretty quickly.

edit: jaysus he has over 5.5 million facebook followers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

[Rory's Stories

Actually that guy, and his girlfriend, are great examples of the problem with Facebook. A couple of genuine funny comedians made a break through thanks to Facebook and then every lad who prided themselves on being the joker of their Friday night pub gang decided to start making videos that are just painful to watch. Now it's impossible to find good new comedians because there are too many unfunny egos out there like those two.

Because there is no filter or quality control on Facebook you end up with the interesting stuff being drowned out by dross and scams. There are genuine competitions out there (I won a book from a local shop a few Christmases ago) and those could be a valuable source of advertising for those businesses. But now I don't even look at any of those posts because I automatically assume they are spam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

dudara wrote: »

They are/were but FB dont seem to enforce it anymore.

They were hardcore on policing it when announced first. They killed many a page for doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

I've won at least 20 of those "like and share" competitions on Facebook, received every prize I won too.

Some are scams. If they're offering a 30k Euro car, it's a scam. If they're offering something worth a couple of hundred and they have 1-5k likes on their page, it's probably genuine.

I don't enter many, maybe one a week, I just got lucky and won an awful lot of the ones I did enter.

I've won gig tickets three or four times, meal vouchers, vaping stuff, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

I used to call people out on it but I've given up at this stage. I've seen a lot of ATM skimming posts of late too. Always k****ers who post them too. Wonder is is legit or are they just looking for attention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭t1h9mgqsxopj0r

I don't use FB. I haven't over 2 years. Are people still watching them????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Gregory Ambitious Frisbee

I don't use FB. I haven't over 2 years. Are people still watching them????

the facebook blocker works now so I don't see anyone who shares or likes it....brother says he's still doing the same schtick, I'm surprised Twomey is still going as its the same "joke" over and over, him screaming loudly, dressed as a woman.....suppose its the Mrs Browns audience he appeals to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

If they are on Facebook they are thick to begin with, Snapchat is for teenagers and Instagram is for part-time prostitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

theguzman wrote: »
    If they are on Facebook they are thick to begin with, Snapchat is for teenagers and Instagram is for part-time prostitutes.

What about Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Are people that thick??

well considering this is the most popular programme on xmas TV for the past 5 years

.....the answer is a definitive......
    YES!