Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New plasterboard - scrim tape and fill joints or skim as well?

• 17-12-2018 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭

I'm refurbishing my attic conversion and putting in new kingspan rigid insulation with insulated plasterboard over (as I don't want to be the only house in the estate with no snow on the roof again due to the heat escaping through my roof!!!).

However I'm in two minds what to do about finishing the plasterboard off prior to painting. Will filling in the joints be sufficient or should it be skimmed too? The first option is obviously quickest and least time consuming and messy. Would I regret not skimming it too?

Would do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I think if heat was escaping from the roof you'd be the only house with no snow on the roof.,........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭D13exile

listermint wrote: »
    I think if heat was escaping from the roof you'd be the only house with no snow on the roof.,........

That's what I said clever boy:rolleyes:

Now if you've nothing constructive to contribute, move along........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

D13exile wrote: »

That attitude will take you far.

I would skim coat it fwiw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

No need to be a knob about it, They may have just misread the OP.

Tape and Filler is a botch job!

I misread the post.

And your thoughts on not skimming are amateur hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

you'll need to get a plaster so skim it as you'll need to use washers when fixing the boards to the rafters, so these would normally be slightly above the surface. I would go for 50mm between the rafters and 50mm insulated board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭D13exile

Jeez, I ask a simple question, some smart alec misreads my post (or can't read plain English), tries to be funny and when I call him out on it, I'm the one with the attitude? For Christ's sake:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭dathi

I'm refurbishing my attic conversion and putting in new kingspan rigid insulation with insulated plasterboard over (as I don't want to be the only house in the estate with no snow on the roof again due to the heat escaping through my roof!!!).

However I'm in two minds what to do about finishing the plasterboard off prior to painting. Will filling in the joints be sufficient or should it be skimmed too? The first option is obviously quickest and least time consuming and messy. Would I regret not skimming it too?

Would do you think?

dont forget airtight membrane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jeez, I ask a simple question, some smart alec misreads my post (or can't read plain English), tries to be funny and when I call him out on it, I'm the one with the attitude? For Christ's sake:rolleyes:.

You’re still doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I done a snall job here used no more nails and a gun and stuck the board on taped the joints and filed them in and painted boards turned out all right no body up in attic only ourselves so not a problem. Not great at the ould skimming myself,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Tape and Filler is a botch job!

It's not if it's done properly. Most sites in dublin are all taped and jointed...skimming is becoming a thing of the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭hesker

mfceiling wrote: »
    It's not if it's done properly. Most sites in dublin are all taped and jointed...skimming is becoming a thing of the past.

So no plaster is applied to most of the plasterboard. Is that what you mean. They must be very good at feathering out the plaster from the joins.

What do they do at external corners where you would fit a metal bead. Do they also plaster over these and feather back to the bare board.

So no plaster is applied to most of the plasterboard. Is that what you mean. They must be very good at feathering out the plaster from the joins.

What do they do at external corners where you would fit a metal bead. Do they also plaster over these and feather back to the bare board.

What sites a skimmed and jointed? I have never seen a site / refurbishment and rebuild done by professionals that was just taped and jointed.

How widespread is this practice because if it was then i think id have seen it.

I think that this is DIY forum the OP wants to do this himself and asked what would it be like, filling in a few joints and screw heads and paint over it, ir might well be a cheap job and a good job, and if its not he can get in some lad to skim it after no big deal.

kerryjack wrote: »
    I think that this is DIY forum the OP wants to do this himself and asked what would it be like, filling in a few joints and screw heads and paint over it, ir might well be a cheap job and a good job, and if its not he can get in some lad to skim it after no big deal.

Im fully aware its a DIY forum, The OP wanted it to look alright as far as i can tell. It wont look alright with this approach and anyone that walks into the room will see it clear as day.

If you want it to look 'right' it will have to be skimmed. If you want it to look like a workshop or shed then do it this way.

Choice is his.

Im fully aware its a DIY forum, The OP wanted it to look alright as far as i can tell. It wont look alright with this approach and anyone that walks into the room will see it clear as day.

If you want it to look 'right' it will have to be skimmed. If you want it to look like a workshop or shed then do it this way.

Choice is his.
    I disagree with you it can be made nice with out skim with a small bit know how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

What sites a skimmed and jointed? I have never seen a site / refurbishment and rebuild done by professionals that was just taped and jointed.

How widespread is this practice because if it was then i think id have seen it.

Most of the US & Canada don't skim the boards so I think you are way off saying its amateur hour. (also, DIY typically means amateurs....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Most new builds I had worked on in Dublin, mainly one off builds, were specced by the architects to be taped and jointed.

I've re-slabbed my whole house to upgrade the insulation.(50mm board everywhere)
    I got the kitchen and playroom skimmed,as i had a pitched roof and new doors, installed so needed it all tied in.(I had to pay a plasterer for this)

I taped and jointed the bedrooms and front room and there is no noticeable difference. Corner tape for the corners and reveals. It took time but saved a fortune. It's a dusty job and you need to make sure you use the correct products. A decent orbital sander with vacuum connector will help a lot.
    There's plenty of videos on Youtube and you'll be surprised.
    I also found you need to spend money on a primer for the plaster board https://www.gyproc.ie/products-systems/products/gyproc-drywall-primer, rather than doing a mist coat as you would on fresh plaster.
    I also put coving up as it saved me trying to tie the walls into the ceiling.
    (The ceiling was skimmed in the 70's and left as is).

hesker wrote: »

I don’t really care what the op chooses to do. That’s down to their preference.

I’m just interested to know if a skilled plasterer can achieve a top class finish with this approach. And I’ve seen what a good plasterer can do and been impressed.

hesker wrote: »
    I don’t really care what the op chooses to do. That’s down to their preference.

I’m just interested to know if a skilled plasterer can achieve a top class finish with this approach. And I’ve seen what a good plasterer can do and been impressed.

It's a different skill to plastering, it's not something that people traditionally train in, in Ireland.

They use scrim tape and joint filler on the joints and sand it back.
    Corner tape than for all angles, fill and sand.
    I generally don't notice when it's painted unless it's pointed out.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Most of the US & Canada don't skim the boards so I think you are way off saying its amateur hour. (also, DIY typically means amateurs....)

no they use a slight skim of paint to complete the final finish on it. rather than traditional skim that we would use, and they machine finish the joints with all sorts of automated devices.

I disagree with you it can be made nice with out skim with a small bit know how.

you will not get the same finish, its just not possible. Any light hits the paintwork and you will see the joints.

Who cares

Who cares

Erm.... Anyone that wants a flat wall finish.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭SemperFidelis

try taping the joints and if you don't like the finish get someone in to skim.

I found this guys videos on youtube very informative

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YII-NjA5dMQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Taping a jointing is a half arse job that is fit for celtic tiger hotels and crappy slap-up apartments.

If you want a proper finish that has some kind of robustness then you should skim. But skimming is not a DIY job. Skim plastering is something that takes a lot of time and practice to perfect. You can spot a DIY skim job a mile off as they are always a dogs dinner of a job.

If you want a mediocre finish that will be vulnerable to any sort of scuffing or impact then tape and fill.

If you want a proper long lasting finish then skim it and get a plasterer to do it.
    The only thing is if you are getting a plasterer make sure your joints and alignment and flushness of slab edges is nothing less than 100% perfect because if anything goes wrong the plasterer will blame whoever put up the slabs. Trust me, plasterers love complaining and blaming other trades for things not turning out right.

you will not get the same finish, its just not possible. Any light hits the paintwork and you will see the joints.

I disagree, if it's done by a professional tape and jointer using the correct tools and products it will appear identical. It's a method used worldwide.

For a DIYer it will take time and effort to get a decent finish.

Although paying someone to plaster will be quicker and less hassle. I'd never attempt plastering myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

no they use a slight skim of paint to complete the final finish on it. rather than traditional skim that we would use, and they machine finish the joints with all sorts of automated devices.

A skim of psint?

I think most people paint their walls.

The devices are relatively new, they have been taping joints only for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭glaswegian

I'd definitely go for tape and joint in an attic,who's going to see it if it doesn't turn out as expected? as previous posters have said watch a few youtube tutorials and you'll soon pick up how to go about it.just give yourself a bit of extra time to achieve the finish you want,and once its painted you won't know the difference. don't worry about light showing up the joints,shine a light horizontally on most plastered walls and you'll see plenty of humps and bumps.
    Remember,its in the attic no ones going to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Lads I'm not being smart but have any of you ever been on a large scale construction site recently? Taping and jointing is used throughout.
    It's not a "half arsed" job for cleric tiger apartments...seriously?
    Lads with bazookas (google it), joint boxes and drywall sanders with vacuums attached.
    External corners are done with a special corner tape with metal in it. Internal corners with paper tape.
    I did a fit out of a large IT office last christmas which was skimmed....the minute the lights were turned on you could see every ripple and trowel mark on the wall (and these lads were decent skimmers). Had to be put right with jointing compound by the taper who was doing the ceilings. They taped and jointed the 2nd phase and there was barely a call back on any wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Yeah, I got a quote for installation of insulated plasterboard last year from a crowd that usually did hotels using this technique but were branching out into residential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Jeju

Taped and Joined two rooms and a utility entrance as nobody was interested in skimming that amount. You also have to factor in the mess the skin will make in the attic. I found it all right, the boards had tapered edges and I built the joint up, sanded back, then spread the muck either side to about 8 inches and sanded back again. Looks fine and no difference to any other finished wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

who are ye getting to skim. there shold be almost no mess. its not a clean job by any means but the place shouldnt be a wreck either.
    taping and jointing is far messier in a finished house. no sander and vacuum set up i know of will get it all. even the festool and mirka set ups let out a small bit of fine dust that will settle on everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Idioteque

OP: It’s hard to know if you’ll regret not skimming as I don’t know what your standards are or if you’ve ever done either option before yourself.

What I can say is that I self-taught from YouTube videos how to Joint and Tape in two bedrooms and there’s a notibale difference in quality between the first room and the 2nd room. Now the first room isn’t bad but I’d obviously improved by the time I started the second room. Either way, the wife and I are both very happy with the end result in both rooms.

Personally, I’d probably only consider getting a room skimmed that would have a lot of visitors and that gets a lot of natural light (sitting room, kitchen etc.).

One thing to be aware of - I’ve noticed on most YouTube videos of how to joint and tape there’s a lot of plasterers who seem to spend their time finding these videos in order to leave negative comments on them...most likely out of self-preservation than any true honest advice I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Lads I'm not being smart but have any of you ever been on a large scale construction site recently? Taping and jointing is used throughout.

Agree, any of the new builds we looked at last year were the same.. taping is standard.

Some serious egos in this thread, no wonder boards is dead... why would new users come on and ask questions only to get smart arse replies and bad information.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Agree, any of the new builds we looked at last year were the same.. taping is standard.

Some serious egos in this thread, no wonder boards is dead... why would new users come on and ask questions only to get smart arse replies and bad information.

Egos?

For a start I'm not a plasterer for second you won't find one person here that says you shouldn't skim a room that people would be in often . As per the post before yours. Kitchens sitting rooms people would skim .

You will find there is a difference in both finishes and it depends on what your happy with. But to pretend that they are the same finish is not correct.

And enough of the faux nonsense about boards being dead. It's tiring and boring. The op got lots of advise and it's a discussion forum so quit playing the drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

How do you achieve air tightness without plaster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Lumen wrote: »
    How do you achieve air tightness without plaster?

Membrane and tape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Here we go

Typing and jointing how most jobs are done in the U.S. taught we still skimmed over here but if done right should look fine only dif being it will damage easyer

A friend had his house done a while back with joints skimmed and sanded back. He says it’s perfect. As I have a job that will need to be done in a couple of months time I’ll be having a look when I can. I did see some of the work that was done in the house and it looked pretty perfect to me.