Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cameras have ruined Christmas

• 26-12-2018 3:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭

Christmas eve an all the pics of what Santa has left. Hard on parents who can't afford or don't want to spend thousands on Santa.

Then the kid wakes up Christmas morning with a camera shoved in their face as they get out of bed. Horrible . thank goodness I'm a generation ahead of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I blame Facebook not cameras. Cameras are nice yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭joeguevara

The annoying thing I noticed for the first time this year was the photos of all the families in matching pajamas. Now I think it’s cute if the kids have them or even the ma joins in but when you see a guy who is obviously embarrassed and made pose in a rudolf emblazoned set it is time to scream ‘what the fcuk have we become?’ What happened to the times of the Dad getting tanked, rolling home at closing to put the kids presents together p1ssed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I don't use Facebook so I couldn't blame that. It really is discussing though. Seems its more about who's the best Santa than the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

joeguevara wrote: »
    The annoying thing I noticed for the first time this year was the photos of all the families in matching pajamas. Now I think it’s cute if the kids have them or even the ma joins in but when you see a guy who is obviously embarrassed and made pose in a rudolf emblazoned set it is time to scream ‘what the fcuk have we become?’ What happened to the times of the Dad getting tanked, rolling home at closing to put the kids presents together p1ssed.

Blame Dunnes Stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Christmas eve an all the pics of what Santa has left. Hard on parents who can't afford or don't want to spend thousands on Santa.

Before cameras it was the kids, and parents, bragging about what they got from Santa when playing together or when back in school, so the only thing that changed is that a camera is involved not the showing off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

AllForIt wrote: »

This. I love cameras. They are magical. I don't have Facebook so, thank goodness, do not see these poor children or families in matching pyjamas.

On Youtube/Twitter though, one sometimes sees videos of children being ''good'', like doing a kind deed, giving a homeless person their dinner or helping an old lady up steps etc., and I do feel a bit cringey that the child is getting to 'act out' their goodness. It puts the centre of attention outside the body for the child, so to speak, not inside their heart/mind or conscience, if you know what I mean. This can only encourage narcissism instead of thoughtful compassion in the child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

It isn't just Christmas, there are enough parents that plaster their social media with pictures of their kids.
    I'm a firm believer that children's pictures have no place on social media, especially not in the volume they're sometimes posted.
    So parents who tend to post every little fart of their kids would have a live coverage of Christmas because it's the likes that count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

Ohhhh the poor people with their first world problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Actually just posted this on another thread. Not strictly Christmas but still relevant I suppose.

Children's birthday parties are like an episode of Black Mirror these days. All the little commodities lined up at some play centre for their nuggets/sausages while their owners snap away relentlessly as if it were feeding time at the zoo.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

'Thousands on Santa' ?? OP you move in very different circles to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

No, of course they have not ruined Christmas. There have always been the eejits who have to take everything one step too far. There have always been fool people who spend more than they have, for whatever reason. If you don't have the self-confidence to dismiss this kind of behaviour then don't annoy yourself by looking at it.

When was the perfect Christmas moment OP? What exactly has been destroyed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Camera's have there place. But people do spend too much time behind the camera and miss the moment themselves.

But once people are happy who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

Omackeral wrote: »
    Actually just posted this on another thread. Not strictly Christmas but still relevant I suppose.

Children's birthday parties are like an episode of Black Mirror these days. All the little commodities lined up at some play centre for their nuggets/sausages while their owners snap away relentlessly as if it were feeding time at the zoo.

The worst part is I’ve decided to live in the moment at these events and the wife is all “Teddy take a picture.”
    Agggggh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Of course cameras are not the problem and social media is but the OP has a point. It's not just people missing the moment. If they want to miss the moment that is fine. But it seems everything has to be filmed now, happy moments, surprises, sad times, births, exam results. It seems like happenings in life don't count now unless they can be shared with friends and strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

LirW wrote: »
    It isn't just Christmas, there are enough parents that plaster their social media with pictures of their kids.
    I'm a firm believer that children's pictures have no place on social media, especially not in the volume they're sometimes posted.
    So parents who tend to post every little fart of their kids would have a live coverage of Christmas because it's the likes that count.

There's an unfollow button, use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I don't use Facebook so I couldn't blame that. It really is discussing though. Seems its more about who's the best Santa than the kids.

Then how are you seeing everyone's pictures ?

Or did you get sent two pictures of relative's with their kids and construe that everyone else is like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Listen I have posted on this thread about disliking the matching PJs but thinking about it who are people to disparage what a family does. If it makes them feel close and adds to their holiday then isn’t that a good thing. How can someone who has nothing to do with them say it ruins Christmas.

It feels like people are looking to blame Facebook, social media or modern technology for everything. If a parent wants to capture the moment a kid sees Santa presents, then up to them. Does it really ruin Christmas if they post it. I don’t believe it causes parents to go out and buy more because they do that anyway.

I suppose what I am saying is yes, disagree with it, have a moan but in all fairness do you think it really ruins Christmas that people take pictures and videos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Alucan

I constantly have this with the wife. Me and the kids messing around having fun and she with the phone trying to get us to stop what we are doing to pose for a photo. Why not take a photo of the everyone actually enjoying themselves rather than posing with fake smiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Then the kid wakes up Christmas morning with a camera shoved in their face as they get out of bed. Horrible . thank goodness I'm a generation ahead of this.

It's neither cameras nor social media that have 'ruined' anything. It's cu∆ts being cu∆ts and the same cu∆nts have always been bragging and posing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Well for me the dad that dresses up may be suffering from a degree of emasculation but at least he's at home. The dad down the pub getting pissed is of no use to anyone.

Personally I wouldn't dream of putting on one of those matching outfits... utter cringe. But I'll definitely be at home on Christmas Eve with the kids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

There's a lot of men choosing imasculation These day's.
    In some cases I wouldn't blame them, it's either loose everything if you don't let yourself be imasculated, or just give in.

All jokes aside years ago, there would be maybe 4 photos taken during the day itself, now that amount is way more...

Even the tookey gets in on it....

Instagram feed s with glasses of prescecco at 9:30 in the morning like wtf.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Doesn't have anything to do with the general problem though; people are quick to cry about data leaks but same people would put literally everything, including their children's sensitive data online.

I agree with the general consensus here though, take a few nice pictures, put the phone/camera away, enjoy the time together.
    I'm always wondering if people sit together a few years later saying "Oh let's watch the video where little Johnny unwrapped his gift!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

LirW wrote: »
    Doesn't have anything to do with the general problem though; people are quick to cry about data leaks but same people would put literally everything, including their children's sensitive data online.

I agree with the general consensus here though, take a few nice pictures, put the phone/camera away, enjoy the time together.
    I'm always wondering if people sit together a few years later saying "Oh let's watch the video where little Johnny unwrapped his gift!".

It's someone else's kid, a someone else who should know better.
    Don't care, not my problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It feels like people are looking to blame Facebook, social media or modern technology

It’s not any of these things fault though. It’s the idiots who can’t sit still for 2 minutes without checking for ‘status updates’, or posting their own updates or photos. Facebook doesn’t hold a gun to your heat and make you post all these photos.

I’m slightly active on Facebook, yet our son is 4 and neither my partner or me have ever posted a photo of him on Facebook or even referenced his existence for that matter.. Have we taken pictures of him, yes, probably thousands of photos, but they are for us, and only shared with close family or froends via iMessage or WhatsApp.

My own take on it is we don’t know where Facebook is going, but it’s certainly not the nice cool interesting place it was 10 years or so ago. I don’t want my son in 10-15 years asking me why there are hundreds/thousands of pictures of him on Facebook, his entire upbringing stored in a virtual format (whether he likes it or not). What if he grows up to detest any and all forms of social media, and isn’t too happy about his entire childhood being there for all and advertisers to see.

If he decides to join and upload his childhood to online platforms when he is of age, then he can do that. But I’ll not do it for him now, particularly when he doesn’t have any understanding or control over what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

AllForIt wrote: »

I blame idiots showing off and looking for thanks not facebook or cameras.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Thought this would have been about the elf on the shelf video surveillance.

Creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Some people have more and some have less. That's the way of the world.

This rubbish of being offended by it needs to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Patww79 wrote: »

Very true. My mother has more berries on her holly than I have on mine, which she noticed as soon as she saw the photo I sent my sister, and was very quick to point out when I phoned the other sister ... I don't know what facebook has to do with it, but I blame them anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I’d say majority of “friends” I’ve unfollowed for various reasons but mainly the endless stream of child pics and anecdotes...”look at me we are so wonderful and happy and have reproduced...”gives me a new respect for my parents and aunts who had kids and just got the fcuk on with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

This rubbish of being offended by it needs to stop.

Not offended at all. Its the kids I'm thinking about, camera shoved in there face as they get out of bed, wouldn't surprise me if some parents did 2 or 3 takes to get the perfect reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Damn, it's tragic/hilarious that people always blurt out "cameras/Facebook" and fail to notice it's a person's actions. I'm pretty sure someone can both own a camera and have Facebook and not act like a tw@t. I hope we are not at a stage where people feel the need to sue Camera companies and Facebook because they have to blame something else and claim they can't control themselves and tech made them do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Damn, it's tragic/hilarious that people always blurt out "cameras/Facebook" and fail to notice it's a person's actions. I'm pretty sure someone can both own a camera and have Facebook and not act like a tw@t. I hope we are not at a stage where people feel the need to sue Camera companies and Facebook because they have to blame something else and claim they can't control themselves and tech made them do it.

Have to agree with this- its more the people than anything else!
    About 12 in our house over the course of yesterday and maybe 2 photos were taken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vkus6mt3y8zg2q

It's not just Xmas it's everything now. Same people at concerts etc with their phones (or worse still ipads) out recording videos and watching through the screen rather than just enjoying the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Don't think cameras or Facebook or any other social media is the problem. I think it's more related to the parents ego and wish to 'check in' so that others can see what they are at for Christmas or any other day of the year. All about telling the 'social story'. There's a cultural problem with technology that we must use them for stuff like this mad as it is.

On the other side it only takes people who think it's mad to stop doing it to begin a change in thought for those around them. Some will pick up on this and do likewise.

I don't use any social media platforms and nobody expects me to update them with my life which suits me and suits more than would say it if I were doing it.

I'm happy for people to video stuff or not video stuff if they so choose. Nobody is forcing me to do either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vkus6mt3y8zg2q

I'm happy for people to video stuff or not video stuff if they so choose. Nobody is forcing me to do either.

Thanks for stating the obvious that no one is forcing you not to do one of two options

You're welcome. No problem at all, happy to.

Why get annoyed about other people looking at a concert through their phones of they're not putting you in a head lock and making you do it too? Just do what you want and let them do likewise.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

People are desperate to seek validation, often from complete strangers, that they are living this "perfect" life that you should be jealous of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Yakult wrote: »
    People are desperate to seek validation, often from complete strangers, that they are living this "perfect" life that you should be jealous of.

On Facebook big time... the perfect family, house and appearances. We all know the reality is rarely the case but how and ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭richiepurgas

Drives me mad at a concert and when people put up a picture of a meal they're having. What point are they actually trying to make ? For the last three days have been socialising day and night with extended family. Don't remember even one photo being taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

nthclare wrote: »
    There's a lot of men choosing imasculation These day's.
    In some cases I wouldn't blame them, it's either loose everything if you don't let yourself be imasculated, or just give in.

All jokes aside years ago, there would be maybe 4 photos taken during the day itself, now that amount is way more...

Even the tookey gets in on it....

Instagram feed s with glasses of prescecco at 9:30 in the morning like wtf.....

Its the imasculate conception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BilboBagOfCans

You're welcome. No problem at all, happy to.

Why get annoyed about other people looking at a concert through their phones of they're not putting you in a head lock and making you do it too? Just do what you want and let them do likewise.

To be fair I've found recently that it can be very hard to see at concerts due to everyone having their phones (or worse, tablets) up to video the whole thing.

I do think photos and videos are great to have, especially when they are all you have left of a loved one, but I think the quantity at which they are taken is probably a bit much in some cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Are people really spending thousands on Santa ?
    Maybe €400 between two kids here, another maybe €75 as gifts from ourselves. Stuff was perchased over maybe 4 months.

Surely people are just saying thousands for shock value rather than it being a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

_Brian wrote: »
    Are people really spending thousands on Santa ?
    Maybe €400 between two kids here, another maybe €75 as gifts from ourselves. Stuff was perchased over maybe 4 months.

Surely people are just saying thousands for shock value rather than it being a thing.

Some people have money.

Not everyone here needs to save for occasional expenses. This comment isn’t meant as a gloat - it certainly doesn’t refer to my situation, but it is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They have certainly killed the works Xmas night out

Everyone used to be great craic. Make a balls of themselves, or at least not be afraid to.

Now everyone is so well behaved, as everytime you look some fecker is pointing a phone in your direction.

Last thing you want is your embarrassing dancing or messing finding itself online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

Christmas eve an all the pics of what Santa has left. Hard on parents who can't afford or don't want to spend thousands on Santa. Then the kid wakes up Christmas morning with a camera shoved in their face as they get out of bed. Horrible . thank goodness I'm a generation ahead of this.

My kids got maybe 120e spent on them each( 1 big pressie and a few small ones)
    I recorded their reactions for the family and that was it.

Cameras were around 30/40 yrs ago too.........plenty more pics of me floating about at that age than my kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,282 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I’m slightly active on Facebook, yet our son is 4 and neither my partner or me have ever posted a photo of him on Facebook or even referenced his existence for that matter.. Have we taken pictures of him, yes, probably thousands of photos, but they are for us, and only shared with close family or froends via iMessage or WhatsApp.

My own take on it is we don’t know where Facebook is going, but it’s certainly not the nice cool interesting place it was 10 years or so ago. I don’t want my son in 10-15 years asking me why there are hundreds/thousands of pictures of him on Facebook, his entire upbringing stored in a virtual format (whether he likes it or not).
    You know that WhatsApp IS Facebook, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Yes but when I send someone a photo on WhatsApp, I’m sending someone a photo, not sharing it with the 90 or so Facebook friends I have.

I’ve also used Facebook messenger to send personal photos.

The difference is Messenger/iMessage/WhatsApp is a private conversation, not a public forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,282 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Yes but when I send someone a photo on WhatsApp, I’m sending someone a photo, not sharing it with the 90 or so Facebook friends I have.

I’ve also used Facebook messenger to send personal photos.

The difference is Messenger/iMessage/WhatsApp is a private conversation, not a public forum.
    It's easy enough to set up a private family group on Facebook so you can share stuff with a restricted group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Drives me mad at a concert and when people put up a picture of a meal they're having. What point are they actually trying to make ? For the last three days have been socialising day and night with extended family. Don't remember even one photo being taken.

I post pics of food sometimes. I post them for my friends who are interested in food and cooking to see. I’m not trying to get likes from my whole friend list or expecting everyone to be interested. I’m just sharing the photo for people on my friend list that I know are interested.

As a shortie, I don’t mind tall people blocking my view at concerts - they can’t help being tall. But I do hate my view being blocked by an inanimate object being held aloft.