Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we becoming more racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

in light of a report in today's indo, detailing a disgusting attack on 2 black kids, i was wondering if we are becoming more racist?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/irish-cities-are-becoming-more-racist-mum-whose-sons-were-attacked-on-way-home-from-school-37574723.html

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

No, I'm fully racist already.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,481 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I disagree. What I think is happening is that scumbags are feeling emboldened. There have always been such scumbags but we have a mixed race Taoiseach which would indicate otherwise.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

i i was wondering if we are becoming more racist?
    ]

No.

And that's typical sort of stupid thing a paddy would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Not a matter of becoming sadly. The fact that this question is asked, all be it perhaps innocent perhaps, is telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

No, the media are looking for an 'angle' i.e. racism to report stories about stuff that happens all the time to ppl of any race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,832 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Don't think so personally.

School bullying has always been a big problem in Ireland.

There are more black children attending schools now so logically a growing number of them will also be bullied just like a lot of white kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I disagree. What I think is happening is that scumbags are feeling emboldened. There have always been such scumbags but we have a mixed race Taoiseach which would indicate otherwise.

Racism in Ireland isn’t a preserve of lumpen scrotes either though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

"It(the attack) only ended when a number of adult pedestrians intervened and the attackers fled on foot.

Locals comforted the two shocked youngsters who had apparently been targeted simply because of the colour of their skin."

i draw some comfort from the fact that some people saw fit to intervene. as a society, we need to send out the message, that this type of behavior is not acceptable. well done to them whoever they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Oh will ya ever go f&&k off....

I've been attacked and abused by many black people in my line of work....

Last fella who hangs around rathmines, Camden St area was going to rape.... My sister, my ma, my brother's etc and anyone I know and also cut me up....

He wears a Rasta hat and is an absolute scum bag.

I've had Irish people side with them even when they are wrong and it's gone beyond a joke to be honest......

I don't see colours the way people say it, we are all equal so I wish they would stop throwing the rubbish racist card over absolutely nothing......

Blanch and a number of other areas have huge gang problems also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

No... it's still just a minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ugbohoscar

old_aussie wrote: »
    No, I'm fully racist already.
    Where is your heart of humanity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

There's a lot more of it on After Hours nowadays, and on the internet in general, but the average person is too busy on the farm and doesn't have much time for the oul racism. Personally, I'm only a racist on Fridays.

"It(the attack) only ended when a number of adult pedestrians intervened and the attackers fled on foot.

Locals comforted the two shocked youngsters who had apparently been targeted simply because of the colour of their skin."

i draw some comfort from the fact that some people saw fit to intervene. as a society, we need to send out the message, that this type of behavior is not acceptable. well done to them whoever they were.

How come there is no mention of black attacks on Whites???

Charlie19 wrote: »
    No... it's still just a minority.

i agree. some idiots will attack anything that their tiny brains see as "different", be it the way you dress, the style of your hair, your perceived sexual orientation. whatever.

i dont know. perhaps cos they rarely happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭John Sacrimoni

Bull****.

Probably because they're even more rare than white attacks on blacks.

Care to prove this????

Cop on with yourself.

You 100% on that....

Enlighten me and give some proof!!!!

Cork is a very parochial place. no excuse for this type of carry-on but at times someone from another county can feel like an intruder down there.

I give everyone the exact same respect they give me.....

If that makes me racist then so be it......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,481 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

FTA69 wrote: »
    Racism in Ireland isn’t a preserve of lumpen scrotes either though.

Never said it was. It was those scrotes who seem to have inspired the thread though.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Care to prove this????

Cop on with yourself.

I don't really view it as a competition, like you appear to, so I'm not really arsed proving it. Thankfully racist attacks would appear to be extremely rare in this country. Hopefully that'll remain the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I deal with lots of folk in rural areas and yes Ireland is a shockingly racist country. We also don’t live up to that welcoming everyone speil that we promote to the rest of the world.

Lots don’t understand the difference in asylum seekers or economic migrants both legal and illegal. Particularly skin colour is a big hang up, bad enough Eastern European’s taking over but if they have a different skin colour it’s all out bigotry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Yes and very much so.

It isn't a stretch for many Irish people either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

If you ask a question about something people think you shouldn't your racist

If you highlight a wrong doing by a certain people your racist.

If you highlight something that some people don't want highlighted your racist.

A lot of the time your called a racist you know you have asked a good question or highlighted a good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

_Brian wrote: »
    I deal with lots of folk in rural areas and yes Ireland is a shockingly racist country. We also don’t live up to that welcoming everyone speil that we promote to the rest of the world.

Lots don’t understand the difference in asylum seekers or economic migrants both legal and illegal. Particularly skin colour is a big hang up, bad enough Eastern European’s taking over but if they have a different skin colour it’s all out bigotry.

Then why do we all think, that the Chinese are a great bunch of lads?

I don't really view it as a competition, like you appear to, so I'm not really arsed proving it. Thankfully racist attacks would appear to be extremely rare in this country. Hopefully that'll remain the case.

And on the last note I fully agree.....

But the rest no.

Hence why I asked for proof.....
    I get this rubbish spouted all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Why do some people not accept things as racist/homophobic and just claim their random attacks? Methinks the lady doth protest too much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭John Sacrimoni

Then why do we all think, that the Chinese are a great bunch of lads?

Best crowd of immigrants we've had come to Ireland. Lovely people.

Yes and very much so.

It isn't a stretch for many Irish people either.

Your opinion!!!!

Can you actually back this up

Your opinion!!!!

Can you actually back this up

Are you saying he is wrong?

Sure ya can be racist against travellers now or so I've been told by them many times even before they were given ethnic minority status.....

As a nation we are fooked.

Try_harder wrote: »
    Are you saying he is wrong?

Are you saying they are right....

How do you know it's a he?????

That's very niave....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Work with 2 Polish guys who are the most racist, homophobic people I have ever met.

So OP, when you say ‘we’ do you mean Irish or white people in general.

Oh fuk, am I racist now for saying 2 Polish guys are racist. I dunno.
    I apologize if I triggered any boardies.

i can't prove it, but personally, i've never seen a black person beat up a white person in Ireland.

Oh and by the way I have some very good friends that aren't Irish or white.....

They hate all the crap that goes on too.

As I said either way yellow, black white green or blue I will give you exactly the same respect you give me.

This crap of you bb something something or white yafa yada is rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

When I used to play football one team I played against out the back arse of West Dublin who had a number black players completely made up a bs story that one of our players racially abused one of them despite not giving details such as the number on the back of the shirt of whoever racially abused them.

i can't prove it, but personally, i've never seen a black person beat up a white person in Ireland.

Oh wow that's the same as me saying I've never seen dolphin in the Liffey.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Sure ya can be racist against travellers now or so I've been told by them many times even before they were given ethnic minority status.....

As a nation we are fooked.

Because us eithnic Irish can only be racist all others get an excuse of don't mention race , colour or country of origin .

As seen over holloween the gang of youths who terrorised howth barely got a mention other than a gang modelling themselves on an LA street gang but zero descriptions given and next to no mention in the media ,

Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Same here. Never saw a white man beat up a black person. Snap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

In replies to the OPs question ...

When I was a bit younger out clubing a few months ago( years ago)....

I had trouble for whatever reason from blacks, Spanish, Irish etc.....

People are strange, doesn't matter the skin colour and people need to get over this facination of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭vetinari

why do some people find it so hard to believe racism exists?
    It always baffles me.

When I was a bit younger out clubing a few months ago( years ago)....

I had trouble for whatever reason from blacks, Spanish, Irish etc.....

People are strange, doesn't matter the skin colour and people need to get over this facination of this.

Some people get targeted more often.

Do you believe the MET were not institutionally racist then?

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Same here. Never saw a white man beat up a black person. Snap.

actually i've seen black, asian and muslim people being attacked by these little acne ridden scrotes on many occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

actually i've seen black, asian and muslim people being attacked by these little acne ridden scrotes on many occasions.

And did you step in and assist the victims?

Oh and by the way I have some very good friends that aren't Irish or white.....

They hate all the crap that goes on too.

As I said either way yellow, black white green or blue I will give you exactly the same respect you give me.

This crap of you bb something something or white yafa yada is rubbish.

They always have gay/black friends...