Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's everyone off to in 2019?

• 07-01-2019 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭

So whats on the travel plans this year? I've been meaning to go to Japan for ages so hopefully will make it this year for the main holiday. Am also keen to revisit the Naples & Amalfi Coast area of Italy though sometimes I've revisted places and probably shouldnt have in hindsight. Also hearing good things about Albania, must research it a bit more, from what Ive seen so far it looks amazing.

So where are others thinking or hoping to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Sirius Boner

I'm slightly limited where I go as my daughter is coelaic...some places are horrific with gluten free menus...but Spain and Italy are always good....may try Barcelona at Easter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Dubai and South Africa in March, will try fit in a few more trips. Switzerland and Italy most likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Mike3549

Tenerife in June and our 1st cruise in Mediterranean end of august

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Looking at South Africa or Madagascar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Muahahaha wrote: »
    So whats on the travel plans this year? I've been meaning to go to Japan for ages so hopefully will make it this year for the main holiday. Am also keen to revisit the Naples & Amalfi Coast area of Italy though sometimes I've revisted places and probably shouldnt have in hindsight. Also hearing good things about Albania, must research it a bit more, from what Ive seen so far it looks amazing.

Careful of the Rugby World Cup Japan will be busy and expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

We've 3 children 14,12 & 9,but looking for something a bit different this year, have Southern France & Spain done to death.

Thinking of Croatia for summer this year, then a few weeks in the outer hebridies with the in laws. Have 4 days booked in Paris for Easter hope to get a few days in London also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

ted1 wrote: »

Speaking of which, the world cup is my big trip this year.

I might go on the odd city break as well but the world cup is bankrupting me so it won't be anything much.

I can confirm Albania is class.

Taking the family to London in March for a week and then to the balleric islands for a a month from mid may.

Myself and my wife will get to San Sebastián in November.

I travel a bit with work so I might be wifey or the kids with me to the Middle East for a few days.

troyzer wrote: »

I might go on the odd city break as well but the world cup is bankrupting me so it won't be anything much.

Very jealous.enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

I've a long weekend in Hamburg coming up end of next week with a few mates, then London with the OH in February and I've just booked Kiev in May and planning to do a day tour of Chernobyl which is a bit of a bucket list item for me.

First year in a while I'm not doing a big festival abroad so definitely thinking of a bigger trip for 2/3 weeks towards the end of the year, possibly Thailand and Vietnam and travel around a bit but I'll wait and see what comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭redmissb

We're off to Lake Garda in August, staying in Bella Italia. Will have a day in Milan at start of holiday so will go to see the cathedral and San Siro stadium. Counting the days!

Going to Edinburgh this weekend too without kids, got a great deal on flights and city centre Premier Inn only £55 for two nights.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

So far the only plans made are to Sligo this weekend and Mayo in February but we're hoping to have a good holiday this year - no holiday last year :( we're not doing that again!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

miamee wrote: »
    So far the only plans made are to Sligo this weekend and Mayo in February but we're hoping to have a good holiday this year - no holiday last year :( we're not doing that again!

Mayo.. best place in Ireland! :D

My girlfriend and I are off to Madrid for a wedding in February and looking at Greece for the October mid term!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Local mountains, hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Get a serious case of 'let me out' if I'm on a flight longer than 3 hours. So Europe. Used to travel longhaul, but can't even face the thought of 3 plus hours on a plane. So Germany,UK and Italy so far. Might hit Romania in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Yeah as much as I love rugby I will be avoiding, Im already frightened about the costs of Japan, going during the RWC would put it on a whole new level.
    troyzer wrote: »

I can confirm Albania is class.

AFAIK there is (or used to be) a special train ticket in Japan for tourists. Something like c.€250 for two weeks unlimited travel (not on bullet trains butthe regular trains are pretty fast). Heard about it from a mate who travelled Japan about 5 years back so Im hoping it still exists as transport there can be extremely expensive.

Was it yourself or another poster I was chatting to about trekking in Albania?

Yeah as much as I love rugby I will be avoiding, Im already frightened about the costs of Japan, going during the RWC would put it on a whole new level.

AFAIK there is (or used to be) a special train ticket in Japan for tourists. Something like c.€250 for two weeks unlimited travel (not on bullet trains butthe regular trains are pretty fast). Heard about it from a mate who travelled Japan about 5 years back so Im hoping it still exists as transport there can be extremely expensive.

Was it yourself or another poster I was chatting to about trekking in Albania?

Japan Rail Pass.. You need to buy it before you leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Yeah, we're grabbing the rail pass. It does include the bullet trains but the absolute fastest bullet trains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Nice one conor, this seems to be the official site for them, there was a lot of clones when I googled it but this is linked from their Wiki page
    http://www.japanrailpass.net/en/

How did you enjoy Japan? Any recommendations or tips?

Nice one conor, this seems to be the official site for them, there was a lot of clones when I googled it but this is linked from their Wiki page
    http://www.japanrailpass.net/en/

How did you enjoy Japan? Any recommendations or tips?

I loved Japan..I loved it so much I'm planning to go back in a couple of years! I only had 2 weeks and it wasn't near enough!

If you've never been before, have some basic phrases learned off.. Hello, goodbye, thank you etc.. google is your friend

Getting around is easy enough, most places have an english translation. If you have a sim free phone, pick up a japanese sim card when you arrive. It makes life a lot easier when looking for things. Japanese people are very friendly and if you look lost, chances are someone will come over and try help even if they don't have any english.

Food wise, 7/11 and Lawson convenience shops are everywhere and are amazing. You can go to them for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you buy ready meals most will have a microwave where you can heat things up. Make sure you try the egg sandwich from 7/11.. I'd savage one right now. If you like Curry, CoCo Curry is the nicest. Even Mc Donalds in Japan is delicious!

Youtube channels like Abroad in Japan and Simply Dumpling and Simon and Martina are great for finding out tips on things like getting around around and etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jommer01

conor_ie wrote: »
    I loved Japan..I loved it so much I'm planning to go back in a couple of years! I only had 2 weeks and it wasn't near enough!

If you've never been before, have some basic phrases learned off.. Hello, goodbye, thank you etc.. google is your friend

Getting around is easy enough, most places have an english translation. If you have a sim free phone, pick up a japanese sim card when you arrive. It makes life a lot easier when looking for things. Japanese people are very friendly and if you look lost, chances are someone will come over and try help even if they don't have any english.

Food wise, 7/11 and Lawson convenience shops are everywhere and are amazing. You can go to them for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you buy ready meals most will have a microwave where you can heat things up. Make sure you try the egg sandwich from 7/11.. I'd savage one right now. If you like Curry, CoCo Curry is the nicest. Even Mc Donalds in Japan is delicious!

Youtube channels like Abroad in Japan and Simply Dumpling and Simon and Martina are great for finding out tips on things like getting around around and etiquette.

Is your top tip for Japan really eating out of 7/11 !?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭burberry

redmissb wrote: »
    We're off to Lake Garda in August, staying in Bella Italia. Will have a day in Milan at start of holiday so will go to see the cathedral and San Siro stadium. Counting the days!

Going to Edinburgh this weekend too without kids, got a great deal on flights and city centre Premier Inn only £55 for two nights.
    Great deal who was that with 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭snotboogie

jommer01 wrote: »

Japan 7/11 food is unreal! Totally different to the US. Aside from flights I can’t see the RWC having any impact on Japan, Tokyo and Osaka will swallow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I'm going to Philadelphia and Chicago for 9 nights at Easter, I'll have a few short breaks to Galway throughout the year plus a couple of one night hotel breaks to Dublin and take in the tourist sites.

I'll probably go back to Liverpool with a couple of my sisters and teenage nieces during the summer holidays for some shopping and then take a holiday abroad for the Halloween break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Going to Dubai and Abu Dabhi start of February. That's all that's booked as of yet but plan is a European city bread in mid summer maybe Bruges, Brussels, Amsterdam? And then another Decent holiday in September/October of Iceland or America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭TK Lemon

Myself and OH have booked 4 nights in London for March.

That’s it for now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Lake Garda is the plan not booked yet thought,
    Brining the kids , Looking forward to our 1 year-olds first sun holiday

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Fuerteventura next month as a Christmas present and then Bristol for a Car Event in August. Plan on doing a couple of weekends every 2 months or so! Need to keep yourself excited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Going to the Rugby in Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭house45

New York on the 12 fed me self herself and the two kids aged 5 and 14 and we really can’t wait , have being planning and saving for nearly a year !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Bruges with herself in a few weeks for 2 nights.

South Africa for a wedding in March.

Lake Garda for a family holiday in August.

Doing well this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭VG31

Moscow and St Petersburg in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jommer01

Good to know re 7/11 in Japan doing such good food! I'm currently based in Mexico it's the same old s***e as in the states but probably worse.

I've always wanted to go to Japan and the food is a major draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Probably Romania in late April

And maybe Germany again for Paddy's weekend

Did a lot of weekend trips last year and want to keep going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

The fried chicken and hot deli food in 7/11 & Lawson is so damn good. I've been to Japan twice and it's the first place I went when the plane arrived the second time, lol as sad as that sounds!

Obviously go eat in proper restaurants but for snacks and cheap lunches the convenience stores are top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Gonna stay in Europe this year and try hit a few countries in May I haven't been to.

Likely route is : Helsinki --> Tallinn --> Riga --> Vilinius or Kaunas.

Probably 2 to 3 days in each. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Started the year as I mean to go on with 4 days in Prague last week.

Now back home in Kuala Lumpur and planning a week in Krabi in March, might nip back to Bali for a week or so in May, home to Ireland and Scotland for my sister's wedding in July, back to KL early August and possibly Portugal and Ireland in October for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary.

Probably sneak in a few days in Singapore somewhere along the way and back to Ireland for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Had a notion to go and see some family in Australia but the flights for when I want to go are ridiculously expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Was skiing in Austria last week. That's it on the foreign trips til July, then it's Cancun for two weeks.

My sister turns 40 in October and is planning to celebrate in Vegas but that will very much depend on money when it comes to booking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Sicily in the summer so any tips, must see/must do would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Dublin for a weekend and a concert next month. North Donegal for a weekend in March. France in June. Desperately hoping for a weekend in Switzerland. Myself and himself were there last year and we loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Minsk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Orlando next week! Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

We've 3 children 14,12 & 9,but looking for something a bit different this year, have Southern France & Spain done to death.

Thinking of Croatia for summer this year, then a few weeks in the outer hebridies with the in laws. Have 4 days booked in Paris for Easter hope to get a few days in London also.

Yep Croatia is well worth a visit. Lake Garda is another great option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

I’m off to the moon in April, got a great deal from NASA, 499.99 return, priority boarding and free cancellation, can’t wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

Just the one big one to Peru and Bolivia for five weeks in August/September with the OH. Really looking forward to it.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Sicily in the summer so any tips, must see/must do would be much appreciated.

It really depends on what you want honeymoon romantic, family , girls, lads etc it’s a great place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It really depends on what you want honeymoon romantic, family , girls, lads etc it’s a great place

Family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I think that’s a great tip. Nobody is going to have the time or money to sit down in a restaurant for every meal, and convenience stores are everywhere and great quality in Japan. Knowing this makes a stay there so much easier.

Top tip no 2 is that there is very often a toilet, ATM and recycling bin for cans and plastic bottles in Japanese convenience stores.

Top tip no 3: the snacks in Family Mart have English descriptions on the packet so that you can no what’s in them. Even with a working level of written Japanese, I struggle!

I’m only back from Tokyo myself (still jet lagged), and missing it already. If you’re thinking of going, think no more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Hoping to do a couple of nights in Donegal, maybe Buncrana, at the May bank holiday and Kilkenny for the June one.
    We have a friend who owns a house on Martha's vineyard and looking like two weeks there in August but if that doesn't pan out I'll look at a sunny place somewhere on the med I think.