Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a tinker's curse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I think it's more of an insult rather than anything.
    A widow's curse was a very powerful statement.

I'm sure there's old law's against it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Winnie Ward in Ballinasloe was a great wonan for putting a tinker’s curse on someone for you. £20 is what she charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

Is he a traveler?

Because it doesn't mention it in the article.

Standard Irish media I suppose.

"oh noes we can't mention d'travelers in this negative article cause it'll paint the poor isolated minority badly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Muckka wrote: »
    I think it's more of an insult rather than anything.
    A widow's curse was a very powerful statement.

I'm sure there's old law's against it...

will any type of candle do? or does it have to be a particular type/brand? is midnight the best time to perform this ritual?

just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Cina wrote: »
    Is he a traveler?

"oh noes we can't mention d'travelers in this negative article cause it'll paint the poor isolated minority badly"

Both have traveler names

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

We already had the first Dole bashing thread of 2019 and now we have the first traveller bashing thread of 2019. Great to see after hours exploring new topics this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Is he a traveler?

Surname is Joyce. Face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle. Threatening to put a curse on someone. You don’t need to be Poirot to work out he’s a member of our native ethnic minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Huntline

We already had the first Dole bashing thread of 2019 and now we have the first traveller bashing thread of 2019. Great to see after hours exploring new topics this year.

And now we have the first idiot standing up for travellers and scroungers. Great to see you didn't receive any cop on over the holidays!

Surname is Joyce. Face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle. Threatening to put a curse on someone. You don’t need to be Poirot to work out he’s a member of our native ethnic minority.

"Mr Joyce has 68 previous convictions, including 45 road traffic offences that include three for no insurance, four for driving without a licence and two for dangerous driving."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/your-family-will-die-man-jailed-for-placing-lurid-curse-on-garda-37694521.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

That's so original and interesting.

Given your comments on the thread about the drag kid, you aren't in much of a position to be virtue signalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is Justice Durkin the ex FG guy? Has a reputation for tough sentences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

In our part of the country, the name of the Garda involved would be considered a "traveller name" :D

Huntline wrote: »
    And now we have the first idiot standing up for travellers and scroungers. Great to see you didn't receive any cop on over the holidays!

Great to see that you and the majority in this thread have nothing better to do than slate travellers what wonderful lives ye must be living.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    In our part of the country, the name of the Garda involved would be considered a "traveller name" :D

wasn't Jimmy Joyce a great traveller? he spent a lot of time in Paris with that Barnacle wan from Galway, and sure wasn't he haf-cut most of the time, writin all that sh11te about walking around Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Ah give him a break.
    Insp Tom Kennedy said that Mr Joyce has 68 previous convictions, including 45 road traffic offences that include three for no insurance, four for driving without a licence and two for dangerous driving.

The poor lad obviously has some kind of curse placed on him that prevents him from acting as a normal citizen, driving with due care, obeying laws and paying taxes.

Light a candle for the poor chap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Great to see that you and the majority in this thread have nothing better to do than slate travellers what wonderful lives ye must be living.

Didn’t you out yourself as a nonce yesterday? You’re hardly one to be getting all morally superior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

His solicitor said he was on drugs his whole life but recently became clean and this caused huge mental fallout

So it’s always about the drugs , even when they are “clean” it’s the drugs

https://m.herald.ie/news/i-will-light-a-candle-for-your-family-to-die-driver-told-garda-in-curse-37694329.html

His solicitor said he was on drugs his whole life but recently became clean and this caused huge mental fallout

So it’s always about the drugs , even when they are “clean” it’s the drugs

https://m.herald.ie/news/i-will-light-a-candle-for-your-family-to-die-driver-told-garda-in-curse-37694329.html

Obviously those 68 convictions piled up instantly during this "huge mental fallout".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I am no fan of travellers, but imho the Guard in question took this one a bit personally and OTT.

I am sure the Gardai hear threats all the time.

I would be more scared by one that said "I'm going to come round your house and burn you out or attack your family" rather than someone threatening to put a curse on me and my family, considering this isn't possible.

Maybe the Guard was very superstitious?

Curses.

gypsy-curse.jpg

Didn’t you out yourself as a nonce yesterday? You’re hardly one to be getting all morally superior

Nope but don't let that stop you from making those false claims about me.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Maybe the Guard was very superstitious?

Or she was just sick and tired of dealing with the stupidity of certain groups?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

This thread is as original as your response.

Skookum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Looks like somebody put the evil eye on him.

20%20NEWS%20190108_Ennis_Court_M%202.jpg

Well it's not like you can "see" evidence of people having nothing better to do than slate travellers (spot the person who has never had to deal with the problems caused by many members of said group) but keep making wind-up comments like nails in a coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Is he a traveler?

If it pleases the court M'lord I would like to draw attention to what could best be described as "the big fúcking mallet head on him"

He is of course a traveller.

The prosecution rests.

We'll if it's not the self proclaimed creep. Taking a break from supporting nonces are you, the travellers need your help now do they?

Interesting company you keep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Huntline wrote:

Not just travellers he stands up for. Check out the thread about the 11year old drag kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Are you defending all travellers or are you keeping form, by only being interested in just the scantily clad preteens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Traditionally, the expression "I wouldn't give a tinker's curse"

was equivalent to I wouldn't give a toss etc - meaning, something of small value.

I say this meaning no disrespect towards law-abiding Travellers, of whom there are many.

Day Lewin wrote:
    I say this meaning no disrespect towards law-abiding Travellers, of whom there are many.

lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Do you reckon if the Garda had ripped off the wing mirror and pointed it at him as he cursed her, the curse would have been on him?

Just trying to save lives here folks.

Uncharted wrote: »
    Are you defending all travellers or are you keeping form, by only being interested in just the scantily clad preteens?

All travellers should be respected and their rights protected.

Their "rights" to threaten the lives of guards families?

That's not a right I'm talking about humanitarian rights among others.

Rights also come with responsibilities. Out traveller friends need to learn that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

What about children? You’re fairly loose with the protection of those rights.
    And no, not “all travellers” should be respected. Equally not all white people should be respected, black people, etc etc.. because some arent worthy of it.
    Respect is earned, and if you act like a massive thuggish arsehole, no one is going to respect that. Don’t know why I’m even bothering engaging with you tbh because I’m sure you’re on another wind up but failing miserably and just making yourself look like a weirdo in the process.

DontThankMe is having a good laugh folks.

It's about time people no longer bit (me included).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There's 'drawing the tinkers on you'.

And there's 'drawing the guards on you'.

Neither a good idea. Be interesting to see how this all pans out for Joyce and his family over the longer term. He has asked for it.

What about children? .

Well, I wouldn't let him babysit, lets leave it at that:eek:

Don’t know why I’m even bothering engaging with you tbh because I’m sure you’re on another wind up but failing miserably and just making yourself look like a weirdo in the process.

That ship sailed yesterday in the drag kid thread!

Either a troll or a nonce - either way not worth talking to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Huntline wrote: »

You need to see the thread about the eleven year old drag queen, he's been making friends over there too.

Glazers Out!

Hello I am looking to purchase a camera and take up amateur photography. I don't know which camera would suit a beginner like myself so I has hoping to get some advice on the most suitable camera I could purchase. I will mostly likely be photographing outdoors as I'm not interested in photographing people at this stage. I was browsing some sites and I found this camera I don't know if it is any good or not for a beginner?

Hmmm.....

JayZeus wrote: »

pure evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

topper75 wrote: »
    There's 'drawing the tinkers on you'.

And there's 'drawing the guards on you'.

Neither a good idea. Be interesting to see how this all pans out for Joyce and his family over the longer term. He has asked for it.

Short prison sentence, water off a duck's back for his kind.
    Not a deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,596 ✭✭✭✭josip

JayZeus wrote: »
    Curses.

gypsy-curse.jpg

Which of the Gallagher brothers is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

All travellers should be respected...

I find it difficult to respect Travellers who engage in violent feuding with rival families, who take their daughters out of school at age 12 and marry them off to their cousins at 16, who terrorize elderly people in rural Ireland, or who are mysteriously able to afford large houses and new cars while having no visible source of income.

Hmmm.....

Must be a busy day at the office for you.