Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The day music changed

• 09-12-2018 2:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭

38 years ago today (time difference counted) John Lennon died

Reading on Wikipedia apparently the exact time his was announced dead the Beatles song 'all my loving' was playing over the hospitals PA

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Bye Bye miss American Pie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Another ageless tale of great artists untimely deaths

I wonder In 50/60 years from now if someone famous died would they be songs like this wrote ???

Prob social media would eliminate the shock element

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

We'll be able to tell our grandchildren where we were when we heard x78CccXx6 got shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

90's 'fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me'

Now #metoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

I'll tell my grand kids I was part of the movement that got Rage against the Machine to Christmas number one instead of the guaranteed success of the X factor crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I'll tell my grand kids I was part of the movement that got Rage against the Machine to Christmas number one instead of the guaranteed success of the X factor crap

They probably won't care

Oh I know they won't care, it meant something to me at the time to make a statement. To me that was the end of an era.

I remember my mam balling her eyes out when Phil Lynott died, I guess to her that was a defining moment of her era

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭emptyhouse2222

PTH2009 wrote: »
    38 years ago today (time difference counted) John Lennon died

Reading on Wikipedia apparently the exact time his was announced dead the Beatles song 'all my loving' was playing over the hospitals PA

john lenin was the original open borders shill
    a well deserved bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Lennon was a woman beating, mentally abusive scumbag. Used to tell his own child Julian that he "hates that fcuking laugh" when the kid would giggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

The Beatles were a sexist organisation anyway. Completely ridiculous that there was no women in the band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I thought this thread was going to be about Sonic Youth's Teenage Riot intro being used in a perfume ad.

Music is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

John Lennon is overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

John Lennon is overrated.

Extremely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Oh I know they won't care, it meant something to me at the time to make a statement. To me that was the end of an era.

I remember my mam balling her eyes out when Phil Lynott died, I guess to her that was a defining moment of her era

You shouldn't be proud of being led by an organised internet campaign. It was the other side of the same X Factor coin. Some other year it might be a singing nun who goes viral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Omackeral wrote: »
    Lennon was a woman beating, mentally abusive scumbag. Used to tell his own child Julian that he "hates that fcuking laugh" when the kid would giggle

A nasty piece of work. Him and Yoko Ono were well matched.
    Julian's mother Cynthia was a real lady.

You shouldn't be proud of being led by an organised internet campaign. It was the other side of the same X Factor coin. Some other year it might be a singing nun who goes viral.

A singing nun, bring it on, would be a welcome break from the constant remixes of safe ballads the X factor churn out year upon year to reap the pennies of the Christmas market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

He was a cùnt in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I never liked the Beatles. I get their influence on their time, but the music itself never appealed to me.

For me music died for the most part around 15 years ago. I still listen to the radio in the car but mostly Newstalk these days. Still, occasionally I do hear a good song from the "modern era".

Most of the time when I want some music for my drive, I just stick with the mp3 playlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

No, no,
    No, no, no, no,
    No, no...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

One of my earliest childhood memories was standing beside my mother while she discussed his death with her friend. I had no clue who John Lennon was but it seemed pretty obvious from her tone of voice that he was someone of importance.

It's a bitter irony that Lennon's inability to live up to his own pontificating would play a big part in lighting Chapman's fuse. He was the absolute embodiment of a double standard in terms of what he was preaching to his audience and how he conducted himself privately. But he sure as hell didn't deserve to be murdered for that.

Also, if we're being brutally honest here, Lennon had ceased to be musically relevant many years before his death. His solo material was patchy at best. Although the same criticism applies to his former bandmates as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ronald Regan is smiling in actor president heaven, damn beatnik hippy got me shot

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Ronald Regan is smiling in actor president heaven, damn beatnik hippy got me shot

Won't be smiling when Donald Trump sets up camp...

While Lennon read a book on marx or was that Lenin read a book on marx most likely the first one contradictory hippy bastid ooooooooohhhh im anti establishment but I've made loads of money ripping off idiots with my ****ty music damn hippies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I thought this thread was going to be about Sonic Youth's Teenage Riot intro being used in a perfume ad.

Music is dead.

Thurston's got bills to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Elvis’s death had a bigger impact on our house than Lennon.
    Still though, Mark Chapman really should be released soon...that’s a lot of time served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Thurston's got bills to pay.

I don't begrudge any artist making a few bucks but ............ a perfume ad:eek::eek::eek:

The Velvet Underground's music was commercialised years ago but at least it was a pretty cool tyre add with weird arty stuff in it. This is one of those terrible wishy washy perfume ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

For all those artists who made Xmas songs

It's ching ching time baby
    Royalties sweet Royalties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

Chapman had a ticket for a play David Bowie was appearing in the next night and planned to kill him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

That (dreadful) song is about buddy Holly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

November the 24th 1991 is the correct date music died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Cazale wrote: »
    Chapman had a ticket for a play David Bowie was appearing in the next night and planned to kill him too.

can't fault his ambition or work ethic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

A bit of economic and political turmoil tends to produce good music. When Brexit really kicks off into chaos early next year the quality of British music will increase in an inverse relationship with political stability.

When times are really good you get the Spice Girls, Steps and people buying Westlife albums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Elvis’s death had a bigger impact on our house than Lennon.
    Still though, Mark Chapman really should be released soon...that’s a lot of time served.

Only if he promises to shoot Jason Derulo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Say what you like about Yoko - and boy, hasn't a lot been said over the years? - she probably kept Lennon from dying years earlier. As well as making him as happy as any woman probably could, and sorting out his finances, the words to Imagine are straight out of poems she wrote in the 1960s before she even met him.

They were both fairly clueless in some ways back then. In one interview she basically admitted that the only reason they didn't get seriously hooked on heroin was that they were both scared of needles. Snorting the stuff did them little harm because the stuff they could get from their "connection" - when they could get it - was mostly baby powder. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Probably died with the shotgun shell Kurt Cobain blasted into his head. Is generally considered the time that the music industry decided that the next wave of big stars would have to be able to be controlled. The day of the manically depressed drug addicted unreliable star was gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

PTH2009 wrote: »
    For all those artists who made Xmas songs

It's ching ching time baby
    Royalties sweet Royalties

Spare a thought for the till drawer at Shane McGowan's local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

1980 was a bit of a bollox when it came to musicians dying. As well as John Lennon Bon Scott, Ian Curtis and John Bonham all died that year well before their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

John and Yoko, not forgotten <3

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ4jzKqroFCqBOr4YpbrZ234OcLkELXz__3RzcRQHTJ7GGEQ1AYkg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The day music changed was when the first Fairlight CMI was installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Also, if we're being brutally honest here, Lennon had ceased to be musically relevant many years before his death. His solo material was patchy at best. Although the same criticism applies to his former bandmates as well.

I actually thing "Woman", "Watching the Wheels", "Just like Starting Over" and "Beautiful Boy", released as part of the Double Fantasy album just 2-months before he died, was as good as almost anything The Beatles or any of it's individual members ever produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

The day music changed was when the first Fairlight CMI was installed.

Was just thinking the same thing; I'm getting mad into Depeche Mode at the minute. Looking at some of their early performances, which seem quite futuristic for the time (all of the lads standing around playing the keyboard with one hand), it's hard to believe that it was barely 10 years after the break-up of the Beatles. Mad to look at how quickly popular music evolved in the second half of the 20th century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,857 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

mad muffin wrote: »
    November the 21st 1991 is the correct date music died.

Kiss are good and all, but losing their drummer was hardly the death knell for music in the same way as the loss of Kurt, Prince or Bowie was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Like everything in life, music has been corporatised. I can't pinpoint the exact moment, but then again I should have been born in the sixties ideally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Laois_Man wrote: »
    I actually thing "Woman", "Watching the Wheels", "Just like Starting Over" and "Beautiful Boy", released as part of the Double Fantasy album just 2-months before he died, was as good as almost anything The Beatles or any of it's individual members ever produced.

He has some great stuff, but I think his image overshadows it a bit (and lets be honest it could be insufferable and he was anbit of a htpocrit).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Ipso wrote: »
    He has some great stuff, but I think his image overshadows it a bit (and lets be honest it could be insufferable and he was anbit of a htpocrit).

Plus he let Yoko 'sing'.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Kiss are good and all, but losing their drummer was hardly the death knell for music in the same way as the loss of Kurt, Prince or Bowie was.

Oh behave you tart…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

El Tarangu wrote: »
    Was just thinking the same thing; I'm getting mad into Depeche Mode at the minute. Looking at some of their early performances, which seem quite futuristic for the time (all of the lads standing around playing the keyboard with one hand), it's hard to believe that it was barely 10 years after the break-up of the Beatles. Mad to look at how quickly popular music evolved in the second half of the 20th century.

Changes in technology mostly drove that. The keyboards didn’t exist a few years before.

Pretty bad day for music was Vinnie Jones destroying Bad Bad Leroy Brown on Top of the Pops in 2002

Look it up and P iss yourselves laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Pretty bad day for music was Vinnie Jones destroying Bad Bad Leroy Brown on Top of the Pops in 2002

Look it up and P iss yourselves laughing

Shirley not as bad as this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Quick survey around the turf fire (before we opened the thread) produced:
    Chuck Berry
    Elvis/ABBA transition
    The invention of electric music (pickups, amplification)
    The baby wanted a later reference, but couldn't i.d. an actual significant transition point.