Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyz in the Hood

• 04-01-2019 3:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

Lucan is really turning into a kip these days, gang of 40 youths some carrying knives attacked a group of new year revellers at a bus stop. Then proceeded to smash up the bus.

Thankfully the bus turned up when it did or there would of been casualties. It seems no area is safe from this type of crap anymore.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/up-50-youths-launch-unprovoked-15617425

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Lucan is really turning into a kip these days, gang of 40 youths some carrying knives attacked a group of new year revellers at a bus stop. Then proceeded to smash up the bus.

Thankfully the bus turned up when it did or there would of been casualties. It seems no area is safe from this type of crap anymore.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/up-50-youths-launch-unprovoked-15617425

So no area is safe, yet you highlight Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

Yes this particular crime happened in Lucan, so i think its worth a mention, dont you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

It's the article the highlights Lucan... Not the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I don't see any patrols in the area and I'm frequently around the area at night. Between this and the chap getting viciously assaulted I would have expected to see patrols in the area. The only time I see the Gardai around Lucan they're just doing checkpoints.

I wouldn't be surprised if these lads were from Neilstown, Cherry Orchard etc. There's a few lads who have been causing trouble in my estate from Balgaddy.

The trouble is happening in Lucan but where do these lads live?

DaveyDave wrote: »
    I don't see any patrols in the area and I'm frequently around the area at night. Between this and the chap getting viciously assaulted I would have expected to see patrols in the area. The only time I see the Gardai around Lucan they're just doing checkpoints.

I wouldn't be surprised if these lads were from Neilstown, Cherry Orchard etc. There's a few lads who have been causing trouble in my estate from Balgaddy.

Balgaddys a bad s*ithole, and its only 5 mins away so you could be right. Its not beyond the realms of possibility though that this crew are actually from Lucan, or nearby Adamstown.

DaveyDave wrote: »

Thats because a Garda can get their required number of summons a month with a single good checkpoint. No point in spending hours interviewing people when you may only get a single summons or charge out of it when you might stop someone whose insurance or tax or insurance or NCT is out of date. And if its not out of date but they havent put it on the windscreen yet you can ask them to produce the documents at a station. If they dont produce you get to issue multiple summons for failing to produce, for non display and for no insurance/tax/driving license or NCT whichever it was. And if they do produce you might issue the summons anyway to boost your numbers. When they turn up in court you will just apply for have the case struck out. Easy overtime.

So why would they bother with the tough stuff for little to no reward when they can get promoted on the other nonsense. Maybe some of them issue fake summons to made up people to made up addresses to increase their return of work. Any journalists listening? Go sit in a district court and watch it happen day in day out across the country. Follow up with the people summonsed and build you story over a few months. It takes real journalism but do it. Then go look into how Gardai handle issues like violent assaults etc etc, how much resourcing goes into that...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There are gangs like this popping up in estates all over Dublin. They hang around in huge numbers. Teenagers have always hung around in numbers but these gangs are 30-40 strong.

These will be the gangs that will be shooting each other in 5-10 years. There large numbers give them anonymity.

This is the the next generation after Hutch-Kinahan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

If nothing is done, and sadly it won't, we will be seeing nightly stabbings just like London in less than five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Roadmen.

Using Eircodes as their sign -

Here's a crew from down the sticks, (I presume the face covering is so their mammys don't recognise and kill them :pac: )

Roadmen.

Here's a 'crew' from down the sticks, (I presume the face covering is so their mammys don't recognise and kill them :pac: )

Sad kuntz. No identity of their own. Copying English gangs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Roadmen.

Here's a 'crew' from down the sticks, (I presume the face covering is so their mammys don't recognise and kill them :pac: )

Like the 059 song from republic of telly come to life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Sad kuntz. No identity of their own. Copying English gangs.

It's most likely just a bit of fun though, the ballys look intimidating but these are probably just young kids mimicking their peers - better they are putting their energy into producing music videos etc. than going around attacking folk at bus-stops i suppose..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I predict nothing but civil discussion for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭tigger123

Boyz n the Hood.

Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Boys in the Neighbourhood if you are typing in Ireland though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Ah I remember it well, cycling around on my bike when I was young, meeting up with my 50 mates, washing our balaclavas together in the local stream. A quick knife-sharpening workshop and off we went into the night, free of parental supervision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

You mean like 'good' gangs and 'bad' gangs?

looksee wrote: »
    You mean like 'good' gangs and 'bad' gangs?

Like West Side Story but less clicking, more stabbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Imagine there was a force belonging to the government that policed areas and kept innocent people safe from violence, intimidation & anti social behaviour, I know it's the stuff of science fiction and fantasy, but it's nice to dream now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭griffin100

El_Bee wrote: »
    Imagine there was a force belonging to the government that policed areas and kept innocent people safe from violence, intimidation & anti social behaviour, I know it's the stuff of science fiction and fantasy, but it's nice to dream now and then.

Imagine parents took responsibility for their scumbag offspring. A fantasy I know in this Ireland of entitled wasters and spongers.

griffin100 wrote: »
    Imagine parents took responsibility for their scumbag offspring. A fantasy I know in this Ireland of entitled wasters and spongers.

Yeah now you're moving into the stuff of myth and legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

A lot of the parents of these kids only probably had kids so they could stay in the country and get extra benefits. No wonder they are roaming the streets now unsupervised

duffysfarm wrote: »
    A lot of the parents of these kids only probably had kids so they could stay in the country and get extra benefits. No wonder they are roaming the streets now unsupervised

They're 100% pure Irish where I'm from.

That has been my experience too. Not that it matters but in the incident mentioned in the OP, were they Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Good to see a delightful movie of my youth continuing to inspire today's young people.

Despite Leo's best efforts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

topper75 wrote: »

Who says "neighbourhood"?

Lads in the Estate, surely.

Cause the boyz n tha hood are always hard
    You come talking that trash we'll pull your card
    Knowing nothing in life but to be legit
    Don't quote me boy, cause I ain't said sh*t

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

RWCNT wrote: »
    Who says "neighbourgood"?

Don't be a bollix to Dublin West while drinking your orchard thieves in the estate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Roadmen.

Here's a crew from down the sticks, (I presume the face covering is so their mammys don't recognise and kill them :pac: )

dub-twelve is da Noo-bridj massive, straight outta Curragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Who says "neighbourhood"?

I live in a neighbourhood. I say it too sometimes.
    Estates are where racehorses graze and Jeeves polishes the Bentley, no?

I live in a neighbourhood. I say it too sometimes.
    Estates are where racehorses graze and Jeeves polishes the Bentley, no?

How long did you live in the US for?

They're 100% pure Irish trash where I'm from.

Mad how a statement like this is deemed acceptable, replace Irish with African and the usual suspects would be all over this thread freaking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ladz in de Parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Ahhhhhh Dublin Live,

The most noteworthy website in Ireland.

Always has the facts and so much of them.

Its a joy to read...

Mad how a statement like this is deemed acceptable, replace Irish with African and the usual suspects would be all over this thread freaking out.

I can only go by what I experience, no gangs of 15-20 African kids out way too late screaming non stop outside my house, no Africans dealing drugs on my road, no Africans flying up and down on dirtbikes non-stop, no Africans joyriding almost every night, all white as snow, all human garbage.

Yeah well thats what you'd expect to see in Irish housing estates, we only have a very small population of black people in Ireland, they are commiting a lot of crime though. Id like to know what the stats are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

If nothing is done, and sadly it won't, we will be seeing nightly stabbings just like London in less than five years.

Cultural enrichment.

These toerags won't be living beside Leo, Tubs or well paid higher civil servants so nothing will be done.

Cultural enrichment.

Do you NPCs think parroting this phrase over and over again makes you sound clever or something? I'd never heard it until a few weeks ago and now it makes an appearance without fail in every thread remotely related to immigration. Could you not at least come up with a few other catchphrases so you could mix it up a bit?

You were quick to culturally appropriate the NPC term and use it incorrectly.

I bet you also use the words 'snowflake' and 'trolling' without fully understanding the background or what they actually mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I despise their lingo, fashion and music. They are a 'micro culture', one that evolved within a wider predominantly white one. There is nothing African about it. Noting wrong with African culture at all. Their culture is more akin to a gangster culture, than being related to any legitimate national one. Rap music does not originate from Africa. Their culture is artificial and not grounded in any heritage.

I was disgusted last year to read that the British Metropolitan police are going on training courses to be able to converse in the lingo of these micro black cultures in London. It is this mind-boggling stupid recognition of their micro culture that is enabling knife crime in London in the the first place imo. I lived near Brixton for years and I recall seeing young black men prancing around the streets with their pants half-way down their arse. The fist time I seen it some time ago I was just about to tap him on the shoulder and tell him his pants are falling down but that was a very naive though. Later I realized his whole fashion was a big 'fook you' to me and white ppl in general. Everything about their micro culture is a 'fook you' to everyone else.

They play the racism card very well, it's embarrassing we're falling for it. What's worse is we have certainly in the UK politicians who fight their corner often to get themselves elected in highly ethnic boroughs. Their micro-culture is sick, and not in their interpretation of the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

The yobs involved in this incident were not black and were Irish. What has London's black gang culture and general immigration related issues got to do with this particular incident on which the thread was based?

You were quick to culturally appropriate the NPC term and use it incorrectly.

I bet you also use the words 'snowflake' and 'trolling' without fully understanding the background or what they actually mean.

Hahaha, "culturally appropriate", brilliant.What culture am I stealing from?

Anyway, first entry I found on urban dictionary:

An NPC is seemingly a human that is unable to think objectively.

We exist in a simulated reality and some humans take on the role of NPCs, spouting "opinions" they are programmed to spout and repeating in a cult-like manner.

Yeah, fits like a glove, I seem to be using it just fine.

Hahaha, "culturally appropriate", brilliant.What culture am I stealing from?

Anyway, first entry I found on urban dictionary:

An NPC is seemingly a human that is unable to think objectively.

We exist in a simulated reality and some humans take on the role of NPCs, spouting "opinions" they are programmed to spout and repeating in a cult-like manner.

Yeah, fits like a glove, I seem to be using it just fine.

You don't get sarcasm, clearly. The person mentioning cultural enrichment, and me mentioning cultural appropriation, were both being sarcastic. NPC meme was created to describe the pathologically politically correct people, to whom no amount of contradictory evidence seems to get them to change, or even question, their positions.

Here, it's Saturday morning, life is too short. Listen, enjoy the weekend (I am not being sarcastic now btw!)

You don't get sarcasm, clearly. The person mentioning cultural enrichment, and me mentioning cultural appropriation, were both being sarcastic. NPC meme was created to describe the pathologically politically correct people, to whom no amount of contradictory evidence seems to get them to change, or even question, their positions.

Here, it's Saturday morning, life is too short. Listen, enjoy the weekend (I am not being sarcastic now btw!)

Of course "Cultural Enrichment" in this context is used sarcastically, not that it has any impact on my original point. I was more than aware you were being facetious in your use of the phrase "culturally appropriate", so I responded in kind. It's a very normal feature of conversation, have you considered that you're nowhere near as clever as you think you are?

Regardless of a slang word's original target I think it's more than fair to use it where applicable. Broadly speaking I feel that people often exhibit the same behaviours regardless of their beliefs or place on any spectrum, so it follows that a left winger, right winger or centrist are equally capable of being "NPCs" or "snowflakes".

I hope you have a good weekend as well, Mr Bear.

we only have a very small population of black people in Ireland, they are commiting a lot of crime though. Id like to know what the stats are.

if you don't know what the stats are then how do you know they are committing lots of crimes?

The statistics id like to see are based on ethnicity, id just like.to see if a disproportionate number of a small African population are committing crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,217 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The yobs involved in this incident were not black and were Irish. What has London's black gang culture and general immigration related issues got to do with this particular incident on which the thread was based?

No idea. Bus's refusing to service certain areas at night is something thats been happening on and off at least as far back as the early 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

As a starting point a good estimate would be to compare crime statistics in western societies similar to Ireland, focusing specificially on second generation immigrants originating from the African continent.

Why do lefties have to steal slang from the alt right??

Because they can't meme ='(

Only joking, I'd venture because it's fun to take an insult thats was invented by your opponents to deride you and turn it back around on them, watch in amusement express frustration/a pitiful attempt at displaying intellectual superiority by accusing you of "not getting it" and to highlight the rights propensity for projection.

Why do lefties have to steal slang from the alt right??

Because they can't meme ='(

Only joking, I'd venture because it's fun to take an insult thats was invented by your opponents to deride you and turn it back around on them, watch in amusement as they express frustration/make a pitiful attempt at displaying intellectual superiority by accusing you of "not getting it" and to highlight the rights propensity for projection.