Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAZZA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

I know he has had his issues with alcohol in the past, but jaysus sexual assault! never expected that from him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Ask Piers Morgan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

dem palestinians have it rough alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

dem palestinians have it rough alright

Have you seen thier strip ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

There was a Netflix documentary on him I saw recently, It was actually very sad watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

TomSweeney wrote: »
    There was a Netflix documentary on him I saw recently, It was actually very sad watching it.

Your kidding me. A Netflix doc on Gazza as if this low-life were of such a stature that warranted a documentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Likely it's a another load of bolloxolgy witch hunt against former star ,
    But hey let's get the pitch forks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 206 ✭✭JustAYoungLad

AllForIt wrote: »
    Your kidding me. A Netflix doc on Gazza as if this low-life were of such a stature that warranted a documentary.

He’s an interesting person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Dem tears though...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Stan Collymore made a very good point once, about how he remains villified to this day for punching his girlfriend in 1998, but Gascoigne, who once threw his wife down a flight of stairs, is a figure who receives love, support and compassion despite his demons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Thomyokk

He’s an interesting person.

He is

Ex footballer turned police negotiator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

What was with his story about someone from the IRA threatening to kill him and putting their contact details along with the threat. The man lacks something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

zapitastas wrote: »
    What was with his story about someone from the IRA threatening to kill him and putting their contact details along with the threat. The man lacks something

Due to playing the flute.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Stan Collymore made a very good point once, about how he remains villified to this day for punching his girlfriend in 1998, but Gascoigne, who once threw his wife down a flight of stairs, is a figure who receives love, support and compassion despite his demons.

I have never seen Gazza vilified in British media.

If we are to give ppl support and compassion despite their demons they why not do that for ever criminal. That would a be a huge shift in thinking in how we deal with and regard ppl who do bad things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Difference is, collymore and Rooney are both dull ****s, Gaza has a bit of personality and gets a free pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

If we are to give ppl support and compassion despite their demons they why not do that for ever criminal. That would a be a huge shift in thinking in how we deal with and regard ppl who do bad things.

The Daily Mirror hacked his phone, he's an alcoholic who, when he's drinking, is photographed regularly, and is front page news. Alcoholics don't tend to be front page news more generally.

Alistair Campbell did an interesting piece on the phenomenon here:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree/article/687e2ed2-1337-457b-b332-f315c58759e1

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Have you seen thier strip ?

It full of cooties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I said Collymore said he was vilified by the media, not Gascoigne, which is the point.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I was expecting to click on this thread to learn of his death. Which won’t be long if he keeps up his drinking. He will probably go the way of George Best.

Gazza sounds like a self-serving, sympathy-seeking self-absorbed selfish alcoholic. I can say all that as I was one myself for a few years.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I was expecting to click on this thread to learn of his death. Which won’t be long if he keeps up his drinking. He will probably go the way of George Best.

Gazza sounds like a self-serving, sympathy-seeking self-absorbed selfish alcoholic. I can say all that as I was one myself for a few years.

It's disgusting that his alcoholism is treated as a mitigating factor for his reprehensible character.

Look at this pic that The Mirror decided to put along this latest story about him.

2_JS154188515.jpg

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/breaking-paul-gascoigne-charged-sexual-13612880

Ahh, so sweet. Poor ole alcoholic with daemons. Lovable ole rogue. Knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Snotty wrote: »
    Difference is, collymore and Rooney are both dull ****s, Gaza has a bit of personality and gets a free pass

He was about 30 acting like a 9 year old, how is that a personality. Most of his antics are just retarded, funny stories but like funny in a 12 year old boy way. Lad is a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

It always seem to be that if one is a famous footballer one can get away with anything.

Have you even a clue what you're talking about ?

Adam Johnson didn't 'get away with it'. Ched Evans certainly didn't. Tony Adams did time, as did Joey Barton, George Best, Jan Molby, Dennis Wise.
    He has historically been reported to be involved in a abusive relationship and yet still to this day the UK media talk about him affectionately regardless of all the horrendous stuff he's involved in.

The 'UK media' are parasite scum, feeding off other people's misfortunes. For the benefit of dunderheads who actually buy their 'papers', and repeat their tittle-tattle here and elsewhere.

He is fondly remembered by much of the public for his football, not for the other stuff, but in spite of the other stuff.

No-one is holding him up as even an adequate human being, never mind as a role model.

He is fondly remembered by much of the public for his football, not for the other stuff, but in spite of the other stuff.

Uggh. Fondly remembered? Uggh.

He was about 30 acting like a 9 year old, how is that a personality. Most of his antics are just retarded, funny stories but like funny in a 12 year old boy way. Lad is a clown.

To be honest, I think he's not all there. Diagnosed bi-polar anyway, chronic alcoholic...

Remember the belching on Italian tv ? The flute ? The post-match interview from FA Cup semi in '91 ?

Uggh. Fondly remembered? Uggh.

FOR THE FOOTBALL.

Well football skills is all that matters, eh?

Who said that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Paul McGrath is one we can relate to. He gets tagged as a "gentleman" but can be a very nasty individual when things don't go his way. The Irish media tend to ignore his run in's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Was it you he allegedly assaulted? You're sure acting like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Paul McGrath is one we can relate to. He gets tagged as a "gentleman" but can be a very nasty individual when things don't go his way. The Irish media tend to ignore his run in's

Same with Roy Keane. The story a few month's back calling Harry Arter a 'prick' and a 'wanker' was par for the course with Keane. A leopard never changes it's spots, he's always been a surly prick, a nasty piece of work but is regarded as a hero in spite of it all. There is a cognitive dissonance at play. He might be a dick but he was a helluva footballer.

Gascoigne is clearly not well mentally. I'd liken people's continual fondness for him to that of Alex Higgins and George Best.

I used to play football underage with a local guy who was your stereotypical mid-90's teenage scumbag. Into everything. Drugs, street violence, a general bully. He was a lunatic on the pitch as well but he did the job and nobody minded. After our playing days were over, one night towards the end of the 90's, he got his ass handed to him during a street fight in the city centre. I say his ass handed to him but more accurately it was that his face was slashed with a knife. He has borne the scar ever since.

Despite this guy being a pretty nasty individual my mother had a deep fondness for him. I was perplexed. Was she taking in the anecdotes about him? She was fond of him for one reason. She'd been carrying her shopping towards the bus stop but the bus was about to pull off. Seeing this he ran to the bus and 'held it' for her until she got on. To her mind, beyond his toxic exterior he still was a gentleman. I guess it's such cognitive dissonance that explains how the likes of Gazza et al despite the deeply flawed exterior get people focusing on some one thing which somewhat redeems them be it Gazza crying at Italia 90 knowing he would miss the final, Higgins crying in the Crucible with his baby and the trophy, Keane beating Juventus all by himself and Best dribbling past a litany of hard men defenders and walking the ball into the net.

No matter what Gazza did, no matter how criminal it may be, there will still be an element who disregard it to the bemusement of those with a more rational mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I know he has had his issues with alcohol in the past, but jaysus sexual assault! never expected that from him!
    A Jack-the-lad former footballer who's fond of his booze and his women?

I'm just surprised it's taken this long tbh.

Same with George Best. He was deified by the media for years as a tortured genius, but it turns out that he was just a wife-beating creep too. Shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Snotty wrote: »

Being an idiot, junkie, alkie, wifebeating scumbag is not "personality"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

https://www.thejournal.ie/paul-gascoigne-4347038-Nov2018/

What gets me about Gazza is the UK's love for this low-life. It always seem to be that if one is a famous footballer one can get away with anything.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/you/article-1267516/Sheryl-Gascoigne-talks-abusive-relationship-Gazza-A-charming-man-makes-dangerous-lover.html

He has historically been reported to be involved in a abusive relationship and yet still to this day the UK media talk about him affectionately regardless of all the horrendous stuff he's involved in.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/nov/15/wayne-rooney-england-cheers-hymn-new-age

What gets me is the way the British tabloids have been after Wayne Rooney his whole career who this week retired as one one England highest ever scorers. Whatever controversies he was involved in they were minor in comparison to the low-life Gazza yet there seems to be that bitta hate for Ronney and an indistinguishable love for Gazza no matter what he does.

I just can't understand how this seems to go unnoticed. Btw no interested in football whatsoever.

Mods: This is not a football thread, I know they are not allowed. This thread is about the unwarranted respect that is given to footballers...because they are footballers.

This explains a lot.

He's a chronic alcoholic with severe mental health issues from when he was a child, must likely he was drunk when he assaulted his partner (still no excuse) and is held in high regard by the British because he could actually play a bit and wore his heart on his sleeve AKA Gazza's tears at the Italia 90 semi final defeat to Germany which made the Brits take him to their hearts.

He could literally change a game by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

AH, when neither Soccer nor Celebs forum will do for some reason

Being an idiot, junkie, alkie, wifebeating scumbag is not "personality"

Also I reckon someone like collymore has way more charisma than ****ing gazza. Gazza is just your typical english lout who goes to sunny beach in bulgaria every year, he just happened to be good at football. He's funny but in a laugh at him sort of way.

valoren wrote: »
    Same with Roy Keane. The story a few month's back calling Harry Arter a 'prick' and a 'wanker' was par for the course with Keane. A leopard never changes it's spots, he's always been a surly prick, a nasty piece of work but is regarded as a hero in spite of it all. There is a cognitive dissonance at play. He might be a dick but he was a helluva footballer.

Gascoigne is clearly not well mentally. I'd liken people's continual fondness for him to that of Alex Higgins and George Best.

I used to play football underage with a local guy who was your stereotypical mid-90's teenage scumbag. Into everything. Drugs, street violence, a general bully. He was a lunatic on the pitch as well but he did the job and nobody minded. After our playing days were over, one night towards the end of the 90's, he got his ass handed to him during a street fight in the city centre. I say his ass handed to him but more accurately it was that his face was slashed with a knife. He has borne the scar ever since.

Despite this guy being a pretty nasty individual my mother had a deep fondness for him. I was perplexed. Was she taking in the anecdotes about him? She was fond of him for one reason. She'd been carrying her shopping towards the bus stop but the bus was about to pull off. Seeing this he ran to the bus and 'held it' for her until she got on. To her mind, beyond his toxic exterior he still was a gentleman. I guess it's such cognitive dissonance that explains how the likes of Gazza et al despite the deeply flawed exterior get people focusing on some one thing which somewhat redeems them be it Gazza crying at Italia 90 knowing he would miss the final, Higgins crying in the Crucible with his baby and the trophy, Keane beating Juventus all by himself and Best dribbling past a litany of hard men defenders and walking the ball into the net.

No matter what Gazza did, no matter how criminal it may be, there will still be an element who disregard it to the bemusement of those with a more rational mindset.

Fascinating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Imagine he was just a local bar fly in your area, beating the **** out of his wife, sexual assault and god knows what else has gone on behind closed doors but he was a really good singer down the local session on a Thursday night. He'd be a hate figure and rightly so. Just because Gazza was a talented footballer, he is a piece of **** scumbag and I've zero respect or sympathy for him.
    I've known plenty of alcoholics who wouldn't harm a fly. A violent drunk is a violent person, the alcohol just triggers what's already there. They'd be violent scum anyway. Ugh. Hate Gazza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

He pretended to play the flute in support of the orange order after scoring for rangers.he was threatened by a prominent member of the ira at the time.its in the documentary about him.
    He had serious talent as a footballer but he’s been plagued with mental health issues and addiction issues throughout his life.anyone who hasn’t seen the documentary should watch it. The bit about his phone was interesting. I won’t say it here as a spoiler. I felt sorry for him after watching it.hes had it tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

You better not look at the historic documentaries section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

He pretended to play the flute in support of the orange order after scoring for rangers.he was threatened by a prominent member of the ira at the time.its in the documentary about him.
    He had serious talent as a footballer but he’s been plagued with mental health issues and addiction issues throughout his life.anyone who hasn’t seen the documentary should watch it. The bit about his phone was interesting. I won’t say it here as a spoiler. I felt sorry for him after watching it.hes had it tough

No that is the bit I was questioning. Why would a prominent member of the IRA threaten his life and do so with leaving his name and contact address. Doesn't add up and seems like a pack of lies. If he did get a letter it was probably some random nutter so the documentary left in gazza's claims about it being a prominent IRA person. Wouldn't be prominent for more than a few hours if they were carrying on like that. Found it a bizarre part of the documentary. I doubt if the incident of him pretending to play a flute was discussed at an army council meeting and the go ahead given to execute him. Seems like he is living in a fantasy land

They said Scotland Yard examined the letter and stated it was real.they also had the same ira member under surveillance at the time if its to be believed.it is plausible though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

He had serious talent as a footballer but he’s been plagued with mental health issues and addiction issues throughout his life.anyone who hasn’t seen the documentary should watch it. The bit about his phone was interesting. I won’t say it here as a spoiler. I felt sorry for him after watching it.hes had it toughhe

He seemed to be deeply affected by a very close friend of his being killed by a car when they were young.
    Not the full shilling and never was to my mind and still got the mental age of around that time of traumatic tragedy in his life.

The last thing he needed in his life was alcohol or drugs.

He says the sexual assault accusation is rubbish,that he went to the aid of a woman that was being verbally abused about being fat on the train.
    He said he went to her aid and sat with her because he had being called fat all his life and that she overreacted when he gave her a peck on the cheek.
    That's Gazzas story.

Anyone who hasn’t seen the documentary on him should definitely watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Ty Small Eve

This explains a lot.

He's a chronic alcoholic with severe mental health issues from when he was a child, must likely he was drunk when he assaulted his partner (still no excuse) and is held in high regard by the British because he could actually play a bit and wore his heart on his sleeve AKA Gazza's tears at the Italia 90 semi final defeat to Germany which made the Brits take him to their hearts.

He could literally change a game by himself.

yeah I read his book and as far as I remember he took a friend to a shop when he was a kid and the friend got ran over, and died he seemed to have a fecked up childhood

edit - yeah it was a childhood mate getting knocked over by a ice cream van

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/2292333/The-life-and-times-of-Paul-Gascoigne.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

It's disgusting that his alcoholism is treated as a mitigating factor for his reprehensible character.

Look at this pic that The Mirror decided to put along this latest story about him.

2_JS154188515.jpg

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/breaking-paul-gascoigne-charged-sexual-13612880

Ahh, so sweet. Poor ole alcoholic with daemons. Lovable ole rogue. Knacker.
    Feck me, put a fur coat on him there and he would pass for Pat Butcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The greatest English footballer of his generation

No card bad tackle

A gift turns into a curse as usual for the working class

Well it just goes to show that the phenomenon of the lower working classes is not the direct product of a failed capitalist system. Rather it is about the kind of ppl they are. You could give a fortune to the most deprived underclass but they would prolly stay in their social class forever including their offspring.

The greatest English footballer of his generation

No card bad tackle

Every footballer ever is working class. Being working class is not some huge burden lmao, you're just a regular joe soap.

*I know not literally every footballer, but it's not unique to be working class and to wind up professional

https://www.thesun.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/1816689.main_image.jpg?strip=all His childhood home, it's not exactly a favella in Brazil or even a trailer park in the middle of Texas(like Clint Dempsey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Gascoigne was easily the most talented English footballer of his generation. Sadly once his playing days ended he was lost. Didn't know what to do with himself. Add in a weakness for alcohol and you have a car crash. Alcohol takes the nicest of people to the lowest of places. Another problem for Gascoigne is because he is an alcoholic he is a godsend for the gutter press. A gift that unwittingly keeps on giving. The redtops are a disgrace but equally Gascoigne has a duty of care to himself which he cannot absolve himself of via alcohol. He is an adult and yet sadly he strikes me as someone who never grew up.
    He was a genius on the pitch but sadly off it a living breathing disaster and the question is not if but when he hits dire straits like George Best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Sure we love our stars with a bit of weakness.

While I don't condone what he's been accused above, he's entitled by law, if not by social media and the baying mob, of innocence until proven guilty.

Now from his point of view he sat beside someone and comforted her when she was called "a fat cow", put his arm around her and gave her a kiss on the cheek.
    It's probably inappropriate and from his angle he has misjudged the situation.

But sexual assault? That's the same category as someone who outs his hand up a girls dress and touches her while grabbing her breasts. Now I know that's the law as its stands but is it fair that he's been plastered all over the newspapers as sexually assaulting someone ?

I've watched Gazza over his career and he comes across as a great bit of crack, genuine person who was badly affected by the loss of a younger neighbour when he was younger. And while not condoning any crimes - They're always made public and mud sticks