Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have we reached Peak Beard ?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Gravelly wrote: »

There are easy to spot - they are the ones that get all offended when you describe them as hipsters.
    You think this is wit but it is not. The general view you give is you think you are superior when it is obvious you are clueless. You sound like an old lady talking about the youth of today basking in ignorance. Kind of sad because it will just get worse as you age.
    It doesn't offend me what people say I am just a sad reflection on them. Willful ignorance is nothing to ever admire or want.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Hoboo wrote: »
    I'd love to see a phase of Hitler moustaches for the sheep. Be hilarious.
    When Movember was on recently, a lad in work asked me to sponsor him. This was towards the end of the month, and he had this horrible Mexican bandito moustache. I said I'd sponsor him €20 if he transformed it into a Hitler moustache for the last day.

I paid him up front, but he failed to become Hitler... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 21,458 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

That probably applies to neck beards more than the full-face type.

We've 3 IT lads working in our head office, all are fat, all dress like bums, and all have neck beards.

Raises hand as self confessed/professed fat, hobo attired, neckbeard, and proud of it! I'm not in IT but data analytics.

People keep asking me about their PC issues, perhaps your post explains why. :):D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Beards are overratted, lots of women don't like them. Whenever I have a beard the only reason for it is that I'm too lazy to shave

• Registered Users Posts: 21,458 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Greyfox wrote: »
    Beards are overratted, lots of women don't like them. Whenever I have a beard the only reason for it is that I'm too lazy to shave

I get given out to by herself whenever I shave my beard.
    Lots of women don't like them, but lots do too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Beards are overratted, lots of women don't like them.

Lots of women don't like smear tests either. They must be overrated.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

A beard looks way better on a silver fox :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Lots of women don't like smear tests either. They must be overrated.

Have we reached peak smear test too then?

Tough for me to comment without the requisite equipment. Beards I can help you with.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    You think this is wit but it is not. The general view you give is you think you are superior when it is obvious you are clueless. You sound like an old lady talking about the youth of today basking in ignorance. Kind of sad because it will just get worse as you age.
    It doesn't offend me what people say I am just a sad reflection on them. Willful ignorance is nothing to ever admire or want.

See you sound REALLY offended.

Tough for me to comment without the requisite equipment. Beards I can help you with.

Considering you brought it up, I thought you had more to add.

Makes a strange post even stranger

Considering you brought it up, I thought you had more to add.

Makes a strange post even stranger

Why would I want to talk about smear tests in a thread about beards? Now that would be strange. Maybe you should start your own thread on that topic if you have questions.

I brought it up to point out that just because a group don't like something, doesn't make it automatically overrated. Didn't think it warranted explanation.

See you sound REALLY offended.
    . I am not offended by names. What you see as me being offended is an explanation of how willful ignorance is a sad thing. You want to offend me but it isn't going your way.
    I am doing this to pass time nothing more.

Why would I want to talk about smear tests in a thread about beards? Now that would be strange. Maybe you should start your own thread on that topic if you have questions.

I brought it up to point out that just because a group don't like something, doesn't make it automatically overrated. Didn't think it warranted explanation.

Yeah, it would be strange :confused:

Bloody weird post, weird follow up post, and even weirder follower upper post.

Feck this, I'm off to have some beardcrumbs

Yeah, it would be strange :confused:

Bloody weird post, weird follow up post, and even weirder follower upper post.

Feck this, I'm off to have some beardcrumbs

Cool, cool. Things are always weird to people who don't understand.

. I am not offended by names. What you see as me being offended is an explanation of how willful ignorance is a sad thing. You want to offend me but it isn't going your way.

a6f965536fdee4911834c31293bf2691.jpeg

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Kimbot wrote: »
    Ditto :P

Reasons why I have beard
    1. Only thing I can openly stroke in a meeting
    2. Gives gravitas and weight to anything I say
    3. Get to the the bearded bro nod
    4. It's the only hair I can grow
    5. I'm the evil twin. Although he is also bearded. So he is also?
    6. When I've no beard, I feel like the default facebook avatar.
    7. No longer called the bald guy. Now it's the bald guy with the beard.
    8. Winter is coming
    9. Hate shaving

Cool, cool. Things are always weird to people who don't understand.

True, I've always been a bit beird

MarkR wrote: »
    Reasons why I have beard
    1. Only thing I can openly stroke in a meeting
    2. Gives gravitas and weight to anything I say
    3. Get to the the bearded bro nod
    4. It's the only hair I can grow
    5. I'm the evil twin. Although he is also bearded. So he is also?
    6. When I've no beard, I feel like the default facebook avatar.
    7. No longer called the bald guy. Now it's the bald guy with the beard.
    8. Winter is coming
    9. Hate shaving

On the last one, I had a beard for a while back in the day, and I found the bloody thing took more trimming and shaving that not having one at all.

Pretty sure this sums up the whole debate anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Next in thing, man buns!

Anytime I have a beard, it's down to pure laziness. I don't like shaving so sometimes put it off til the last possible minute. Once the hair gets a certain length, it just starts to drive me mad and it has to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,981 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I can never understand the enmity towards the young, the hipsters-the men who do things differently to me meaning they do things wrongly.

Some people have beards, some people don't. Some people care more about their appearance than others. Some people put more effort into their appearance than others.

People who socialise with each other tend to grow similarities with each other. Groups tend to dress alike and behave alike. It's nothing new and I'd be surprised if it doesn't apply to the people who get upset about hipsters.

Whether it's old boys down the pub wearing a tweed suit, or the middle aged men with beige chimps and a short sleeve shirt or the hipsters with shinny jeans and a beard. People dress in particular ways and I think it would be better for everyone if they allowed each other to dress as they like without getting bent out of shape about it.

a6f965536fdee4911834c31293bf2691.jpeg
    And yet none of those people look like what people described earlier. Where is the slicked back hair and skinny jeans. Basically proving my point that both aren't hipsters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Rennaws wrote: »
    Whatever about the beards I just can’t get my head around the no socks
    When I had to go into town and pay for an hour on the internet there was a guy there with almost no hair and a ponytail, and a formal jacket with the sleeves rolled up almost to his elbows.
    Before that it was guys in suits in the street shouting on their "mobile phones" about deals and meetings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

When I had to go into town and pay for an hour on the internet there was a guy there with almost no hair and a ponytail, and a formal jacket with the sleeves rolled up almost to his elbows.
    Before that it was guys in suits in the street shouting on their "mobile phones" about deals and meetings.

Sound like right back to the 80’s.

Like history, fashion does just go round and round in one big circle.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

Hipster monobrows for 2019 hopefully

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I’ve had a goatee beard on and off since I was 20 and in college, so 23 years now. Never followed fashion trends and I have dreadful dress sense for a gay man.:pac:

Peak beard happened about 2016/7 I reckon. Those Taliban filthy long things on young lads look ridiculous. Hipsters have moved on - the beard is so ubiquitous now that it’s probably “uncool” to them.

Full beards generally suit older men: ie over 45.