Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good movies completely ruined by one scene

• 31-12-2018 2:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭

Dark knight rises,. The last scene of the film

The ending scene was corny and implausible and unnecessary like it was cut from a different movie, a rom com flick.

It completely flipped the whole tone of the franchise from a dark and gritty psychological and moral study of humanity into a sickening fairytale Hollywood ending

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

And Bruce dying for Gotham because Morgan Freeman forgot to update the auto-pilot software on the Batcoptor would have been okay?

It probably should have ended with Alfred smiling minus the reverse shot of Bruce drinking a latte. And it definitely shouldn't have ended with the "Robin" scene. But American viewers would have been confused. Youtube explainer videos weren't as big back then.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

"Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!"

Ok, that was just an ok movie ruined by a terrible scene, but still.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I actually don't think it's possible for a film to be ruined by the final scene. Is Alien ruined when the alien turns out to be a guy in a rubber suit at the end? Hell no. Ditto Jaws. When a movie is nearly over it can get away with dumb stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭SixtaWalthers

Harry Potter Part 2, last scene where Harry and his friends send their kids for the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Hotcups

The ending scene was corny and implausible and unnecessary like it was cut from a different movie, a rom com flick.

It completely flipped the whole tone of the franchise from a dark and gritty psychological and moral study of humanity into a sickening fairytale Hollywood ending

I agree ... I actually shouted "you f*cking ruined the whole trilogy" in the cinema when the clerk said You should use your full name. I like that name. "Robin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Harry Potter Part 2, last scene where Harry and his friends send their kids for the school.

Was thinking that exactly when I watched it the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Not a good movie by any means but Desperado 2 was quite passable and I was enjoying it in a silly way until Enrique Ingleseas Used a Gutiar case like a RC car and drove it along then exploded..... I pretty much checked out at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Munich: sex scene

Watchmen: sex scene

The Departed: rat runs across balcony rail at very end. I mean, come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

There’s a scene in a Gremlins where the love interest tells this story about why she hates Christmas.

It’s because her father got trapped in the chimney and died when she was a child. They only found out where he was due to the stench of his rotting flesh a number of days later. She ends by saying it was then she realized there was no such thing as Santa.

It’s a quite frankly horrific scene in a kids movie and why it’s there I have no idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Gone girl: Sure let's get back together, after you framed me for your murder, then murdered a guy then did a whole load of f*cked up ****, yep this relationship is salvageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

There’s a scene in a Gremlins where the love interest tells this story about why she hates Christmas.

It’s because her father got trapped in the chimney and died when she was a child. They only found out where he was due to the stench of his rotting flesh a number of days later. She ends by saying it was then she realized there was no such thing as Santa.

It’s a quite frankly horrific scene in a kids movie and why it’s there I have no idea.

Gremlins is a comedy horror. Not a kids film.

The musical/dance number in Clerks 2. It’s not a great film anyway but that bit was chronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Gone girl: Sure let's get back together, after you framed me for your murder, then murdered a guy then did a whole load of f*cked up ****, yep this relationship is salvageable.
    I thought in that film the whole point was he was trapped and had no choice but to stay with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Harika

Matrix? paraphrasing "Neo can't die because I was prophesied to love the one and that is him" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I actually don't think it's possible for a film to be ruined by the final scene. Is Alien ruined when the alien turns out to be a guy in a rubber suit at the end? Hell no. Ditto Jaws. When a movie is nearly over it can get away with dumb stuff.

A movie can be ruined by multiple final scenes. A la return of the King. Get it done already, I have to pee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

gmisk wrote: »
    I thought in that film the whole point was he was trapped and had no choice but to stay with her?

I know but I thought it was bollocks. I was waiting for her to get her comeuppance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Birneybau wrote: »

Watchmen: sex scene

The Departed: rat runs across balcony rail at very end. I mean, come on.
    "The rat symbolises obviousness!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Macdarack

I watched Annie yesterday and I was horrified to see Miss Hannigan at the party in the last scene, she aided and abetted the criminals who kidnapped Annie and was to make money from this fraudulent activity. She should have been in jail.

Macdarack wrote: »
    I watched Annie yesterday and I was horrified to see Miss Hannigan at the party in the last scene, she aided and abetted the criminals who kidnapped Annie and was to make money from this fraudulent activity. She should have been in jail.

Ah c'mon, are you serious? I remember this movie when I was a child in the early eighties and my impression of Miss Hannigan was of a highly entertaining character and quite frankly the movie would have been crap without her. The end scene is a finale which was also included in the original Broadway show and the character of Miss Hannigan was adored by audiences during it's run, to leave her out of the final scene in the movie would not have stayed true to the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Was a bad film for me well before the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Not the only thing that spoils We Were Soldiers but I find it hard to think of too many rivals with a more stupidly OTT ending. Had the ingredients to make a very worthy ‘Nam film and botched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Ah c'mon, are you serious? I remember this movie when I was a child in the early eighties and my impression of Miss Hannigan was of a highly entertaining character and quite frankly the movie would have been crap without her. The end scene is a finale which was also included in the original Broadway show and the character of Miss Hannigan was adored by audiences during it's run, to leave her out of the final scene in the movie would not have stayed true to the story.

She was an alcoholic goul, a hussy , how she treated those kids , and tried to hoodwink Daddy Warbucks for 25000 dollars. There's no way she should have been at that party. No way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

There are a number of films which may not have been ruined by one scene, but whose reputation was damaged by one. The clown scene in Octopussy is definitely one. The image of Moore in clown make up is certainly used to illustrate how bad that movie is. It was certainly a risk but that scene in context of the movie is actually very tense and I think only Moore could make it work. There are some missteps in the movie overall but it is definitely very enjoyable and in my top 10 Bond movies. There is some excellent stunts on both a train and a plane too.

Another one is the gymnastics killing the raptor in The Lost World. Definitely a stupid moment but it is only a 10 second scene in an otherwise very watchable movie. Although it is by no means as good as the original, it is still a fantastic piece of 90s action cinema and Goldblum and Moore (Julianne not Roger ;) ) make a great team. Very good support by Vince Vaughan, Richard Schiff and Pete Postlethwaite too. I'd watch it any day over the stupid new Jurassic World franchise.

Macdarack wrote: »
    She was an alcoholic goul, a hussy , how she treated those kids , and tried to hoodwink Daddy Warbucks for 25000 dollars. There's no way she should have been at that party. No way.

Don't be such a snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Four Weddings and a Funeral, almost perfect British movie of its era and genre, and far superior than Love Actually and Notting Hill. However the casting of Andie MacDowell really sticks out - it's only that the rest of the cast put in top class performances that you manage to largely disregard her attempts at acting.

One scene towards the end, MacDowell delivers one of the cheesiest lines in contemporary film, "Is it still raining? I hadn't noticed." They should just cut the line from the film, it's awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Gremlins is not a kids movie and that scene doesn’t ruin the film.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭fitz

Funniest scene of the movie!!

Saw. Not a horror fan, but it was a decent movie until the decision to use the saw at the end. The phone he needs is barely out of reach...can just about reach out with his hand, but sure, why would holding the saw and pulling it in with that be a good idea?! Much more preferable to just go ahead and use it to cut his foot off...
    Real shout-at-the-screen stuff.

Don't be such a snowflake
    Yeah only a snowflake would be bothered by someone like that.

Snowflakes are offended by fictional characters all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

Basic Instinct :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Gremlins was a horror movie not a children's movie. I watched it as a teenager (16 or so) and thought it was feckin hilarious!

Sure didn't Podge and Rodge sing about shooting Santa in the aras up the chimney (They're not for kids either btw!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Titanic. The ship is about to go down and Kate and Leo climb over the rail and await Armageddon. But instead of sheer panic and fight for survival. ...Kate proclaims ...'oh look Leo ....This is where we first met '!!!!

Sounds legit. Not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TheUnderfaker

I thought Jurassic World was pretty decent until the T-Rex and the raptor nodded at each other harmoniously at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TheUnderfaker

Goldeneye when James Bond dives off a cliff after a plane, manages to get into it and then flies it to safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,181 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

And Bruce dying for Gotham because Morgan Freeman forgot to update the auto-pilot software on the Batcoptor would have been okay?

It probably should have ended with Alfred smiling minus the reverse shot of Bruce drinking a latte. And it definitely shouldn't have ended with the "Robin" scene. But American viewers would have been confused. Youtube explainer videos weren't as big back then.

I agree with the Alfred smiling but I wonder did they think they could make a new trilogy with Robin or Nightwing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Birneybau wrote: »

Sex scene was a bit overwrought; I thought the scene that really ruined that film was the bit where the Mossad death squad end up sharing a safe house for the night with a PLO death squad, and have a big chat and share their philosophies together; such an implausible and convoluted piece of plotting.

And then that pan at the end of the film to the World Trade Center... subtle as a sledgehammer.

Kids movie are you serious

Harika wrote: »
    Matrix? paraphrasing "Neo can't die because I was prophesied to love the one and that is him" :rolleyes:

No the worse scene is the Matrix Trilogy that tops any other scene is the Rave dance scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

The Crying Game. Jaysus.

It was about as subtle as a dick to the face

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Gremlins is not a kids movie and that scene doesn’t ruin the film.
    To such an extent that it was one of the main reasons that the PG-13 rating category got created in the US.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Goldeneye when James Bond dives off a cliff after a plane, manages to get into it and then flies it to safety

Staying with the Bond franchise, the final scene in For Your Eyes Only which I think is Roger Moore`s finest outing as 007. This film is quite serious in its tone until the very last scene featuring a parrot responding to a phone call from Margaret Thatcher. Completely ruins the film for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Indiana Jones surviving a nuclear blast in a fridge.

Edit: good movies.....

John Mcclane taking out an F35 in Die Hard 4. Really no need for it.

Also,

Killing off Hoban and Shepard in Serenity. No need for it.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

There were a few scenes that ruined TDKR. Talia Al Ghul being a character is the biggest problem I have with it. Cotillard was dreadful in the film, especially compared to how good she was in Inception 2 years prior. The reveal completely neutralized Bane as a threat to the point that his ridiculous death scene moments later felt fair enough rather than ****. Talias death was even more hilarious. I've seen better acting in Fair City. Then of course there's Batman flying off with the bomb, which many of us had seen before more eloquently sequenced in Adam Wests Batman.
    The Robin thing doesn't overly bother me in comparison to all of the above, he's obviously not supposed to be Robin, it's just a overtly obvious, on the nose reference for fans. It was a ballsy move choosing to finish with actual change rather than inertia, maybe didn't stick the landing, but I preferred it to showing Bruce on a building voiceovering that he would be batman forever, that was only ok for the ****ty original quadrilogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

Titanic. The ship is about to go down and Kate and Leo climb over the rail and await Armageddon. But instead of sheer panic and fight for survival. ...Kate proclaims ...'oh look Leo ....This is where we first met '!!!!

Sounds legit. Not.

There was plenty of jaysus room for him on the door or whatever it was - she could've scooted over and let him on and also how very convenient the guy nearest her was the one with the whistle :rolleyes:

I agree with the Alfred smiling but I wonder did they think they could make a new trilogy with Robin or Nightwing

He's not becoming Nightwing, he's becoming Batman. The point was that Batman would live on as a symbol beyond Bruce.

And I highly doubt that's what they intended, seeing as it's Nolan, a man all about artistic integrity even in comic book films. He doesn't exactly cash in very often.

Snowflakes are offended by fictional characters all the time
    Ah yeah i know - tis only a film and i wouldn't be getting as worked up about it as the other poster seems to be. I used to love that film and saw it countless times. I'd probably still really enjoy it if I watched it now. I think the point was that she had a crisis of conscience and suddenly rejected her wicked ways, but that's pretty far fetched. She was a pure witch to the girls under her care. Being a musical though, she suddenly turned good and kind, and it's just a bit of escapism and idealism.

The book is more serious and she does get sent to jail.

BadTurtle wrote: »
    He's not becoming Nightwing, he's becoming Batman. The point was that Batman would live on as a symbol beyond Bruce.

And I highly doubt that's what they intended, seeing as it's Nolan, a man all about artistic integrity even in comic book films. He doesn't exactly cash in very often.

Well they could make him Batman at the start but realizing he is not and then becomes Nightwing but it was just an easter egg by the time it came out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

The ending of Fury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Kids movie are you serious

Gremlins is a PG 13 movie.

Do you think it's 18's or something?

Gremlins is a PG 13 movie.

Do you think it's 18's or something?

Rated 15s in Europe. Makes it definitively not a kids film.