Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interesting Traveler Culture in England

https://uk.yahoo.com/movies/traveller-leader-attempted-20k-blackmail-204552672.html

We must do more to understand the workings of the traveler community. :p

Spreading their culture like slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Great bunch of lads.

Sure its their culture, can't touch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Spreading their culture like slurry.

You cant say things like that. We must say nothing and hope that we change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Insert generic, thanks-harvesting, Traveller-bash comment here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

"Twenty grand or the place is ours", the sense of entitlement is strong with this one. I feel for the dogs, what a life that must be.

Does there have to be one of these comments in every thread by law or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

20k or a 300k repair bill. How many companies/households actually pay up in advance that we never hear about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Does there have to be one of these comments in every thread by law or something?

Not yet. But give it time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

100-strong gang to destroy the building when demands were not met,
    A convoy of more than 25 vehicles - including 17 caravans - entered Thwaites Brewery in Blackburn
    Lots of people to send to jail and/or deport - and many vehicles to impound and sell off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Stopped at a topaz garage yesterday afternoon (1330) for some fuel, and seen a guy with (without profiling) a very distinctive kind of haircut (shaved tight, that blends into a full head of hair) take a pee right at the garage forecourt, then jump into an English reg, Isuzu pick up type jeep.

The forecourt.

Obviously couldn't hold it the 40 secs or so it would have taken to walk into the garage and use their more than adequate toilet facilities.

Stopped at a topaz garage yesterday afternoon (1330) for some fuel, and seen a guy with (without profiling) a very distinctive kind of haircut (shaved tight, that blends into a full head of hair) take a pee right at the garage forecourt, then jump into an English reg, Isuzu pick up type jeep.

The forecourt.

Obviously couldn't hold it the 40 secs or so it would have taken to walk into the garage and use their more than adequate toilet facilities.

He was engaging in an act of culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The forecourt.

At least it was only a Pee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

perhaps a comment on the facts of the case at hand would suffice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

epic culture does 300k damage everyone walk free. only regular joe has to take it up the a$$.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I'd be more concerned about the case.

Horrific, depressing scumminess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The forecourt.

In fairness I've seens plenty of buffers do similar only metres from the door of a pub they've been drinking in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

"On May 27, Thwaites were allowed into the premises - with police assistance - to remove a number of valuable items, including artwork and memorabilia worth £2 million.
    A number of males were seen to trespass the office building in a horsebox and a beer dray, at around 4:30pm."

Utterly astonishing that this kind of anarchy can be allowed in a civilised country. I wonder if a gang of common-or-garden criminals were involved would they be allowed free rein to destroy a business premises while the police had to escort employees in to rescue valuables?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Gravelly wrote: »
    "...artwork and memorabilia worth £2 million."

So the Travellers were holding out for their £20,000 while evidently not realizing that the building contained artwork worth £2,000,000.

Not exactly the brightest bulbs...

So the Travellers were holding out for their £20,000 while evidently not realizing that the building contained artwork worth £2,000,000.

Not exactly the brightest bulbs...

They tend to be magpie-like, and go for bright 'n shiny rather than valuable. If the artwork was framed in chrome, they'd have had it the moment they got in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

What a very stupid post.

Are people not to mention when a gang of 100 of these pure scum cause £300,000 worth of damage because they did not get paid the £20'000 they demanded?

Thanks to Peter Cassy these threads appear to be left open now.

Another stupid comment we always seem to get is don't tar a whole group with the one brush.
    Well, this was a gang of 100 travellers and only travellers that carried this appaling act out.
    Is it fair to say every single traveller that took part is this is pure oxygen thieving scum? I think it is.

What about the people that work there what about their jobs Fcuk these people they are a scourge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

^^ well said

Insert vacuous, empty, lefty like-begging comment here.

TomSweeney wrote: »
    ^^ well said

No doubt some lefty liberals are looking for something to report me for but I have stuck to the rules the only people I called names are those that carried out the raid if you can call it that.:(

Gravelly wrote: »
    Insert vacuous, empty, lefty like-begging comment here.

Don't tar an entire group with the one brush.:P:D

Edit be careful not to let any of that group tar your driveway either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rondog

Its never ceases to shock me what these inbreds are allowed away with.
    I was never one for gun ownership but im now fully for gun ownership in cases like this.Its tresspass and extortion plain and simple,people should be allowed protect and defend something they have worked hard all their life for.
    Id gladly protect myself ,family and property with a weapon given these circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Mookie Blaylock

rondog wrote: »
    Its never ceases to shock me what these inbreds are allowed away with.
    I was never one for gun ownership but im now fully for gun ownership in cases like this.Its tresspass and extortion plain and simple,people should be allowed protect and defend something they have worked hard all their life for.
    Id gladly protect myself ,family and property with a weapon given these circumstances.

"Frog Ward does not approve of this post"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Will the British authorities deal with them harshly, or are they afraid of them the same as ours?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Will the British authorities deal with them harshly, or are they afraid of them the same as ours?

They're terrified of offending them. In a society that believed in itself, the riot squad would have been in there an hour after the travellers and went to war on them. Instead, the British police escorted the employees in to recover what hadn't been stolen or destroyed, and then went off again like they were the trespassers.

I read in another report of this case that the cultural gentlefolk deliberately **** in the brewing equipment. Like monkeys flinging **** at the zoo.

Post some ism or phobia on either Facebook or Twiter and the plod will be on your doorstep in no time as regards dealing with real crime forget it.

We seem to be going the same way over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

They seem to be talking about it at least, unlike our own.
    https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/941777/travellers-gypsies-caravans-trespass-laws-police-local-authorities-unauthorised-sites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

parasites

here is the definition

parasite
    /ˈparəsʌɪt/Submit
    noun
    an organism which lives in or on another organism (its host) and benefits by deriving nutrients at the other's expense.
    "the parasite attaches itself to the mouths of fishes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Once they leave the EU I reckon they will

scamalert wrote: »
    epic culture does 300k damage everyone walk free. only regular joe has to take it up the a$$.

what's also disgusting is they urinated and defecated all over the place.
    or is that part of their much-vaunted culture also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

is there no way to Ward off these Connors Artists?

Can someone Pavee Point me in the right direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Well warranted though.

Scumbags

You think your clever but I think your just trying to Cash in but you will only end up with Pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Ozymandias

I met a traveller ...
    Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
    Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
    Of that colossal Wreck, boundless and bare
    The lone and level sands stretch far away.”

Now read this interesting article

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/garda-object-to-firm-run-by-traveller-patriarch-getting-licence-for-pub-37505029.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

You think your clever but I think your just trying to Cash in but you will only end up with Pennies.
    don't you be giving me Gyp

How dare you please halt you behavior on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

its total no brainer in this day and age, group of 100 allowed to tear and terrorize people. Is it judges that crap thieir pants once they see one ? is it police garda that fear for the life of their own that every time news are hit you see some poor sap that worked his all life getting into trouble with law and never ending issues, as opposed to these creatures that dont see inside the cell more then few hours to be back on the streets, with convictions that could fill up the books, always getting free pass on most charges that regular person wouldn't see end or daylight if they did something close to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

John Wards solicitor pleaded with the judge saying that his client had fallen on hard times since he starred as the banjo player in Deliverance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

https://uk.yahoo.com/movies/traveller-leader-attempted-20k-blackmail-204552672.html

We must do more to understand the workings of the traveler community. :p
    And , Our Irish Elite are just Gagging for their Traveller Halting Sites .

Let them have them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

biko wrote: »
    Lots of people to send to jail and/or deport - and many vehicles to impound and sell off.

Be done with them altogether, us NORMAL people don't need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

31a.jpg

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

The forecourt.

I saw a young man doing that on a green in college court on the way home. Might be something contagious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Would about the only positive thing to happen if the Nazi's won the war!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

The forecourt.

And he didn't even charge the garage for the forecourt cleaning service...what a nice lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Travellers I'm sure in times past had to be hustlers, turn a fiver from nothing and a fiver into a tenner. Turn yer hand to anything that'd make a few quid to get by

In most towns up and down the country it was travelers that sold fireworks around Halloween, just an example of a hustle.

We handed them the great social welfare scam, what were we expecting?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

has anyone ever witnessed a traveller contributing to their community, you know like being part of a local volunteer group, tidy towns, meal on wheels etc. ?

Yes, I did I seen a group of them tidying a small little village just before I was abducted by Aliens on the way back from seeing the Loch Ness Monster.