Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is that Cork deadbrain mouthpiece on RTE1 right now

• 28-11-2018 10:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Brendan O Connor Show
    Wed 28/11/18

She has to be the largest arsehole I have ever heard on primeTime? tv in this sceptered isle

Everything is transgendered - everything is wrong, does she actually pay tax or productively work or what?
    She wants hx, shx, mxn, womxn to be brought in
    it must be a pisstake and if so our tv licence lovers RTE must be held to account for wasting the makeup on her

Why?
    I am so annoyed by her I made this thread.

I mean, Mary Coughlan made mincemeat of her within 2.5seconds - why is she afforded the platform?

Grr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Stephanie Priessner, she's a writer.

Wrote the TV show Can't Cope Wont Cope, or something like that.

I used to think she was ok, but she went down a lot in my estimation trying to defend changing the word WOMAN to WOMXN to satisfy a few folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

NIMAN wrote: »
    Stephanie Priessner, she's a writer.

Wrote the TV show Can't Cope Wont Cope, or something like that.

I used to think she was ok, but she went down a lot in my estimation trying to defend changing the word WOMAN to WOMXN to satisfy a few folk.

And I 65% liked that show too - it was about 20 shows too much 0- should have been a 3 parter

What a wombat

I wouldn't mind if she even attempted to argue the point and tried to persuade the viewers to her opinion.
    No, it just is.
    You should accept this according to STEPHANIE

NO.
    **** off.
    It's a little more than stupid so no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

"WOMXN"?

What a d1ckhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Sir Oxman wrote: »

I used to find myself getting mildly irritated by Ivan Yates and Matt Cooper on TV3 sometimes, so I stopped watching their show and now I'm very happy altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I like her, definitely deserves a mention in the somebody unusual... thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I used to find myself getting mildly irritated by Ivan Yates and Matt Cooper on TV3 sometimes, so I stopped watching their show and now I'm very happy altogether.

Was matt not PC enough for you?

Late in the show she said that all women relationships are different to all male ones cos women are different

Yet she'll fight with you to the death to tell you men and women are the same.

I thought you meant John Creedon for a minute, I was watching him earlier

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Was matt not PC enough for you?

He's so PC, he makes a dell OptiPlex 760 look like a commadore 64.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

She was on one if the presidential debate panels on TV3 as the "millennial voice"... She was utterly shocked that anyone might not like travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

NIMAN wrote: »
    Late in the show she said that all women relationships are different to all male ones cos women are different

Yet she'll fight with you to the death to tell you men and women are the same.

You seem to be very familiar with her NIMAN.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

WomXn.

Sure sign life's too easy when people start peddling this shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

NIMXN

I watched tonight's show. She said this tonight.

I have seen her a few other times, on the Late Late show, cutting edge last year. She is a regular now on Irish TV.

I'm not stalking her! I wouldn't even go for a coffee with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Chewbacca wrote: »
    NIMXN

I wanted to do that joke!!!

NIMXN

Boom!

Quality.

I had that coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The talent pool in RTE is tiny...it is a shockingly poor tv station.

I should say, the talent pool of people willing to prostitute themselves to RTE is tiny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Charmeleon

Brendan O Connor Show
    Wed 28/11/18

She has to be the largest arsehole I have ever heard on primeTime? tv in this sceptered isle

Everything is transgendered - everything is wrong, does she actually pay tax or productively work or what?
    She wants hx, shx, mxn, womxn to be brought in
    it must be a pisstake and if so our tv licence lovers RTE must be held to account for wasting the makeup on her

Why?

I mean, Mary Coughlan made mincemeat of her within 2.5seconds - why is she afforded the platform?

Grr

It’s like in the 50s and 60s when a discussion on social and moral topics could not be considered decent unless a priest or nun was there to recite the official doctrine. Today a discussion on Irish media cannot be considered decent unless a practising SJW is there to tell us what the official doctrine is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I'm all for opinion but when people are outraged by such stupidity then they don't realise how lucky they are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I found her more irritating in the light-hearted part - I'm low on patience for shrieky folks who love the sound of their own voices that bit too much.

Thought she was pretty measured and calm when getting to this part though.

Of course it's ludicrous nonsense and she's been taken in however.

If a tiny minority feel excluded by the word "woman", could they not consider that there is no intention to exclude them rather than effecting change to a word that applies to far far more people, and correctly?!

That's what's wrong with the world you see, and her ilk are helping them.

Our language will have to change for millions because a couple of dozen people feel aggrieved about a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Charmeleon wrote: »
    It’s like in the 50s and 60s when a discussion on social and moral topics could not be considered decent unless a priest or nun was there to recite the official doctrine. Today a discussion on Irish media cannot be considered decent unless a practising SJW is there to tell us what the official doctrine is.
    That may be the most insightful statement I'll read this week.

This is my fist time accidently watching this show
    Bad luck, eh

I thought you meant John Creedon for a minute, I was watching him earlier

Never!
    A professional and a gent, oops gext or gnxt

Noveight wrote: »
    WomXn.

Sure sign life's too easy when people start peddling this shíte.

A bit of famine or robbing her charger might soften her cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Charmeleon wrote: »

SJW,s are secular nuns and priests for this age.

Who is that Cork deadbrain mouthpiece on RTE1 right now

... Brendan O Connor... ?

What a whingefest. Himself, John A. Murphy and Eoghan Harris.

John Creedon, on the other hand, has one of the nicest, most mellifluous voices on Irish radio. A pleasure on the ear. Philip King, Áine Hensey & John Kelly being the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Haven't watched O'Connor since Don't Feed the Gondalas days I don't think. Have only seen one episode of the latest show and wasn't too impressed.

https://youtu.be/pIPI52anKes

Brendan introduced the segment by saying the universities have brought in changing "woman" to "womxn" because containing the word "man" is considered offensive to women or something, however it appears to be for a different reason - so as not to cause offence to those who are not cis I think.

Whichever reason is just bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Firblog

To those of you giving out; serves you all right for watching RTE, what did you all expect?

... Brendan O Connor... ?

What a whingefest. Himself, John A. Murphy and Eoghan Harris.

John Creedon, on the other hand, has one of the nicest, most mellifluous voices on Irish radio. A pleasure on the ear. Philip King, Áine Hensey & John Kelly being the others.

he has a very horny voice - no, that's not right. Mellifillous
    A very mellifluous voice - I can't think of anyone on radio that could coax me in as much as John Creedon.
    And I'm not taking the piss.

Brendan introduced the segment by saying the universities have brought in changing "woman" to "womxn" because containing the word "man" is considered offensive to women or something, however it appears to be for a different reason - so as not to cause offence to those who are not cis I think.

WTF is cis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Firblog wrote: »
    To those of you giving out; serves you all right for watching RTE, what did you all expect?

I think it's about time that people got to vote on some of RTE's coverage and TV listings if not all of it....given that people are forced to pay for it.

One thing I can't stand is RTE's laughable attempts to create something of a homegrown CSI Miami or Law and Order in recent years. It just comes across as ridiculous.

Not to mention that show about some skanger that was on a while back.

Thank God for the invention of Chromecast..... I barely even watch TV stations anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The Mexicans won't be happy.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

RTE seem to like to get people like her on to talk sh*t.

Very few people in the real world would take her seriously with that nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

WTF is cis?

Normal. But normal was offensive to these freaks so they came up with cis.

You are a cis male or cis female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

NIMXN
    endacl wrote: »
    I wanted to do that joke!!!
    Did you not notice the OP's username?

Sir Oxmxn. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

A bit of famine or robbing her charger might soften her cough

Referring to her as her seems to be enough :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

WTF is cis?

The same as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

WTF is cis?

A variety of stereo isomer.

WTF is cis?
    Someone who is transgender refers to people who are non transgender as cis women or cis men. Tbh, grand if they're just using it to make the distinction in that context, but when people who are not trans use it as everyday terminology for men and women in contexts that have nothing to do with transgender folk, they can fup off. I am a woman, not a cis or a womxn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

This is her before she shed eleven and a half stone...

Born in Munich, Germany and went to Uni in Cork

stef1.png

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

stef1.png
    That's incredible in fairness. I find it difficult to lose the couple of extra lbs put on over the festive season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Is Ciara Kelly from Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

I thought all this crap was hilarious until we had to do two hours of training at work (a US multinational) on how not to mis-gender people or culturally appropriate the minorities diversifying our office.

All of this is the least of our worries. What about the parents who give their children hormone blockers before they hit puberty so that they can decide for themselves what gender they want to be when they are adults? Or the prospects of these treatments being recognised by the government and funded with tax money? :O

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Born in Munich, Germany and went to Uni in Cork

stef1.png

Reminds me of those flashback episodes of Friends when they put Monica in a fat suit.

That's incredible in fairness. I find it difficult to lose the couple of extra lbs put on over the festive season.

Yeah, and Can't Cope, Won't Cope was decent too, she's impressive enough but tonight was car crash tv. I'm all for diversity but if people want to replace the word woman then come up with something less risible than womxn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Man and wan.

Mankind and Wankind.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How do you pronounce womxn?