Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xi Jinping propaganda piece in the Indo

• 02-01-2019 5:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭

Did anybody else catch that? Picked up an Irish Independent in a waiting room, and somewhere about half way through the paper there is an "advertisement", aka. propaganda piece on behalf of Xi Jinping.

Basically talking about what a wonderful fella he is and the great things he's doing for China. This the same Xi Jinping who is

(A) setting up the most Orwellian spying system in the history of the world, aka. the Social Credit Score system on the Chinese populace

(B) Presides over a government that uses Gulags (Re-education camps) in the West of China to keep the Ughurs in line.

(C) a country where the government can kidnap you and you will never be heard from again.

(D) a country that ruthlessly suppresses any criticism of the CCP

(E) Constantly threatens maritime and naval traffic through the straights of the South China Sea z including even US Navy ships.

(F) Constantly props up the barbaric regime in North Korea with its horrific abuse of Human Rights.

But no, according to the Irish Independent piece, Xi Jinping and the CCP are a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

Well there goes your Social Credit score OP. See you in the labor camps buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Email all complaints to

Sum-ting-wong@idontcare.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

For anybody who thinks this is a joke. Check out page 7 of the Irish Independent 31st December 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I find the Indo a joke on pretty much every day of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Imagine if he died, Michael D would be creaming himself. Maybe he might be on a postage stamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

The Indo is a left wing rag, that’s why they love China and Cuba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I for one welcome our Chinese overlord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

vladmydad wrote: »

Lol. It’s a FG rag.

What’s the problem with China? It has fewer people in prison than the US, is less belligerent, isn’t destabilising the Middle East and isn’t the home of anti-Eurocentric ideologies.

Grand group of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

China is your future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

China is your future.

I don't even think it will be China's future; almost 20% of the worlds population in one country, it can't end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

Lol. It’s a FG rag.

What’s the problem with China? It has fewer people in prison than the US, is less belligerent, isn’t destabilising the Middle East and isn’t the home of anti-Eurocentric ideologies.

Grand group of lads.

Fewer people in prison. Maybe that’s because they execute so many. The liberal lunatics aka socialists that inhabit power in the media here would rather have Satan rule the world then the good old US. It’s old fashioned anti americanism but particularly bizarre when Ireland owes so much to the US and the US had only even been friendly to us.

Then again these intellectual clowns supported the Soviet Union during the Cold War and are devastated when socialism continues to fail so spectacularly wherever it is implemented such as Cuba Venezuela and North Korea. These champagne socialists would rather see everyone equally poor. Except the apparatchiks of course.

Socialism in general has a record of failure so blatant that only an intellectual could ignore or evade it. Socialism is slavery. World wide communism is the goal of the Chinese and the intellectual fifth column that inhabits the west. Which is probably why these presstitutes in the media give the islamists an easy time to covering up their crimes and excusing them because all white people are racist. Their goals are eerily similar. The islamists also want a world wide “paradise” of slaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Lol. It’s a FG rag.

Grand group of lads.

Except for the destruction of democracy in Hong Kong,
    Over a million Muslim's in Concentration camps,
    Threats to retake Taiwan,
    Social credit system,
    The Plantation of Tibet,
    The Great Internet Firewall,
    Banned Winnie the Pooh,
    Mass Censorship,
    Crackdown on organised religion,
    President for Life system,
    Mass air pollution,
    Government attempting to take vast control of the ocean,

Other than that, their grand. Haven't even mentioned Gearbest.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

pearcider wrote: »
    Fewer people in prison. Maybe that’s because they execute so many. The liberal lunatics aka socialists that inhabit power in the media here would rather have Satan rule the world then the good old US. It’s old fashioned anti americanism but particularly bizarre when Ireland owes so much to the US and the US had only even been friendly to us.

Then again these intellectual clowns supported the Soviet Union during the Cold War and are devastated when socialism continues to fail so spectacularly wherever it is implemented such as Cuba Venezuela and North Korea. These champagne socialists would rather see everyone equally poor. Except the apparatchiks of course.

Socialism in general has a record of failure so blatant that only an intellectual could ignore or evade it. Socialism is slavery. World wide communism is the goal of the Chinese and the intellectual fifth column that inhabits the west. Which is probably why these presstitutes in the media give the islamists an easy time to covering up their crimes and excusing them because all white people are racist. Their goals are eerily similar. The islamists also want a world wide “paradise” of slaves.

And you were doing so well up until then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

You've missed the current regime in the US which is very much anti-Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Jaysus. You should probably relax and have a nice cup of tea before your head explodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Ipso wrote: »
    I don't even think it will be China's future; almost 20% of the worlds population in one country, it can't end well.

But along with India & Rus, the Asia trio are projected to likely own 50% of 'Global GDP' come 2060.

At that stage, Brexitland will be well outside of the top10, and the EU26(+6) will have to merge with the US, just to be on a level playing field with China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

At least they had the decency to mark it as an advert, not dress it up as 'journalism' like they do with most of their stories.

Really? You’ll have to enlighten me there. As far as I knew the US still has nearly 80,000 troops here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Really? You’ll have to enlighten me there. As far as I knew the US still has nearly 80,000 troops here.

Trade wars, anti-Europe rhetoric from the leader etc. He already described Europe as a rival and his actions back it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I don't know if it's just me...But he looks a little like Winnie the Pooh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

This thread is making me hungry.

Trade wars, anti-Europe rhetoric from the leader etc. He already described Europe as a rival and his actions back it up

Trade wars and currency wars were an inevitable consequence of the GFC if you think the EU is innocent in all that you’re sorely mistaken. Sure they’re the biggest closed trading bloc in history. Massive tariffs on everything that mostly efffect poor countries.

EU has a massive trade surplus with the US. Do you know what that means? It means that the EU does quite well out of the relationship.

Rhetoric is just that. Actions speak louder than words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    I don't know if it's just me...But he looks a little like Winnie the Pooh

Don't be ridiculous. Off to the re-education with you!!

skynews-xi-jinping-china-president_4242941.jpg?20180228105305

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

That's Ireland alright. Bumlicking world superpowers in the hope of picking up a few crumbs. That's what small countries do. And do you know what? It's done us alright so far.

Keep it lit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Trade wars and currency wars were an inevitable consequence of the GFC if you think the EU is innocent in all that you’re sorely mistaken. Sure they’re the biggest closed trading bloc in history. Massive tariffs on everything that mostly efffect poor countries.

EU has a massive trade surplus with the US. Do you know what that means? It means that the EU does quite well out of the relationship.

Rhetoric is just that. Actions speak louder than words.
    It also means the US dies quite well out of the relationship. Perhaps you could explain in further detail...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Are we getting a dry slope for the xi Jinping or using snow machines on grass.

Most of the philosophy you hate is from America. Unfortunately you think you are living there. I can tell that from your use of liberal. In fact US democrats are a fairly anti Chinese and anti Russian to boot. We’re not American though, we’re European.

Hang on is China socialist?
    Socialism in general has a record of failure so blatant that only an intellectual could ignore or evade it. Socialism is slavery. World wide communism is the goal of the Chinese and the intellectual fifth column that inhabits the west.

Oh. So if China is socialist then why isn’t it included in the list of failed States you had above? Is that because it would invalidate your argument about the economic failure of socialism? Not that I think they are in fact socialist, but neither are they full free market.

they don’t want to promote communism. They aren’t, except in name, communist.
    Which is probably why these presstitutes in the media give the islamists an easy time to covering up their crimes and excusing them because all white people are racist. Their goals are eerily similar. The islamists also want a world wide “paradise” of slaves.

How did we get from China to the western press giving islamists an easy time (isn’t China in fact oppressing Islamic populations). And what has China got to do with “anti white” philosophies in the West, largely driven from the US in fact.

China. Grand group of lads.

pablo128 wrote: »
    That's Ireland alright. Bumlicking world superpowers in the hope of picking up a few crumbs. That's what small countries do. And do you know what? It's done us alright so far.

Keep it lit.

Quite right. The future is to the East. Let’s look to the east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Uboat

DS86DS wrote: »
    Did anybody else catch that? Picked up an Irish Independent in a waiting room, and somewhere about half way through the paper there is an "advertisement", aka. propaganda piece on behalf of Xi Jinping.

Basically talking about what a wonderful fella he is and the great things he's doing for China. This the same Xi Jinping who is

(A) setting up the most Orwellian spying system in the history of the world, aka. the Social Credit Score system on the Chinese populace

(B) Presides over a government that uses Gulags (Re-education camps) in the West of China to keep the Ughurs in line.

(C) a country where the government can kidnap you and you will never be heard from again.

(D) a country that ruthlessly suppresses any criticism of the CCP

(E) Constantly threatens maritime and naval traffic through the straights of the South China Sea z including even US Navy ships.

(F) Constantly props up the barbaric regime in North Korea with its horrific abuse of Human Rights.

But no, according to the Irish Independent piece, Xi Jinping and the CCP are a great bunch of lads.

You have murdered me with this one...

Uboat wrote: »
    You have murdered me with this one...

The assumption that the US has an absolute right to patrol the South China Sea, international waters just off China, but China doesn’t is a strange one alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

What has Winnie the Pooh done to China?
    And is it just Winnie that's been banned or have Piglet, Tigger et al also been added to the black list?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    What has Winnie the Pooh done to China?
    And is it just Winnie that's been banned or have Piglet, Tigger et al also been added to the black list?

He looks like XI Jinping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Uboat

The assumption that the US has an absolute right to patrol the South China Sea, international waters just off China, but China doesn’t is a strange one alright.

How the f*ck they dare?!
    Interesting to know, would China have an absolute right to patrol North American Sea, international waters just off US? ))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Xi Jinping has made comprehensively pathbreaking and historic achievements in leading the Party and the country, and there has been a deep and fundamental historical transformation. The Chinese people feel they have gained a great deal, and China’s international standing is now at a high not seen in modern times. The superlative leadership, wisdom, and leadership style of Xi Jinping has consistently drawn attention from international commentators, earning a him the highest level of praise. Studying Xi Jinping’s super-strong leadership will no doubt benefit other countries as well in further strengthening the “Four Consciousnesses", and in persisting with the “Four Confidences” to building great countries following China's fine example.

Left and right in the US is anti Europe. The right just hates euro weenies. The left hates Eurocentrism. They are not our natural allies anymore.

How the f*ck they dare?!
    Interesting to know, would China have an absolute right to patrol North American Sea, international waters just off US? ))

Imagine a future world where the Chinese controlled the seas. And Chinese people got mad when the US navy had the audacity to move into international waters a short distance off the US east coast, calling it belligerent and sabre rattling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Picked up an Irish Independent in a waiting room

That was unlucky. You'll know not to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭SeanW

Ah yes, China. Where even the Communist propaganda is a cheap knock-off.

Though they had a good English speaking editor write the nonsense in that advertisement.

How the f*ck they dare?!
    If the U.S ignored international law on international waters and started building artificial islands, say, 20 miles off the coast of Cuba, the Yucatan peninsula etc, then the countries that were the victims of this would have every right to ask their allies to provide a patrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

It's amusing how some people seem to think China is still communist. It's more run on the basis of a mercantile corporatist state - a sort of giant company with a board instead of a democratic government.
    Anyone who doesn't like it gets sent to HR for re-education.

The US is gone a bit mad in terms of politics but it's still got a hell of a lot more in common with Europe than China does. Both the US and EU effectively have their origins in post enlightenment democratic values, natural rights and so on. They have just got slightly different approaches and are somewhat in parallel most of the time but that doesn't mean they're mutually incompatible.

China on the other hand is an authoritarian state and absolutely does not share much with Europe in terms of worldview. Can we get along: hopefully. Are the systems compatible : not really.

EdgeCase wrote: »
    It's amusing how some people seem to think China is still communist. It's more run on the basis of a mercantile corporatist state - a sort of giant company with a board instead of a democratic government.
    Anyone who doesn't like it gets sent to HR for re-education.

The US is gone a bit mad in terms of politics but it's still got a hell of a lot more in common with Europe than China does. Both the US and EU effectively have their origins in post enlightenment democratic values, natural rights and so on. They have just got slightly different approaches and are somewhat in parallel most of the time but that doesn't mean they're mutually incompatible.

China on the other hand is an authoritarian state and absolutely does not share much with Europe in terms of worldview. Can we get along: hopefully. Are the systems compatible : not really.

China is by all means a Communist state. You can't keep moving the goalposts whenever the effects of a Communist Marxist regime on a population becomes apparent.

Communism has had the same effect wherever it has been implemented, aka. authoritarianism and the destruction of free speech and dissent.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

China is by all means a Communist state. You can't keep moving the goalposts whenever the effects of a Communist Marxist regime on a population becomes apparent.

Communism has had the same effect wherever it has been implemented, aka. authoritarianism and the destruction of free speech and dissent.

Lul nah. Its communist in name and state party only.

Its state capitalism with an authoritarian regime

But apparently not always economic disaster. Or have the goal posts moved there too?

If China is communist then we should all be communist, economically, n’est pas? Doing pretty well.

It has fewer people in jail in total (not as a percentage of its population) than the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

vladmydad wrote: »

And yet they hate trade unions and publish lies during labor disputes

Denis O’Brien left wing ha :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

By what definition of communism do you have vast wealth being earned by individuals and companies, massive consumerism, a huge capitalist economy.

It doesn’t even have particularly good health or social welfare services compare to Europe.

Calling a country communist and then doing everything as extreme capitalism with a corporatist twist does not make you a communist state.

It was a communist state. It isn’t anymore. It’s some kind of mishmash if capitalism, corporatism and authoritarianism.

It’s public spending is only 31.62% if GDP that’s significantly less than most EU capitalist countries!

EdgeCase wrote: »
    By what definition of communism do you have vast wealth being earned by individuals and companies, massive consumerism, a huge capitalist economy.

It doesn’t even have particularly good health or social welfare services compare to Europe.

Calling a country communist and then doing everything as extreme capitalism with a corporatist twist does not make you a communist state.

It was a communist state. It isn’t anymore. It’s some kind of mishmash if capitalism, corporatism and authoritarianism.

It’s public spending is only 31.62% if GDP that’s significantly less than most EU capitalist countries!
    Its communist by name only tbh. Its more akin to early-modern capitalist states like the republic of venice (Mercantile and plutocratic)

In fact ireland is more socialist.

I think uneducated people need to stop using words they don’t understand tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Its communist by name only tbh. Its more akin to early-modern capitalist states like the republic of venice (Mercantile and plutocratic)

It isnt really even communist in name. In name, it calls itself socialist.

True true, i mean the ruling party calls itself (CCP, CPC)

Yeah, because you are a bastion of intellectualism and the educated mind :rolleyes:

While you are right that it’s not communist, the other claims are dubious.