Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas weigh-in

• 30-12-2018 5:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Anyone been brave enough to step on the scales the last few days following all the delicious festivities?

I’m avoiding it like the plague but reckon I’ve gained about 5 pounds, easily lost in the new year when I get back to the old routine. Munching on USA biscuits as I type this 🀪

So AH, how fat have you gotten this Christmas?

Anyone been brave enough to step on the scales the last few days following all the delicious festivities?

I’m avoiding it like the plague but reckon I’ve gained about 5 pounds, easily lost in the new year when I get back to the old routine. Munching on USA biscuits as I type this ��

So AH, how fat have you gotten this Christmas?

Somewhere between the Michelin Man and the Goodyear blimp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Already had a good starting point so you can't notice.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I lost a kilo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Gained five pounds but lost two yesterday by eating properly again. So up three pounds. Will probably drop it again in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Gained five pounds but lost two yesterday by eating properly again. So up three pounds. Will probably drop it again in the next few days.

I'd shoite two pounds.

I haven't weighed myself in years. I know I would obsess about the number. In the past three years though I have gained probably two stone. This past week I'd say I've added another half. Sure look. It won't cause me to lose sleep. Vanity went out the window a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Stepped on last night, its a new record for me. I'll be one of thoese ejjits in the gym on jan 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Stheno wrote: »
    I lost a kilo

Me too, ate clean and still trained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

I'll just say, I'm a bit harder to kidnap after the last two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I can’t stand when people self-flagellate over eating bad things and Christmastime heightens this nonsense. My mother-in-law and my father are really bad for this: “Oh, this is so bad for me, I shouldn’t”, “this is full of calories” scoff scoff scoff. Eat it or don’t eat, just don’t eat it whilst going on about how unhealthy it is! Nobody is forcing you to eat it.

They’ve both been driving me a bit mad with that craic this Christmas. My MIL was going around forlornly with the trifle bowl the other day, trying to get someone to eat the last portion but we were all stuffed. She wanted to eat it and had a big puss on her because nobody else wanted it so that she wouldn’t be tempted. Just eat the damn trifle if you want it, FFS! Why the dance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

I'm going to step on the scales again in the New Year. I lost 6kg recently but I'm expecting to have put back on at least 2. Hopefully will come off again when I return to normal eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I never weigh myself but i always put on a bit of weight over the winter, it doesn't bother me though because it's easy to work it off again in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Me too, ate clean and still trained

That sounds not a bit enjoyable.

Anyway, its still Christmas till 7th Jan, then me and the scales and the adidas can reacquainted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Trick is to lose a bit through October and November, then the blowout in December wont be as bad.
    Never do it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

Got weighed on the 27th, I gained 2lbs. No big deal, I'll lose that and more in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I can’t stand when people self-flagellate over eating bad things and Christmastime heightens this nonsense. My mother-in-law and my father are really bad for this: “Oh, this is so bad for me, I shouldn’t”, “this is full of calories” scoff scoff scoff. Eat it or don’t eat, just don’t eat it whilst going on about how unhealthy it is! Nobody is forcing you to eat it[\QUOTE]

Thank you for this post. Drives me absolutely crazy. These people are generally bores that suck the ****ing Fun out of everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

About the same, maybe half a kilo more but that's same every weekend. I don't watch what I eat but since I'm not a big fan of Roses and similar stuff it's much of a muchness. BBQ season is way more deadly for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

seems to be ok - but have some vague memories that my extra weight had a delay - was not showing up until the days I had to be back in work :confused:

- so maybe I should stop planning lovely foods for NYE dinner, and add a fasting day tomorrow to keep it slim :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Larbre34 wrote: »
    That sounds not a bit enjoyable.

Anyway, its still Christmas till 7th Jan, then me and the scales and the adidas can reacquainted.

Enjoyment is subsective, I had a really enjoyable Christmas

Had not just one but two After Eights on Christmas Day and still wracked with the guilt, and not just because it wasn't even after eight.

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Thank you for this post. Drives me absolutely crazy. These people are generally bores that suck the ****ing Fun out of everything

Well, my husband made the point that maybe they vocalise this stuff as a kind of way to stop themselves going really mad on the bad food, sort of checking themselves. Good point, but that doesn’t stop it being really boring to listen to. My MIL doesn’t guilt anyone else but my father does a bit - “Oh, that’ll take a lot of exercise for you to work off!” and “I’m the only one who didn’t have seconds at Xmas dinner this year!”. And then when nobody is looking, you’ll see him out in the kitchen, picking at things. :D There’s still calories in the food you’re eating on the sly, pops! :D Plus, many people have earned the right to eat whatever they want Xmas week because they eat well the rest of the year.

It’s just obsessing about food, which is not a healthy mindset and IMO makes recidivism more likely. My dad lost two stone this year. He’s done really well but I fear that he’s doomed to failure because of the self-flagellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I kinda have a natural cruising weight and don't stray much from it unless I'm on the drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I am at a point where I can't see the difference with a few more kilos. I too will be a red faced sweatbox in a gym over the coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Weighed myself 26th and had put on 5 pounds between the run up to Christmas and the day itself. So have eased off on the crap food and went running everyday since and basically have it off. Nice not to be facing into January up a load of weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

One of the things about xmas which would be in my top 3 things to hate about xmas is this idea that it is expected that one totally pigs out over the xmas season. There is noting wrong with having a dessert or a few chocolates but it seems to be one of the things xmas is all about, to pig out as far as possible. You can have nice treats sure but why the hell do we have to OTT on it. And then as a result go into panic mode after the season is over, joining gyms etc which is often short lived.

I had my xmas dinner which is a relatively healthy meal followed by my mons trifle. Later in the evening over a game of cards I had 3 chocolates - and thats it as far as unhealthy sweet food is concerned. No need to panic, no need to take out the weighing scales etc. I didn't have any xmas cake, xmas pudding with brandy butter and whatever other highly calorific fare most have at xmas. The idea of eating all that junk over a few days makes me feel ill at the thought of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

AllForIt wrote: »
    One of the things about xmas which would be in my top 3 things to hate about xmas is this idea that it is expected that one totally pigs out over the xmas season. There is noting wrong with having a dessert or a few chocolates but it seems to be one of the things xmas is all about, to pig out as far as possible. You can have nice treats sure but why the hell do we have to OTT on it. And then as a result go into panic mode after the season is over, joining gyms etc which is often short lived.

I had my xmas dinner which is a relatively healthy meal followed by my mons trifle. Later in the evening over a game of cards I had 3 chocolates - and thats it as far as unhealthy sweet food is concerned. No need to panic, no need to take out the weighing scales etc. I didn't have any xmas cake, xmas pudding with brandy butter and whatever other highly calorific fare most have at xmas. The idea of eating all that junk over a few days makes me feel ill at the thought of it.

Fair play. I on the other hand, have eaten all the pies (and sweets and cake and stuffing and biscuits and pringles etc etc) this Christmas and that's OK too. I'm freakishly clean in my eating habits 11 and a half months of the year and I quite look forward to the indulgence. :)

Of course the healthy approach is always the moderate one, and I'm all about not thinking in a black and white "good" and "bad" way about food, and am indeed quite looking forward to reverting to my usual healthy lifestyle next week. I'll spend tomorrow planning my gym schedule and classes and Tuesday will be the grocery shopping and meal planning.

But it's perfectly OK to eat lots (too much:o) of what you fancy or stick to your usual food schedule over the Christmas break, as long as you're enjoying yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

12st 4 up to 12st 11. Not too bad at all really. Ill be 12 stone by the 10th of January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Be more active now in 2019.

*move the biscuits further away.
    *get a heavier kettle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Up 6kg since we finished work before christmas, and were not back for another week. Plain and simple no work no gym and an awful long piss up that i hope stops after the 1st, only problem is its hitting near 40'C here and its too hot to do much only drink.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Don't know, don't care. My clothes still fit so I'm happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Up about 3kg since the start of December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

I was losing a kilo a week.... then took a christmas to the stomach! :C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Would usually put on 3-4 kg over winter months but loose it again in spring with increasing activity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

AllForIt wrote: »

Similarly, there is nothing wrong with choosing to pig out for a few days either.

I've lost 4.5 stone recently, and you can be damn sure I pigged out, gained 2lbs (probably another two this week too actually), and I don't care, I'll go back to my usual way of eating and lose it and more in no time.

You remained healthy, great. Some of us chose not to, and that's not an issue.

What you eat between Christmas and New Year doesn't matter, it's what you eat between New Year and Christmas that will affect your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Lost 6st the past 2 years so don’t fret to much about a few lb at Christmas.i went to the gym a few times anyway but probably up as I had a few Bulmers sessions.
    Not to worry, be back to my 3 times a week at 530am in the gym and regular meals next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I've recently lost 58lbs, put up 3lbs in the run up to Christmas but don't have my weigh in until Wednesday, was terrified I'd put up a lot, but started back eating well yesterday, it's amazing how forgiving my body is, despite being so healthy for 25 weeks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Still went to the gym 4x a week and active everyday

Being an adult , have no real passing interest in soya based chocolate **** associated with Xmas from roses and quality streets

Don’t understand how adults let themselves go around Xmas, become lazy and stuff their faces

Have some self control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Larbre34 wrote: »
    That sounds not a bit enjoyable

Hang on a second. If he or she is happy about how they spent their Xmas without being condescending to others in here, there's no need to condescend their post or their choice.

If it makes them happy, more power to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I was off for about ten days before Christmas so it's been a free for all since then. Gained about 3kg which is pretty bad considering the short time but it's grand, will have it lost in a few weeks again.

You'll never catch me exercising but even I'll near be glad to get back to normal meals next week. I should reach up another couple of kilos before then though.

Being an adult , have no real passing interest in soya based chocolate **** associated with Xmas from roses and quality streets

Don’t understand how adults let themselves go around Xmas, become lazy and stuff their faces

Have some self control

Well, if they practise self-control 50 weeks a year, voluntarily relinquishing it for two weeks is hardly a sign that they have no self-control. In fact, being able to give up self-control for a few weeks and then revert back to eating well shows more self-control to me.

People “let themselves go” at Xmas because they find it enjoyable. Life is very short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'm too afraid to step on the scales. I used to be very large and I'm certain that the scales will show a huge increase in comparison to the last time I stepped on it, even though 80% of that 'gain' will be water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Have some self control

Well, if they practise self-control 50 weeks a year, voluntarily relinquishing it for two weeks is hardly a sign that they have no self-control. In fact, being able to give up self-control for a few weeks and then revert back to eating well shows more self-control to me.

People “let themselves go” at Xmas because they find it enjoyable. Life is very short.

Even shorter for some of the fattys who have over indulged at Xmas and never lose the weight throughout the year and add more fat on the following Xmas

Life is too short when you are overweight and stuffing your face. I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I dont have much self control when it comes to nice food but thankfully I just dont like christmas sweet foods and desserts too much. Never have much of a craving for christmas cake or biscuits or anything , I dont really like drinking heavily around family memebers either so usually jus the odd glass of champagne, but turkey and stuffing and roast potatoes on the other hand, i would keep picking away at forever, thankfully theyre mostly on just the one day of the christmas period so dont end up gaining too much weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Defaulter1831

I never weigh myself but i always put on a bit of weight over the winter, it doesn't bother me though because it's easy to work it off again in the new year.

Can help the immune system at this time of year too. Hit real shape April on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Defaulter1831

Patww79 wrote: »
    You'll never catch me exercising but even I'll near be glad to get back to normal meals next week. I should reach up another couple of kilos before then though.

Why don't you exercise Pat, just out of curiosity.. have you tried and just don't enjoy it?

Just there are so many types for all ages and it's great for mind and body.

Even shorter for some of the fattys who have over indulged at Xmas and never lose the weight throughout the year and add more fat on the following Xmas

Life is too short when you are overweight and stuffing your face. I agree

Luckily, people who can easily revert back to healthy-eating don’t have this issue. And they have more self-control than those who are afraid to indulge for fear of not getting back on the wagon.

I have no problem with people who like to stay healthy over the Christmas season because it’s what they prefer. But if they judge year-round healthy-eaters for a bit of overindulgence over a short time period, that’s seriously misguided. Or might even be driven by envy that they can’t do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Have some self control

I've worked all year, I've eaten relatively well, exercised and looked after myself. If I want to stuff my face for a week or 2 at the end of it and put on a few kilos doing it, I will.

Why don't you exercise Pat, just out of curiosity.. have you tried and just don't enjoy it?

Just there are so many types for all ages and it's great for mind and body.

I'm really probably too lazy but also in my experience gyms are full of the most detestable people on the planet. Even walking is gone into a game of 'how expensive are your garments'. Used to exercise loads and was fit as a fiddle but that was in a country that didn't have a Celtic tiger.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Somewhere between the Michelin Man and the Goodyear blimp.
    Technically speaking the blip weighs nothing :p

I got one of those talking scales and all it says is "will one of you please step off"

The only good news is that Cadbury's chocolate is now so manky there is no temptation to scoff them.