Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If I didn’t log it, it didn’t happen

• 02-01-2019 4:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭

I’m usually a pretty patient person, but I’m also competitive, so trying to regain fitness and make progress with my running is a real challenge after struggling for over 4 years with a foot problem.

First some history to bore you all (boring detail may become a theme). I’ve always played sports, gaa and soccer growing up and soccer until just after I turned 30. Switched focus to running in 2014, following persistent groin injuries playing soccer, and having completed some IMRA events and 10ks in the previous years.

Stayed injury free up to a few weeks before DCM 2014, had hit all my targets from 10k to half marathon and was on track to target a 3.40 marathon after the race series half. Looking back I struggled with pacing on longer runs and didn’t finish out may of the 15 mile plus runs and missed some mid week sessions when I was tired.

I hit the wall badly 15 miles into the Athlone 3/4 and that hurt my confidence. That was 3 weeks before DCM. I was away with work the week before and started to notice a pain close to the ball of my right foot. It was so bad coming back that I had to change into runners when I was making a transfer in Amsterdam as I was hobbling around. I assumed I had stood on something and bruised it on a training run so wasn’t overly bothered. Added to the sore foot I had a dodgy stomach from the combination of flying and dodgy food so went into the 3/4 with very little fuel on board and couldn’t stomach the gels I planned to take. Most rookie mistake of all was to not make any adjustment to my pace plan (in hindsight I shouldn’t have run at all). I joked to my wife that if I wasn’t finished in 3 hours I’d probably died (not a joke I’ll ever make again). Those last 5 miles were a horror show, I missed the 3 hour target, eventually crossed the finish looking like Casper the friendly ghost, to be greeted by a very worried wife, who pretty much had to carry me back to the car after I forced down some lucozade and a banana.

Sore foot was pretty much forgotten at that stage, and while it was niggling, more when walking than running, it was never going to stop me lining up for DCM. Again didn’t really heed the warning signs from training and set out on 3.50 pace, crossed the half bang on time but faded badly in the last 6 miles to finish in 4.00.48. 49 seconds quicker and I might not be as haunted by this running bug!

Anyway post DCM I was happy to have finished and to have made it without stopping or walking (not sure the shuffle was any quicker at a few points, but don’t walk was the mantra in my head for a long way). I was determined to have learned some lessons and to go away and try again, hopefully going sub 20 for 5k in the meantime.

After a few weeks rest the foot was not getting any better, so went to the doc, got an x-ray to rule out stress fractures, took some pain killers and thought all would be grand. Foot flared up badly just before the course of meds ended. Didn’t really bother following up again and just got lazy in the months after, doing an odd run or having a kick about with the lads. Over a year later and decided maybe the physio might have some suggestions, Dr. Google told me it sounded like a Morton’s neuroma. Without any prompting from me physio came to the same conclusion. Just needed an MRI to be sure.

MRI resulted in a very confused physio and a diagnosis of possible Freiberg’s disease. That brought on a bit of panic, as that’s a condition that can cause the metatarsal head to pretty much die and disintegrate. So I was hobbling around in a space boot for a few weeks and the physio referred me to a specialist in the Beacon. The specialist straight away said no it’s not Freiberg’s, it looks more likely to be some form of arthritis but sent me for a CT scan to be sure. Once that was checked I was referred on to specialist number two, to try an figure out if it’s arthritis and what way to treat it. The suspicion was psoriatic arthritis but that needed a rheumatologist.

Went on the public list rather than cough up more cash, I though I’d just manage it if it’s likely to just be arthritis anyway. Made a few failed attempts to get back running regularly along the way. Last summer it flared up badly and I was hobbling everywhere so bit the bullet and made a private appointment with the specialist in the Beacon. That resulted in an official diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis in two of my toes and a few injections and a regular course of medication later, the pain levels are low, the inflammation is under control and here we are... the most long winded log in history.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭passinginterest

Goals for 2019, PBs from 2014
    5k - 22.00 (pb 20.18 Grant Thornton 2014, 2018 24.14 park run)
    10k - 46.30 (pb 44.47 Race series 2014, 2018 56.24 run in the dark)
    Half - 1.45 (pb 1.37.56 Dublin Half 2014)
    DCM - sub 4 (pb 4.00.39 2014)

Signed up for Wicklow half on 24th March and DCM 2019. Working on 5k at the moment and will set a time at parkrun on 12th Jan as my base time.

Started back into more regular running in October when a group from work signed up for Run in the Dark. Probably the lowest fitness level of my life and my heaviest, I was below 11 stone after DCM 2014 and the last time I was on a scale I was over 12.5, I reckon I was touching 13 if I'd found a scale.

Oct 20th headed to parkrun to test how bad things were. 29 minutes and 18 seconds of struggling later and I knew it was going to be a long struggle to get back to where I'd like to be. Got in 6 more runs before Run in the Dark on 7th Nov and managed the 10k in 56.24.

Set myself a plan then to work on my 5k time for 8 weeks. Ran parkrun as a mid way test on 8 Dec and hit 24.14, better than the 25 flat I had in mind. Unfortunately a bit of a setback after and got no running for 10 days, not injury related at least. Wrote the missed time off and started week 5 of the plan, with revised pace goals, unfortunately the missed days and onset of a cold really seemed to set me back and the first few runs were a disaster, but seem to be back in a groove now. Trying not to get too obsessed with time and to be patient, but that's the competitive side of me and I find it really hard to switch off.

Aim is to run minimum 3 days a week and ideally 4 to 5.

Last week's log;
    Christmas Day (goal Mile) 1k warm up 6.22, Goal mile 7.00, 3k easy at 6.39/km

Thursday 40min 'tempo' (target low 5.xx/km) 6.9km @ 5.48/km (5.09, 5.27, 5.25, 5.21, 5.42, 7.43, 5.47) knew after a couple of k I was struggling, had to walk for a bit, went out too fast and still had lingering cold effects.

Saturday 12k LSR - got new trail runners so stayed off road and took it easy (6.15/km)

Feeling much more like myself this week. Probably had more of a cold/virus than I realised and was definitely a bit run down. Need to start getting my diet in better shape, especially the processed foods and refined sugars.

Plan for the week and results to date;
    Mon - Rest

Tues - 8k easy
    New Year’s Day, so decided to head to parkrun, was thinking of the Bushy Tymon double, but a few glasses of wine and Prosecco meant I didn’t wake up in time. Decided I’d jog the 3kish to the start in Tymon and walk home after. Dawdled a bit leaving the house so had to run a bit quicker than planned to make the start, just about made it, got my breath back and started well back in the crowd to make sure I couldn’t run too hard from the start. Very congested first lap and took it easy, pushed a bit on the second lap and finished strong for a 26.43 parkrun. Strolled home after and felt way better than I expected after struggling last week and having a few drinks the night before.
    Total 8.5k@ 5.21/km quicker than it should have been really but was surprised to feel so good.

Wed - Rest

Thursday - 8 x 400 with 90sec recovery
    1k warm up @ 6.11/km
    Splits - 105sec, 97secs, 101secs, 99secs, 99secs, 99secs, 101secs, 98 secs
    5 min stroll/jog to cool down
    Total - 5.77km @ 5.49/km In target zone or faster for all the 400s. Very pleased with that. Again prob shouldn’t be running faster than targets but hard to hold back!

Fri - Rest

Sat - 5k tempo
    Up to Tymon parkrun again, drove around, literally seconds to spare at the start, not even a half hearted warm up, straight into it with car keys still in hand. Target was low 25s and went; 5.07,5.01, 5.03, 4.56, 4.50 and 4.10 for the extra 80m according to Garmin!
    Avg heart rate 169
    Still prob a little hard but felt good and wasn’t killing myself.
    Overall 5.08km @ 4.59/km according to Garmin

Sun - 12k LSR will take it easy and maybe extend it a bit.

Next week the aim will be sub 23.30 parkrun and then starting into a 10 week plan for Wicklow half. Constructed a plan from looking at a variety of different ones, reminded myself that it’s all about base building and not speed. Will be aiming for 4-5 runs every week with most of it just easy.

Should add, I'm very open to suggestions, comments, advice etc. Still not sure about joining a club, live very close to Tallaght, but not sure about getting home from work in time for evening sessions. Planning to head to their open day on the 19th Jan anyway.

Another thing I need to work on is warming up, stretching and doing some strength work. I did yoga once a week for about a year and even that made a difference in terms of strength and flexibility. Hips, calves and lower back can suffer from a bit of stiffness so I know I need to keep on top of it when the miles start building up.

Some great inspiration, info and tips in other logs, really enjoy reading them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Other than increasing the mileage (or kilometerage?) it looks like you're on the right track. Brothers Pearce and Tallaght AC are both decent clubs in your area, it'd be definitely a boost if you can make their sessions occasionally. Maybe consider keeping up the yoga!

13k @ 6.20/km avg heart rate 153

Felt like I paced it ok, was easy enough, but looking at it now I probably went a bit too quick. I know the wrist based monitor is probably not 100% accurate but I doubt it’s miles off and according to that 75% of the run was in zone 4. Might try running the next long run off the heart rate and keep it in zone 3. Legs a bit heavy after.

Overall a much better week. I'll prob switch to Miles when I start my Wicklow half plan next week so it was nice to see I just tipped over 20 miles for the week.
    That's definitely the most I've run in a weeks since I was Marathon training in 2014 and the 8 miles on Sunday was the longest individual run.
    Bit of a step back planned this week because I want to attack the 5k parkrun on Saturday. Aiming to go under 23.30, considering where I was 3 months ago I'd be happy enough with that.
    Plan is to be conservative in building for the half. Much more focus on volume than speed.

Anyone know of any 10k or 10mile race around 16/17 or 23/24 of Feb? Would like to do a test run around then. Preferably within an hour from Tallaght.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Can't believe I missed a reference to Brothers Pearse, my alarm must be broken :pac:

Yeah, come down and try out a few runs with us if you like. You'd recognise a bunch of us from tymon parkrun
    http://brospearse.com/2019/01/06/brothers-pearse-ac-weekly-adult-training-wc-07-01-2019/

RayCun wrote: »
    Can't believe I missed a reference to Brothers Pearse, my alarm must be broken :pac:

Yeah, come down and try out a few runs with us if you like. You'd recognise a bunch of us from tymon parkrun
    http://brospearse.com/2019/01/06/brothers-pearse-ac-weekly-adult-training-wc-07-01-2019/

Thanks. My main issue would be making it home in time for the evening sessions. They're a bit early for me. Credit it where it's due though, seems like a great club, and not shy on the recruitment! I know one of the lads training up there and he's already been on to me too.

Midweek running all done. Tried to slow things down a bit. Three 30 minute lunchtime sessions, very easy, tempo, easy.

Hoping the arthritis isn't flaring up in my toes, a little more discomfort this week, if not pain, back to the specialist next week so will be interesting to hear his view and probably have a look under ultrasound again.

Tuesday;
    30mins 4.43km 6.47/km HR 136
    Kept is super slow, always find this tough, feels barely faster than a stroll. Reminding myself that this is all about longer term goals.

Wednesday;
    30mins 5.77km 5.12/km HR 164
    Met one of the lads who hasn't run in a while but doesn't understand taking it easy. Started at 5.23/km and finished at 5.06/km for the last 3 or so. Nice to have a bit of company for the first few km, he took a breather for a while and joined me again for a k before abandoning ship after 20odd minutes. Felt good, nice bit of effort but not struggling and felt I might have been able to quicken it a bit and keep it going for another 10mins or so.

Thursday;
    30mins 4.65km 6.27/km HR 149
    Another easy pace slog. Kept the heart rate in the middle zone. Not sure if it's lack of fitness, the fact I haven't done a proper max heart rate test and maybe it should be higher or just the way my body works, but I just seem to jump from resting to zone 3 with even a fast walk and with the slightest bit of effort it's straight into zone 4. Had a look at some of the stats on Garmin and revised my Max up on the basis that it had hit around 193 a few times, there was a 198 but thought that might be an anomaly. Maybe my Max is closer to 200, resting seems to be between 56 and 60 for the most part.

So far a nice week. Don't think I've run 3 days in a row since 2014 Marathon training.

Plan for Saturday is to 'race' Tymon parkrun and see where I'm at, hoping for low 23.xx. Although I see the BHAA cross country 6k is also there Saturday and I'm tempted to give that a lash.

Sunday probably around 5miles easy, although I've also signed up for IMRA and the Hellfire race is Sunday. Did that in March 13 and 14 and loved it. Might head up there and take it very handy on the climbs and have fun on the descents, I love running downhill, not a massive fan of going the other direction!

Bit of a disappointing run this morning. Decided to go ahead with the plan to 'race' Tymon parkrun. Woke up early, got there in nice time, managed to do a decent warm up for once and was feeling really good.

That's when I made my first mistake, decided I might have sub 23mins in me and set out to attack it. Despite knowing 23.30 was the realistic goal and sub 24 was the main target. Was happy with the effort levels up the first long drag, was aiming for around 4.40 for the first km and was pretty much on track (4.39) most of the 2nd km is downhill and I picked it up, got a few notifications from the Garmin to tell me it was too quick but was still feeling good (4.31). It was noticably windy and when the wind hit on the slight drag towards the end of the first lap the legs started to feel heavy and I knew i was in trouble. Slowed down a fair bit the second time up the opening drag, but still managed 4.50 for km 3, with the downhill in km 4 managed not to die completely but couldn't really up the pace 4.54 for that km. Really tied up on the last km and was getting passed a lot, biggest disappointed was the lack of 'race' in me, just mentally gave up a bit, could have still made low 24 maybe even sub 24 at that stage. 5.26 for the last km and another 28 seconds as the watch measured it a bit long. 24.49 for the parkrun, 24.21 thought the 5k by the watch.

The second km is probably what killed me. I should have levelled out the effort and let myself get into a rhythm rather than trying to push on. I've been trying to start easier and quicken to the end of most runs and should have stuck to that approach.

Glad I didn't opt for the cross country anyway! At least by attacking it it gave me another reminder that I'm working back from probably the lowest fitness level of my life and that I need to be patient. Not even 3 months ago I struggled to break 30mins for the same distance.

On the plus side, body feels 100% after, and the foot is feeling grand again too. I'm not doing big mileage yet, and I know that's what I need to really build the stamina. Into my Wicklow half plan now, so focus will all be on increasing the volume and running easy. Trying not to get caught up in a goal time, but I'll be a bit disappointed if I can't go sub 2hrs.

First 5 run week. 11.5k@6.23/km or around 7 miles for the long run today. Started very easy and finished around HMP.

Overall a pretty steady week. Will start picking up the distance a bit next week. Maybe didn't improve my 5k time as much as I'd hoped in the 8 or 9 weeks, but it's definitely getting me back into the habit and hopefully in an ok place now to start picking up the distance.

Total for the week;
    5 runs 31.4km (19.5m)

Total for the month to date;
    9 runs 63km (39.14m)

Mid week sessions successfully ticked off.

Tuesday afternoon I had my follow up with Prof. Kane out in the Beacon. I was worried that the psoriatic arthritis inflammation might be coming back, I’m luck in that it’s isolated to the joints in two toes, but always worried it could get worse. I’ve had cortisone injections and started medication 3 months ago, I’ve had substantial improvement in my pain levels but still have some mild discomfort. Thankfully under the ultrasound there was no sign of inflammation, just a little fluid around the joints but nothing to worry about. Unfortunately there is a bit of damage to one of the joints, it’s shifted down a little and there’s a little bit of bone damage (less than a mm). That’s the source of the remaining discomfort, if the inflammation stays away it might well heal itself so fingers crossed. Overall went about as well as I could have hoped, while he wasn’t entirely happy he didn’t warn me off when I told him I’d signed up for DCM either! I’ll have to keep a close eye on it and may need more cortisone or a change in medication but the signs are positive for now.

Went out Tuesday evening for 4 miles easy, I hate running in the dark, my night vision is poor, so even with the street lights I worry about stepping into a hole and turning my ankle or not seeing a dog lead and going flying. Added the Lidl head torch for a bit of extra reassurance. Breezy evening and the fact that I feel like I’m running faster than I am in the dark meant it felt a little harder than easy at times.

In the end it was 4 miles in 39.32 or 9.51/mi avg HR 151 (much as I like km’s I’m switching seeing as DCM is main target).

Wednesday 16 Jan
    Easy 3 miles at lunch. Easy start with gentle pick up. All in easy range.
    29.25, 9.35/mi avg HR 150

Thursday 17 Jan
    Bit of a session, 1 easy, 3HMP, 1 easy. Not trying to do any real speed work so this type of session and another with 1mi tempo intervals will be as hard as I push in the build up to Wicklow half.
    Enjoyed it, although I felt it a bit in trying to keep to HMP, partly because a picked it up a bit too much in the 3rd mile. Much prefer this to all slow running though.

5m 46.33 (10.01, 9.02, 9.06, 8.31, 9.54) avg HR 156

Feel like I’m making a bit of progress. Building the mileage slowly and getting out consistently. The VO2 max has been creeping up steadily according to the Garmin so taking that as a good sign too. For a while it seemed to only be going down. In the last 4 weeks it’s gone from 44 to 48.

Saturday 19th January
    Saturdays in my plan are 3 to 5 miles and pace depending on how the body feels between easy and tempo.
    Decided to head to Tymon parkrun this morning and take it fairly easy. Was thinking maybe do a slight progression and start around 10min mile then 9 and finish around 8. Because it was pacer Saturday changed my mind and decided to follow the 28min pacer. Not sure if it was switching the pace to miles or what but it felt way too fast early on and by the time we turned at the top of the hill the watch was telling me we were low 8’s. I was expecting the first to be outside 9. I let him go at that stage and my feet were starting to feel really tight at the front top just below the ankle. I had a very short half hearted warm up and the original plan was to use the slow first mile to get warm so probably a symptom of that, I had compression socks on too and I think something similar happened the last time I wore them, so might avoid them in future.
    First mile was 8.53, kept it steady for the second mile even though I was debating stopping to try and stretch some of the tightness out and went through second mile in 8.55. Gradually picked up the pace on the downhill in mile 3 and was pulling back the 28 min pacer, 8.29 for mile 3. With about 400m to go I was opening the legs a bit, if anything this felt better. Breathing was easy all the way, the discomfort was really just in the feet, really stretched the legs in the last 200m or so pace for the last .1 was 6.44. Finished just behind the pacer.

Final time 27.30, 8.39/mi, Avg HR 161. 68th I think. Big crowd there today. Didn't particularly enjoy it because of the feet situation, but even with the little push at the end recovered very quickly. Volunteered for next week.

Plans is 9miles tomorrow and I'll be trying to keep it around 10min/mi.

Sunday 20th Jan
    9mi, 1hr 35mins, 10.33/mi, Avg HR 146

Determined to be really disciplined with this one and keep it all easy. Kept an eye on both pace and HR and probably managed it about as well as I've ever done on a long run.

As usual, for the first few miles I was feeling little niggles but they went away by the end. I made a bit more effort to stretch before heading out and when I got back. Because I kept it easy I then had to fight the inner temptation to extend it to 10 miles. I even finished about a half mile from home and walked back as a cool down rather than extend the running.

Hopefully I can stick with the patient approach and reap the benefits later in the year. I love being so close to Tymon now, it's great for the long runs, nice mix of gentle drags, short steep hills and flat sections.

Happy with the week overall. Five days completed again.

WK - 5 runs 24.2 miles
    Month to date - 14 runs 63 miles

Ventured up to Tallaght AC tonight after popping into the club open day on Saturday. Session consisted of a 25 minute run around a figure of 8 taking in the Tymon hills beside the M50 roundabout.

There was a massive crowd and I had no clue where to position myself. Decided to start at a comfortable pace and see how I felt. Fell into a group of 4 or so for the first 10 or 11 minutes, then started to pick up the pace and pick people off ahead of me. Finished strong and covered 2.7miles in 24.15 9.13, 8.27 and 8.12 pace in the 3rd mile.

Seems to be a good mix of standards and plenty in or around a similar level to myself so I'll definitely try get to a few more sessions.

Overall covered - 1.9mi WU@10.27, 2.7mi session@8.43, 1.6mi CD@9.59

Total 6.3 miles

Tuesday 22 Jan
    Club session above

Wednesday 23 Jan
    3.5m@10.12 AvgHR 146
    Harder and further than planned on Tuesday so cut the planned 4 a bit short and took it nice and handy around Merrion Sq.

Thursday 24 Jan
    Back up to Tallaght AC. Couple of familiar faces from Tuesday suggested I join their group. When I heard it would be around 9 miles (1.5wu, 6, 1.5cd) I probably should have gone with another group. They said I'd be grand after I said what is been doing the last few weeks.
    Ended up being a good bit harder than anything I've done recently, 6 in the group. The 6 mile was a sort of progression run. Started around 9 and I think the front few finished just under 7. Mine were mostly mid to high 8s.
    Didn't feel as hard running in the group although I was wrecked after. Decided to drop my Saturday run and just do my planned 10mile long run on Sunday.

9m@9.01 AvgHR 164. Splits (9.39, 9.23, 8.55, 8.43, 8.51, 8.23, 8.41, 9.25, 9.11)

Sunday 27 Jan
    10m@9.57 AvgHR 152

Decided to get away from Tymon for a change, headed to Terenure, cut back before Harold's Cross, along Sundrive Road and then back the Crumin Rd, Walkinstown Rd, Greenhills. Knew with that route it'd be down hill out and uphill back, after Wednesday I seemed to automatically get into a rythm a bit quicker than what I have been doing on the LSRs so went with it to make the most of the downhills. Kept an eye on the HR, it did start to creep up, especially with the hills on the way home, but overall was fairly reasonable.

Total for Wk 28.8 miles
    Total YTD 92 miles

Tue 29 Jan
    5.2m 50.02 (9.40/m Avg HR 155)
    Knew I wouldn’t be able to make it to the club so headed out at lunch. A bit under time pressure so couldn’t take it too easy. Bit of a ramble around towards ringsend, grand canal basin and along the quays. Nasty breeze at times but a nice fairly easy run overall.

Wed 30 Jan
    3.6m 36.33 (10.05/m Avg HR 151)
    Had planned 5 but under time pressure and a couple of lads from work had asked to come out with me. Nice easy laps in and around Trinity. Was wrecked all week, I think the harder sessions last week really took it out of me, so was happy enough to go shorter and easy. This took me over 100miles for January. By far the most consistent running I’ve done in years and a pleasant surprise.

Thur 31 Jan
    6m 56.14 (1easy 4hmp/tempo 1easy) (9.21/m Avg HR ??)
    Still not feeling great and debated just doing another shorter easy session. Decided to give it a go, when I was planning this originally had the 4m as tempo, but then I decided I wasn’t really bothered with faster stuff because I’m just trying to base build so put it down as goal HMP (9min miles). Felt Ok doing the easy warm up mile (10.42), it was Baltic out and the breeze in Merrion Sq was cutting enough, meant it was pretty quiet out though and there was plenty of other runners taking advantage and doing a variety of sessions. Decided to not really look at the watch and try run that ‘comfortably hard’ pace (partly just to keep warm), got into a nice rhythm and was surprised enough to see 8.34 for the mile, worried it might be a bit quick, but I’d done similar for longer the previous Thursday so said I’d try stick to roughly the same effort, next mile was 8.46, I was a bit worried at this stage and the legs were a bit heavy, but thought it was mental more than physical. HR monitor wasn’t working for some reason, so I couldn’t use that to convince myself either way. Gritted the teeth a bit and just continued with the rhythm. Next mile was 8.47, and psychologically once I only had one left at that pace I knew I was grand. Picked it up slightly and finished the last quicker mile striding out up the incline for 8.37. Felt I could have kept going for another few miles if needed so effort was probably reasonable. Finished with an easy cool down (10.39). Felt much better heading back into the office.

So 107 miles in January. Feel like I’ve lost a bit of weight and certainly starting to gain some fitness. Turned 36 today. Might treat myself to 4 miles tomorrow and 11 on Sunday to hit 30 for the week!

Saturday 2 Feb

4.47m (42.45) including Corkagh parkrun (25.22 8.07/m avg HR 168)

Woke up early enough so said I might as well do a parkrun. Tymon was cancelled with the ice so ventured to Corkagh. Took a bit of a wrong turn so didn’t have much time to warm up. Quick jog and a few strides and it was time to go.
    Felt grand at the start, settled into the crowd, hadn’t really decided whether to run easy or something in between. Checked the pace and it was around 8.30/m, felt very easy so decided to just go with it. First mile in 8.24, nice enjoyable course, started to gently increase the pace and pick off runners ahead, had the issue with tightness around my ankles again though, this was uncomfortable but not enough to need to stop. Second mile in 8.03, I was working hard enough especially with the discomfort, but in wasnt out of breath or strugggling that way. Last mile and a bit felt long but I was still picking up places, through the third mile in 8.02, I could hear someone behind trying to catch me so that was incentive enough to keep the pace up to the end last 0.13 at 6.54 pace according to the watch.

Apart from the tightness in the ankles, I recovered quickly and set off for a very easy mile cooldown. Dodgy stomach slowed that to a walk, if the churning kept up things were likely to take a nasty turn! I’ve had some bad experiences in the past so wasn’t taking chances.

I’ll definitely head to Corkagh again, it’s a nice course, bit of drag in places but nothing really hilly. I’d say it’s very quick on a warm summer morning. Still feel like my quickest 5k is not going to be much better than 24mins at the moment, but then I’m not trying to work on speed and I know the stamina and endurance is improving.

Sunday 3 Feb
    Plan 11 miles easy
    Actual 60mins (5.6m easy @10.34/m avgHR 144)

I’ve gone from 15 miles the week before Christmas to nearly 29 miles last week. I was tired all week this week, the planned 11 miles would have seen me over 30, but I decided to listen to the body and just have a shorter easy run today. Completely uneventful but glad I didn’t try push on for the longer run. Still feeling a bit achy this evening. Hoping the step back will help and I can push on over the 30 mile week next week.

Week Total 25miles
    January total 107 miles
    Feb to Date 10 miles
    Year to Date 117miles

I think I’ll call that one a reset week. Busy with work and family commitments, still feeling pretty tired and run down so only a 6mile easy run on Wednesday to show for the week.

Bounce back week this week. Possibly Superhero 10k on Sunday.

Back in the groove this week. Decided to get the runs in before starting work and it seems to suit me.

Tuesday 12 Feb
    5m@9.50/m Avg HR 157
    Legs felt very fresh after the break, took it very easy anyway and enjoyed the laps of Merrion Sq.

Wednesday 13 Feb
    5m@9.51/m Avg HR 154
    Same as the day before, still feeling good. Laps in the opposite direction around Merrion Sq again.

Thursday 14 Feb
    Plan 2m warm up 3x1m fast with 1/2m recovery.

Decided to do 15mins rather than 2 miles for the warm up. Then started into the first quick mile. Wasn’t sure pace wise but targeting 8.30 a mile for 10k race on Sunday so thought I’d aim for around 8.00. Finished the mile in 7.57 and felt pretty good. Realised when the recovery started that I’d somehow programmed a 1/4m instead of a half. Decided I’d go with it anyway rather than try fix it. Just over 2.5 minutes later I was into my second quick mile, 7.47 this time, still feeling pretty good, although I wasn’t disappointed to hear the watch buzz. Similar time for the recovery and into the 3rd quick one, again felt OK, was a bit more careful with the pace and came in at 7.49. Again not dying but glad to hear the buzz at the end. Bit of cool down and back to another busy day in the office.

5.73m@9.05/m 7.57, 7.47, 7.49 for the ‘fast’ miles. Avg HR 156

Signed up for the Superhero 10k in Kill on Sunday. Should be able to run 52mins. I see there’s a 50min pacer though, so seeing as I’m running it as a ‘test’ race in advance of the target Wicklow half on March 24th I might just try push it for the 50mins and see what happens.

Sunday 17 Feb 10m@9.26/m including 10k in 52.30 8.27/m

Didn’t get out on Saturday, had thought I might do 3 or 4 easy miles to keep the legs moving before the race Sunday but didn’t manage to fit it in. Wasn’t feeling great that evening but headed to bed early. Headache woke me a few times during the night and wasn’t cleared in the morning, started getting myself ready anyway, but major bout of nausea as I was trying to eat breakfast and I puked in the kitchen sink! The medication I’m on for the arthritis does make me a little nauseous most mornings but I usually don’t eat until I get to work, with the headache added this morning it was a disaster. Still considered going to Kill and doing the run anyway, but popped a couple of nurofen plus and lay back down for an hour, wasn’t feeling well enough to chance driving down and giving it a go.

A few hours later I was feeling a bit better, met friends for brunch and wolfed down a stack of pancakes and by 4 o’clock decided I’d head out and do 10 miles with a 10k TT in the middle. Nice easy 2 mile warmup and decided to aim for my target race pace of 8.30 a mile for the 10k. Very windy in Tymon so not ideal. First TT mile, wind assisted and mostly downhill in 8.20, maybe a bit quick, still wasn’t sure I’d manage the full distance, mile two back into the wind and climbing, tried to avoid looking at the watch and was pretty pleased to see 8.33, back downhill and wind assisted again for mile 3 and 8.20 again, pretty much half way, legs felt pretty strong but was still doubting I could keep it going, mile 4 was the most ascent and happy to see 8.29 again, mile 5 started to slow a little bit not too dramatic 8.34 and mile 6 I was working hard to keep going but 8.31 and gave it pretty much everything I had for another .3 of a mile to what I hoped was 10k (should have programmed the watch!). Bit of a walk to recover and finished out the 10 miles.

Delighted to get it done after such a disappointing start to the day. According to Strava the 10k time was 52.30. Considering it was a TT in windy conditions I’m pretty pleased that I was within 30 seconds of my race target. Still a long way to go, but I was happy that the legs didn’t die completely and I could push myself for the full distance. Still seem to be on track for a sub 2 half.

Might finally hit a 30 mile week next week.

Week Total 25.7m
    Month Total 41.9m
    Year Total 149m

Tuesday 19 Feb
    Plan 5m easy Actual 4.1m@10.14 AvgHR 145
    Chilly morning, legs pretty tired from the hard effort on Friday. Felt ok but not great so decided to cut it a bit short.

Wednesday 20 Feb
    Plan 5m easy Actual 4.3m@10.06 AvgHR 146
    Very mild morning. Pretty similar to the day before. Feeling better but tight for time so cut it a bit short again.

Thursday 21 Feb
    Plan 7m with 5HMP Actual 7.15@9.12 AvgHR 153
    Unreal morning for a run. Felt great heading out, bumped into someone I knew for part of the first easy mile so that flew by. Into the HM pace miles, the first one always feels a bit weird, goal was around 9.00 or just under. First one was 8.55, started to get comfortable and second mile in 9.00, first time since starting to run regularly again where I got that old feeling that the legs were almost numb and just flowing along without even thinking, really starting to enjoy it, third mile 8.49. Soaking in the lovely morning and feeling like I was ‘running’ for the first time in years, mile 4 flew in 8.48. Felt like I was working a bit in the 5th quicker mile, but was also thinking I can definitely keep this going for a good few more miles. When the watch buzzed it was 8.33 for the mile, no wonder I was working a bit harder, that’s closer to current 10k pace, but it still felt really good. Finished off with an easy mile and a bit to cool down and a real feeling of satisfaction heading into the day. Finally feeling some fitness returning, a little bit of weight has been coming off, and I’m more confident I can hit my short term goals. Looking forward to what the next few weeks bring.

Saturday 23 Feb
    Missed my Saturday run again. Had hoped to get in at least 3 miles. So another week that will drop below 30 total.

Sunday 24 Feb
    12m @10.23/m AvgHR 150 2hrs 4mins 44seconds in total.

Would probably have only done 10 if I’d got the Saturday run done. Decided to push it out to 12. Lovely day for a run again. Decided to head down towards Bohernabreena Reservoir for the first time in ages. Didn’t feel great for the first few miles but got into a steady enough rhythm, had almost forgotten how lovely the reservoir is. Had also forgotten how steep some of the climbs are. Didn’t feel particularly comfortable but knew I was ok. Running beside the upper reservoir there was 4 deer casually lapping at the stream, very peaceful up that way and lovely to be taking in the fresh air. Loop around the top lake and then the lovely downhill. Picked up the pace a bit for a while to make the most of the descent but nothing hectic. Back up towards Tallaght and the legs were feeling the hills but the breathing was good and the HR was fairly controlled.

Overall another decent week. Next week hoping to hit the full 5 days and full planned mileage. I’ll hit 32 if I do. It’s pretty much a mirror of this week, I think I had an extra week in the plan and duplicated it.

I have a 14 mile pencilled in for the week after but not sure if it’s worthwhile. The 12 miles takes me to around 2 hours running and that’s my half marathon goal time. Suppose I’ll see how things feel. The longer term goal is DCM so it might be nice to have up to 14m in the bag for LSR.

Week Total 27.7m
    Month to Date 69.7m
    Year to Date 177.3m

Tuesday 26 Feb
    4.29m@9.46 AvgHR 149

A bit pushed for time so slightly short and quick. Nothing really of note apart from the fact it was zero degrees.

Wednesday 27 Feb
    5.25m@10.16 AvgHR144
    Nice and easy zero degrees again. Happy with this.

Thursday 28 Feb 7.08m@9.25 AvgHR 156
    Mile easy followed by 5@hmp. Had to work pretty hard for this, definitely harder than the previous week. Merrion Sq again but opposite direction, makes for a longer drag and that possibly adds difficulty. Splits of 9.06, 8.58, 8.59, 8.53 and 8.56 so nicely controlled at least.

February ends with a slightly disappointing 86.3 miles.

Saturday 2 March
    3.04m@10.37 AvgHR 151
    Easy leg loosener. Had skipped a good few Saturday runs so determined to get out. Timed it for the worst of the wind and rain. Trail runners on and stuck to the grass. Effort was a bit high due to the conditions and possibly a bit of a head cold. My VO2 dropped to 47 on the Garmin having hit 49 last week.

Sunday 3 March
    12.02m@9.39 AvgHR 156
    12 with 5hmp was the plan. Out about 1.20 in the cold and lashing rain. Headed for Tymon to do this on a not too hilly route. Real mental test, shorts and long sleeve T-shirt not the best choice, at least I had a bobble hat. Five easy miles and wondered if I’d be able to get the slightly numb legs moving. Picked it up and hit 8.45 on first goal pace mile. A tad quick but mostly downhill and got the blood flowing. Followed with 9.01 uphill, 8.49, 8.57, 8.51. Finished on a steep hill with strides. Happy with that and two miles easy back to the house.

Overall very happy with the week. First time over 30 miles at last.

Week Total: 31.7m
    February Total: 86.3m
    March to date: 15.1m
    Year to date: 209m

Seem to have done something to my lower back over the weekend. Was pretty bad Sunday after the long run and uncomfortable all day yesterday. Took and extra rest day today and it’s certainly eased but not 100%. Don’t really want to skip another day but will see how it feels in the morning. Wondering if I tweaked something or if it’s the general wear and tear and not stretching regularly enough that’s catching up on me.

Bad start to the week, dodgy back, bunged up sinuses and a developing cough.

Sat out a planned 5 miles on Tuesday and Wednesday. Feeling a bit better Thursday so decided to try the planned session. 4x1m fast with 0.5m recovery.

Thursday 07 March
    5.19m @9.41/m Avg HR 161
    Felt grand warming up with an easy trot and picked up the pace to start the first quick mile, it was far too quick early on and despite pulling it back towards the end I was already struggling, 7.55 for the mile, into the second one and knew early on I wasn’t going to be completing 4. Started to struggle and lose form, finished it in 8.11, HR through the roof and decided to cut my losses and just run a couple more easy miles to bring the total over 5 for the day.

Saturday 09 March
    3.62m@8.54/m AvgHR 158
    Plan was to run a 3 mile tempo. Set out to run a mile warm up, the the tempo and a cool down. Wasn’t feeling too bad. Pretty cold and blustery out. Ran the warm up and started to pick it up, 8.16, 8.02 and then turned into the wind and felt like death so pulled the plug again. Trotted back home feeling sorry for myself after another disappointing run.

Sunday 10 March
    13.22m@10.13/m AvgHR 154
    Plan was somewhere between 12 and 14 miles. Longest run before the Wicklow half in 2 weeks time. Decided I’d aim for the half marathon distance. With impeccable timing I left the house just as the thunder snow was staring, so the first two miles were fairly uncomfortable to say the least. Actually brightened up after and was a pleasant enough jaunt. Took the hilly route and headed for the reservoir again to somewhat mimic the Wicklow race profile. Felt good enough with the wind at my back to pick up the pace to around Wicklow goal pace from miles 10-12. Recovered well enough too, back seems fine and just the expected fatigue elsewhere. I have ticked off the half marathon distance and at least I have a target to aim for! Feel like I’m still on track to go sub 2, depending on weather and just how much the hills hit me.

Getting out three times at least salvaged something from the week and Sunday was positive.

Weekly Total 22m
    Month to Date 37.1m
    Year to Date 230.5m

Tues 12 Mar
    Plan 5 easy
    Actual 3@10.39 AvgHR 140

Came close enough to doing nothing, just feeling a bit tired after the weekend. Glad I got out and did something at least, a few laps around Trinity.

Wed 13 March
    Plan 5 easy
    Actual 5.19@9.59 AvgHR 148
    Up to Stephens Green. Very easy first mile,9.41-9.50 pace for the rest. Nothing remarkable. Glad to get it done.

Thurs 14 March
    Woke at 5.30 in the morning and sounded horrific out so decided to have a bit of extra time in bed and postpone the session for a day. Was actually grand by the time I’d have been out but hey him.

Friday 15 March
    Plan 7m with 5@hmp
    Actual 6.57@9.12 AvgHR 159
    Easy mile to wake up the legs. They were feeling fairly heavy. Down to Merrion where they were getting the festivities set for the weekend. Blustery but grand conditions for it. Bit of a grind but HMP splits were 8.55, 9.00, 8.47, 8.52, 8.37. Cut the cool down a bit short, just over an hour total and happy to get it done.

Sat 16 Mar
    3-4m tempo
    Actual 4.5m@9.02 AvgHR 158
    Nice to stretch the legs a bit. Was pretty cool, windy and showery. Didn’t fancy a long warm up so after about 600 yards started to pick it up. Headed towards Tymon and did most of the tempoish stuff on the hilly figure 8 beside the M50 roundabout. Held around 8.20 to 8.30 pace for 5k and just over a mile easing down back to the house. Last bit of leg stretching before the Wicklow Gaol break Half next Sunday. Felt pretty good.

Sunday 17 Mar
    Plan 8m easy
    Actual 8m@9.52 AvgHR 153

Bit of a mini taper after my longest run of this cycle last Sunday. Slightly quicker than I’ve done a lot of my long runs but nothing crazy. Around and about Tymon. Windy again but mild enough. Nothing major to note. Body feels ok. Fairly optimistic about next week.

A goal for next week is 1.56 or better. B goal is 1.59.59. C goal is get around without an injury but with a disappointing time.

I’ve been fairly consistent with my running although only one week over 30 miles when there should have been a few more. In November I was flat out to run a 10k in 56mins so I know I’ve improved quite a bit, but probably not made the massive quick strides I’d have hoped for (optimistically). I tend to forget that I was extremely inactive for over 4 years before getting back into this.

Looking forward to giving it a lash and then refoccussing on some shorter and sharper stuff to target the Terenure 5 mile.

Runs this week 5
    Runs this year 49
    Weekly mileage 27.3
    Month to Date 64.3
    Year to Date 258.2

A bit more tapering this week than I really planned.

Tuesday 19 March
    Plan 3 easy
    Actual 2.37@9.27 AvgHR 155
    Decided I’d run at lunch as I wasn’t feeling great in the am. Day got away a bit so pressed for time. Ran a bit quicker than usual but gear rate still higher than it should have been.

Wednesday 20 March
    Plan 3 easy
    Actual rest
    Still feeling a bit ropey and HR seemed higher than normal so decided to just rest and hope it wasn’t something major coming on.

Thursday 21 March
    Plan 3 with 1 tempo
    Actual 3.24@9.30 AvgHR 160
    Though it’d be a good idea to at least stretch the legs a bit before the weekend. 8.13 for the tempo mile. Felt ok if not great.

Thought about doing a few miles Saturday but just went for a stroll instead to stop the legs seizing up.

Sunday 24 March
    Wicklow Gaol Break Half Marathon
    Hadn’t been feeling 100% all week. Possibly a bit in the head. First real target race in years. Good sleep Friday night and not bad Saturday. Woke up feeling fresh. Porridge for breakfast and off down to Wicklow to collect the number and go for it.
    Training was based on a target of 1.58. I knew with the hilly course that might be a challenge. Hoped if it went well I might hit around 1.56. Main aim was to be under 2.
    First mile is mainly down hill or flat. Target was to hit around 8.50 for the mile, knowing that there was a good five miles of mostly climb to follow. Nice atmosphere around and I think I started in about the right spot. Happy enough with 8.42 for mile 1. I had made a pace band and accounted for the hills, main aim being even effort, conserve a bit on the climbs and use the wonderful gravity to claw it back on the descents. 8.54 and 8.53 for the following miles and I was alread getting ahead of target. Didn’t feel crazy though and I was determined to attack it rather than take it too easy. 4-6 brought me close to the highest point and there was some fairly serious hills, mainly passing people and seeing lots reduced to walking really pushed me on and I was flying as soon as there was any descending. 9.25, 9.02, 9.04. I knew the highest point was around 6.3 and the second half was mostly downhill so the fact I was ahead of target and feeing good pushed me on. Brought two gels and took one at the first water station just past 4 miles. Still rolling hills for miles 7 and 8 but a lovely steep descent from the top of the course helped to build momentum 8.40 and 8.44. Mile 9 must have been pretty much all downhill because it was my second fastest, a possibly dangerously quick 8.17, seeing as I’ve been finding it hard enough to hold that speed for a few miles in training. Took gel two around mile 9. Mile ten continued downwards and the pace kept up pretty well to clock in at 8.27. A look at the pace band told me there was hills coming in miles 11 and 12, but I was still feeling good and tried to push on as much as possible, still overtaking and nobody really coming back 8.46 and 8.33 and now I was ahead of my A goal by a fair bit and looked like 1.55 might be breakable. Mostly downhill for the last 1.1 miles, with a couple of nasty drags to remind you this was a hilly course! Kept building and driving on for an 8.09 mile. Now the sub 1.55 was definitely on. One surprise nasty little ramp in the last few hundred meters before turning down to the Gaol. Kept pumping the legs and 6.53 pace for the last .18 (by Garmin). Absolutely delighted to stop the watch at 1.54.49.

Well beyond expectations, especially given the course profile. Soaking some very weary muscles now. It certainly hurt but I also had a bit more left than I expected in the last mile. Looking forward to doing some shorter stuff now and targeting sub 40 for the Terenure 5 mile.

Given the struggles of the last few years with the arthritic foot it’s a great feeling to have finished a half marathon again. Foot isn’t feeling the best, but hopefully it won’t flair up enough to stop me running and progressing.

Week: 18.7m
    Month to Date: 83.1m
    Year to Date: 277m

A bit of reflection on the training cycle today. I completed 237 of 289 planned miles (82%). A bit disappointed in that, but I’m trying to be sensible and listen to the body so took some time off when I was feeling under the weather. Only one week where I was massively under the plan completing only 6 of a planned 32.

Coming from a starting point of barely breaking 30mins for 5k in late October I’ve made some decent progress. Started this plan on the 15th January having run two sub 25 5ks in Dec/Jan. Average miles per week and runs per week this year is 24 and 4. Hoping to get that closer to 30 and 5 or 6 days before the Dublin marathon block.

The race itself exceeded expectations, conditions were perfect, sunny, light breeze and not too warm. I’d say it could be torture on a wet and windy day. Really hoping this base will help me build some speed back up now and I can get the 5k to 10k speed up to a better level.

Plan now is easy week this week and then 6 or 7 weeks of focused training for the Terenure 5 mile on12 May. Follow that with another 8 weeks half marathon plan for Clontarf on 6 July and that will leave 16 weeks to DCM. Will include the race series in those weeks.

Body feels better today than I expected. Hoping to continue the improvements and the consistency now. From not being sure if I’d be able to run again at all last summer to where I am now I have to be happy. Even if I still have a bad habit of looking at where I was 5 years ago and thinking my times now are terrible.