Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tina Cahill sentenced to eight years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Meh. At least they won't be having any kids together, thank fck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

She'll probably be out in 4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

She had a previous conviction for assaulting him and witness state she wanted to teach him a lesson with the knife used to kill him.

Yet he is the bad guy who affected her mental health..ffs

A joke of a sentence. I'll.bet had the genders been reversed he'd have done serious time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

Women are always portrayed as the brave victim.

If a man snapped and murdered his controlling abusive wife, the media would blame a misogynist society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Fair play to the Australian judicial system. Here in Ireland she’d be given a suspended sentence in lieu of a donation to the court poor box. Violence against men isn’t take serious in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Fair play to the Australian judicial system. Here in Ireland she’d be given a suspended sentence in lieu of a donation to the court poor box. Violence against men isn’t take serious in this country.

I agree with your point about violence against men.
    But the charge and sentence was far too lenient..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

The only evidence of his violence is her testimony as far as I can read from the reports... And you can bet the media here would plaster it all over the paper if there was so much as a report of him raising his voice to her.

He had court orders out against her for violence. Doesn't add up that he was beating her and getting court orders against her at the same time.

If he was that violent if she hit him with a candlestick he'd have put her in hospital or worse. Not call the cops.

And an unprovoked attack? Please. Bringing a man home with you from the pub... Give me a break.

Cut and dried case of female on male domestic violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

It's not only Ireland. Women are generally treated far more leniently by the courts. When British student Lavinia Woodward stabbed her boyfriend in the leg with a bread knife and threw a laptop at his head, she got off with a suspended sentence. In the US, female teachers who sleep with underage male students have a significantly lower chance of going to prison (and if they do, they get shorter sentences) than when the genders are reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

Damn, he's really gone downhill since his Everton days hasn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Cina wrote: »

That's Tim Cahill you are thinking of...Austrailian soccer player...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Sounds like a really messed up abusive relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

If a man snapped and murdered his controlling abusive wife, the media would blame a misogynist society.

Men generally get longer sentences than women. With the exception of murder. Women get longer sentences for that.

So it's quite possible that if it was reversed the man might have gotten a lower sentance.

having said that, this is unusual in that both were violent, so I could be comparing apples to oranges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

DellyBelly wrote: »
    That's Tim Cahill you are thinking of...Austrailian soccer player...
    Whoooooooosh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Grayson wrote: »
    Men generally get longer sentences than women. With the exception of murder. Women get longer sentences for that.

So it's quite possible that if it was reversed the man might have gotten a lower sentance.

having said that, this is unusual in that both were violent, so I could be comparing apples to oranges.

She wasn't convicted of Murder.

The penalty for Murder in Ireland is Life. (average term served is 22 years)

The State also hold the right to hold the convicted person for the rest of their natural life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I'm surprised they didnt give her a medal while they were at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Two fncking idiots who couldn't keep their anger in check but wouldn't split up either. Seems like a pretty fair sentence tbh. Her response was over the top, but not without provocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

She had a previous conviction for assaulting him and witness state she wanted to teach him a lesson with the knife used to kill him.

Hang on. She was convicted of assaulting him and he stayed with her? He's a tad more forgiving than I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

She'll probably be out in 4 years.

Five before she can even be considered for parole. And that's just considered - no guaratees.

To be honest, it sounds like they were as bad as each other. I don't say this often, but the world is probably better off with both of them out of commission.

Just thankful they never had a kid.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭dbas

She has literally gotten away with murder here. Scumbag. No way a 'beaten woman' would hit/stab/provoke/insult an abusive man. He looks like he could handle himself also. She's a lucky little toerag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Hang on. She was convicted of assaulting him and he stayed with her? He's a tad more forgiving than I am.

Reverse the sexes and it happens around all the time unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

seamus wrote: »
    Two fncking idiots who couldn't keep their anger in check but wouldn't split up either. Seems like a pretty fair sentence tbh. Her response was over the top, but not without provocation.

Tbh if his action that night constituted provocation we’d have blood on the street 24/7.

Not saying he wasn’t a horrible ****er but what she did was massively out of proportion to the incident, which from the evidence she had form for. Very lucky to only be done for manslaughter, but also predictable that one of them would end up dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Reverse the sexes and it happens around all the time unfortunately.

People sometimes have a good reason to stay with someone. My partner choked me unconscious during a psychotic break once, he never laid a finger on me or anyone else before and he hasn't since. It's not always black and white.

Lux23 wrote: »
    People sometimes have a good reason to stay with someone. My partner choked me unconscious during a psychotic break once, he never laid a finger on me or anyone else before and he hasn't since. It's not always black and white.

I never claimed it was and have no experience of it myself having never laid a hand on a woman or had a hand laid on me. I was just stating that many women do end up staying after they have been assaulted. Maybe in the hope of changing their partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sounds like a really messed up abusive relationship.

Kill or be killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

fatknacker wrote: »
    Meh. At least they won't be having any kids together, thank fck.

Bottle blonde with massive hooters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Why do these people stay together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

If this happened in Ireland she would have got no jail time.

The guy sounded like a right prick but didn't deserve to be '"taught a lesson" that brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

While there were a pair of them in it that guy was in Australia because he was wanted in Ireland on some pretty gruesome assault charges. He got what was coming to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

It seems he was attacking some other guy in the flat the night Tina Cahill stabbed him too.

Sounds like a violent fecker.

backspin. wrote: »
    It seems he was attacking some other guy in the flat the night Tina Cahill stabbed him too.

According to the killer making her defence. The only evidence in the piece to say he was violent was hers, given as defence. Hardly inviolable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Yet he is the bad guy who affected her mental health..ffs

A joke of a sentence. I'll.bet had the genders been reversed he'd have done serious time.

By all accounts he was a rough individual with pevious form. Both as bad as each other in my opinion. From what I have heard about this guy, I have little sympathy.

I think that’s accepted. It’s generally agreed both of them were violent ****ers. This is the evidence given to-the court about the night in question
    They parted, before Ms Cahill, two female friends and Matthew Hyde, a man they had socialised with at one of the pubs, arrived back at the Padstow address where Mr Walsh was either asleep or partially asleep on a couch.

Soon after, Mr Walsh repeatedly attacked Mr Hyde wanting to know who he was and, during the ensuing chaos, Ms Cahill screamed: “Stop it Davey, get off, get off ... he’s with Grace.”

She tried to get a grip of her fiance’s arms when he swung his arm back and she fell to the ground, the facts said.

She moved towards him and punched him in the face with a closed fist, before Mr Walsh pushed her again and tried to punch her in the face.

Eventually, “the offender opened and closed the cutlery drawer quickly taking out a large, very sharp, bladed knife”.

One witness said over and over again “put it back” but Ms Cahill replied: “No, he needs to be taught a lesson. It’s not fair. Look at poor Matthew.”
    (from the Irish times)

Hardly a kill or be killed self defence scenario

Drunk scumbags have fight.

In other news, earth still rotating on its axis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

She attacked him numerous times before. He had to take out a protection order against her. She stabbed him to death with a big sharp knife but ya hes the one you call violent. Presume you're a female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭trixiebust

Cina wrote: »

The reason I clicked in tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

tritium wrote: »
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/tina-cahill-sentenced-to-eight-years-for-killing-controlling-fianc-37618597.html

Just being reported. Mixed feelings tbh. On the one hand it’s on paper a decent stretch, on the other I can’t help but feel there’s been a significant media attempt to focus on her victims violent behaviour and to an extent ignore hers. It kind of feels that this ending was inevitable for one of them though.
    Cahill's earliest release date will be in February 2022 when she is expected to be deported to Ireland

Any chance we can appeal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

She attacked him numerous times before. He had to take out a protection order against her. She stabbed him to death with a big sharp knife but ya hes the one you call violent. Presume you're a female.

More men than women would think that she was justified and jump on the bandwagon.

Women hang around women more and know all the varying levels of good and bad :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

There are no winners in this case. A long jail sentence won’t change that for anyone concerned. Her life had been ruined no matter how long she got. Not to mention both sets of parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

tritium wrote: »
    Hardly a kill or be killed self defence scenario
    Sure, but it's also very far removed from (say) stabbing him in his sleep.

There was an attack happening, instigated by the deceased, who was violent against anyone attempting to stop him.

One person is permitted to defend another, so whether Cahill though she was defending herself or another (or everyone), is kind of irrelevant. Whether she thought Walsh was going to kill anyone, is also not that relevant. If you kill someone in self-defence, you don't have to prove that they were trying to kill you.

The question really is about intent, and whether it was her intention to kill/seriously injure him, or simply to stop his attack.

Which lands us where we are. I can't say I agree with the verdict (I haven't enough information to say), but you can see that it's far from a clear-cut case of murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

It was a moment of madness with fatal consequences I think Seamus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

The pair of them were hardly the best ambassadors to have left the country, what goes around around comes around. Going by the media picture of him, how many times had he that nose broken? Its nearly at a 45 degree angle, its got so many clouts.

seamus wrote: »
    Sure, but it's also very far removed from (say) stabbing him in his sleep.

There was an attack happening, instigated by the deceased, who was violent against anyone attempting to stop him.

One person is permitted to defend another, so whether Cahill though she was defending herself or another (or everyone), is kind of irrelevant. Whether she thought Walsh was going to kill anyone, is also not that relevant. If you kill someone in self-defence, you don't have to prove that they were trying to kill you.

The question really is about intent, and whether it was her intention to kill/seriously injure him, or simply to stop his attack.

Which lands us where we are. I can't say I agree with the verdict (I haven't enough information to say), but you can see that it's far from a clear-cut case of murder.

Given we have pre meditation, based on calmly taking the knife in spite of being advised repeatedly to put it down. The stated intention to teach him a lesson. The evidence of several violent episodes by her in the past (including an attempted stabbing of the victim previously), I’d say it’s a bit more clear cut than you imply. I do get in the circumstances why it’s easier to accept the manslaughter plea but I find Cahill’s attempt to play the victim a bit nauseating tbh.

Study after study shows that by far and away the most common form of domestic violence is reciprocal, where both partners assault each other. This is never the narrative we get in the media though.

In fact the first domestic violence shelter in the UK was set up for both male and female victims of domestic violence by Erin Pizzey, who had two violent parents herself. She was later demonised by mainstream feminists.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1215464/Why-I-loathe-feminism---believe-ultimately-destroy-family.html

(Don't like the Daily Mail but has her personal account)

https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/the-psychiatrist/article/domestic-violence-is-most-commonly-reciprocal/C5432B0C6F8F61B49A4E2B60B931FA07

http://www.familylawexpress.com.au/family-law-news/children/childabuse/women-more-violent-and-controlling-than-men-various-studies-find/2366/

women-the-aggressors-in-dv.jpg

My mum hit my dad several times, once with a tongs and broke his thumb. Also constantly verbally abused him. He never laid a finger on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Cops over there will often take out an AVO on someone's behalf even if the person doesn't want it. He might not necessarily have taken the order out himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭elstingeo

A terribly sad case with a loss of life and the young woman’s life is ruined. There is probably more than meets the eye here to be fair. I would have the opinion that regardless of what’s going on, it is still not justified to take someone’s life. What really stood out was the fact she wanted to teach him a lesson etc. and the evidence of problems from both sides.

I would guess that there marriage was a far cry from healthy or happy and that the two could of been violent to one another.

I wonder if she can even realise the errors of her ways and be reformed or what..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

elstingeo wrote: »
    A terribly sad case with a loss of life and the young woman’s life is ruined. There is probably more than meets the eye here to be fair. I would have the opinion that regardless of what’s going on, it is still not justified to take someone’s life. What really stood out was the fact she wanted to teach him a lesson etc. and the evidence of problems from both sides.

I would guess that there marriage was a far cry from healthy or happy and that the two could of been violent to one another.

I wonder if she can even realise the errors of her ways and be reformed or what..?

Reformed, can he be resurrected?

The reporting of this and other cases like it is extremely biased.

I can't remember a case where a woman was convicted of murdering someone - and murder, not manslaughter - where there wasn't sympathy and excuses made for her. I equally can't remember a case where a man murdered someone and there was any sympathy or excuses made for him.

The extenuating circumstances and the defence case are always gone into great detail when it's a woman on trial and never for a man. For a man it's the prosecutions case that is emphasised.

Why not just give us both and let us make up our own minds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

According to the killer making her defence. The only evidence in the piece to say he was violent was hers, given as defence. Hardly inviolable

Common knowledge in Sydney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Dr Devious wrote: »
    The pair of them were hardly the best ambassadors to have left the country, what goes around around comes around. Going by the media picture of him, how many times had he that nose broken? Its nearly at a 45 degree angle, its got so many clouts.

And he had that universal "tongue slightly out of the mouth" smile of a thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

They were both violent it seems. A few hours before she stabbed him he smashed a glass off a guys head in a pub. He was insanely jealous according to her defence yet she brought a strange guy back to their house. She must have known he would react badly to that so to me that's intentional provocation. It's about 30k from Bondi to Padstow so she had plenty of time to think about what might happen.