Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2018 - How was it for you?

• 19-12-2018 1:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Oh what a turbulent year it has been! 2018 brought more highs and lows than a tropical storm!
    Early in the year saw Ireland win the Grand Slam and I was at 4/5 matches! I was there in Paris when Johnny made that Drop Goal! In other sports, seeing Arsenal win 2-0 in the San Siro was super special too.Seeing Arsenal smash the spuds 4-2 was epic! Lisbon and my first Eurovision was an exoience of a lifetime!

Work wise was up and down but passing my probation and Passing my EO exam and interview were high points, but being out for a period while I was changing meds nearly cost me my promotion. I got an official PFO letter but I knew that was coming, and when one of the lads in work asked what was I going to do- I replied- put my gumshield in! A fight it was too, but never go against a Man with his dander up! My knowledge of HR law and my legal friends helped me turn over the original decision and I begin my promotion on 7/1/19 500m down the road from my current job!

Health wise I did suffer a dip during the year but with the support of my great sister and medical team I pulled through- like Tyson Fury against Wilder, I was down but I beat the count. Walking with my other sis and returning to SBG helped me to get all those wonderful endorphins that help keep things looking positive- and my physical health too!

All in all it was a very progressive year in terms of my work life, my mental and physical health and old flames burned brightly...

Thanks 2018- heres to 2019!

How about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

I started a new fitness routine, I don't get the bus anymore because it's **** so I now walk into the town everyday, which about a good 3 & half mile walk down & back, and up a very steep hill.

Sports wise Sky Sports lost the rights to La Liga and some big Prem games which is bad.

I was glad of the referendum results for the abortion thing.
    I think Corbyn has had a decent year, which is good, Tories are in one of the biggest messes in their history which is good.
    Still no real sign of a large far-right movement in Ireland like the EDL or BF which is good and the left in Ireland seems to be steadily growing which is good. But no real challenge to Fianna Fail or FG which is bad & SF seem to be going nowhere, no idea why they don't go to Westminister, they already take part in British politics, why no take part in more that could benefit them? And Mary Lou called Derry, Londonderry, wtf like?

The Coke seems to be better quality & Zimos & Xanax bars are cheaper.

Music just gets worse & worse.

So it's been okay I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I started a new fitness routine, I don't get the bus anymore because it's **** so I now walk into the town everyday, which about a good 3 & half mile walk down & back, and up a very steep hill.

Fair play feeling the positive effects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Try_harder wrote: »

Thanks, yes I have lost a bit of weight I wanted rid of, the only thing that boders me is the eratic wheather conditions, it could be pissing rain & windy out but still warm so when I put a coat on I do be roasting & sweating by the time I get down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

The Coke seems to be better quality

When the coke is so good you have no time for the bus anymore. Massive boost for your cardio. They don't tell you that on Prime Time investigates.

Thanks, yes I have lost a bit of weight I wanted rid of, the only thing that boders me is the eratic wheather conditions, it could be pissing rain & windy out but still warm so when I put a coat on I do be roasting & sweating by the time I get down.

Get a light rain jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Last February my penis fell off due to overuse. Needless to say I was in some distress, I thought my erotic adventures had finally come to an end :(
    Thankfully, however, it's since grown back, and I'm shagging night, noon and morning again. Better than ever. ;)
    So ultimately a pretty good year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,680 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And Mary Lou called Derry, Londonderry, wtf like?

That was it for me, the end of 2018.
    SF refuse to call Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland, but she called Derry Londonderry.

Rest of the year meant nothing after that was said.

Roll on 2019.

NIMAN wrote: »
    SF refuse to call Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland, but she called Derry Londonderry.

Roll on 2019.

I almost threw mt barstool against the tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,740 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

2018 was the only thing keeping 2017 and 2019 from running into each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I have a son now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

I gained 6kg :D
    all muscle :)

For a guy with an underweight eating problem.. This was a HUGE benefit to me. I feel so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Hip replacement and the birth of my 3rd child.

I've had quieter years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

NIMAN wrote: »

Roll on 2019.

Who cares, they're both English names anyway. Call it Oak Grove or buy a Union Jack you turncoats.

I passed 4 exams this year through some kind of miracle. only 4 left.
    got some PRs. Enjoy my job. Had nice holidays

Good year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

2018 has been a fantastic year. I moved in with my girlfriend, started meditation, passed all my university exams, passed the spanish C1 and started to learn Italian. I matured an awful lot for the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 JazzJaquzzi

Weird year. Ended up staying living in a country that I didn't think I'd still be in now. Rented an apartment that I love, but, its being sold, and moving out on 31st December (so still part of this year). Got a really nice promotion. Just finished a fantastic training related to this. A very important relationship of two years got bad and ultimately ended, which is very sad, and also changes my plans to move to a city that I adore. Still haven't quite come to terms with that one.

All in all, the year hasn't been the worst, but I'm leaving it with a lot of question marks over my head. Likely the first month or two of next year will be busy, as I have to figure out where to go next in both location and life direction. Quite looking forward to going to sleep then without all of these question marks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Last February my penis fell off due to overuse. Needless to say I was in some distress, I thought my erotic adventures had finally come to an end :(
    Thankfully, however, it's since grown back, and I'm shagging night, noon and morning again. Better than ever. ;)
    So ultimately a pretty good year.
    Are you Freddie Scapaticci?
    Leave those sheep alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

New house, new car, new role in work (all these 3, I worked hard for) but I am the least healthy since I remember, and I appear to be losing quite important relationships ... so my 2018 was not great for this reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Arcsurvivor

Overall, I had a ok year. Very busy backing up a coworker on medical leave and been trying to reduce internet usage/distractions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Not bad, I completed my QQI with a merit grade (provisional) and started working for myself and seem to be holding my own there though 2019 will be the make or break on that front. Liverpool are top of the Premier League and that's good, though I had little enough to do with it :)

Everything else is **** though. I despair of what's happening more broadly with the mean IQ of the planet seemingly in rapid decline - Trump, vast waste, global pollution, ineptitude, corruption on grand scale and the never ending farce of Brexit. It's depressing at this stage :(

Someone hug me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Oh what a turbulent year it has been! 2018 brought more highs and lows than a tropical storm!
    Early in the year saw Ireland win the Grand Slam and I was at 4/5 matches! I was there in Paris when Johnny made that Drop Goal! In other sports, seeing Arsenal win 2-0 in the San Siro was super special too.Seeing Arsenal smash the spuds 4-2 was epic! Lisbon and my first Eurovision was an exoience of a lifetime!

Work wise was up and down but passing my probation and Passing my EO exam and interview were high points, but being out for a period while I was changing meds nearly cost me my promotion. I got an official PFO letter but I knew that was coming, and when one of the lads in work asked what was I going to do- I replied- put my gumshield in! A fight it was too, but never go against a Man with his dander up! My knowledge of HR law and my legal friends helped me turn over the original decision and I begin my promotion on 7/1/19 500m down the road from my current job!

Health wise I did suffer a dip during the year but with the support of my great sister and medical team I pulled through- like Tyson Fury against Wilder, I was down but I beat the count. Walking with my other sis and returning to SBG helped me to get all those wonderful endorphins that help keep things looking positive- and my physical health too!

All in all it was a very progressive year in terms of my work life, my mental and physical health and old flames burned brightly...

Thanks 2018- heres to 2019!

How about you?

How can anyone who likes Rugby, Arsenal and the Eurovision have a good year EVER?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

2018 was amazing for me. Nothing earth shattering happened but the little things all add up.
    Started a (not so) part time retail job which I love and will probably work there for decades. Made new friends there and have a social life again.
    My kids are doing great in school, my eldest joined a football club for kids with cerebral palsy and hes flying it!
    I came off anti depressants after being on them for around 8 years. I've been off them since March I think, I never thought I would see the day.
    Took my mam with us on holidays this year, that was a real highlight having her there...especially for the kids.
    No deaths in the family so that's always a plus. All round good year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Great year. Lots of gigs (lost count but I'd say over 20, including David Byrne and Paul Simon), 5 trips abroad including a leg of the Camino.
    Promoted in work too, got put in a position that really suits me and it's all good!

So so. A lot better than the few years before it, so that's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Still alive...

How can anyone who likes Rugby, Arsenal and the Eurovision have a good year EVER?

By ignoring the haters for 1

Thank you, next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Found out my day had cancer in January.
    Found out it was terminal in May.
    Buried him in July.
    Dog died in October.
    Found a lump where there shouldn't be a lump in November.
    Waiting for an ultrasound on the area in December.

I've had better years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Found out my day had cancer in January.
    Found out it was terminal in May.
    Buried him in July.
    Dog died in October.
    Found a lump where there shouldn't be a lump in November.
    Waiting for an ultrasound on the area in December.

I've had better years.

Awful...so sorry
    Hope the ultrasound turns out to be harmless and 2019 is an improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Got married, wife 12 weeks gone. Has been hectic!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Feisar wrote: »
    Got married, wife 12 weeks gone. Has been hectic!

Ummm you mean she's left you already?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

It was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Not the worst but will be glad to see the end of it.

Got a phonecall at 11pm one night to tell me that a really close relative had been taken very ill and to expect the worst. The next 15 weeks saw cancer take every every ounce of life from her body until she died the May Bank holiday weekend. She was unmarried and so was like a 3rd grandmother to me and closest relative I’ve ever lost.

Then in July I had some stomach issues which both my GP and the consultant thought was nothing serious and could be easily sorted. Turned out to be Chrons Disease and I’m now on a bag of medication.

Added in to the middle of that I made a career move that was the wrong one but it sort that in time. There were some positives but all round not a great year

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

All in all a good year for me.

My Son's first full year. First words, first steps etc.
    Close family and friends are all still living and healthy.
    Bought our first home.
    Had a lovely family holiday in the sun.

A pretty successful year in my eyes. I can't complain.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Gael23 wrote: »
    Not the worst but will be glad to see the end of it.

Got a phonecall at 11pm one night to tell me that a really close relative had been taken very ill and to expect the worst. The next 15 weeks saw cancer take every every ounce of life from her body until she died the May Bank holiday weekend. She was unmarried and so was like a 3rd grandmother to me and closest relative I’ve ever lost.

I'm sorry for your loss :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Had my 2nd son. New job. New car. Good year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

Had a baby girl in April - amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

Without a shadow of a doubt, 2018 has been the worst year of my life. I nearly died and now have major medical complications, need more surgeries and medical treatment twice a week and regular checks for cancer. Oh and I'm currently being tested for a heap of other stuff. Long term partner cheated and became somewhat abusive (emotionally, not physically). Close relative died. Just found out yesterday a friend died.

I'm surprised I haven't slipped back into major depression, but hey, that's a good thing to take from it, I guess I'm stronger.

Looking forward to 2019 cause it can't get any feckin worse! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Great year here. But then I think the years get better as you go along. The summer this year made it a great year overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

My 2018 new year's resolution was to get ripped for my wedding.

Instead, I almost immediately got pregnant. So in 2018 I moved house, changed job, got married, and had a baby. It's been a busy year!

This year my resolutions are to not get pregnant and to fit back into my pre-pregnancy clothes and hopefully get ripped for the wedding celebration we had to postpone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I'm surprised I haven't slipped back into major depression, but hey, that's a good thing to take from it, I guess I'm stronger.

Looking forward to 2019 cause it can't get any feckin worse! :pac:
    That’s the attitude. Only way is up,might not happen today or tomorrow but small steps in the right direction.

Gael23 wrote: »
    That’s the attitude. Only way is up,might not happen today or tomorrow but small steps in the right direction.

Ah yeah, I'm feeling very positive about moving on :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

A very good year in general. Regaining my career and life, taking new directions in terms of creative outlets, did a fair bit of travelling.

anyone else?

2018 def going on the plus column for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

It was ok... ish.
    Health hasn't been the best, though I have quit smoking and lost a little weight so hoping to reap the benefits.

Have some major decisions and changes to make next year hope I'll have the energy and bravery to follow through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

It was a good year, i decided how much I hated liberal trendies, people with tattoos in strange places and those who abuse their bodies in general. In '19 I will wield my vengeance on these defilers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

anyone else?

2018 def going on the plus column for me!

Didn’t really think about it properly til this thread, even with New Years just around the corner.

Definitely a plus.

2015, 2016, 2017 were all pretty **** due to my daughter being sick, but 2018 feels like the first year our lives haven’t been dictated by it or spent in a ward or a waiting room, like it’s becoming a thing of the past. She also started playschool, and this Christmas was ****ing amazing as she’s at the age where she’s starting to understand it and get proper excited. Bloody hard not to spoil her tho :)

Also got a new job. Spent a couple of months earlier in the year stressing over whether or not to move jobs, I’m 6 months in and delighted I did.

On the flip side my anxiety was a bit of pr1ck throughout the year, but I’ll take the bad with good.

Happy new year.

Didn’t really think about it properly til this thread, even with New Years just around the corner.

Definitely a plus.

2015, 2016, 2017 were all pretty **** due to my daughter being sick, but 2018 feels like the first year our lives haven’t been dictated by it or spent in a ward or a waiting room, like it’s becoming a thing of the past. She also started playschool, and this Christmas was ****ing amazing as she’s at the age where she’s starting to understand it and get proper excited. Bloody hard not to spoil her tho :)

Also got a new job. Spent a couple of months earlier in the year stressing over whether or not to move jobs, I’m 6 months in and delighted I did.

On the flip side my anxiety was a bit of pr1ck throughout the year, but I’ll take the bad with good.

Happy new year.

Sounds v positive- well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Started off the year homeless, on disability benefit, in an addiction treatment centre. That's where I spent last Christmas.

Over the course of the year I stayed clean and sober (a miracle for me!), got an apartment so I have somewhere to call home for the first time in years, got a job - only a CE scheme, but it means I'm no longer on disability benefit, and I've been offered a "real" job in the new year. And most importantly, I got to spend THIS Christmas with my family and my four-year-old son - the first Christmas I've had with him since he was a baby.

I also was given some great opportunities to "give back" to others still suffering in addiction - I was asked to speak at a conference in Trinity College, I did a radio interview with Pat Kenny on Newstalk, and also did an interview for the Irish Times. All scary but amazing experiences.

All in all an absolutely amazing year. Can't wait to see what 2019 has in store!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

A solid 3/10. Health too bad to be anything better.

All in all an absolutely amazing year. Can't wait to see what 2019 has in store!

That's absolutely incredible!

Congratulations to you, that's some massive determination and strength you've displayed.

I hope 2019 is as fulfilling and amazing as 2018 for you :)