Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Common idiotic actions you see roads every day

• 23-12-2018 01:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

There seems to be a multitude of idiots on the road these days especially given the festive season, what stupid actions drive you crazy?

1. Turning left onto a busy main road, car crawls into hard shoulder and out onto the main road without even indicating, instead of just waiting for a safe chance to go.

2. Parking on the motorway, see driver having a p!ss or fag while lorries fly by less than a meter away at 100km/h.

3. Driver going straight through a roundabout instead of following the outside lane, cuts into inside lane and back out again all the while not bothering to indicate.

4. Seeing a jackass trying to get into your boot, dangerously overtaking you only for you to literally roll up beside them at the next set of lights or roundabout. I’d love to know why they’re in such a hurry or what they do with all the time they save from making their journey “shorter”.

5. Yellow box etiquette is just non existent. Green light does not mean you can enter the junction if it’s obvious you can’t exit it.

6. Running red lights/amber lights. Again I’d love to know what these drivers do with all the time they save.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

thelad95 wrote: »
    There seems to be a multitude of idiots on the road these days especially given the festive season, what stupid actions drive you crazy?

1. Turning left onto a busy main road, car crawls into hard shoulder and out onto the main road without even indicating, instead of just waiting for a safe chance to go.

2. Parking on the motorway, see driver having a p!ss or fag while lorries fly by less than a meter away at 100km/h.

3. Driver going straight through a roundabout instead of following the outside lane, cuts into inside lane and back out again all the while not bothering to indicate.

4. Seeing a jackass trying to get into your boot, dangerously overtaking you only for you to literally roll up beside them at the next set of lights or roundabout. I’d love to know why they’re in such a hurry or what they do with all the time they save from making their journey “shorter”.

5. Yellow box etiquette is just non existent. Green light does not mean you can enter the junction if it’s obvious you can’t exit it.

6. Running red lights/amber lights. Again I’d love to know what these drivers do with all the time they save.

At least one of these happens at least 5/6 times a day, especially the breaking red lights and dangerous overtaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Going straight through on roundabout while indicating right. there needs to be a national ad campaign to educate people on how to navigate roundabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

So many people havent a clue what they're supposed to do at roundabouts. The amount of times I've been going straight through only to be cut across by someone on the outside lane who should be going right but just overtakes you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TheUnderfaker

Driving in the middle lane of the M50, usually well below the speed limit, when you have no intention of overtaking anybody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

The red light jumping has increased a lot in recent years. I see it numerous times every week. All different types of drivers doing it too so it's a widespread issue.

One that really pisses me off is those that drive in the hard shoulder on the motorway to skip heavy traffic. Very common on m4 from Maynooth into Dublin. There is one black VW polo that regularly passes me at speed on the hard shoulder and zig zags across both off and on ramps while at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

They could do with running a few TV adverts about how yellow boxes work.

Same with motorway lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

As a pedestrian, drivers going straight through reds absolutely infuriates me.

I don't want to end up with a pair of broken legs or worse for you to save a few seconds or because you weren't paying attention.

*****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,367 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Agricola wrote: »
    So many people havent a clue what they're supposed to do at roundabouts. The amount of times I've been going straight through only to be cut across by someone on the outside lane who should be going right but just overtakes you!

I don't understand that. If you are going "straight through" you would be in the left lane (outside lane)?

When taking any exit from the 6 o’clock to the 12 o’clock position, motorists should approach in the left-hand lane

When taking any exit between the 12 o’clock to the 6 o’clock positions, motorists should approach in the right-hand lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Not indicating.

Pretty much the easiest / quickest task associated with driving a car other than turning the steering wheel. You lazy focking dogs.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,659 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I don't understand that. If you are going "straight through" you would be in the left lane (outside lane)?

When taking any exit from the 6 o’clock to the 12 o’clock position, motorists should approach in the left-hand lane

When taking any exit between the 12 o’clock to the 6 o’clock positions, motorists should approach in the right-hand lane

Some roundabouts allow you to use either lane to go straight (normally road markings tell you!).

The roundabout up at Liffey valley as you head towards b&q. The amount of cars in the left lane going right (3pm exit) is incredible. It's wrong on 3 basic levels. You should never be in the left lane if going past 12 o clock. The road markings say straight ahead only in that lane, and there's also a big sign that says it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

You mean 'should be going left?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Honestly the amount of people I've seen driving with no lights on, even at night, has been absolutely staggering.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Tailgating. It happens to me almost every day. Then they'll overtake on a continuous white line :rolleyes:

Yes, I'm in the left hand or inside lane going straight through (12 o'clock) and someone in the outside lane who should be going to the 3 o'clock exit cuts across in front of me to also go straight through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Driving home from Galway last night it was some craic.
    Some dude in a 00 Astra driving up the arse of a 161 7 series BMW

I stayed well back, this was on the motorway.

The guy in the BMW was probably on cruise control, guy in the Astra was pedal to the metal.

We all got to the Gort slip road at a similar time frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,278 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Depends on the markings what lane you can use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,883 ✭✭✭Feisar

Anything to do with roundabouts.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

recently i was at a red light by road works. a lorry behind me kept beeping and revving up, getting nearer to me. before the light changed. While it was probable no more vehicles would come through the light was on RED.

Made him wait; then saw he was delivering stuff to the road works..

Another one is breaking red lights at a contraflow where there is roadworks.
    Theres a big new roundabout being built near me for the last few months and the very long waiting time at the temporary traffic lights is causing some people to go through the red if it just changed over in the last few seconds. This almost caused an accident recently where two cars met on the same lane going in opposite directions. Gards called out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Drivers indicating they are going into your lsne AFTER they have already moved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

People that think the speed limit is the minimum speed you have to go, especially on windy country roads.

Also roundabouts. I partly blame the lax rules for L-Plate driving. So many people just do their theory test, stick an L-Plate up and off they go driving picking up the worst habits. Especially in the country side. I know a few of them, mainly women for some reason, that know how do drive straight and around the corner but start to panic at roundabouts, dual carriageways, right-turns at big junctions and many more.
    A few also just run automatic cars and after driving like that for a few years they have no real chance to pass their driving test at the first time without taking more lessons to fix bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Stopping on a main road to let a car out from a side road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Drivers who park facing oncoming traffic with their lights on. Pain in the ass in an urban area, highly dangerous in rural areas. A lot of people don't realise that their lights are aimed towards the left so in that situation it's straight at oncoming traffic.

Driving with only parking lights on. It's unbelievable how many people do this, especially at dawn , dusk and in rainy conditions. I see it a lot with newer cars which leans me towards believing that people may be using automatic lighting.

101 other things - all from drivers that aren't as good as me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

heldel00 wrote: »
    Stopping on a main road to let a car out from a side road.

Or on a roundabout !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Collie D wrote: »
    As a pedestrian, drivers going straight through reds absolutely infuriates me.

I don't want to end up with a pair of broken legs or worse for you to save a few seconds or because you weren't paying attention.

*****!

Pedestrians can be as$hole too though. The amount of people who think it's okay to just walk out onto the main road between a line of parked cars is staggering. It's worse when they do it with their kids. Galway is a nightmare. Pedestrians just walk across the road at the top of shop street. People who use their buggy as a traffic stopper should be given an automatic slap in the face with a fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Yes, I'm in the left hand or inside lane going straight through (12 o'clock) and someone in the outside lane who should be going to the 3 o'clock exit cuts across in front of me to also go straight through.

Which country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Honestly the amount of people I've seen driving with no lights on, even at night, has been absolutely staggering.

Anytime, I go past Dundrum Town Centre in the late afternoons or evenings, I see one or two idiots with no lights on who've come out of the car park.

And then there are the idiots driving round with no back lights because they don't know how their DRLs work.

People who think getting in the path of a moving car isn't a problem if the car is in reverse.

People taking stupid risks to overtake you so they can spend the rest of the journey with your car behind instead of in front.

People with teddies on their back window ledge. Just because.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Best drivers in Europe. Go to Italy or Poland if you want to see s h I t driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Old Perry wrote: »
    Going straight through on roundabout while indicating right. there needs to be a national ad campaign to educate people on how to navigate roundabouts.

That one really riles me up for some reason...... I think it's the fact that they probably think they're doing the right thing and the rest of us are wrong..... I really want to scream in their ear "YOU'RE THE F#CKING IDIOT, NOT US!!!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

The amount of people who don't know how to use a roundabout. Taxi driver today, approaching in left lane, stays in left lane right around to exit to the right. No indicators the whole way around. Another entered while I was still on the roundabout. Had to slow down to avoid a collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,103 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

One thing that bugs me is drivers who can't park or can't be bothered to drive into the forecourt of a petrol station so they just pull up outside the wall on the road. Not caring in the slightest that it makes it much harder to see oncoming traffic for vehicles trying to leave the forecourt and get onto the main road.

Similarly, when there's a T junction and the minor road has two lanes to enter the major road, one lane for turning left, the other for turning right. When some fecker in a big van or SUV rolls up on the right lane and drives half way onto the road so that anyone turning left can't see if the road is clear and they have to wait until the big van drives off before they can make the left turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭crossman47

Drivers who cruise up past a queue for exit from a motorway and then indicate left and barge in when someone in the queue hasn't moved quickly enough. Especially prevalent if exiting the M50 at the Red Cow junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

People who don't dim their lights when coming towards me or also driving behind me with full beams.

Also dangerous overtaking on the country roads where I live, there are sometimes deer or livestock out and on these dark mornings they would smash straight into them and end up in a brown box for the sake of a few extra minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Breaking red lights is a huge bug bear of mine.

There's a juntion near me with a filter light to turn right. It usually only allows 3 cars through but I regularly see cars break the red.
    Meanwhile other cars have moved off into the junction and have to wait for these gombeens to take the turn.

What's the point of having traffic laws when they're never enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,229 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Two lanes turning right into a one lane road . Idiots who don't understand the zip concept and barge through anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Not indicating on roundabouts or worse, only indicating AS YOU ARE TURNING. Burn in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Not sure if anyone is familiar with the briarhill Junction in Galway, anyway it's a right balls of a layout since they changed it

Was coming from the airport road the other day and positioned myself in one of of the lanes for turning right for town, this tinker in a POS dyna full of beer kegs is attempting to do a complete U turn from the far left lane ( designed to go left for Dublin - east of the city) and proceeds not only to cut across three lanes of traffic but to also roar abuse at anyone who fails to figure out what the neandthral is hoping to achieve.

He managed to face the airport road eventually and only had to both nearly cause several accidents along with probably frightening unassuming motorists who had the misfortune to be sharing the road with him at that moment in time, one guy in a white jeep roared some abuse back and I'm pretty sure the traveller heard what he thought of our precious ethnic brethren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,367 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

To get to the main road from my house there is a T junction at the end of my street, and another one one at the main road. I have learned to be very careful and approach both slowly. I often encounter cars cutting the corner, and there have been a few near misses.

I think it must be some mental thing. They can't see round the corner so somehow assume that the road is empty. It should not be much of an imposition to drive on a few yards further, and turn on the correct side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

No indicator light used on roundabouts...

Am I alone in having no issue with this? In fact I prefer it when in that position, myself. (edit: obviously, i indicate, build up speed, etc. not just dawdle in front of approaching traffic.)

If the road I'm joining is a fast-moving, busy road, and there's a hard shoulder, I'll often crawl into the hard shoulder, and when I reckon a gap may appear, I'll drive in the hard shoulder for a few seconds to build up speed and merge in (kinda like when returning to a live motorway lane).

Obviously depends on the road.

Also gets your car out of the line of sight of those turning right who would otherwise be sitting beside you trying to see past you.

A place I'd commonly do this (and see it done a lot) is turning left onto the N2 from Kilmoon Cross, near Ashbourne (HERE).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Best drivers in Europe. Go to Italy or Poland if you want to see s h I t driving.

2nd worst in Europe for checking social media at the wheel
    https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/motors/2017/0725/892841-irish-drivers-use-of-mobiles-and-texting-while-driving-soars/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Couldn't give a ****e about what happens to muppets who drive and check their social media at same time. If you're so dumb that you prioritize looking at that superficial sh1t over controlling your car then its a matter of time till your dead.

Its the poor fecker coming the other way you'd feel bad for.

Also people dying in car crashes while taking selfies is a thing apparently. Jesus H Christ. :confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

nthclare wrote: »
    Driving home from Galway last night it was some craic.
    Some dude in a 00 Astra driving up the arse of a 161 7 series BMW

I stayed well back, this was on the motorway.

The guy in the BMW was probably on cruise control, guy in the Astra was pedal to the metal.

We all got to the Gort slip road at a similar time frame.
    I was driving that road around 8 or so yesterday evening. The amount of cars that tore past me from Gort on at mad speed was crazy considering the horrible weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I drive for an average of nine hours a day, five days a week, and one of the most common idiotic actions I see is people (probably the kind of people who wrongly consider themselves 'good drivers') accelerating towards other people's mistakes and then using their horn as a method of rebuking them. They don't seem to realise that (a) everyone makes mistakes, and (b) part of being a good driver involves anticipating other people's mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,687 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Noveight wrote: »
    They could do with running a few TV adverts about how yellow boxes work.

Same with motorway lanes.

I don't drive but I know how yellow boxes work because they used to run ads about them when I was a kid.

As a pedestrian the thing I hate most is drivers who don't indicate. There's junctions where I cross and it would be perfectly safe if the drivers indicated. Sometime when I'm standing at them waiting for a chance to cross I just start counting how many indicate and it's about 50%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,278 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Happened this evening going up to Galway on the motorway doing 120 passing a car a the complete w%^*¥r behind us starting flashing light cause we were not doing his 140 or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Paddy Cow wrote:
    Pedestrians can be as$hole too though. The amount of people who think it's okay to just walk out onto the main road between a line of parked cars is staggering. It's worse when they do it with their kids. Galway is a nightmare. Pedestrians just walk across the road at the top of shop street. People who use their buggy as a traffic stopper should be given an automatic slap in the face with a fish.

If you think Galway is bad in this respect come down to Limerick sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

Happened this evening going up to Galway on the motorway doing 120 passing a car a the complete w%^*¥r behind us starting flashing light cause we were not doing his 140 or whatever

Were you crawling passed the car you were overtaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭chicorytip

And then there are the idiots driving round with no back lights because they don't know how their DRLs work.

Explain this (DRL's). I have seen instances lately of newer cars being driven with front but not rear lamps illuminated.